DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-10, 12, 15-17, 19, 24-27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zander et al. (US 2023/0127082), hereinafter Zander, in further view of Chul (US 2004/0228420), hereinafter Chul.
Regarding Claim 1, Zander teaches: A method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: estimating a channel using one or more predefined receive beams: “Based on RSRP measurements and beam correspondence (BC, allowing the UE to determine Transmission, Tx, beam based on Reception, Rx, beam measurements or vice versa), the receiver node (such as wireless device) autonomously selects a transmit beam from the transmit node (such as a transmit spatial filter) and a receive beam at the receiver node (such as a receive spatial filter)” (Zander ¶ 0003) to measure a rank2 reference signal received from a wireless node: “In one or more embodiments, a 2×2 channel matrix estimation can be performed, having up to rank 2. For example, for each “beam/spatial filter”, the receiver node may use up to two antenna ports (possibly having different polarizations) and the transmitter node may use two antenna ports. For example, there may be a 2×2 channel matrix for the channel between the receiver node and the transmitter node. The rank may be at most be 2” (Zander ¶ 0103).
Zander does not teach: generating a dynamic beam weight to maximize a communication parameter based on the estimated channel; and applying the dynamic beam weight to an antenna array.
Regarding Claim 1, Chul teaches: generating a dynamic beam weight to maximize a communication parameter based on the estimated channel: “a smart antenna system includes a weight vector generator equipped with an adaptive algorithm for updating a weight vector, a beam-forming module forming a beam pattern of antenna elements using the updated weight vector . . . calculating correlation matrices having Hermitian Toeplitz matrix property, calculating a gradient vector g(k) for a weight vector w(k) maximizing a reception signal to interface and noise ratio (SINR) of the signal vector y(k) using the correlation matrices, and updating the weight vector using the calculated gradient vector” (Chul ¶ 0015), where the smart antenna system is an antenna array; and applying the dynamic beam weight to an antenna array: “a receiver of a smart antenna estimates a weight to update weight vectors of the respective antenna elements. Namely, the receiver of the smart antenna includes a weight vector generator 30 equipped with an adaptive algorithm for updating a previous weight vector, a beam-forming module 10 forming a beam pattern of the antenna elements using an updated value of the weight vector, and an adder 20 to add the result values” (Chul ¶ 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander with Chul for the purpose of improving communication quality and capacity though a weight vector of an antenna system. According to Chul: “The scheme ultimately intends to improve both communication quality and capacity through a weight vector of an antenna for maximizing SINR” (Chul ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 2, Zander teaches: The method of claim 1.
Zander does not teach: the communication parameter includes a reference signal received power (RSRP), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), or a channel impulse response.
Regarding Claim 2, Chul teaches: the communication parameter includes a reference signal received power (RSRP), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), or a channel impulse response: “Generally, a scheme of maximizing SINR (signal to interface and noise ratio) is frequently used for calculating a weight vector of a smart antenna” (Chul ¶ 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander with Chul for the purpose of improving communication quality and capacity though a weight vector of an antenna system. According to Chul: “The scheme ultimately intends to improve both communication quality and capacity through a weight vector of an antenna for maximizing SINR” (Chul ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 4, Zander teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein estimating the channel comprises generating an N×N spatial correlation matrix for each polarization, where N is a number of antenna elements in the antenna array: “In one or more embodiments, a 2×2 channel matrix estimation can be performed, having up to rank 2. For example, for each “beam/spatial filter”, the receiver node may use up to two antenna ports (possibly having different polarizations) and the transmitter node may use two antenna ports. For example, there may be a 2×2 channel matrix for the channel between the receiver node and the transmitter node. The rank may be at most be 2” (Zander ¶ 0103).
Regarding Claim 7, Zander teaches: The method of claim 4, wherein the one or more predefined receive beams are used to measure the communication parameter for each antenna element in the spatial correlation matrix: “In one or more embodiments, a 2×2 channel matrix estimation can be performed, having up to rank 2. For example, for each “beam/spatial filter”, the receiver node may use up to two antenna ports (possibly having different polarizations) and the transmitter node may use two antenna ports. For example, there may be a 2×2 channel matrix for the channel between the receiver node and the transmitter node. The rank may be at most be 2” (Zander ¶ 0103).
Regarding Claim 8, Zander teaches: The method of claim 1.
Zander does not teach: generating the dynamic beam weight comprises generating receive beam weights to maximize the communication parameter associated with the rank2 reference signal.
Regarding Claim 8, Chul teaches: generating the dynamic beam weight comprises generating receive beam weights to maximize the communication parameter associated with the rank2 reference signal: “a smart antenna system includes a weight vector generator equipped with an adaptive algorithm for updating a weight vector, a beam-forming module forming a beam pattern of antenna elements using the updated weight vector . . . calculating correlation matrices having Hermitian Toeplitz matrix property, calculating a gradient vector g(k) for a weight vector w(k) maximizing a reception signal to interface and noise ratio (SINR) of the signal vector y(k) using the correlation matrices, and updating the weight vector using the calculated gradient vector” (Chul ¶ 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander with Chul for the purpose of improving communication quality and capacity though a weight vector of an antenna system. According to Chul: “The scheme ultimately intends to improve both communication quality and capacity through a weight vector of an antenna for maximizing SINR” (Chul ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 9, Zander teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories, individually or in combination, having instructions; and one or more processors, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions: “The receiver node 300 comprises a memory circuitry 301, a processor circuitry 302, and a wireless interface 303. The receiver node 300 is configured to perform any of the methods disclosed in FIG. 3” (Zander ¶ 0126) and cause the apparatus to: estimate a channel using one or more predefined receive beams to measure a rank2 reference signal received from a wireless node: “Based on RSRP measurements and beam correspondence (BC, allowing the UE to determine Transmission, Tx, beam based on Reception, Rx, beam measurements or vice versa), the receiver node (such as wireless device) autonomously selects a transmit beam from the transmit node (such as a transmit spatial filter) and a receive beam at the receiver node (such as a receive spatial filter)” (Zander ¶ 0003) and “In one or more embodiments, a 2×2 channel matrix estimation can be performed, having up to rank 2. For example, for each “beam/spatial filter”, the receiver node may use up to two antenna ports (possibly having different polarizations) and the transmitter node may use two antenna ports. For example, there may be a 2×2 channel matrix for the channel between the receiver node and the transmitter node. The rank may be at most be 2” (Zander ¶ 0103).
Zander does not teach: generate a dynamic beam weight to maximize a communication parameter based on the estimated channel; and apply the dynamic beam weight to an antenna array.
Regarding Claim 9, Chul teaches: generate a dynamic beam weight to maximize a communication parameter based on the estimated channel: “a smart antenna system includes a weight vector generator equipped with an adaptive algorithm for updating a weight vector, a beam-forming module forming a beam pattern of antenna elements using the updated weight vector . . . calculating correlation matrices having Hermitian Toeplitz matrix property, calculating a gradient vector g(k) for a weight vector w(k) maximizing a reception signal to interface and noise ratio (SINR) of the signal vector y(k) using the correlation matrices, and updating the weight vector using the calculated gradient vector” (Chul ¶ 0015), where the smart antenna system is an antenna array; and apply the dynamic beam weight to an antenna array: “a receiver of a smart antenna estimates a weight to update weight vectors of the respective antenna elements. Namely, the receiver of the smart antenna includes a weight vector generator 30 equipped with an adaptive algorithm for updating a previous weight vector, a beam-forming module 10 forming a beam pattern of the antenna elements using an updated value of the weight vector, and an adder 20 to add the result values” (Chul ¶ 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander with Chul for the purpose of improving communication quality and capacity though a weight vector of an antenna system. According to Chul: “The scheme ultimately intends to improve both communication quality and capacity through a weight vector of an antenna for maximizing SINR” (Chul ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 10, Zander teaches: The apparatus of claim 9.
Zander does not teach: the communication parameter includes a reference signal received power (RSRP), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), or a channel impulse response.
Regarding Claim 10, Chul teaches: the communication parameter includes a reference signal received power (RSRP), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), or a channel impulse response: “Generally, a scheme of maximizing SINR (signal to interface and noise ratio) is frequently used for calculating a weight vector of a smart antenna” (Chul ¶ 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander with Chul for the purpose of improving communication quality and capacity though a weight vector of an antenna system. According to Chul: “The scheme ultimately intends to improve both communication quality and capacity through a weight vector of an antenna for maximizing SINR” (Chul ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 12, Zander teaches: The apparatus of claim 9, wherein estimating the channel comprises generating an N×N spatial correlation matrix for each polarization, where N is a number of antenna elements in the antenna array: “In one or more embodiments, a 2×2 channel matrix estimation can be performed, having up to rank 2. For example, for each “beam/spatial filter”, the receiver node may use up to two antenna ports (possibly having different polarizations) and the transmitter node may use two antenna ports. For example, there may be a 2×2 channel matrix for the channel between the receiver node and the transmitter node. The rank may be at most be 2” (Zander ¶ 0103).
Regarding Claim 15, Zander teaches: The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the one or more predefined receive beams are used to measure the communication parameter for each antenna element in the spatial correlation matrix: “In one or more embodiments, a 2×2 channel matrix estimation can be performed, having up to rank 2. For example, for each “beam/spatial filter”, the receiver node may use up to two antenna ports (possibly having different polarizations) and the transmitter node may use two antenna ports. For example, there may be a 2×2 channel matrix for the channel between the receiver node and the transmitter node. The rank may be at most be 2” (Zander ¶ 0103).
Regarding Claim 16, Zander teaches: The apparatus of claim 9.
Zander does not teach: the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to generate receive beam weights to maximize the communication parameter associated with the rank2 reference signal.
Regarding Claim 16, Chul teaches: the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to generate receive beam weights to maximize the communication parameter associated with the rank2 reference signal: “a smart antenna system includes a weight vector generator equipped with an adaptive algorithm for updating a weight vector, a beam-forming module forming a beam pattern of antenna elements using the updated weight vector . . . calculating correlation matrices having Hermitian Toeplitz matrix property, calculating a gradient vector g(k) for a weight vector w(k) maximizing a reception signal to interface and noise ratio (SINR) of the signal vector y(k) using the correlation matrices, and updating the weight vector using the calculated gradient vector” (Chul ¶ 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander with Chul for the purpose of improving communication quality and capacity though a weight vector of an antenna system. According to Chul: “The scheme ultimately intends to improve both communication quality and capacity through a weight vector of an antenna for maximizing SINR” (Chul ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 17, Zander teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: means for estimating a channel using one or more predefined receive beams to measure a rank2 reference signal received from a wireless node: “The receiver node 300 comprises a memory circuitry 301, a processor circuitry 302, and a wireless interface 303. The receiver node 300 is configured to perform any of the methods disclosed in FIG. 3” (Zander ¶ 0126) and “Based on RSRP measurements and beam correspondence (BC, allowing the UE to determine Transmission, Tx, beam based on Reception, Rx, beam measurements or vice versa), the receiver node (such as wireless device) autonomously selects a transmit beam from the transmit node (such as a transmit spatial filter) and a receive beam at the receiver node (such as a receive spatial filter)” (Zander ¶ 0003) and “In one or more embodiments, a 2×2 channel matrix estimation can be performed, having up to rank 2. For example, for each “beam/spatial filter”, the receiver node may use up to two antenna ports (possibly having different polarizations) and the transmitter node may use two antenna ports. For example, there may be a 2×2 channel matrix for the channel between the receiver node and the transmitter node. The rank may be at most be 2” (Zander ¶ 0103).
Zander does not teach: means for generating a dynamic beam weight to maximize a communication parameter based on the estimated channel; and means for applying the dynamic beam weight to an antenna array.
Regarding Claim 17, Chul teaches: means for generating a dynamic beam weight to maximize a communication parameter based on the estimated channel; and means for applying the dynamic beam weight to an antenna array: “” ().
and cause the apparatus to: estimate a channel using one or more predefined receive beams to measure a rank2 reference signal received from a wireless node.
Zander does not teach: generate a dynamic beam weight to maximize a communication parameter based on the estimated channel: “a smart antenna system includes a weight vector generator equipped with an adaptive algorithm for updating a weight vector, a beam-forming module forming a beam pattern of antenna elements using the updated weight vector . . . calculating correlation matrices having Hermitian Toeplitz matrix property, calculating a gradient vector g(k) for a weight vector w(k) maximizing a reception signal to interface and noise ratio (SINR) of the signal vector y(k) using the correlation matrices, and updating the weight vector using the calculated gradient vector” (Chul ¶ 0015), where the smart antenna system is an antenna array; and apply the dynamic beam weight to an antenna array: “a receiver of a smart antenna estimates a weight to update weight vectors of the respective antenna elements. Namely, the receiver of the smart antenna includes a weight vector generator 30 equipped with an adaptive algorithm for updating a previous weight vector, a beam-forming module 10 forming a beam pattern of the antenna elements using an updated value of the weight vector, and an adder 20 to add the result values” (Chul ¶ 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander with Chul for the purpose of improving communication quality and capacity though a weight vector of an antenna system. According to Chul: “The scheme ultimately intends to improve both communication quality and capacity through a weight vector of an antenna for maximizing SINR” (Chul ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 19, Zander teaches: The apparatus of claim 17.
Zander does not teach: the communication parameter includes a reference signal received power (RSRP), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), or a channel impulse response.
Regarding Claim 19, Chul teaches: the communication parameter includes a reference signal received power (RSRP), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), or a channel impulse response: “Generally, a scheme of maximizing SINR (signal to interface and noise ratio) is frequently used for calculating a weight vector of a smart antenna” (Chul ¶ 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander with Chul for the purpose of improving communication quality and capacity though a weight vector of an antenna system. According to Chul: “The scheme ultimately intends to improve both communication quality and capacity through a weight vector of an antenna for maximizing SINR” (Chul ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 21, Zander teaches: The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the means for estimating the channel comprises means for generating an N×N spatial correlation matrix for each polarization, where N is a number of antenna elements in the antenna array: “In one or more embodiments, a 2×2 channel matrix estimation can be performed, having up to rank 2. For example, for each “beam/spatial filter”, the receiver node may use up to two antenna ports (possibly having different polarizations) and the transmitter node may use two antenna ports. For example, there may be a 2×2 channel matrix for the channel between the receiver node and the transmitter node. The rank may be at most be 2” (Zander ¶ 0103).
Regarding Claim 24, Zander teaches: The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the one or more predefined receive beams are used to measure the communication parameter for each antenna element in the spatial correlation matrix: “In one or more embodiments, a 2×2 channel matrix estimation can be performed, having up to rank 2. For example, for each “beam/spatial filter”, the receiver node may use up to two antenna ports (possibly having different polarizations) and the transmitter node may use two antenna ports. For example, there may be a 2×2 channel matrix for the channel between the receiver node and the transmitter node. The rank may be at most be 2” (Zander ¶ 0103).
Regarding Claim 25, Zander teaches: The apparatus of claim 17.
Zander does not teach: the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to generate receive beam weights to maximize the communication parameter associated with the rank2 reference signal.
Regarding Claim 25, Chul teaches: the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to generate receive beam weights to maximize the communication parameter associated with the rank2 reference signal: “a smart antenna system includes a weight vector generator equipped with an adaptive algorithm for updating a weight vector, a beam-forming module forming a beam pattern of antenna elements using the updated weight vector . . . calculating correlation matrices having Hermitian Toeplitz matrix property, calculating a gradient vector g(k) for a weight vector w(k) maximizing a reception signal to interface and noise ratio (SINR) of the signal vector y(k) using the correlation matrices, and updating the weight vector using the calculated gradient vector” (Chul ¶ 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander with Chul for the purpose of improving communication quality and capacity though a weight vector of an antenna system. According to Chul: “The scheme ultimately intends to improve both communication quality and capacity through a weight vector of an antenna for maximizing SINR” (Chul ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 26, Zander teaches: A non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising computer executable code, the code when executed by one or more processors causes the one or more processors to, individually or in combination: “The receiver node 300 comprises a memory circuitry 301, a processor circuitry 302, and a wireless interface 303. The receiver node 300 is configured to perform any of the methods disclosed in FIG. 3” (Zander ¶ 0126) estimate a channel using one or more predefined receive beams to measure a rank2 reference signal received from a wireless node: “Based on RSRP measurements and beam correspondence (BC, allowing the UE to determine Transmission, Tx, beam based on Reception, Rx, beam measurements or vice versa), the receiver node (such as wireless device) autonomously selects a transmit beam from the transmit node (such as a transmit spatial filter) and a receive beam at the receiver node (such as a receive spatial filter)” (Zander ¶ 0003) and “In one or more embodiments, a 2×2 channel matrix estimation can be performed, having up to rank 2. For example, for each “beam/spatial filter”, the receiver node may use up to two antenna ports (possibly having different polarizations) and the transmitter node may use two antenna ports. For example, there may be a 2×2 channel matrix for the channel between the receiver node and the transmitter node. The rank may be at most be 2” (Zander ¶ 0103).
Zander does not teach: generate a dynamic beam weight to maximize a communication parameter based on the estimated channel; and apply the dynamic beam weight to an antenna array.
Regarding Claim 26, Chul teaches: generate a dynamic beam weight to maximize a communication parameter based on the estimated channel: “a smart antenna system includes a weight vector generator equipped with an adaptive algorithm for updating a weight vector, a beam-forming module forming a beam pattern of antenna elements using the updated weight vector . . . calculating correlation matrices having Hermitian Toeplitz matrix property, calculating a gradient vector g(k) for a weight vector w(k) maximizing a reception signal to interface and noise ratio (SINR) of the signal vector y(k) using the correlation matrices, and updating the weight vector using the calculated gradient vector” (Chul ¶ 0015), where the smart antenna system is an antenna array; and apply the dynamic beam weight to an antenna array: “a receiver of a smart antenna estimates a weight to update weight vectors of the respective antenna elements. Namely, the receiver of the smart antenna includes a weight vector generator 30 equipped with an adaptive algorithm for updating a previous weight vector, a beam-forming module 10 forming a beam pattern of the antenna elements using an updated value of the weight vector, and an adder 20 to add the result values” (Chul ¶ 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander with Chul for the purpose of improving communication quality and capacity though a weight vector of an antenna system. According to Chul: “The scheme ultimately intends to improve both communication quality and capacity through a weight vector of an antenna for maximizing SINR” (Chul ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 27, Zander teaches: The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 26.
Zander does not teach: the communication parameter includes a reference signal received power (RSRP), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), or a channel impulse response.
Regarding Claim 27, Chul teaches: the communication parameter includes a reference signal received power (RSRP), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), or a channel impulse response: “Generally, a scheme of maximizing SINR (signal to interface and noise ratio) is frequently used for calculating a weight vector of a smart antenna” (Chul ¶ 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander with Chul for the purpose of improving communication quality and capacity though a weight vector of an antenna system. According to Chul: “The scheme ultimately intends to improve both communication quality and capacity through a weight vector of an antenna for maximizing SINR” (Chul ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 29, Zander teaches: The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 26, wherein the code when executed by the one or more processors further causes the one or more processors to, individually or in combination, generate an N×N spatial correlation matrix for each polarization, where N is a number of antenna elements in the antenna array: “In one or more embodiments, a 2×2 channel matrix estimation can be performed, having up to rank 2. For example, for each “beam/spatial filter”, the receiver node may use up to two antenna ports (possibly having different polarizations) and the transmitter node may use two antenna ports. For example, there may be a 2×2 channel matrix for the channel between the receiver node and the transmitter node. The rank may be at most be 2” (Zander ¶ 0103).
Claims 3, 11, 20, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zander and Chul as applied to claims 1, 8, 17, and 26 above, and further in view of Kang et al. (US 2022/0085938), hereinafter Kang.
Regarding Claim 3, Zander and Chul teach: The method of claim 1.
Zander and Chul do not teach: the rank2 reference signal includes a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Regarding Claim 3, Kang teaches: the rank2 reference signal includes a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS): “In this instance, PDSCH #1 and PDSCH #2 are partially or fully overlapped on at least time axis, and the UE may assume to perform the ILJT operation in overlapped symbol(s) (e.g., if rank2 transmission is per each PDSCH, 4 layers are received in overlapped symbols). It may be assumed that QCL source RSs transmitted from each panel and/or beam are CSI-RS resource (CRI) #1 and CSI-RS resource (CRI) #2, respectively” (Kang ¶ 0419).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander and Chul with Kang for the purpose of enabling a reception of plurality of PDSCHs transmitted from a plurality of base stations without ambiguity of reception beam configuration. According to Kang: “The present disclosure has an effect capable of receiving a plurality of PDSCHs transmitted from a plurality of base stations, etc. without ambiguity of reception beam configuration by defining default QCL information (or source) for receiving a plurality of PDSCHs in a multi-PDCCH based ILJT operation” (Kang ¶ 0023).
Regarding Claim 11, Zander and Chul teach: The apparatus of claim 9.
Zander and Chul do not teach: the rank2 reference signal includes a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Regarding Claim 11, Kang teaches: the rank2 reference signal includes a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS): “In this instance, PDSCH #1 and PDSCH #2 are partially or fully overlapped on at least time axis, and the UE may assume to perform the ILJT operation in overlapped symbol(s) (e.g., if rank2 transmission is per each PDSCH, 4 layers are received in overlapped symbols). It may be assumed that QCL source RSs transmitted from each panel and/or beam are CSI-RS resource (CRI) #1 and CSI-RS resource (CRI) #2, respectively” (Kang ¶ 0419).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander and Chul with Kang for the purpose of enabling a reception of plurality of PDSCHs transmitted from a plurality of base stations without ambiguity of reception beam configuration. According to Kang: “The present disclosure has an effect capable of receiving a plurality of PDSCHs transmitted from a plurality of base stations, etc. without ambiguity of reception beam configuration by defining default QCL information (or source) for receiving a plurality of PDSCHs in a multi-PDCCH based ILJT operation” (Kang ¶ 0023).
Regarding Claim 20, Zander and Chul teach: The apparatus of claim 17.
Zander and Chul do not teach: the rank2 reference signal includes a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Regarding Claim 20, Kang teaches: the rank2 reference signal includes a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS): “In this instance, PDSCH #1 and PDSCH #2 are partially or fully overlapped on at least time axis, and the UE may assume to perform the ILJT operation in overlapped symbol(s) (e.g., if rank2 transmission is per each PDSCH, 4 layers are received in overlapped symbols). It may be assumed that QCL source RSs transmitted from each panel and/or beam are CSI-RS resource (CRI) #1 and CSI-RS resource (CRI) #2, respectively” (Kang ¶ 0419).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander and Chul with Kang for the purpose of enabling a reception of plurality of PDSCHs transmitted from a plurality of base stations without ambiguity of reception beam configuration. According to Kang: “The present disclosure has an effect capable of receiving a plurality of PDSCHs transmitted from a plurality of base stations, etc. without ambiguity of reception beam configuration by defining default QCL information (or source) for receiving a plurality of PDSCHs in a multi-PDCCH based ILJT operation” (Kang ¶ 0023).
Regarding Claim 28, Zander and Chul teach: The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 26.
Zander and Chul do not teach: the rank2 reference signal includes a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Regarding Claim 28, Kang teaches: the rank2 reference signal includes a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS): “In this instance, PDSCH #1 and PDSCH #2 are partially or fully overlapped on at least time axis, and the UE may assume to perform the ILJT operation in overlapped symbol(s) (e.g., if rank2 transmission is per each PDSCH, 4 layers are received in overlapped symbols). It may be assumed that QCL source RSs transmitted from each panel and/or beam are CSI-RS resource (CRI) #1 and CSI-RS resource (CRI) #2, respectively” (Kang ¶ 0419).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander and Chul with Kang for the purpose of enabling a reception of plurality of PDSCHs transmitted from a plurality of base stations without ambiguity of reception beam configuration. According to Kang: “The present disclosure has an effect capable of receiving a plurality of PDSCHs transmitted from a plurality of base stations, etc. without ambiguity of reception beam configuration by defining default QCL information (or source) for receiving a plurality of PDSCHs in a multi-PDCCH based ILJT operation” (Kang ¶ 0023).
Claims 5-6, 13-14, 22-23, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zander and Chul as applied to claims 1, 8, 17, and 26 above, and further in view of Xiao et al. (US 2012/0287981), hereinafter Xiao.
Regarding Claim 5, Zander and Chul teach: The method of claim 4.
Zander and Chul do not teach: the dynamic beam weight is based on an eigenvector of spatial correlation matrices generated for each polarization.
Regarding Claim 5, Xiao teaches: the dynamic beam weight is based on an eigenvector of spatial correlation matrices generated for each polarization: “the receiving end measures a channel coefficient matrix from the antenna array of the transmitting end to receiving antennas of the receiving end and feeds back the channel coefficient matrix to the transmitting end, and the transmitting end obtains H(k) of Rx.times.Tx based on the channel coefficient matrix which is fed back by the receiving end” (Xiao ¶ 0040) and “The weight value obtaining unit obtains the weight values W=(W.sub.i,j).sub.Tx.times.S for beam forming in one of the following ways . . . The second way: eigenvalues of the statistical channel correlation matrix R.sub.stat are decomposed, and eigenvectors corresponding to first S maximum eigenvalues are selected, each of the eigenvectors being one column of the matrix W, the S eigenvectors forming a complex matrix W of Tx.times.S, and W being a weight value for beam forming ” (Xiao ¶ 0077; 0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander and Chul with Xiao for the purpose of providing a method for transmitting MIMO beam forming data so as to implement an efficient combination of MIMO and beamforming. According to Xiao: “The technical problem to be solved by embodiments of the present invention is to provide a method and device for transmitting MIMO beam forming data so as to implement an efficient combination of MIMO and beam forming, thus enhancing performance and coverage of a system furthest” (Xiao ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 6, Zander and Chul teach: The method of claim 5.
Zander and Chul do not teach: generating the dynamic beam weight comprises quantizing values of the eigenvector of the spatial correlation matrices generated for each polarization.
Regarding Claim 6, Xiao teaches: generating the dynamic beam weight comprises quantizing values of the eigenvector of the spatial correlation matrices generated for each polarization: “eigenvalues of the statistical channel correlation matrix R.sub.stat are decomposed, and eigenvectors corresponding to first S maximum eigenvalues are selected, each of the eigenvectors being one column of the matrix {tilde over (W)}, and the S eigenvectors forming a complex matrix {tilde over (W)} of Tx.times.S, and constant modulus processing is performed on the matrix {tilde over (W)} to obtain W=f.sub.cm({tilde over (W)}), W being a weight value for beam forming” (Xiao ¶ 0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander and Chul with Xiao for the purpose of providing a method for transmitting MIMO beam forming data so as to implement an efficient combination of MIMO and beamforming. According to Xiao: “The technical problem to be solved by embodiments of the present invention is to provide a method and device for transmitting MIMO beam forming data so as to implement an efficient combination of MIMO and beam forming, thus enhancing performance and coverage of a system furthest” (Xiao ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 13, Zander and Chul teach: The apparatus of claim 12.
Zander and Chul do not teach: the dynamic beam weight is based on an eigenvector of spatial correlation matrices generated for each polarization.
Regarding Claim 13, Xiao teaches: the dynamic beam weight is based on an eigenvector of spatial correlation matrices generated for each polarization: “the receiving end measures a channel coefficient matrix from the antenna array of the transmitting end to receiving antennas of the receiving end and feeds back the channel coefficient matrix to the transmitting end, and the transmitting end obtains H(k) of Rx.times.Tx based on the channel coefficient matrix which is fed back by the receiving end” (Xiao ¶ 0040) and “The weight value obtaining unit obtains the weight values W=(W.sub.i,j).sub.Tx.times.S for beam forming in one of the following ways . . . The second way: eigenvalues of the statistical channel correlation matrix R.sub.stat are decomposed, and eigenvectors corresponding to first S maximum eigenvalues are selected, each of the eigenvectors being one column of the matrix W, the S eigenvectors forming a complex matrix W of Tx.times.S, and W being a weight value for beam forming ” (Xiao ¶ 0077; 0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander and Chul with Xiao for the purpose of providing a method for transmitting MIMO beam forming data so as to implement an efficient combination of MIMO and beamforming. According to Xiao: “The technical problem to be solved by embodiments of the present invention is to provide a method and device for transmitting MIMO beam forming data so as to implement an efficient combination of MIMO and beam forming, thus enhancing performance and coverage of a system furthest” (Xiao ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 14, Zander and Chul teach: The apparatus of claim 13.
Zander and Chul do not teach: generating the dynamic beam weight comprises quantizing values of the eigenvector of the spatial correlation matrices generated for each polarization.
Regarding Claim 14, Xiao teaches: generating the dynamic beam weight comprises quantizing values of the eigenvector of the spatial correlation matrices generated for each polarization: “eigenvalues of the statistical channel correlation matrix R.sub.stat are decomposed, and eigenvectors corresponding to first S maximum eigenvalues are selected, each of the eigenvectors being one column of the matrix {tilde over (W)}, and the S eigenvectors forming a complex matrix {tilde over (W)} of Tx.times.S, and constant modulus processing is performed on the matrix {tilde over (W)} to obtain W=f.sub.cm({tilde over (W)}), W being a weight value for beam forming” (Xiao ¶ 0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander and Chul with Xiao for the purpose of providing a method for transmitting MIMO beam forming data so as to implement an efficient combination of MIMO and beamforming. According to Xiao: “The technical problem to be solved by embodiments of the present invention is to provide a method and device for transmitting MIMO beam forming data so as to implement an efficient combination of MIMO and beam forming, thus enhancing performance and coverage of a system furthest” (Xiao ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 22, Zander and Chul teach: The apparatus of claim 17.
Zander and Chul do not teach: the dynamic beam weight is based on an eigenvector of spatial correlation matrices generated for each polarization.
Regarding Claim 22, Xiao teaches: the dynamic beam weight is based on an eigenvector of spatial correlation matrices generated for each polarization: “the receiving end measures a channel coefficient matrix from the antenna array of the transmitting end to receiving antennas of the receiving end and feeds back the channel coefficient matrix to the transmitting end, and the transmitting end obtains H(k) of Rx.times.Tx based on the channel coefficient matrix which is fed back by the receiving end” (Xiao ¶ 0040) and “The weight value obtaining unit obtains the weight values W=(W.sub.i,j).sub.Tx.times.S for beam forming in one of the following ways . . . The second way: eigenvalues of the statistical channel correlation matrix R.sub.stat are decomposed, and eigenvectors corresponding to first S maximum eigenvalues are selected, each of the eigenvectors being one column of the matrix W, the S eigenvectors forming a complex matrix W of Tx.times.S, and W being a weight value for beam forming ” (Xiao ¶ 0077; 0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander and Chul with Xiao for the purpose of providing a method for transmitting MIMO beam forming data so as to implement an efficient combination of MIMO and beamforming. According to Xiao: “The technical problem to be solved by embodiments of the present invention is to provide a method and device for transmitting MIMO beam forming data so as to implement an efficient combination of MIMO and beam forming, thus enhancing performance and coverage of a system furthest” (Xiao ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 23, Zander and Chul teach: The apparatus of claim 22.
Zander and Chul do not teach: generating the dynamic beam weight comprises quantizing values of the eigenvector of the spatial correlation matrices generated for each polarization.
Regarding Claim 23, Xiao teaches: generating the dynamic beam weight comprises quantizing values of the eigenvector of the spatial correlation matrices generated for each polarization: “eigenvalues of the statistical channel correlation matrix R.sub.stat are decomposed, and eigenvectors corresponding to first S maximum eigenvalues are selected, each of the eigenvectors being one column of the matrix {tilde over (W)}, and the S eigenvectors forming a complex matrix {tilde over (W)} of Tx.times.S, and constant modulus processing is performed on the matrix {tilde over (W)} to obtain W=f.sub.cm({tilde over (W)}), W being a weight value for beam forming” (Xiao ¶ 0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander and Chul with Xiao for the purpose of providing a method for transmitting MIMO beam forming data so as to implement an efficient combination of MIMO and beamforming. According to Xiao: “The technical problem to be solved by embodiments of the present invention is to provide a method and device for transmitting MIMO beam forming data so as to implement an efficient combination of MIMO and beam forming, thus enhancing performance and coverage of a system furthest” (Xiao ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 30, Zander and Chul teach: The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 29.
Zander and Chul do not teach: the dynamic beam weight is based on an eigenvector of spatial correlation matrices generated for each polarization.
Regarding Claim 30, Xiao teaches: the dynamic beam weight is based on an eigenvector of spatial correlation matrices generated for each polarization: “the receiving end measures a channel coefficient matrix from the antenna array of the transmitting end to receiving antennas of the receiving end and feeds back the channel coefficient matrix to the transmitting end, and the transmitting end obtains H(k) of Rx.times.Tx based on the channel coefficient matrix which is fed back by the receiving end” (Xiao ¶ 0040) and “The weight value obtaining unit obtains the weight values W=(W.sub.i,j).sub.Tx.times.S for beam forming in one of the following ways . . . The second way: eigenvalues of the statistical channel correlation matrix R.sub.stat are decomposed, and eigenvectors corresponding to first S maximum eigenvalues are selected, each of the eigenvectors being one column of the matrix W, the S eigenvectors forming a complex matrix W of Tx.times.S, and W being a weight value for beam forming ” (Xiao ¶ 0077; 0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Zander and Chul with Xiao for the purpose of providing a method for transmitting MIMO beam forming data so as to implement an efficient combination of MIMO and beamforming. According to Xiao: “The technical problem to be solved by embodiments of the present invention is to provide a method and device for transmitting MIMO beam forming data so as to implement an efficient combination of MIMO and beam forming, thus enhancing performance and coverage of a system furthest” (Xiao ¶ 0006).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zander and Chul as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Chang (US 2008/0292035), hereinafter Chang.
Regarding Claim 18, Zander and Chul teach: The apparatus of claim 17, wherein means for generating a dynamic beam weight comprises one or more processors: “a smart antenna system includes a weight vector generator equipped with an adaptive algorithm for updating a weight vector, a beam-forming module forming a beam pattern of antenna elements using the updated weight vector, and an adder adding values of the antenna elements to output a signal vector y(k), wherein the adaptive algorithm comprises the steps of separating at least one reception signal vector x(k) into a signal component x.sub.s(k)[=As(k)] and an interference/noise component x.sub.v(k)[=v(k)], calculating correlation matrices having Hermitian Toeplitz matrix property, calculating a gradient vector g(k) for a weight vector w(k) maximizing a reception signal to interface and noise ratio (SINR) of the signal vector y(k) using the correlation matrices, and updating the weight vector using the calculated gradient vector” (Chul ¶ 0015).
Zander and Chul do not teach: means for estimating a channel comprises a radio frequency integrated circuit (RFIC) and one or more processors; and means for applying the dynamic beam weight comprises the RFIC and one or more processors.
Regarding Claim 18, Chang teaches: means for estimating a channel comprises a radio frequency integrated circuit (RFIC) and one or more processors : “The RFIC would send digital data to the main microprocessor of the host device, which would calculate and apply the beam weight vectors to create multiple digital beams. In transmit, digital data would be multiplied by weighting vectors in the host microprocessor, and a digital data stream with embedded beam-forming vectors would be delivered to the RFIC, which would then transmit the data from the antenna elements” (Chang ¶ 0018); and means for applying the dynamic beam weight comprises the RFIC and one or more processors: “The RFIC would send digital data to the main microprocessor of the host device, which would calculate and apply the beam weight vectors to create multiple digital beams. In transmit, digital data would be multiplied by weighting vectors in the host microprocessor, and a digital data stream with embedded beam-forming vectors would be delivered to the RFIC, which would then transmit the data from the antenna elements” (Chang ¶ 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the