DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant's communication filed on 03/10/2026, wherein:
Claim 1-20 are pending.
Claim 1, 5-6, 10-11, 15-16, and 20 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TR 23.700-86 V0.3.0 (2022-06) in view of Jiang (US 20240295626 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP discloses a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) (Fig. 6.4.2.2-1 : target UE) in a sidelink communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting a discovery message for a sidelink positioning, the discovery message including information on a UE role (Fig. 6.4.2.2-1 step 1 and page 30 – “1.The Target UE sends an Announcement message. The Announcement message may include the Type of Discovery Message, Target UE info, Ranging/Sidelink Positioning service Code, Role indication (target UE) and Target UE capability (e.g. ranging support)”);
establishing a PC5 connection for the sidelink positioning with a second UE based on the discovery message (Fig. 6.4.2.2-1 step 2 and page 30-3 – “2. Reference UEs monitor the Announcement message. If the Target info is the Reference UE to be discovered, the Reference UEs have the interests on the Ranging service and support the Ranging/Sidelink Positioning capability of the Target UE if any, the Reference UE performs the direct PC5 link establishment procedure with target UE”); and
receiving, from the second UE based on the PC5 connection, information associated with a capability for a positioning method supported by the second UE (Fig. 6.4.2.2-1 step 3 and page 31 – “The Target UE and the Reference UE perform the Ranging/Sidelink Positioning control interaction procedure to exchange the coordination & configuration information, e.g. the Ranging capability and Ranging Assistance Data, as described in clause 6.4.2.4”, Fig. 6.4.2.4.1 step 1-2 and page 32 disclose target UE request reference UE capability and receiving capability information).
However, the reference is silent on details about wherein the information associated with the capability comprises at least one of capability information on a sidelink-time difference of arrival (SL-TDoA), capability information on a sidelink-angle of arrival (SL-AoA), or capability information on a sidelink-round trip time (SL-RTT).
Jiang discloses wherein the information associated with the capability comprises at least one of capability information on a sidelink-time difference of arrival (SL-TDoA), capability information on a sidelink-angle of arrival (SL-AoA), or capability information on a sidelink-round trip time (SL-RTT) (abstract, ¶0004, Fig. 7 step 702 and ¶0243).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of 3GPP to incorporate ability to obtain details capability from other devices from Jiang because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to facilitate details exchange of positioning capability between devices.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teaching of 3GPP and Jiang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the receiving of the information associated with the capability comprises: transmitting, to the second UE, a capability request message for requesting the information associated with the capability for the positioning method supported by the second UE (3GPP - section 6.4.2.4.1; Jiang – Abstract, Fig. 7 step 701, ¶0004, 0118, and 0241 disclose transmitting capability request message); and receiving, from the second UE, a capability response message including the information associated with the capability for the positioning method supported by the second UE, based on the capability request message (3GPP - section 6.4.2.4.1;Jiang - abstract, ¶0004, Fig. 7 step 702 and ¶0243). The combined teaching would be obvious for the same reason indicated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, the combined teaching of 3GPP and Jiang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the receiving of the information associated with the capability comprises: receiving, from the second UE, a capability message including the information associated with the capability for the positioning method supported by the second UE (3GPP - section 6.4.2.4.1;Jiang - abstract, ¶0004, Fig. 7 step 702 and ¶0243-0244). The combined teaching would be obvious for the same reason indicated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, the combined teaching of 3GPP and Jiang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting, to the second UE, a request location information message for requesting measurement data including information on a positioning method (3GPP - Fig. 6.4.2.5-1 step 1 and section 6.4.2.5 on page 33 – “ 1. For the RSPP procedure to exchange Ranging/Sidelink Positioning measurement results, the Target UE or the Reference UE may request the peer UE to provide the Ranging/Sidelink Positioning measurement results. The Ranging/Sidelink Positioning measurement result request is transferred via the PC5-S message”); and
receiving, from the second UE, a provide location information message for reporting the measurement data based on the request location information message (3GPP - Fig. 6.4.2.5-1 step 2, section 6.4.2.5 on page 33 – “2. The Target UE or the Reference UE provides its Ranging/Sidelink Positioning measurement results to the peer UE which is transferred via the PC5-S message”),
wherein the request location information message further includes at least one of information associated with a periodic report, or information indicating a location information type (3GPP – section 5.6.1 page 19 – “The third UE may request Ranging/Sidelink positioning information immediately, periodically or at a later time”), and
wherein the provide location information message includes at least one of a result of a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement of a sidelink positioning reference signal (PRS), a result of a reference signal time difference (RSTD) of the sidelink PRS, information on a location or information on a relative location (3GPP – Section 4.1 – “Ranging-based services and sidelink positioning consists of distance measurement, direction measurement, or both. UE is allowed to request the distance measurement only, direction measurement only, or both in the service”).
Regarding claim 6, 3GPP discloses a method performed by a second user equipment (UE) (Section 6.4.2.2 – Reference UE) in a sidelink communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a discovery message indicating a type for a sidelink positioning, the discovery message including information on a UE role (Fig. 6.4.2.2-1 step 1 and page 30 – “1.The Target UE sends an Announcement message. The Announcement message may include the Type of Discovery Message, Target UE info, Ranging/Sidelink Positioning service Code, Role indication (target UE) and Target UE capability (e.g. ranging support)”);
establishing a PC5 connection for the sidelink positioning with a first UE based on the discovery message (Fig. 6.4.2.2-1 step 2 and page 30-3 – “2. Reference UEs monitor the Announcement message. If the Target info is the Reference UE to be discovered, the Reference UEs have the interests on the Ranging service and support the Ranging/Sidelink Positioning capability of the Target UE if any, the Reference UE performs the direct PC5 link establishment procedure with target UE”); and
transmitting, to the first UE based on the PC5 connection, information associated with a capability for a positioning method supported by the second (Fig. 6.4.2.2-1 step 3 and page 31 – “The Target UE and the Reference UE perform the Ranging/Sidelink Positioning control interaction procedure to exchange the coordination & configuration information, e.g. the Ranging capability and Ranging Assistance Data, as described in clause 6.4.2.4”, Fig. 6.4.2.4.1 step 1-2 and page 32 disclose target UE request reference UE capability and receiving capability information).
However, the reference is silent on details about wherein the information associated with the capability comprises at least one of capability information on a sidelink-time difference of arrival (SL-TDoA), capability information on a sidelink-angle of arrival (SL-AoA), or capability information on a sidelink-round trip time (SL-RTT).
Jiang discloses wherein the information associated with the capability comprises at least one of capability information on a sidelink-time difference of arrival (SL-TDoA), capability information on a sidelink-angle of arrival (SL-AoA), or capability information on a sidelink-round trip time (SL-RTT) (abstract, ¶0004, Fig. 7 step 702 and ¶0243).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of 3GPP to incorporate ability to obtain details capability from other devices from Jiang because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to facilitate details exchange of positioning capability between devices.
Regarding claim 7, the combined teaching of 3GPP and Jiang discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the transmitting of the information associated with the capability comprises:
receiving, from the first UE, a capability request message for requesting the information associated with the capability for the positioning method supported by the second UE (3GPP - section 6.4.2.4.1; Jiang – Abstract, Fig. 7 step 701, ¶0004, 0118, and 0241 disclose receiving capability request message); and
transmitting, to the first UE, a capability response message including the information associated with the capability for the positioning method supported by the second UE, based on the capability request message (3GPP - section 6.4.2.4.1;Jiang - abstract, ¶0004, Fig. 7 step 702 and ¶0243). The combined teaching would be obvious for the same reason indicated in claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, the combined teaching of 3GPP and Jiang discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the transmitting of the information associated with the capability comprises: transmitting, to the first UE, a capability message including the information associated with the capability for the positioning method supported by the second UE (3GPP - section 6.4.2.4.1;Jiang - abstract, ¶0004, Fig. 7 step 702 and ¶0243-0244). The combined teaching would be obvious for the same reason indicated in claim 6.
Regarding claim 10, The combined teaching of 3GPP and Jiang discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising:
receiving, from the first UE, a request location information message for requesting measurement data including information on a positioning method (3GPP - Fig. 6.4.2.5-1 step 1 and section 6.4.2.5 on page 33 – “ 1. For the RSPP procedure to exchange Ranging/Sidelink Positioning measurement results, the Target UE or the Reference UE may request the peer UE to provide the Ranging/Sidelink Positioning measurement results. The Ranging/Sidelink Positioning measurement result request is transferred via the PC5-S message”); and
transmitting, to the first UE, a provide location information message for reporting the measurement data based on the request location information message (3GPP - Fig. 6.4.2.5-1 step 2, section 6.4.2.5 on page 33 – “2. The Target UE or the Reference UE provides its Ranging/Sidelink Positioning measurement results to the peer UE which is transferred via the PC5-S message”),
wherein the request location information message further includes at least one of information associated with a periodic report, or information indicating a location information type (3GPP – section 5.6.1 page 19 – “The third UE may request Ranging/Sidelink positioning information immediately, periodically or at a later time”),, and
wherein the provide location information message includes at least one of a result of a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement of a sidelink positioning reference signal (PRS), a result of a reference signal time difference (RSTD) of the sidelink PRS, information on a location or information on a relative location (3GPP – Section 4.1 – “Ranging-based services and sidelink positioning consists of distance measurement, direction measurement, or both. UE is allowed to request the distance measurement only, direction measurement only, or both in the service”).
Regarding claim 11, the scope and content of the claim recites a first user equipment (UE) for performing the method of claim 1, therefore, being addressed as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the scope and content of the claim recites a first user equipment (UE) for performing the method of claim 2, therefore, being addressed as in claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the scope and content of the claim recites a first user equipment (UE) for performing the method of claim 3, therefore, being addressed as in claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, the scope and content of the claim recites a first user equipment (UE) for performing the method of claim 5, therefore, being addressed as in claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, the scope and content of the claim recites a second user equipment (UE) for performing the method of claim 6, therefore, being addressed as in claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, the scope and content of the claim recites a second user equipment (UE) for performing the method of claim 7, therefore, being addressed as in claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, the scope and content of the claim recites a second user equipment (UE) for performing the method of claim 8, therefore, being addressed as in claim 8.
Regarding claim 20, the scope and content of the claim recites a second user equipment (UE) for performing the method of claim 10, therefore, being addressed as in claim 10.
Claim 4, 9, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TR 23.700-86 V0.3.0 (2022-06) in view of Jiang (US 20240295626 A1) and Bao et al. (US 20220065979 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teaching of 3GPP and Jiang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the second UE, a request assistance data message for requesting assistance data (3GPP – Fig. 6.4.2.4.2-1 and section 6.3.2.4.2 on page 32 – “1. For the RSPP procedure to exchange Ranging assistant data, the Target UE or the Reference UE may request the peer UE to provide the Ranging assistant data. The Ranging assistant data request is transferred via the PC5-S message”); and
transmitting, to the second UE, a provide assistance data message based on the request assistance data message (3GPP – Fig. 6.4.2.4.2-1 and section 6.3.2.4.2 on page 32 - “2. The Target UE or the Reference UE provides its Ranging assistant data to the peer UE which is transferred via the PC5-S message”).
However, the combined teaching is silent on details about wherein the provide assistance data message includes at least one of information associated with a bandwidth or information associated with a time.
Bao discloses wherein the provide assistance data message includes at least one of information associated with a bandwidth or information associated with a time (Abstract discloses assistance information provided by anchor UE, ¶0078 disclose “a timing error group may be included in assistance information to efficiently convey group delay and/or calibration error that applies to one or more measurements, signals, and/or beams to a receiving device, allowing the receiving device to compensate for these errors when determining a position of the target UE 603”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of 3GPP and Jiang to incorporate timing error information in assistance information from Bao because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to improve the accuracy of the positioning result.
Regarding claim 9, the combined teaching of 3GPP and Jiang discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising:
transmitting, to the first UE, a request assistance data message for requesting assistance data (3GPP – Fig. 6.4.2.4.2-1 and section 6.3.2.4.2 on page 32 – “1. For the RSPP procedure to exchange Ranging assistant data, the Target UE or the Reference UE may request the peer UE to provide the Ranging assistant data. The Ranging assistant data request is transferred via the PC5-S message”); and
receiving, from the first UE, a provide assistance data message based on the request assistance data message (3GPP – Fig. 6.4.2.4.2-1 and section 6.3.2.4.2 on page 32 - “2. The Target UE or the Reference UE provides its Ranging assistant data to the peer UE which is transferred via the PC5-S message”).
However, the combined teaching is silent on details about wherein the provide assistance data message includes at least one of information associated with a bandwidth or information associated with a time.
Bao discloses wherein the provide assistance data message includes at least one of information associated with a bandwidth or information associated with a time (Abstract discloses assistance information provided by anchor UE, ¶0078 disclose “a timing error group may be included in assistance information to efficiently convey group delay and/or calibration error that applies to one or more measurements, signals, and/or beams to a receiving device, allowing the receiving device to compensate for these errors when determining a position of the target UE 603”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of 3GPP and Jiang to incorporate timing error information in assistance information from Bao because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to improve the accuracy of the positioning result.
Regarding claim 14, the scope and content of the claim recites a first user equipment (UE) for performing the method of claim 4, therefore, being addressed as in claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, the scope and content of the claim recites a second user equipment (UE) for performing the method of claim 9, therefore, being addressed as in claim 9.
Contact Information
/DUNG HONG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643