DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 3/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Status
Claims 1-13 were filed 7/17/2023. Claims 7-13 were canceled in the response filed 3/20/2026. Claims 1-6 are pending.
Priority
The instant application was filed 7/17/2023 and claims the benefit of priority to:
See filing receipt dated 8/2/2023. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings/Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the chemical structures on p. 3 and 8-10 are objected to because they are blurry and difficult to read.
Appropriate correction is required.
The drawings are objected to because they are blurry and difficult to read.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 2 of step a) of claim 1 there should be a space between the terms “N2” and “into” in the limitation “N2into”.
In line 3 of step a) of claim 1, there should be a space between the words “reaction” and “system” in the limitation “reactionsystem”.
Claim 5 is objected to because the chemical structure is blurry and difficult to read.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Plueddemann (US 4344860, published on 9/17/1982).
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) See MPEP 2113.
Plueddemann teaches the reaction between N-aminoethyl-gamma-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane ((CH3O)3-Si(CH2)3NH(CH2)2NH2) and 2 moles of acrylic acid to form a dicarboxylic acid:
. See col. 8, lines 43-48 and example 6 in col. 12. The structural limitations of the product appear to meet the structural limitations of the compound of claim 4. See MPEP 2131.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Polmanteer (US 3635887, published on 1/18/1972).
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) See MPEP 2113.
Polmanteer teaches the following compound in example 8 in col. 10:
. The structural limitations of the compound appear to meet the structural limitations of the compound of claim 4. See MPEP 2131.
Subject Matter free from the Art
The process of claims 1-3, 5, and 6 appears to be free from the prior art. Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 are objected to and claim 3 is rejected under 35 USC 112(b).
The closest prior art to the claimed invention are the processes in: Plueddemann (US 4344860, published on 9/17/1982); Zeng (CN107698615A, published on 2/16/2018, including translation); and Ryan (US3317577, published on 5/2/1967).
As described above, Plueddemann teaches the preparation of a dicarboxylic acid monomer from the reaction between acrylic acid and N-aminoethyl-gamma-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane. Plueddemann does not teach or suggest replacing the acrylic acid with an ester thereof and then hydrolyzing with trifluoroacetic acid to produce the claimed monomer.
Zeng teaches producing an amino-acid modified tetrasiloxane surfactant of the following formula:
. See claims. When R is CH2CH2NHCH2CH2COONa, this compound is derived from the reaction between N-aminoethyl-gamma-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane (aminotrialkoxysilane) and an acrylate derivative. Zeng teaches that the acrylate derivative is methyl acrylate (a methyl ester of methacrylic acid). Zeng teaches that the aminotrialkoxysilane compound is reacted with methyl acrylate to produce a methyl propionate type tetrasiloxane, which is then hydrolyzed in the presence of an alkali metal hydroxide base to produce the sodium salt above. Zeng does not teach or suggest motivation to carry out the hydrolysis with trifluoroacetic acid (TFA) to obtain the protonated carboxylic acid form of the compound.
Ryan teaches the following example 3 in col. 4:
. In this example, N-aminoethyl-gamma-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane is reacted with methyl acrylate sequentially to produce the monoester (A), diester (B), and triester (final product). Ryan does not teach or suggest motivation to carry out a hydrolysis with trifluoroacetic acid (TFA) of any of the forms of the ester to form the protonated carboxylic acid products, wherein the hydrolyzed and protonated form of the triester would correspond to the AAPTS-COOH compound of claim 5. The prior art does not appear to teach or suggest this compound.
Therefore, the instantly claimed process appears to be free from the prior art.
Conclusion
/AMY C BONAPARTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692