This is the final Office Action for the serial number 18/353,412, ADJUSTABLE ANGLE BRACKET , filed on 7/17/23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US Patent # 6,926,241 to Garrett.
Garrett teaches an adjustable angle bracket comprising a base (2) having a rectangular shape, a first lug having a top edge and a bottom edge, wherein the bottom edge of the first lug is coupled to the base, and wherein the first lug defines a first set of slots. The bracket includes a second lug having a top edge and a bottom edge, wherein the bottom edge of the second lug is coupled to the base, and wherein the second lug defines a second set of slots. Wherein the first set of slots define a plurality of angles relative to a direction D orthogonal to the base. Wherein the second slots define the plurality of angles relative to the direction D and wherein the first set of slots are distinct and spaced apart from one other along a direction orthogonal to the direction D, and wherein the second set of slots are distinct and spaced apart from one other along the direction orthogonal to the direction D. Wherein each of the first set of slots and the second set of slots comprises three slots. The base defines plurality of apertures. The adjustable angle bracket comprises a lug connector (4a) coupled to the top edge of the first lug and the top edge of the second lug.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrett.
Garrett teaches the first set of slots and the second set of slots but fails to teach the slots are at angled 0, 9 and 18 and the slot angled at 9 degrees from the direction D is longer than the slot angled at 0 degrees from the direction D and wherein the slot angled at 18 degrees from direction D is longer than the slot angled at 9 degrees from the direction D. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first set of slots and the second set of slots to angled 0, 9 and 18 and wherein the 9 degrees having the direction D longer than the slot angled at 0 degrees from the direction D and wherein the slot angled at 18 degrees from direction D is longer than the slot angled at 9 degrees from the direction D to provide designer’s preference for the angle and distance for the first set of slots and the second set of slots.
Regarding claims 7-8, Garrett teaches the plurality of apertures but fails to teach the plurality of apertures comprises four apertures, however in figure 23, which is a different embodiment shows plurality of apertures (522) comprising four apertures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added four apertures to provide additional security with plurality of fasteners on the base.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALFRED J. WUJCIAK III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ALFRED J WUJCIAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636 3/19/26