DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gelb (US 2018/0031059 A1).
Re claim 1, Gelb discloses a circular segment-shaped filter housing of a brake dust particle filter for a brake disc arrangement, the filter housing comprising: a first housing side wall (28) and a second housing side wall (54) spaced apart relative to each other and delimiting at least partially in sections a receiving space configured to receive a brake disc (17) of the brake disc arrangement and lying between the first and the second housing side walls, wherein the first housing side wall (28) is comprised of a housing base wall and a support bridge (31) adjoining the housing base wall in a circumferential direction of the filter housing, wherein the receiving space extends axially between the housing base wall of the first housing side wall and the second housing side wall, wherein the second housing side wall (54) extends across a second housing side wall angle segment corresponding only to a housing base wall angle segment of the housing base wall of the first housing side wall, wherein the support bridge (31) comprises a circumferential end region facing away from the housing base wall, wherein the support bridge comprises at least one fastening point arranged in the circumferential end region and configured to connect the support bridge to a brake caliper of the brake disc arrangement, and wherein the first housing side wall (28), comprised of the housing base wall and the support bridge, extends across a first housing side wall angle segment of at least 180°. (Fig. 1-5)
Re claim 4, Gelb discloses wherein the first and the second housing side walls (28, 54) each comprise a radial or tangential end face on a side facing the support bridge (31), and wherein the support bridge adjoins the radial or tangential end face of the first housing side wall.
Re claim 5, Gelb discloses wherein the radial or tangential end face of the first housing side wall (28) and the radial or tangential end face of the second housing side wall (54) are connected to each other by an end wall. (Fig. 1)
Re claim 6, Gelb discloses wherein the housing base wall of the first housing side wall and the second housing side wall (28, 54) each comprise a radial or tangential end face on a side facing the support bridge, wherein the support bridge (31) adjoins the radial or tangential end face of the housing base wall of the first housing side wall. (Fig. 2)
Re claim 7, Gelb discloses wherein the radial or tangential end face of the housing base wall of the first housing side wall (28) and the radial or tangential end face of the second housing side wall (54) are connected to each other by an end wall. (Fig. 1)
Re claim 8, Gelb discloses wherein the support bridge (31) comprises a radial exterior side, wherein the radial exterior side of the support bridge is radially recessed, at least in sections, relative to an outer radius of the housing base wall (28).
Re claim 12, Gelb discloses wherein the housing base wall (28) and the second housing side wall (54) are embodied approximately or completely mirror-symmetrically relative to each other.
Re claim 13, Gelb discloses wherein the housing base wall angle segment of the housing base wall (28) is larger than a support bridge angle segment of the support bridge (31). (Fig. 2)
Re claim 14, Gelb discloses wherein the support bridge angle segment (31) extends across at least 20°.
Re claim 15, Gelb discloses wherein the support bridge angle segment (31) extends across at least 40°.
Re claim 16, Gelb discloses wherein the housing base wall (28) and the support bridge (31) of the first housing side wall are separate components, and wherein the separate components are connected to each other. (Fig. 2)
Re claim 17, Gelb discloses wherein a part of the support bridge (31) is arranged so as to overlap the housing base wall in the circumferential direction. (Fig. 2)
Re claim 18, Gelb discloses a brake dust particle filter comprising: the circular segment-shaped filter housing according to claim 1; and a filter material (70) arranged in the filter housing.
Re claim 19, Gelb discloses system comprising: the brake dust particle filter comprising the circular segment-shaped filter housing according to claim 1 and a filter material (70) arranged in the filter housing; and the brake disc arrangement comprising the brake caliper (37), wherein the support bridge (31) is fastened at the brake caliper of the brake disc arrangement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, and 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hummel et al., Butler, Bock et al. and DE ‘190 teach similar brake dust particle filters.
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
MTWJanuary 20, 2026