DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I: Claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 5/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Tension member” in claims 1-5, 9, and 11.
“Anchor member” in claims 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Accisano (US 2020/0338324)
With respect to Claim 1, Accisano teaches a drainage catheter comprising:
a catheter tube 110 comprising a drainage lumen 115 extending along a length of the catheter tube, the catheter tube defining a proximal region 121, a distal region 123, and a central region 122 disposed between the proximal region and the distal region; and
a tension member 130 disposed within the drainage lumen 115 along the proximal region, disposed external to the drainage lumen along the central region 122 (Figure 1; paragraph [0034]), and disposed within the drainage lumen along at least a portion of the distal region (Figures 1 and 4; paragraph [0038]);
wherein a distal portion of the tension member 130 is coupled to an anchor member 133 (Figure 4; paragraph [0038]), and
wherein the anchor member and the distal portion of the tension member are fixedly coupled to the catheter tube (Figure 4; paragraph [0038]).
With respect to Claim 2, Accisano teaches that the anchor member 133 is configured to be disposed within the drainage lumen 115. Specifically, Accisano teaches that the suture lumen may be disposed in fluid communication with the drainage lumen 115 (paragraph [0027]), and therefore has been interpreted as being part of the drainage lumen.
With respect to Claim 3, Accisano teaches a catheter hub 140 coupled to a proximal end of the catheter tube 110, the catheter hub comprising a tension member passageway 142 and a tension member lock 143, the tension member lock configured to selectively prevent and allow longitudinal displacement of the tension member along the tension member passageway (Figures 1-5; paragraphs [0037-0043]).
With respect to Claim 4, Accisano teaches that the drainage lumen 115 further comprises an exit port 124 defining an aperture through an annular wall of the catheter tube between the drainage lumen and an external surface of the catheter tube 110, the exit port 124 positioned at a distal end of the proximal region 121, and wherein the tension member 130 is disposed through the exit port 124 (Figures 1 and 5; paragraphs [0029-0029], [0032], and [0034-0036]).
With respect to Claim 5, Accisano teaches that the catheter tube 110 further comprises an entrance port 125 defining an aperture through the annular wall of the catheter tube 110 between the drainage lumen 115 and the external surface of the catheter tube 110, the entrance port 125 positioned at a proximal end of the distal region 123, and wherein the tension member 130 is disposed through the entrance port (Figures 1 and 5; paragraphs [0029], [0032], [0035-0036]).
With respect to Claim 6, Accisano teaches that the entrance port 125 and exit port 124 are disposed in axial alignment along the sidewall of the catheter tube (Figures 1 and 5), thereby allowing the distal tip of the catheter to be pulled toward the exit port by the tension member (as shown in Figure 5).
With respect to Claim 7, Accisano teaches a plurality of drainage ports 117 disposed along the catheter tube, wherein each of the plurality of drainage ports 117 define an aperture through an annular wall of the catheter tube berween the drainage lumen 115 and the external surface of the catheter tube (Figure 1 ; paragraphs [0023-0024]).
With respect to Claim 8, Accisano teaches a plurality of drainage ports 117 disposed along central region 122 of the catheter tube 110, wherein each of the plurality of drainage ports 117 define an aperture through an annular wall of the catheter tube between the drainage lumen 115 and the external surface of the catheter tube (Figure 1; paragraphs [0023-0024]).
With respect to Claim 9, Accisano teaches that the drainage catheter further comprises:
a plurality of drainage ports 117 disposed along central region 122 of the catheter tube 110, wherein each of the plurality of drainage ports 117 define an aperture through an annular wall of the catheter tube berween the drainage lumen 115 and the external surface of the catheter tube (Figure 1; paragraphs [0023-0024]);
an exit port 124 defining an aperture through an annular wall of the catheter tube between the drainage lumen and an external surface of the catheter tube 110, the exit port 124 positioned at a distal end of the proximal region 121, and wherein the tension member 130 is disposed through the exit port 124 (Figures 1 and 5; paragraphs [0029-0029], [0032], and [0034-0036]); and
an entrance port 125 defining an aperture through the annular wall of the catheter tube 110 between the drainage lumen 115 and the external surface of the catheter tube 110, the entrance port 125 positioned at a proximal end of the distal region 123, and wherein the tension member 130 is disposed through the entrance port (Figures 1 and 5; paragraphs [0029], [0032], [0035-0036]).
With respect to Claim 10, Accisano teaches that the plurality of drainage ports 117 may be disposed in axial alignment with the exit port 124 and the entrance port along the length of the catheter tube 110 (paragraph [0027]).
With respect to Claim 11, Accisano teaches that the drainage catheter further comprises:
a plurality of drainage ports 117 disposed along central region 122 of the catheter tube 110, wherein each of the plurality of drainage ports 117 define an aperture through an annular wall of the catheter tube between the drainage lumen 115 and the external surface of the catheter tube (Figure 1; paragraphs [0023-0024]);
wherein the plurality of drainage ports comprise a proximal port 124 and a distal port 125 (Figure 1; paragraphs [0028-0029]);
wherein the tension member 130 is disposed through the proximal port from the drainage lumen to external of the catheter tube (Figures 1-5; Accisano teaches that the suture lumen 120 may be disposed in fluid communication with the drainage lumen 115 (paragraph [0027]), and therefore has been interpreted as being part of the drainage lumen); and
wherein the tension member is disposed through the distal port 125 from external of the catheter tube into the drainage lumen (Figures 1-5; Accisano teaches that the suture lumen 120 may be disposed in fluid communication with the drainage lumen 115 (paragraph [0027]), and therefore has been interpreted as being part of the drainage lumen)
With respect to Claim 12, Accisano teaches that, when disposed in an anchor configuration, the central region 122 comprises a curved segment (as shown in Figure 5; paragraph [0036]).
With respect to Claim 13, Accisano teaches that a distal tip 113/118 of the catheter tube 110 extends distally beyond the curved segment of the catheter tube. Specifically, the central region 122 of the catheter tube 110 curves, and the distal tip 113/118 is disposed distal of the curved central region 122 (see Figures 5, 9, and 10; paragraphs [0022] and [0038]).
With respect to Claim 14, Accisano teaches that at least one radiopaque marker 150 may be disposed along the catheter tube 110 (Figure 1; paragraph [0041]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Accisano (US 2007/0032779) teaches a steerable catheter having a tension member that passes through the drainage lumen, through an opening to the exterior of the catheter, and to an anchor member at the distal end.
Bourne et al. (US 2011/0054448) teaches a catheter comprising a suture anchored to a lumen in the distal end.
Eells et al. (US 2011/0295237) teaches a drainage catheter having a suture for steering the catheter.
/PHILIP R WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781