Detailed Office Action
Notice of Pre-AIA Status
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the numerical range for the binder is missing the phase “greater than or equal to” before “12%”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – U.S.C. §103
Claims 1 – 3 and 15 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorea (US 12,186,810) in view of Mueller (US2020/0030883) and Digital Alloys (“Metal Binder Jetting”, NPL)
Regarding claim 1, Sorea teaches a method of joining two components produced by powder metallurgy [Col 1, line 15 – 20]. Sorea teaches that the first and second components can be manufactured by additive manufacturing [Col 6, line 8 – 10], meeting the claimed limitation of the first and second components containing a plurality of layers of particulate material. Sorea teaches that the joining surface are brought into contact with a mixture between them and the mixture contains a powder and alloy composition [Abstract], meeting the claimed limitation of an interfacial joint with joint material which contains a powder. Sorea teaches that the components are sintered together [Abstract], meeting the claimed limitation of that components are green portions/green bodies.
Sorea does not explicitly teach the powder size of the material used for joining.
Mueller is directed to the same field of endeavor of sinter joining components which are produced through powder metallurgical processes [0015]. Mueller teaches that a joint paste can be provided to compensate for irregularities between the joint surfaces [0030] and that the joint paste can be the same material or similar [0030]. Wherein Mueller states that “similar” material can have a smaller grain size, implying that the same material would have the same grain size [0031].
To this, Digital Alloys teaches information regarding binder jet additive manufacturing [Page 1]. Digital Alloys teaches that binder jetting is a well-known method of additive manufacturing which involves forming components that ultimately require sintering [Page 1]. Digital Alloys states that binder jetting creates layered green parts [page 2 – 3] and that the powder size used should range from approximately 5 – 45 microns in size [page 4], which falls within the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have taken the method of Sorea and used binder jetting as the additive manufacturing method with a powder size of ~5-45 µm, as taught by Digital Alloys, and used the same powder size for the joining powder/paste, as suggested by Mueller. Sorea teaches that the components can be produced by additive manufacturing and Digital Alloys teaches that binder jetting is a well-known process of additive manufacturing that produces green bodies. As such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to use the process to produce the bodies to be joined in Sorea and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Moreover, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to use the powder size disclosed by Digital Alloys (~5 – 45 microns) as this is a known powder size distribution used in the process (thereby also having a reasonable expectation of success). Lastly, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated by the teachings of Mueller to control the powder size (and material) of the bonding material to be the same as the components to be joined because Mueller suggests that having the same or similar material in the joint material and bonding components achieves a preferred joint. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the material would already be available when producing the components to be joined.
Regarding claim 2, Sorea in view of Mueller and Digital Alloys teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. Sorea teaches that the alloy composition of the mixture can be FeCrAl [Col 10, line 20], meeting the claimed limitation of iron alloy.
Regarding claim 3, Sorea in view of Mueller and Digital Alloys teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. Sorea teaches that the binding mixture can have ceramic powder [Col 6, line 49 – 52]. While not disclosed for the ceramic powder in the mixture, Sorea teaches that ceramic particles in the first and second components can include “AlO, SiO, ZiO, Alumina, Zirconia, Boron Nitride, Cordierite, and Silicon Nitride” [Col 6, line 33 – 35].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used the one or more of ceramics disclosed by Sorea as the ceramic material/powder in the mixture for bonding to achieve predictable results. Given that Sorea already discloses their use in the method/product, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in achieving predictable results.
Regarding claim 15, Sorea in view of Mueller and Digital Alloys teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. Sorea shows that that joint area can have a curved portion [Fig 2], meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 16, Sorea in view of Mueller and Digital Alloys teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. Sorea teaches that the first and second components can be metal or metal alloys including “iron, chromium, aluminum, cobalt, nickel, manganese, molybdenum, vanadium, silicon or an alloys thereof” [Col 6, line 12 – 14], meeting the claimed limitation of at least “nickel alloy”
Regarding claim 17, Sorea in view of Mueller and Digital Alloys teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. Sorea teaches that the first and second components can be ceramics including “AlO, SiO, ZiO, Alumina, Zirconia, Boron Nitride, Cordierite, and Silicon Nitride” [Col 6, line 33 – 35], meeting the claimed limitation of at least “alumina”.
Claims 4 – 8, 10 – 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorea (US 12,186,810) in view of Mueller (US2020/0030883) and Digital Alloys (“Metal Binder Jetting”, NPL), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Goto (US2015/0239179)
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Sorea in view of Mueller and Digital Alloys teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. Sorea as-modified does not explicitly teach the presence of a reactive monomer in the joint material.
Goto is directed to an additive manufacturing method including the deposition of material in a layer-by-layer manner to form a green body/pre-sintered part [Abstract] that then requires sintering [0084]. Goto teaches that the binder composition serves to bind particles of metal or ceramic [0136] and includes a water-soluble resin [0153] (of which polyvinylpyrrolidone can be particularly selected [0162]), a solvent which can be used to adjust the viscosity [0167, 0230], and a binding agent which is used to bind particles [0177]. Goto teaches that the binding agent is a curable resin (i.e. reactive monomer) which is polymerizable [0179] and which is, in particular, an ester acrylic acid monomer [0181], meeting the claimed limitation of “reactive monomer” of claim 4 and “acrylate monomer” of claim 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used binder jetting/additive manufacturing binder composition disclosed by Goto, as the binder composition of Sorea as-modified to achieve predictable results. Sorea as-modified is directed to additive manufacturing green parts and bonding a composition, and Goto is directed to additive manufacturing. As such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have considered the teachings of Goto to be pertinent to Sorea as-modified. Moreover, Muller teaches that the joint material should be the same or similar to the components being bonded and Sorea teaches using joint material containing binder and solvent. As such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in achieving predictable results. Moreover, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the teachings of Goto because Goto shows that the binder composition is useful for/capable of being used in an additive manufacturing process that forms green bodies.
Regarding claims 5 – 6, Sorea in view of Mueller, Digital Alloys, and Goto teaches the invention as applied in claim 4. Goto teaches that the resin can be polyvinylpyrrolidone [0162], meeting the claimed limitations of claim 5, and that the polymer can have a molecular weight of 10,000 – 1,700,000 g/mol [0163], which overlaps within the claimed range.
With regards to the overlapping ranges taught, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected overlapping ranges as disclosed. Selection of overlapping ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (See MPEP § 2144.05 I). “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)”
Regarding claims 7 – 8, Sorea in view of Mueller, Digital Alloys, and Goto teaches the invention as applied in claim 4. Goto teaches that the rate of powder present in composition of binder and powder is 10 – 90 mass% (wherein the “binder” would be the inverse 90 – 10%), which both overlaps with the claimed range/ratio of claims 7 – 8.
With regards to the overlapping ranges taught, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected overlapping ranges as disclosed. Selection of overlapping ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (See MPEP § 2144.05 I). “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)”
Regarding claims 11 and 13, Sorea in view of Mueller, Digital Alloys, and Goto teaches the invention as applied in claim 4. Goto teaches using an acrylate (ester of acrylic acid) monomer/polymerizable compound, meeting claim 10. The limitations of claims 11 and 13 do not specify/state that the epoxy or vinyl ether monomer is used/selected, only that the epoxy or vinyl ether monomers are further defined. As such, Sorea as-modified (in particular Goto) meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of claims 11 and 13 by use of an acrylate monomer.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorea (US 12,186,810) in view of Mueller (US2020/0030883), Digital Alloys (“Metal Binder Jetting”, NPL), and Goto (US2015/0239179), as applied to claim 4, in further view of Gegel (US 6,551,551, cited with the IDS of 07/17/23)
Regarding claim 9, Sorea in view of Mueller, Digital Alloys, and Goto teaches the invention as applied in claim 4. Sorea as-modified does not explicitly describe what the viscosity of the joint material/paste should be.
Gegel describes a method in the same field of endeavor as Sorea of sinter bonding components produced via powder metallurgical methods (in this case, injection molded products) [Title]. Gegel further describes that the method also uses a bonding agent with particles dispersed between the two components [Fig 1]. Gegel describes that the bonding agent/fine particles promote local bonding where the two components do not contact each other due to surface roughness [Col 3, line 20 – 23]. Gegel teaches that to achieve this, the viscosity of the bonding agent should be between 1350 – 250,000 cp, which overlaps with the claimed range, while being high enough to remain in place [Col 3, line 25 – 28].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have taken the bonding material of Sorea as-modified and controlled the viscosity to be 1350 – 250,000 cp, as disclosed by Gegel. Gegel is in the same field of endeavor of sinter bonding powder metallurgy components together and as such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have considered the teachings of Gegel to be pertinent to Sorea as-modified. Further still, given that Sorea as-modified and Gegel both described using bonding agent containing binder and inorganic particles, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in controlling the viscosity to the range described by Gegel. Lastly, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because, like Mueller, Gegel describes that the bonding agent is used to promote contact between the two components where they might not otherwise contact due to surface roughness. As such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to control the viscosity to this range such that the bonding agent could flow properly to achieve this feature.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorea (US 12,186,810) in view of Mueller (US2020/0030883), Digital Alloys (“Metal Binder Jetting”, NPL), and Goto (US2015/0239179), as applied to claim 4, in further view of Lawton (US 5,980,812) and Schrief (WO2022/268546, using espacenet translation)
Regarding claim 14, Sorea in view of Mueller, Digital Alloys, and Goto teaches the invention as applied in claim 4. Sorea as-modified (in particular Goto) teaches that the binder composition can include polymerization initiators [0174], but does not expressly teach the content or one of the initiators listed.
Lawton teaches a method directed to layer-by-layer manufacturing [Abstract] by binding metal or ceramic material [Col 3, line 5 – 9]. In particular, Lawton notes that the composition of the process can include free-radical photointiator cyclohexanecarbonitrile, 1,1'-azobis, available from DuPont which is used for acrylate free-radical polymerization of the pattern during firing [Col 15, line 65 – Col 6, line 5].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used 1,1'-azobis (cyclohexanecarbonitrile) as disclosed by Lawton, as the polymerization initiator for the acrylate monomer of Sorea as-modified to achieve predictable results. Sorea as-modified and Lawton are directed to additive manufacturing/powder metallurgy and therefore, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have considered the teachings of Lawton to be pertinent. Moreover, Sorea as-modified teaches that the polymerizable compound can be acrylate (ester acrylic acid) and that a polymerization initiator can be included. Therefore, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to use 1,1'-azobis (cyclohexanecarbonitrile), which is disclosed as an initiator for acrylate polymerization, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in achieving predictable results. Moreover, Lawton discloses that the compound is commercially available, providing further motivation to use it.
The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)(MPEP 2144.07)
Sorea as-modified does not expressly teach the content range of the polymerization initiator.
Schrief teaches additive manufacturing and a composition for the process. Schrief teaches using acrylic polymer particles [0052] and these particles can have a free-radical initiator present for polymerization in a range 0.001 – 5 wt% [0051], which overlaps with the claimed range. Wherein the initiator can be azo initiator [0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have controlled the thermal initiator range of Sorea as-modified to be 0.001 – 5 wt%, as disclosed by Schrief, when polymerizing acrylate monomers with an azo initiator (such as in Sorea as-modified). Schrief teaches that the range is appropriate for acrylic polymerization using an azo initiator in an additive manufacturing method and as such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in achieving predictable results.
Selection of overlapping ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (See MPEP § 2144.05 I). “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)”
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorea (US 12,186,810) in view of Mueller (US2020/0030883), Digital Alloys (“Metal Binder Jetting”, NPL), and Goto (US2015/0239179), as applied to claim 10, in further view of Tateishi (WO2021/206029)
Regarding claim 12, Sorea in view of Mueller, Digital Alloys, and Goto teaches the invention as applied in claim 10. Sorea as-modified does not teach one of the listed monomers of claim 10.
Tateishi teaches a method directed to additive manufacturing by binding metal or ceramic material to form a green body and then sintering [title, 0043, 0041]. Tateishi teaches that the binding composition also contains a polymerizable compound and that said compound can be bifunctional monomers such as diethylene glycol diacrylate, 1,6-hexanediol diacrylate, or tripropylene glycol diacrylate [0125]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used diethylene glycol diacrylate, 1,6-hexanediol diacrylate, or tripropylene glycol diacrylate, as disclosed by Tateishi, as the acrylate monomer of Sorea as-modified to achieve predictable results. Sorea as-modified is directed to additive manufacturing green parts and bonding a composition, and Tateishi is directed to additive manufacturing. As such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have considered the teachings of Tateishi to be pertinent to Sorea as-modified. Moreover, as shown by Tateishi, diethylene glycol diacrylate, 1,6-hexanediol diacrylate, or tripropylene glycol diacrylate are all known acrylic/acrylate polymerizable compounds used in binder compositions for additive manufacturing. As such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in achieving predictable results.
The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)(MPEP 2144.07)
Claims 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorea (US 12,186,810) in view of Mueller (US2020/0030883) and Digital Alloys (“Metal Binder Jetting”, NPL)
Regarding claim 18, Sorea teaches a method of joining two components produced by powder metallurgy [Col 1, line 15 – 20]. Sorea teaches that the first and second components can be manufactured by additive manufacturing [Col 6, line 8 – 10], meeting the claimed limitation of providing first and second components containing a plurality of layers of particulate material. Sorea teaches that the joining surfaces are brought into contact with a mixture between them and the mixture contains a powder and alloy composition [Abstract], meeting the claimed limitation of applying a joint material on the first component. Sorea teaches that components are sintered together [Abstract], meeting the claimed limitation of the first and second components being green portions/green bodies and bringing the components together at an interfacial joint.
Sorea does not explicitly teach the powder size of the material used for joining.
Mueller is directed to the same field of endeavor of sinter joining components which are produced through powder metallurgical processes [0015]. Mueller teaches that a joint paste can be provided to compensate for irregularities between the joint surfaces [0030] and that the joint paste can be same material or similar [0030]. Wherein Mueller states that similar material can have a smaller grain size, implying that the same material would have the same grain size [0031].
To this, Digital Alloys teaches information regarding binder jet additive manufacturing [Page 1]. Digital Alloys teaches that binder jetting is a well-known method of additive manufacturing which involves forming components that ultimately require sintering [Page 1]. Digital Alloys states that binder jetting creates layered green parts [page 2 – 3] and that the powder size used should range from approximately 5 – 45 microns in size [page 4], which falls within the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have taken the method of Sorea and used binder jetting as the additive manufacturing method with a powder size of ~5-45 µm, as taught by Digital Alloys, and used the same powder size for the joining powder/paste, as suggested by Mueller. Sorea teaches that the components can be produced by additive manufacturing and Digital Alloys teaches that binder jetting is a well-known process of additive manufacturing that produces green bodies. As such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to use the process to produce the bodies to be joined in Sorea and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Moreover, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to use the powder size disclosed by Digital Alloys (~5 – 45 microns) as this is a known powder size distribution used in the process (thereby also having a reasonable expectation of success). Lastly, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated by the teachings of Mueller to control the powder size (and material) of the bonding material to be the same as the components to be joined because Mueller suggests that having the same or similar material in the joint material and bonding components achieves a preferred joint. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the material would already be available when producing the components to be joined.
Regarding claim 19, Sorea in view of Mueller and Digital Alloys teaches the invention as applied in claim 18. Sorea teaches that the mixture can undergo drying [Col 5, line 35 – 40] and that the solvent can be water [Col 10, line 63], as such, the evaporation of water at 100°C (which falls within the claimed range), would precipitate the dissolved binder (thereby solidifying the mixture), meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of “curing” of the joint material.
Regarding claim 20, Sorea in view of Mueller and Digital Alloys teaches the invention as applied in claim 18. Sorea teaches that the joined bodies can be subjected to debinding and sintering [Col 7, line 30 – 40]. As such, the heat treatment method of Sorea would include a temperature range in which at least a portion of the binder is removed and the powder is partially sintered, and then fulling sintering is complete of joined component, meeting the claimed limitation.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US2024/0149339 – Forming a composite body by joining material produced by additive manufacturing and sintering
US2019/0091029 – Co-processing of metal injection molded products using binding agent
US2015/0306669 – Method for connecting components using sintering using a compositon that includes powder, polymer, and polymerizable compound.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN POLLOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/SALLY A MERKLING/SPE, Art Unit 1738