DETAILED ACTION
Response to Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election of without traverse of Group I, claims 1-19, in response to restriction requirement is acknowledged.
Therefore, claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03. Applicants preserve their right to file a divisional on the non-elected subject matter.
Status of the claims
Claims 1-19 are examined on merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a light emitting device configured to provide an excitation light to the sensing device”. The claim also recites “light transmitting element above the lower polarizer”. First, it is unclear as to whether the “light transmitting element” and the “light transmitting device” are of the same structure having the same functional property or are different. If they are different, how they are different from each other, structurally and functionally? Furthermore, the position of the light emitting device with respect to different component of the sensing device is unclear. The recitation “a light emitting device configured to provide an excitation light to the sensing device”, does not provide any direction or provide any clear indication wherein in the sensing device the excitation light is provided by the emitting device as the sensing device comprises different components at different position and different arrangements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al (US 12515220).
In regards to claims 1-11 and 14-19, Hsieh teaches bio-chip comprising set of polarizing array comprising sub-polarizing unit, wherein the bio-chip further includes reaction sites. Hsieh teaches bio bio-chip device comprising a sensing region, polarizers having first and second sub-polarizers, configuration to provide polarized excitation lights (claims 1-20). Hsieh teaches that the first polarization angle and the second polarization angle can be different including 90 degrees (claims 11, 19 and 20; columns 13-14). Hsieh teaches various arrangements of the polarizers (claims 1-20) and teaches configuration to receive polarized excitation lights (claim 14). Hsieh also teaches utilizing filter elements, photodetectors, and sub-excitation light source (claims 12-13, and 18).
Therefore, since the basic concept to providing polarized excitation light to bio-chip utilizing plurality of sub-polarizers in different arrangements have been disclosed by Hsieh, the various arrangements of the polarizers to configure polarization direction and providing different polarized excitation and various modifications as claimed in claim 1-11 and 14-19 are obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art and are within the purview of one of ordinary skilled in the art. In regards to refractive index of the imaging medium and the refractive index of the light transmitting element recited in claims 12 and 13, are considered as routine optimization which is within the purview of one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.12209964. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. In regards to claims 1-11, 14-19, a sensing device comprising a sensing region, polarizers having first and second sub-polarizers, configuration to provide polarized excitation lights are disclosed in claims 1-11 of US patent ‘964. Claims of US patent ‘964 discloses that the first polarization angle and the second polarization angle can be 90 degrees (see claims 12-13). US patent teaches various arrangements of the polarizers (claims 3-6, 9-13, and 20) and teaches configuration to direct the polarized excitation lights to bio-chip (claim 16). US patent ‘964 also teaches utilizing filter elements, photodetectors, and sub-excitation light source (claims 14-14).
Therefore, since the basic concept to providing polarized excitation light to bio-chip utilizing plurality of sub-polarizers in different arrangements have been disclosed by the claims of US patent ‘964, the various arrangements of the polarizers to configure polarization direction and providing different polarized excitation and various modifications as claimed in claim 1-11 and 14-19 are obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art and are within the purview of one of ordinary skilled in the art. In regards to refractive index of the imaging medium and the refractive index of the light transmitting element recited in claims 12 and 13, are considered as routine optimization which is withing the purview of one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.12504376. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. In regards to claims 1-11, 14-19, a bio-detection device comprising a sensing region, polarizers having first and second sub-polarizers, configuration to provide polarized excitation lights are disclosed in claims 1-20 of US patent ‘376. Claims of US patent ‘376 discloses that the first polarization angle and the second polarization angle can be 90 degrees (see claims 1, 16 and 18). US patent teaches various arrangements of the polarizers (claims 1-20) and teaches configuration to receive polarized excitation lights (claim 11). US patent ‘376 also teaches utilizing filter elements, photodetectors, and sub-excitation light source (claims 8-14).
Therefore, since the basic concept to providing polarized excitation light to bio-chip utilizing plurality of sub-polarizers in different arrangements have been disclosed by the claims of US patent ‘376, the various arrangements of the polarizers to configure polarization direction and providing different polarized excitation and various modifications as claimed in claim 1-11 and 14-19 are obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art and are within the purview of one of ordinary skilled in the art. In regards to refractive index of the imaging medium and the refractive index of the light transmitting element recited in claims 12 and 13, are considered as routine optimization which is withing the purview of one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.12515220. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. In regards to claims 1-11, 14-19, a bio-detection device comprising a sensing region, polarizers having first and second sub-polarizers, configuration to provide polarized excitation lights are disclosed in claims 1-20 of US patent ‘220. Claims of US patent ‘220 teaches that the first polarization angle and the second polarization angle can be different including 90 degrees (see claims 11, 19 and 20). US patent ‘220 teaches various arrangements of the polarizers (claims 1-20) and teaches configuration to receive polarized excitation lights (claim 14). US patent ‘376 also teaches utilizing filter elements, photodetectors, and sub-excitation light source (claims 12-13, and 18).
Therefore, since the basic concept to providing polarized excitation light to bio-chip utilizing plurality of sub-polarizers in different arrangements have been disclosed by the claims of US patent ‘220, the various arrangements of the polarizers to configure polarization direction and providing different polarized excitation and various modifications as claimed in claim 1-11 and 14-19 are obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art and are within the purview of one of ordinary skilled in the art. In regards to refractive index of the imaging medium and the refractive index of the light transmitting element recited in claims 12 and 13, are considered as routine optimization which is withing the purview of one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Conclusion
/SHAFIQUL HAQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1678