DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14, 16, 18-27, 29, and 31-34 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 8-10, 16, 22, 25-27, and 29 have been amended.
Claims 15, 17, 28 and 30 have been cancelled.
Claims 31-34 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to the applicant argument regarding the rejection of claim 22 (Remarks, page 12), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 22 recites similar limitations as set forth in claim 1, thus the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claim 22. Therefore, for at least the reasons presented above for claim 1, claim 22 is rejected.
In response to the applicant argument regarding the dependent claims 3, 4, 8, 10-17, 21, 25, and 27-30 (Remarks, page 12), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims other than their dependency to independent claims 1 and 22. Therefore for at least the reasons presented above for claim 1, the dependent claims 3, 4, 8, 10-17, 21, 25, and 27-30 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 18-20, 22-24, 26 and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu (WO 2023211352 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Fig. 16, UE 200), comprising: one or more memories ([0103] memory 210); and one or more processors ([0103] processing circuitry 202), coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to: receive a semi-static time and frequency configuration for subband full duplex (SBFD) operation in a symbol or slot pattern (Fig. 21, [0149] The method begins at step 2112, where the wireless device (e.g., UE 200) receives an indication of a slot format for one or more symbols in a semi-static time division duplex (TDD) slot configuration. [0083] The upper part of FIGURE 14 shows a RRC configured semi-static TDD pattern that supports SBFD operation in slot 1, 2 and 3); receive a dynamic indication that adds or updates one or more SBFD symbols or slots in the symbol or slot pattern (FIGURE 14 illustrates an example of dynamic slot format indication for SBFD operation. The central radio band set for the SBFD symbols is further indicated as uplink (‘U’) by the slot formats identified from the detected SFI, dynamically converting the radio band set configuration to ‘D-U-D’, for the time duration of the indicated SFI); and communicate based at least in part on the semi-static time and frequency configuration and a restriction rule that restricts application of the dynamic indication ([0075] Only ‘F’ symbols indicated by semi-static TDD pattern configuration (by TDD-DL- UL-ConfigCommon and TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated) can be overridden with different symbol type (i.e., ‘D’, ‘U’ or ‘S’). This is the restriction rule. [0076] FIGURE 13 illustrates an example of dynamic slot format indication for SBFD operation. The cell-specifically configured semi-static TDD pattern in the example in the upper part of the figure consists of 5 slots. The overall pattern has a number of DL-only symbols at the beginning of the pattern and a number of UL-only symbols at the end of the pattern. In between are the 'F' symbols, some or all of which may be used for SBFD operation. This shows the UE is configured by semi-static time and frequency configuration (top part of Fig. 13) and a dynamic indication (bottom part of Fig. 13). Fig. 21, [0157] At step 2114, the wireless device transmits or receives wireless signals on one or more subbands of a SBFD symbol according to the indication of the slot format. This shows the UE communicating based at least in part on the semi-static time and frequency configuration, and the restriction rule) wherein the restriction rule indicates that the one or more SBFD symbols or slots are updated at non-edge slots of an SBFD region of three or more SBFD slots ([0083] FIGURE 14 illustrates an example of dynamic slot format indication for SBFD operation. The upper part of FIGURE 14 shows a RRC configured semi-static TDD pattern that supports SBFD operation in slot 1, 2 and 3 (three SBFD slots). Three radio band sets are configured in the SBFD symbols where the central radio band set is set to flexible (‘F’). In other words, the radio band set configuration is ‘D-F-D’. The central radio band set for the SBFD symbols is further indicated as uplink (‘U’) by the slot formats identified from the detected SFI, dynamically converting the radio band set configuration to ‘D-U-D’, for the time duration of the indicated SFI. This shows one SBFD slot updated at non-edge slots of an SBFD region of three or more SBFD slots).
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the semi-static time and frequency configuration indicates frequency bands for the SBFD operation ([0083] The upper part of FIGURE 14 shows a RRC configured semi-static TDD pattern that supports SBFD operation in slot 1, 2 and 3. Three radio band sets are configured in the SBFD symbols where the central radio band set is set to flexible (‘F’), and wherein the SBFD operation is for one or more of a network entity or the UE ([0157] At step 2114, the wireless device transmits or receives wireless signals on one or more subbands of a SBFD symbol according to the indication of the slot format).
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches the UE of claim 1 wherein the dynamic indication adds an SBFD symbol or slot having an uplink subband and at least one downlink subband by changing a downlink symbol or slot, an uplink symbol or slot, or a flexible symbol or slot to the SBFD symbol or slot ([0076] FIGURE 13 illustrates an example of dynamic slot format indication for SBFD operation. The cell-specifically configured semi-static TDD pattern in the example in the upper part of the figure consists of 5 slots. The overall pattern has a number of DL-only symbols at the beginning of the pattern and a number of UL-only symbols at the end of the pattern. In between are the 'F' symbols, some or all of which may be used for SBFD operation. Furthermore, an SFI-index is detected in DCI format 2_0, pointing to a slot format combination of 5 slots which consists of 5 slot formats with value 4, 56, 56, 63 and 1 respectively. From the example extended slot format table as given above, the SBFD configuration may be identified, as shown in the lower part of FIGURE 13. Dynamic indication was used to change the flexible slots to SBFD slots having an uplink subband and at least one downlink subband).
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to communicate based at least in part on the semi- static time and frequency configuration, the dynamic indication, and the restriction rule ([0075] Only ‘F’ symbols indicated by semi-static TDD pattern configuration (by TDD-DL- UL-ConfigCommon and TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated) can be overridden with different symbol type (i.e., ‘D’, ‘U’ or ‘S’). This is the restriction rule. [0076] FIGURE 13 illustrates an example of dynamic slot format indication for SBFD operation. The cell-specifically configured semi-static TDD pattern in the example in the upper part of the figure consists of 5 slots. The overall pattern has a number of DL-only symbols at the beginning of the pattern and a number of UL-only symbols at the end of the pattern. In between are the 'F' symbols, some or all of which may be used for SBFD operation. This shows the UE is configured by semi-static time and frequency configuration (top part of Fig. 13) and a dynamic indication (bottom part of Fig. 13). Fig. 21, [0157] At step 2114, the wireless device transmits or receives wireless signals on one or more subbands of a SBFD symbol according to the indication of the slot format. This shows the UE communicating based at least in part on the semi-static time and frequency configuration, the dynamic indication, and the restriction rule).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to receive an indication of the restriction rule or obtaining the restriction rule from stored configuration information (Fig. 5, [0013] In more detail, the following two information elements (IES) are defined in current specifications. The TDD pattern is typically configured with at least the first IE and optionally the 2nd IE. TDD-DL-UL-ConfigCommon (cell-specific), TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated (UE- specific). [0014] The first IE is cell specific (common to all UEs) and is provided by broadcast signaling. It provides the number of slots in the TDD pattern via a reference subcarrier spacing and a periodicity such that the S-slot pattern repeats every S slots. [0015] If there is a gap between the last downlink symbol and the first uplink symbol, then all symbols in the gap are characterized as flexible ('F'). A symbol classified as 'F' can be used for downlink or uplink. [0017] As another option, the UE may receive dedicated (UE-specific) signaling in the IE TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated. This parameter overrides some or all of the 'F' symbols in the pattern, thus providing a semi-static indication of whether a symbol is classified as 'D' or 'U'. [0075] Only ‘F’ symbols indicated by semi-static TDD pattern configuration (by TDD-DL- UL-ConfigCommon and TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated) can be overridden with different symbol type (i.e., ‘D’, ‘U’ or ‘S’). This is the restriction rule.).
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the restriction rule indicates that the one or more SBFD symbols or slots are able to be added at or updated to flexible symbols or slots and not downlink symbols or slots ([0075] Only ‘F’ symbols indicated by semi-static TDD pattern configuration (by TDD-DL- UL-ConfigCommon and TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated) can be overridden with different symbol type (i.e., ‘D’, ‘U’ or ‘S’). This is the restriction rule. Therefore, SBFD symbols or slots can be added at flexible symbols or slots and not downlink symbols or slots).
Regarding claim 18, Liu teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the dynamic indication is included in scheduling downlink control information ([0020] If a UE is not configured with TDD-DL-UL-ConflgDedicated, then the UE assumes the patern at the top of the diagram. As stated above, the network can use the 'F' symbols flexibly by scheduling/triggering either an uplink or a downlink signal/ channel in a UE specific manner. This allows for dynamic behavior: the direction is not known to the UE a priori; rather, the direction becomes known after the UE detects a DCI scheduling/triggering a particular DL or UL signal/channel).
Regarding claim 19, Liu teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the dynamic indication is included in non-scheduling downlink control information that does not schedule data ([0024] For dynamic TDD where the UL/DL allocation may vary depending on the scheduling DCI, it can be useful to indicate to a group of UEs what the instantaneous TDD pattern looks like for the current and potentially future slots. This is achieved by signaling of one or more slot format indicators (SFI) in DCI Format 2 0 carried by the group common control channel (GC-PDCCH).).
Regarding claim 20, Liu teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the dynamic indication is included in non-scheduling downlink control information (DCI) that is a group common DCI ([0024] For dynamic TDD where the UL/DL allocation may vary depending on the scheduling DCI, it can be useful to indicate to a group of UEs what the instantaneous TDD pattern looks like for the current and potentially future slots. This is achieved by signaling of one or more slot format indicators (SFI) in DCI Format 2 0 carried by the group common control channel (GC-PDCCH).)
Regarding claim 22, Liu teaches a network entity for wireless communication (Fig. 17, Network Node 300), comprising: one or more memories ([0119] memory 304); and one or more processors ([0119] processing circuitry 302), coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to: transmit a semi-static time and frequency configuration for subband full duplex (SBFD) operation in a symbol or slot pattern ([0017] As another option, the UE may receive dedicated (UE-specific) signaling in the IE TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated. This parameter overrides some or all of the 'F' symbols in the pattern, thus providing a semi-static indication of whether a symbol is classified as 'D' or 'U'.); transmit a dynamic indication that adds or updates one or more SBFD symbols or slots in the symbol or slot pattern ([0162] At step 2214, the network node determines a slot format for one or more symbols in a semi-static TDD slot configuration for a wireless device. The indication of the slot format indicates a transmission direction for one or more subbands of the one or more symbols. [0164] At step 2216, the network node transmits an indication of the slot format to the wireless device.); and communicate based at least in part on the semi-static time and frequency configuration and a restriction rule that restricts application of the dynamic indication ([0075] Only ‘F’ symbols indicated by semi-static TDD pattern configuration (by TDD-DL- UL-ConfigCommon and TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated) can be overridden with different symbol type (i.e., ‘D’, ‘U’ or ‘S’). This is the restriction rule. [0076] FIGURE 13 illustrates an example of dynamic slot format indication for SBFD operation. The cell-specifically configured semi-static TDD pattern in the example in the upper part of the figure consists of 5 slots. The overall pattern has a number of DL-only symbols at the beginning of the pattern and a number of UL-only symbols at the end of the pattern. In between are the 'F' symbols, some or all of which may be used for SBFD operation. This shows the UE is configured by semi-static time and frequency configuration (top part of Fig. 13) and a dynamic indication (bottom part of Fig. 13). Fig. 21, [0157] At step 2114, the wireless device transmits or receives wireless signals on one or more subbands of a SBFD symbol according to the indication of the slot format. This shows the UE communicating based at least in part on the semi-static time and frequency configuration, and the restriction rule) wherein the restriction rule indicates that the one or more SBFD symbols or slots are updated at non-edge slots of an SBFD region of three or more SBFD slots ([0083] FIGURE 14 illustrates an example of dynamic slot format indication for SBFD operation. The upper part of FIGURE 14 shows a RRC configured semi-static TDD pattern that supports SBFD operation in slot 1, 2 and 3 (three SBFD slots). Three radio band sets are configured in the SBFD symbols where the central radio band set is set to flexible (‘F’). In other words, the radio band set configuration is ‘D-F-D’. The central radio band set for the SBFD symbols is further indicated as uplink (‘U’) by the slot formats identified from the detected SFI, dynamically converting the radio band set configuration to ‘D-U-D’, for the time duration of the indicated SFI. This shows one SBFD slot updated at non-edge slots of an SBFD region of three or more SBFD slots).
Regarding claim 23, Liu teaches the network entity of claim 22, wherein the communicating is based at least in part on the semi-static time and frequency configuration, the dynamic indication, and the restriction rule ([0075] Only ‘F’ symbols indicated by semi-static TDD pattern configuration (by TDD-DL- UL-ConfigCommon and TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated) can be overridden with different symbol type (i.e., ‘D’, ‘U’ or ‘S’). This is the restriction rule. [0076] FIGURE 13 illustrates an example of dynamic slot format indication for SBFD operation. The cell-specifically configured semi-static TDD pattern in the example in the upper part of the figure consists of 5 slots. The overall pattern has a number of DL-only symbols at the beginning of the pattern and a number of UL-only symbols at the end of the pattern. In between are the 'F' symbols, some or all of which may be used for SBFD operation. This shows the UE is configured by semi-static time and frequency configuration (top part of Fig. 13) and a dynamic indication (bottom part of Fig. 13). Fig. 21, [0157] At step 2114, the wireless device transmits or receives wireless signals on one or more subbands of a SBFD symbol according to the indication of the slot format. This shows the UE communicating based at least in part on the semi-static time and frequency configuration, the dynamic indication, and the restriction rule).
Regarding claim 24, Liu teaches the network entity of claim 22, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to transmit an indication of the restriction rule (Fig. 5, [0013] In more detail, the following two information elements (IES) are defined in current specifications. The TDD pattern is typically configured with at least the first IE and optionally the 2nd IE. TDD-DL-UL-ConfigCommon (cell-specific), TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated (UE- specific). [0014] The first IE is cell specific (common to all UEs) and is provided by broadcast signaling. It provides the number of slots in the TDD pattern via a reference subcarrier spacing and a periodicity such that the S-slot pattern repeats every S slots. [0015] If there is a gap between the last downlink symbol and the first uplink symbol, then all symbols in the gap are characterized as flexible ('F'). A symbol classified as 'F' can be used for downlink or uplink. [0017] As another option, the UE may receive dedicated (UE-specific) signaling in the IE TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated. This parameter overrides some or all of the 'F' symbols in the pattern, thus providing a semi-static indication of whether a symbol is classified as 'D' or 'U'. [0075] Only ‘F’ symbols indicated by semi-static TDD pattern configuration (by TDD-DL- UL-ConfigCommon and TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated) can be overridden with different symbol type (i.e., ‘D’, ‘U’ or ‘S’). This is the restriction rule. In Fig. 22, step 2212 shows the network node transmits this indication).
Regarding claim 26, Liu teaches the network entity of claim 22, wherein the restriction rule indicates that the one or more SBFD symbols or slots are able to be added at or converted to flexible symbols or slots and not downlink symbols or slots ([0075] Only ‘F’ symbols indicated by semi-static TDD pattern configuration (by TDD-DL- UL-ConfigCommon and TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated) can be overridden with different symbol type (i.e., ‘D’, ‘U’ or ‘S’). This is the restriction rule. Therefore, SBFD symbols or slots can be added at flexible symbols or slots and not downlink symbols or slots).
Regarding claim 31, Liu teaches the network entity of claim 22 wherein the dynamic indication is included in scheduling downlink control information ([0213] When the UE detects a DCI format instructing the UE to receive PDSCH or CSI-RS through a flexible symbol in a slot that is configured based on DCI format 2_0, the UE may receive the PDSCH or the CSI-RS through the configured flexible symbol in the slot. [0214] When the UE detects a DCI format, RAR UL grant, fallbackRAR UL grant, or successRAR that indicates, to the UE, transmission of PUSCH, PUCCH, PRACH, or SRS through a flexible symbol in a sloth configured based on DCI format 2_0, the UE may transmit the PUSCH, the PUCCH, the PRACH, or the SRS through the configured flexible symbol in the slot.).
Regarding claim 32, Liu teaches the network entity of claim 22, wherein the dynamic indication is included in non-scheduling downlink control information that does not schedule data ([0024] For dynamic TDD where the UL/DL allocation may vary depending on the scheduling DCI, it can be useful to indicate to a group of UEs what the instantaneous TDD pattern looks like for the current and potentially future slots. This is achieved by signaling of one or more slot format indicators (SFI) in DCI Format 2 0 carried by the group common control channel (GC-PDCCH). [0025] Each SFI indicates which symbols in a slot are classified as ‘D’, ‘U’, or ‘F’. The indicated SFI(s) cannot override symbols that are already semi-statically configured as ‘D’ or ‘U’ as described previously; however, an SFI can indicate the direction (‘D’ or ‘U’) for symbols classified as flexible (‘F’). If the SFI indicates ‘F’ for symbols already classified as ‘F’, and PDCCH does not schedule any data or trigger reference signals in those symbols, then the UE shall neither transmit nor receive on those symbols. [0026] SFI is carried by DCI format 2 0 and includes slot format indicator 1, slot format indicator 2, ... , slot format indicator N. Each of the “Slot format indicators” or “SFI-index” field in DCI format 2 0 indicates to a UE a slot format for each slot for a period of transmission for each DL bandwidth part (BWP) or each UL BWP starting from a slot where the UE detects the DCI format 2 0.).
Regarding claim 33, Liu teaches the network entity of claim 22, wherein the dynamic indication is included in non-scheduling downlink control information (DCI) that is a group common DCI (([0024] For dynamic TDD where the UL/DL allocation may vary depending on the scheduling DCI, it can be useful to indicate to a group of UEs what the instantaneous TDD pattern looks like for the current and potentially future slots. This is achieved by signaling of one or more slot format indicators (SFI) in DCI Format 2 0 carried by the group common control channel (GC-PDCCH). [0025] Each SFI indicates which symbols in a slot are classified as ‘D’, ‘U’, or ‘F’. The indicated SFI(s) cannot override symbols that are already semi-statically configured as ‘D’ or ‘U’ as described previously; however, an SFI can indicate the direction (‘D’ or ‘U’) for symbols classified as flexible (‘F’). If the SFI indicates ‘F’ for symbols already classified as ‘F’, and PDCCH does not schedule any data or trigger reference signals in those symbols, then the UE shall neither transmit nor receive on those symbols. [0026] SFI is carried by DCI format 2 0 and includes slot format indicator 1, slot format indicator 2, ... , slot format indicator N. Each of the “Slot format indicators” or “SFI-index” field in DCI format 2 0 indicates to a UE a slot format for each slot for a period of transmission for each DL bandwidth part (BWP) or each UL BWP starting from a slot where the UE detects the DCI format 2 0.).
Regarding claim 34, Liu teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the non-edge slots do not border a downlink slot or an uplink slot outside the SBFD region ([0083] FIGURE 14 illustrates an example of dynamic slot format indication for SBFD operation. The upper part of FIGURE 14 shows a RRC configured semi-static TDD pattern that supports SBFD operation in slot 1, 2 and 3 (three SBFD slots). Three radio band sets are configured in the SBFD symbols where the central radio band set is set to flexible (‘F’). In other words, the radio band set configuration is ‘D-F-D’. The central radio band set for the SBFD symbols is further indicated as uplink (‘U’) by the slot formats identified from the detected SFI, dynamically converting the radio band set configuration to ‘D-U-D’, for the time duration of the indicated SFI. Slot 2 is the non-edge slot that does not border a downlink slot or an uplink slot outside the SBDF region).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (WO 2023211352 A1) in view of Intel Corporation: “On SBFD Support”, 3GPP Draft; R1-2304825, May 22-26, 2023; hereinafter Intel.
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches the UE of claim 1 and an SBFD symbol or slot having an uplink subband and at least one downlink subband ([0072] FIGURE 12 illustrates an example SBFD configuration (D-U-D) in a SBFD symbol).
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the dynamic indication updates an SBFD symbol or slot by changing the SBFD symbol or slot to a downlink symbol or slot.
Intel, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the dynamic indication updates an SBFD symbol or slot by changing the SBFD symbol or slot to a downlink symbol or slot (Pg. 1, Section 2.1, Case A: A semi-static SBFD symbol dynamically switches to a full DL symbol).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dynamic indication of Liu to update an SBFD symbol to a downlink symbol. The motivation to do so would have been to utilize semi-static UL subband for DL reception based on need (Intel; Pg. 1, Section 2.1).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches the UE of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach wherein the dynamic indication updates an SBFD symbol or slot having an uplink subband and at least one flexible subband by changing the SBFD symbol or slot to a flexible symbol or slot, a downlink symbol or slot, or an uplink symbol or slot.
Intel, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the dynamic indication updates an SBFD symbol or slot having an uplink subband and at least one flexible subband by changing the SBFD symbol or slot to a flexible symbol or slot, a downlink symbol or slot, or an uplink symbol or slot (Pg. 4, Section 2.2, Shows an SBFD symbol having an uplink subband and at least one flexible subband. RAN1 already agreed to support up to one UL subband in a carrier (excluding legacy UL symbol) and the UL subband can be located at one side of the carrier or at the middle part of the carrier. In addition to DL/UL subband, there was some discussion on flexible subband, which can be used either for UL transmission or DL transmission, to support dynamic switch between SBFD symbol to a full UL or full DL symbol. Pg. 1 Case A or C or D. Pg. 2, If UL subband is configured for a legacy flexible symbol, cases A, C, D, and E can be studied: - For cases A & C, similar to legacy flexible symbol which can be dynamically switched to DL or UL symbol, a SBFD symbol in a semi-static flexible symbol may be dynamically switched to full DL or UL symbol. Then, SBFD-aware UE as well as legacy UE can be served with full bandwidth as in legacy TDD system. For case D, on one hand, the full flexible symbol may be finally used either for full UL or full DL, thus it seems case D is redundant, in addition to case A and case C. On the other hand, to keep similar function of flexible symbol indicated by legacy SFI.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dynamic indication of Liu to update an SBFD symbol or slot to a flexible symbol or slot, a downlink symbol or slot, or an uplink symbol or slot. The motivation to do so would have been to utilize full UL or DL bandwidth as needed. (Intel; Pg. 1, section 2.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 10-13, 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (WO 2023211352 A1) in view of Seok (US 20250071755 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches the UE of claim 1 but does not teach wherein the restriction rule indicates that the one or more SBFD symbols or slots are able to be added at or updated to downlink symbols or slots and flexible symbols or slots.
Seok, in the same field of endeavor of subband operation, teaches wherein the restriction rule specifies that the one or more SBFD symbols or slots are able to be added at or updated to downlink symbols or slots and flexible symbols or slots ([0284] In the specification, the configuration that multiple subbands are configured for a slot or a symbol may be described as an SBFD configuration (restriction rule). For example, a downlink symbol for which multiple subbands are configured may be described as an SBFD symbol (SBFD symbol added at downlink symbol), and a flexible symbol for which multiple subbands are configured may be described as an SBFD symbol (SBFD symbol added at flexible symbol)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restriction rule of Liu to include the SBFD configuration of Seok. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method for configuring a subband (Seok; [0024]).
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches the UE of claim 1 but does not teach wherein the restriction rule indicates that the one or more SBFD symbols or slots are able to be added at or updated to flexible symbols or slots and downlink symbols or slots that are specified as non-restricted.
Seok, in the same field of endeavor of subband operation, teaches wherein the restriction rule specifies that the one or more SBFD symbols or slots are able to be added at or updated to flexible symbols or slots and downlink symbols or slots that are specified as non-restricted ([0284] In the specification, the configuration that multiple subbands are configured for a slot or a symbol may be described as an SBFD configuration (restriction rule). For example, a downlink symbol for which multiple subbands are configured may be described as an SBFD symbol (SBFD symbol added at downlink symbol), this downlink symbol is a UE-specific downlink symbol or non-restricted symbol, since [0136] only a flexible symbol semi-statically configured for the UE may be indicated as one of a downlink symbol, an uplink symbol, and a flexible symbol via a dynamic SFI, [0284] and a flexible symbol for which multiple subbands are configured may be described as an SBFD symbol (SBFD symbol added at flexible symbol)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restriction rule of Liu to include the SBFD configuration of Seok. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method for configuring a subband (Seok; [0024]).
Regarding claim 11, Seok teaches the UE of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors, to downlink symbols or slots that are restricted, are configured to downlink symbols or slots for synchronization signal block symbols, tracking reference signal symbols, or aperiodic channel state information reference signal symbols (Fig. 28, [0298] i) When the resource allocated for the reception of the CSI-RS and the resource allocated for the transmission of CG PUSCH type 1 overlap each other in the time domain, the UE may perform the reception of the RRC-configured CSI-RS. The UE is indicated such that multiple subbands are dynamically configured in the time domain interval, but the time domain interval is previously configured as a downlink slot or symbol (restricted symbol or slot), and thus the previous configuration may be prioritized. That is, the UE may perform the reception of the CSI-RS without performing the transmission of CG-PUSCH type 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restriction rule of Liu to include the SBFD configuration of Seok. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method for configuring a subband (Seok; [0024]).
Regarding claim 12, Seok teaches the UE of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors, to downlink symbols or slots that are restricted, are configured to downlink symbols or slots for control resource set symbols ([0353] (Method 26-1) When a resource allocated for a CORESET and a resource allocated for transmission of CG PUSCH type 1 overlap each other in the time domain, the UE may monitor a PDCCH on a CORESET. That is, the UE may not perform the transmission of CG PUSCH type 1 and may perform monitoring of the PDCCH on the CORESET.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restriction rule of Liu to include the SBFD configuration of Seok. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method for configuring a subband (Seok; [0024]).
Regarding claim 13, Seok teaches the UE of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors, to downlink symbols or slots that are restricted, are configured to downlink symbols or slots for semi-persistent scheduling symbols ([0329] (Method 16-1) When a resource allocated for reception of an SPS PDSCH and a resource allocated for transmission of CG PUSCH type 1 overlap each other in the time domain, the UE may receive the SPS PDSCH. That is, the UE may not perform the transmission of CG PUSCH type 1 and may perform the reception of the SPS PDSCH.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restriction rule of Liu to include the SBFD configuration of Seok. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method for configuring a subband (Seok; [0024]).
Regarding claim 25, Liu teaches the network entity of claim 22 but does not teach wherein the restriction rule indicates that the one or more SBFD symbols or slots are able to be added at or converted to downlink symbols or slots and flexible symbols or slots.
Seok, in the same field of endeavor of subband operation, teaches wherein the restriction rule specifies that the one or more SBFD symbols or slots are able to be added at or updated to downlink symbols or slots and flexible symbols or slots ([0284] In the specification, the configuration that multiple subbands are configured for a slot or a symbol may be described as an SBFD configuration (restriction rule). For example, a downlink symbol for which multiple subbands are configured may be described as an SBFD symbol (SBFD symbol added at downlink symbol), and a flexible symbol for which multiple subbands are configured may be described as an SBFD symbol (SBFD symbol added at flexible symbol)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restriction rule of Liu to include the SBFD configuration of Seok. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method for configuring a subband (Seok; [0024]).
Regarding claim 27, Liu teaches the network entity of claim 22 but does not teach wherein the restriction rule indicates that the one or more SBFD symbols or slots are able to be added at or converted to flexible symbols or slots and downlink symbols or slots that are specified as non-restricted.
Seok, in the same field of endeavor of subband operation, teaches wherein the restriction rule specifies that the one or more SBFD symbols or slots are able to be added at or updated to flexible symbols or slots and downlink symbols or slots that are specified as non-restricted ([0284] In the specification, the configuration that multiple subbands are configured for a slot or a symbol may be described as an SBFD configuration (restriction rule). For example, a downlink symbol for which multiple subbands are configured may be described as an SBFD symbol (SBFD symbol added at downlink symbol), this downlink symbol is a UE-specific downlink symbol or non-restricted symbol, since [0136] only a flexible symbol semi-statically configured for the UE may be indicated as one of a downlink symbol, an uplink symbol, and a flexible symbol via a dynamic SFI, [0284] and a flexible symbol for which multiple subbands are configured may be described as an SBFD symbol (SBFD symbol added at flexible symbol)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restriction rule of Liu to include the SBFD configuration of Seok. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method for configuring a subband (Seok; [0024]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 and 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (WO 2023211352 A1) in view of Seok (US 20250071755 A1), further in view of Rudolf (US 20240196241 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches claim 1 and Seok teaches the UE of claim 10, but they do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors, to downlink symbols or slots that are restricted, are configured to downlink symbols or slots for beam failure detection symbols or radio link management.
Rudolf, in the same field of endeavor of Full duplex systems, teaches wherein the one or more processors, to downlink symbols or slots that are restricted, are configured to downlink symbols or slots for beam failure detection symbols or radio link management symbols ([0184] RLM-RS resources on SBFD slots or symbols may be configured or transmitted by the network or may not be present for a UE or for other UEs, a UE performs radio link monitoring using an RLM-RS resource on a non-SBFD slot or symbol and using the adjustment factor when indicated or configured).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restriction rule of Liu and the SBFD configuration of Seok to include the method of receiving information for a set of RLM reference signals. The motivation to do so would have been to support radio link monitoring in full-duplex systems. (Rudolf; [0004]).
Regarding claim 21, Liu teaches the UE of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach wherein the dynamic indication is included in a medium access control control element (MAC CE).
Rudolf, in the same field of endeavor of Full duplex systems, teaches teach wherein the dynamic indication is included in a medium access control control element (MAC CE) ([0143] FD slots or symbol assignments over a time period/number of slots can be indicated by a DCI format in a PDCCH reception and can then vary per unit of the time period, or can be indicated by higher layer signaling, such as via a MAC CE or RRC.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify dynamic indication of Liu to receive the dynamic indication in a MAC-CE. The motivation to do so would have been to support radio link monitoring in full-duplex systems. (Rudolf; [0004]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (WO 2023211352 A1) in view of ABOTABL (US 20210352667 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Liu teaches claim 1 but does not teach wherein the restriction rule indicates that the one or more SBFD symbols or slots are not able to be added or updated at non-edge slots of a flexible region of three or more contiguous flexible slots.
ABOTABL, in the same field of endeavor of resource allocation techniques for full duplex communications teaches wherein the restriction rule specifies that the one or more SBFD symbols or slots are not able to be added or updated at non-edge slots of a flexible region of three or more contiguous flexible slots ([0088] the respective UL and DL portions of the SBFD carrier may be allocated within a given slot utilizing any suitable configuration, separated by frequency, time, or both frequency and time. Any suitable configuration could include adding or updating SBFD symbols or slots at the edge slots of a flexible region and not at the non-edge slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restriction rule of Liu to include the frequency domain resource allocation techniques for full plex communications of Abotable. The motivation to do so would have been to mitigate conflict between information corresponding to resources in overlapping portions of the carrier. (Abotable; [0010]).
Regarding claim 29, Liu teaches the network entity of claim 22 but does not teach wherein the restriction rule indicates that the one or more SBFD symbols or slots are not able to be added or updated at non-edge slots of a flexible region of three or more contiguous flexible slots.
ABOTABL, in the same field of endeavor of resource allocation techniques for full duplex communications teaches wherein the restriction rule specifies that the one or more SBFD symbols or slots are not able to be added or updated at non-edge slots of a flexible region of three or more contiguous flexible slots ([0088] the respective UL and DL portions of the SBFD carrier may be allocated within a given slot utilizing any suitable configuration, separated by frequency, time, or both frequency and time. Any suitable configuration could include adding or updating SBFD symbols or slots at the edge slots of a flexible region and not at the non-edge slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restriction rule of Liu to include the frequency domain resource allocation techniques for full plex communications of Abotable. The motivation to do so would have been to mitigate conflict between information corresponding to resources in overlapping portions of the carrier. (Abotable; [0010]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ma (US 20250038923 A1) discloses methods for determining a slot format. Nazli (US 20240107525 A1) discloses PUCCH-related latency and coverage enhancement for subband non-overlapping full duplex.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465