DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Examiner acknowledges the amendment to the title filed on December 16, 2025. The objection to specification in the previous Office Action filed on October 01, 2025 is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2022/0208911, hereinafter, “Cho”), prior art of record.
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses a light emitting display device (see Cho, FIG. 2), comprising:
a first thin film transistor (130, FIG. 2), the first thin film transistor (130) comprising a first semiconductor pattern (131, FIG. 2), a first gate electrode (132, FIG. 2), a first source electrode (134, FIG. 2; source and drain are interchangeable), and a first drain electrode (133, FIG. 2);
a second thin film transistor (160, FIG. 2), the second thin film transistor (160) comprising a second semiconductor pattern (161, FIG. 2), a second gate electrode (162, FIG. 2), a second source electrode (top layer of 164, FIG. 2; ¶ [0081] discloses that 164 can be a multilayer), and a second drain electrode (170, FIG. 2); and
a light emitting element layer (182, ¶ [0097]) electrically connected to the second thin film transistor (160, FIG. 2),
wherein the second thin film transistor (160) further comprises a plurality of auxiliary metal layers (163 and bottom layer of 164), wherein the plurality of auxiliary metal layers (163 and bottom layer of 164) are in contact with a lower portion of each of the second source electrode (top layer of 164) and the second drain electrode (170, FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Cho discloses the light emitting display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of auxiliary metal layers (163 and bottom layer of 164) comprise molybdenum (¶ [0081]).
Regarding claim 3, Cho discloses the light emitting display device of claim 1, wherein at least one or more insulating layers (117+118a, FIG. 2) having a contact hole (hole for 163, 164, and 170, FIG. 2) are interposed among the second semiconductor pattern (161), the second source electrode (top layer of 164) and the second drain electrode (170), and the plurality of auxiliary metal layers (163 and bottom layer of 164) are in the contact hole (hole for 163 and bottom layer of 164 in 117, FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Cho discloses the light emitting display device of claim 1, wherein the second semiconductor pattern (161), the second source electrode (top layer of 164), and the second drain electrode (170) are electrically connected through the plurality of auxiliary metal layers (163 and bottom layer of 164, FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Cho discloses the light emitting display device of claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor pattern (131) is made of low-temperature polysilicon (¶ [0066]), and the second semiconductor pattern (161) is made of oxide (¶ [0077]).
Regarding claim 7, Cho discloses the light emitting display device of claim 1, further comprising: a first blocking layer (121a+122, FIG. 2) under the first semiconductor pattern (131) and a second blocking layer (152, FIG. 2) under the second semiconductor pattern (161, FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Cho discloses the light emitting display device of claim 7, wherein at least one or more buffer layers (112-114, FIG. 2) are interposed between the first blocking layer (121a+122) and the second blocking layer (152, FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Cho discloses the light emitting display device of claim 7, wherein a vertical length of the first blocking layer (121a+122) and the first semiconductor pattern (131) is different from a vertical length of the second blocking layer (152) and the second semiconductor pattern (161, FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Cho discloses the light emitting display device of claim 1, wherein a material of the first semiconductor pattern (131) and a material of the second semiconductor pattern (161) are different from each other (¶¶ [0066] and [0077]).
Regarding claim 12, Cho discloses the light emitting display device of claim 1, wherein a material of the first source electrode (134) and the first drain electrode (133) is different from a material of the plurality of auxiliary metal layers (163 and bottom layer of 164, ¶ [0081]; 133 and 134 can be made of Al and 163 and bottom layer of 164 can be made of Mo).
Regarding claim 13, Cho discloses the light emitting display device of claim 1, wherein a material of the second source electrode (top layer of 164) and the second drain electrode (170) is different from a material of the plurality of auxiliary metal layers (163 and bottom layer of 164, ¶¶ [0081] and [0095]; 170 and top layer of 164 can be made of Al and 163 and bottom layer of 164 can be made of Mo).
Regarding claim 14, Cho discloses the light emitting display device of claim 1, wherein a material of the first source electrode (134) and the first drain electrode (133) is same as a material of the second source electrode (top layer of 164) and the second drain electrode (170; Al, ¶¶ [0081] and [0095]), and wherein a material of the plurality of auxiliary metal layers (163 and bottom layer of 164; Mo, ¶ [0081]) is different from materials (Al) of the first source electrode (134), the first drain electrode (133), the second source electrode (top layer of 164), and the second drain electrode (170).
Note: Claims 1 and 7 are rejected below using different mapping in order to reject claim 10.
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses a light emitting display device (see Cho, FIG. 2), comprising:
a first thin film transistor (160, FIG. 2), the first thin film transistor (160) comprising a first semiconductor pattern (161, FIG. 2), a first gate electrode (162, FIG. 2), a first source electrode (163, FIG. 2), and a first drain electrode (164, FIG. 2);
a second thin film transistor (130, FIG. 2), the second thin film transistor (130) comprising a second semiconductor pattern (131, FIG. 2), a second gate electrode (132, FIG. 2), a second source electrode (top layer of 133, FIG. 2; ¶ [0081] discloses that 133 can be a multilayer), and a second drain electrode (170, FIG. 2); and
a light emitting element layer (182, ¶ [0097]) electrically connected to the second thin film transistor (130, FIG. 2),
wherein the second thin film transistor (130) further comprises a plurality of auxiliary metal layers (134 and bottom layer of 133), wherein the plurality of auxiliary metal layers (134 and bottom layer of 133) are in contact with a lower portion of each of the second source electrode (top layer of 133) and the second drain electrode (170, FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Cho discloses the light emitting display device of claim 1, further comprising: a first blocking layer (152, FIG. 2) under the first semiconductor pattern (161) and a second blocking layer (121a+122, FIG. 2) under the second semiconductor pattern (131, FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Cho discloses the light emitting display device of claim 7, wherein a vertical length of the second blocking layer (121a+122) and the second semiconductor pattern (131) is smaller than a vertical length of the first blocking layer (152) and the first semiconductor pattern (161, FIG. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2022/0208911, hereinafter, “Cho”), prior art of record, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of UM et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2020/0185428 A1, hereinafter, “UM”), prior art of record.
Regarding claim 6, Cho discloses the light emitting display device of claim 1.
Cho is silent regarding that the first source electrode, the first drain electrode, the second source electrode, and the second drain electrode comprise at least three metal layers.
However, Cho discloses that the first source electrode (134), the first drain electrode (133), the second source electrode (164), and the second drain electrode (170) comprise a multilayer structure (¶¶ [0081] and [0095]). And UM discloses a light emitting display device (see UM, FIG. 2), wherein source and drain electrodes (122/123) have three metal layers (¶ [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form Cho’s first source electrode, first drain electrode, second source electrode, and second drain electrode comprising at least three (can be four or five) metal layers, as taught by UM, since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP $2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection with new mapping of prior art of record does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. To be more specific, with current mapping, a second source electrode is Cho’s top layer of 164, and a plurality of auxiliary metal layers are Cho’s 163 and bottom layer of 164.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIA L CROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892