Claim Interpretation
Claims 22-28 use means-for language. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 17 and 14 recite the limitation "the second precedence". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 3, Applicant claims the “precedence constraint for each of the multiple nodes…” This contradicts the first claimed precedence constraint in claim 1, where it’s “a precedence constraint for the multiple nodes...” Amend to claim a second precedence constraint for each of the multiple nodes.
Claims 5, 12, 19 and 26 recite the limitation "the node". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no defined one node. The defined nodes are multiple nodes and “each node”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of a mathematical relationship without significantly more. The claims recite receiving a graph NN, determining parameters of the graph and its nodes. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because this method does not improve the functioning of a computer and is merely linked to the technical field of computing. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements of memory and processors are generic computer part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-20 and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being described by POET: Training Neural Networks on Tiny Devices with Integrated Rematerialization and Paging by Patil et al
Patil teaches claims 1, 8, 15 and 22. A processor-implemented method, performed by at least one processor, the method comprising:
receiving, by the at least one processor, a graph representing an artificial neural network (ANN), the graph including multiple nodes connected by edges and each node represents an operation; (Patil abs. “POET, an algorithm to enable training large neural networks on memory-scarce battery-operated edge devices.” The neural network and its nodes are shown in fig. 1, below.)
determining, by the at least one processor, retention intervals for the multiple nodes based on a precedence constraint for the multiple nodes, the retention intervals corresponding to a time interval for retaining each node output in a local memory; and (Patil sec. 5.2 “consider a graph where the output depends on the result of two operations v1 and v2 where both nodes have equivalent memory costs but v2 is cheaper to evaluate. A paging strategy may evict v2 which would force rematerialization to recompute the more expensive v1 rather than v2. We represent a schedule as a series of nodes that are either being saved SRAM, (re)computed R or paged from secondary storage SAUX.” The schedule is the retention intervals, the precedence is the series of nodes.)
determining, by the at least one processor, a node of the multiple nodes to recompute based on the retention intervals. (Patil sec. 5.2 “A paging strategy may evict v2 which would force rematerialization to recompute the more expensive v1 rather than v2. We represent a schedule as a series of nodes that are either being saved SRAM, (re)computed R or paged from secondary storage SAUX.”)
Patil teaches claims 2, 9, 16, 23. The processor-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising determining, by the at least one processor, an order for execution of the multiple nodes based on the precedence constraint and a memory constraint. (Patil sec. 5.1 “Given a directed acyclic dataflow graph G = (V,E) with n nodes, a topological ordering {v1,...,vn} is computed which constrains execution to that order of instructions. Two key decision variables are introduced: (1) R ∈ {0,1}n×n where rt,i represents the decision to (re)materialize an operation vi at timestep t and (2) S ∈ {0,1}n× n where st,i represents whether the result of an operation vi is resident in memory at timestep t.”)
Patil teaches claims 3, 10, 17, 24. The processor-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising determining, by the at least one processor, the precedence constraint for each of the multiple nodes based on the retention intervals. (Patil sec. 5.1 “Given a directed acyclic dataflow graph G = (V,E) with n nodes, a topological ordering {v1,...,vn} is computed which constrains execution to that order of instructions. Two key decision variables are introduced: (1) R ∈ {0,1}n×n where rt,i represents the decision to (re)materialize an operation vi at timestep t and (2) S ∈ {0,1}n× n where st,i represents whether the result of an operation vi is resident in memory at timestep t.”)
Patil teaches claims 4, 11, 18, 25. The processor-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising determining, by the at least one processor, the memory constraint based on a physical memory capacity of the local memory and the retention intervals. (Patil sec. 5.1 “From the rematerialzation matrix R, and the storage matrix S, we define a series of constraints to maintain graph dependencies. All arguments for an operation j must be resident in memory prior to running that operation, yielding constraint …. Similarly, the result of an operation is only resident in memory in one of the two cases: a) if it was already res ident in memory before, or b) if it was (re)materialized …. To adhere to the strict constraints on the peak memory used during training, an intermediate variable U ∈ Rn×n is defined. Ut,i is the total memory used by the system during training at timestep t when evaluating operation i. By bounding the maximum value of… to the user-specified memory limit µRAM, we limit the total memory consumption during training.”)
Patil teaches claims 5, 12, 19 and 26. The processor-implemented method of claim 1, in which the retention intervals are determined based on a recompute constraint, the recompute constraint defining a number of times that the node is permitted to be recomputed. (Patil sec. 5.0 “we do not limit rematerialization to occur once. We assume auxiliary storage (e.g., flash/ SD card) is available. However, if auxiliary storage is not available, the POET optimizer will fall back to only performing rematerialization.” The rest of that last sentence is only performing rematierialization once. This makes sense because the previous sentence states that the default is one rematerialization, and without auxiliary memory, there isn’t time for multiple saves for rematerialization. Patil sec 5.0 “POET finds an energy optimal schedule by choosing to either a) rematerialize or b) page the tensors to/from secondary storage such as an SD card.” Choosing to rematerialize/recompute the tensors only once if there is no SD card, is a schedule based on a recompute limit.)
Patil teaches claims 6, 13, 20 and 27. The processor-implemented method of claim 1, in which the precedence constraint is determined based on the edges connecting the multiple nodes. (Patil sec. 4 “When the deleted tensor is needed again, for example, to compute gradients during backpropagation, it is recomputed from the other dependent activations as dictated by the lineage.” The lineage is the string of edges connecting to the other nodes from the deleted tensor.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 14, 21 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over POET: Training Neural Networks on Tiny Devices with Integrated Rematerialization and Paging by Patil et al and TensorDIMM: A Practical Near-Memory Processing Architecture for Embeddings and Tensor Operations in Deep Learning by Kwon et al.
Patil teaches claims 7, 14, 21 and 28. The processor-implemented method of claim 1, in which the local memory (Patil sec 5.0 “POET finds an energy optimal schedule by choosing to either a) rematerialize or b) page the tensors to/from secondary storage such as an SD card.”)
Patil doesn’t teach tightly-coupled memory.
However, Kwon teaches the local memory comprises a tightly-coupled memory. (Kwon abs “We present our vertically integrated hardware/software co-design, which includes a custom DIMM module enhanced with near-memory processing cores tailored for DL tensor operations.” Near-memory cores make the memory tightly-coupled.)
Kwon, Patil and the claims all teach machine learning memory operations. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to use tightly-coupled memory because “tensor reduction operations should be conducted ‘near memory’ using a lightweight NMP core, incurring minimum power and area overheads to the buffered DIMM device.” Kwon sec. 4.2.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN HICKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2142