DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to RCE filed, 25 August 2026, of application filed, with the above serial number, on 17 July 2023 in which no claims have been amended. Claims 1-11, 13-21 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morin (hereinafter “Morin”, 2010/0263524) in view of FUJIWARA S (hereinafter “Fujiwara”, JP2023106959) and Opperman et al (hereinafter “Opperman”, 12,449,241).
As per Claim 1, Morin discloses a system for providing fail-safe redundancy via single data bus, the system comprising:
a vehicle controller comprising a plurality of input devices, wherein the vehicle controller receives controller input from an operator (at least paragraph 44-45; Fig. 8; remote controlled robot vehicle, controller 45); and
a mobile device connected with the vehicle controller, wherein the mobile device wirelessly transmits commands to an unmanned vehicle (at least Fig. 5; par. 12 two independent communication links to remote controlled robot vehicle), the mobile device comprising:
one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage media storing instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
receiving, at the mobile device from the vehicle controller over the first channel, a vehicle maneuvering command for maneuvering the unmanned vehicle (at least paragraph 44; Fig. 8; remote controlled robot vehicle with joy stick);
transmitting, from the mobile device, the vehicle maneuvering command to the unmanned vehicle (at least paragraph 44; Fig. 8; remote controlled robot vehicle with joy stick);
receiving, at the mobile device from the vehicle controller, an indication that a user actuated an input device of the vehicle controller to initiate a privileged command (at least paragraph 39; 45-49; Fig. 5; eg. arm switch 41 and/or fire control switch);
receiving, using an input mechanism of the mobile device, the first privileged command (at least paragraph 39; 45-49; Fig. 5; eg. arm switch 41);
determining that the first privileged command corresponds to a first input in a sequence of inputs for executing a privileged operation (at least paragraph 39; 45-49; Fig. 5; operator control unit 40 must be activated in the proper sequence);
based on determining that the first privileged command corresponds to the first input in the sequence of inputs for executing the privileged operation, monitoring the second channel for a second privileged command from the vehicle controller (at least paragraph 39; 45-49; Fig. 5; eg. 45, 43, 44 input(s) after input 41 activates other input);
receiving, from the vehicle controller at the mobile device over the second channel of the connection, the second privileged command (at least paragraph 39; 45-49; Fig. 5; eg. 45, 43, 44 input(s));
determining whether the second privileged command corresponds to a second input in the sequence of inputs for executing the privileged operation (at least paragraph 39; 45-49; operator control unit 40 must be activated in the proper sequence); and
based on determining that the second privileged command corresponds to the second input in the sequence of inputs for executing the privileged operation, transmitting a request to the unmanned vehicle to perform the privileged operation (at least paragraph 39; 45-49; operator control unit 40 must be activated in the proper sequence else not activated).
Morin fails to disclose generating, responsive to receiving the indication that the user actuated the input device of the vehicle controller, a prompt for display at the mobile device, wherein interaction with the prompt triggers transmission of a first privileged command to the unmanned vehicle. However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Opperman. Opperman discloses, in an analogous art, a mobile device/ laptop working in conjunction with a controller having a touchscreen with interactive buttons allowing a warfighter to control a UAV with arming, locking, release etc and other controls (at least Fig. 13; col. 18:28-59; 28:8-52; 68:18-38; [see also provisional priority application ‘443: page 17 line 18 – page 18 line 6; page 24:2-25; page 82 lines 16-17; page 14:11-13]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Opperman’s touchscreen with Morin as Opperman teaches this allows the operator to have more interactive controls and more indicator colors to more readily ascertain the status of the UAV, resulting in safer outcomes and permitting lower skilled users the ability to rapidly gain proficiency with the UAV.
Morin and Opperman fail to explicitly disclose such the mobile device to vehicle controller connection over a physical universal serial bus connection having a first channel connected using a first interface and a second channel connected using a second interface.
However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Fujiwara. Fujiwara discloses a device receiving input to be controlled via a first USB HID interface and input being converted to another USB CDC interface (at least paragraph 26-30, 34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Fujiwara’s USB interfaces with Morin’s two communication interfaces, as Fujiwara discloses (at least paragraph 4-8) that the system allows for multiple interface control with a technique to safely control a device to be controlled with a second/third USB control offering more security and safety for particular applications that would benefit, including Morin.
As per Claim 2, Morin discloses a method for providing fail-safe redundancy via single data bus, the method comprising:
receiving, at a mobile device, a vehicle maneuvering command from a vehicle controller over a first channel, wherein the mobile device is connected with the vehicle controller over the connection having the first channel and a second channel (at least paragraphs 43-45 and Fig. 5, 8; remote controlled robot vehicle with joy stick, using joy stick of operator control unit 40 to control speed and direction of robot vehicle with such maneuvering being sent over connection 60 between transceiver 46 and transceiver 72 via electronic connection from 45 to 46, from vehicle controller 45 of mobile unit 40);
transmitting, from the mobile device, the vehicle maneuvering command to a vehicle (at least paragraph 44; Fig. 8; remote controlled robot vehicle with joy stick sent over electronic connection 60 between transceiver 46 and transceiver 72 to vehicle 10);
receiving, using an input mechanism of the mobile device, a first privileged command (at least paragraph 39; 45-49; Fig. 5; eg. arm switch 41);
based on receiving the first privileged command, initiating a privileged mode of operation, wherein the privileged mode of operation enables privileged operations using the vehicle controller (at least paragraph 39; 45-49; Fig. 5; operator control unit 40 must be activated in the proper sequence);
receiving, at the mobile device, from the vehicle controller over the second channel, a second privileged command (at least paragraph 39; 45-49; Fig. 5; eg. 45, 43, 44 input(s));
determining whether the second privileged command corresponds to a second input in a sequence of inputs for executing a privileged operation (at least paragraph 39; 45-49; operator control unit 40 must be activated in the proper sequence); and
based on determining that the second privileged command corresponds to the second input in the sequence of inputs for executing the privileged operation, transmitting a request to the vehicle to perform the privileged operation (at least paragraph 39; 45-49; operator control unit 40 must be activated in the proper sequence else not activated).
Morin fails to explicitly disclose such the mobile device to vehicle controller connection of a physical connection having a first channel and a second channel.
However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Fujiwara. Fujiwara discloses a device receiving input to be controlled via a first USB HID interface and input being converted to another USB CDC interface (at least paragraph 26-30, 34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Fujiwara’s USB interfaces with Morin’s two communication interfaces, as Fujiwara discloses (at least paragraph 4-8) that the system allows for multiple interface control with a technique to safely control a device to be controlled with a second/third USB control offering more security and safety for particular applications that would benefit, including Morin.
As per Claim 3. The method of claim 2, further comprising:
determining that the second privileged command has not been received within a predetermined threshold of time; and
based on determining that the second privileged command has not been received within the predetermined threshold of time:
stopping monitoring the second channel; and
generating for display, on the mobile device, a prompt to execute the first privileged command (at least paragraph 39-42, 46; periodically send a message and when not received activate safety actuator; arm 2 indicator lit or not lit if out no periodic message; see par. 39 “U.S. patent application Ser. No. 11/543,427 incorporated herein by this reference” now USPN 7,905,177 to Deguire et al (hereinafter “Deguire”), col. 4:1-45 “actions must be carried out in sequence and the responses from the fire control unit 12 must happen in a predetermined amount of time (seconds, for example) in order for terminals 16A and 16B to be energized”; Opperman Fig. 13; col. 18:28-59; 28:8-52; 68:18-38; display prompts on touchscreen to execute commands).
As per Claim 4. The method of claim 2, further comprising:
determining that the second privileged command does not correspond to the second input in the sequence of inputs for executing the privileged operation; and
based on determining that the second privileged command does not correspond to the second input in the sequence of inputs for executing the privileged operation, stopping monitoring the second channel (at least paragraph 47; steps must be taken in the proper sequence. If they are not, controllers 70 and 45 are programmed to provide an error signal and firing circuit 62 is not activated).
As per Claim 5. The method of claim 2, further comprising:
determining that the sequence of inputs for executing the privileged operation has been broken; and
based on determining that the sequence of inputs for executing the privileged operation has been broken, prompting a user to execute the first privileged command again using the input mechanism associated with the mobile device (at least paragraph 47; steps must be taken in the proper sequence. If they are not, controllers 70 and 45 are programmed to provide an error signal and firing circuit 62 is not activated; Opperman Fig. 13; col. 18:28-59; 28:8-52; 68:18-38).
As per Claims 6, 17. Morin fails to explicitly disclose receiving the vehicle maneuvering command comprises receiving the vehicle maneuvering command over a universal serial bus human interface devices interface; and
receiving, the second privileged command comprises, receiving the second privileged command over a universal serial bus communications device class interface.
However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Fujiwara. Fujiwara discloses a device receiving input to be controlled via a first USB HID interface and input being converted to another USB CDC interface (at least paragraph 26-30, 34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Fujiwara’s USB interfaces with Morin’s two communication interfaces, as Fujiwara discloses (at least paragraph 4-8) that the system allows for multiple interface control with a technique to safely control a device to be controlled with a second/third USB control offering more security and safety for particular applications that would benefit, including Morin.
As per Claim 7. The method of claim 2, further comprising:
based on receiving the second privileged command, determining, based on a privilege file, whether the mobile device is allowed to execute the privileged operation; and
based on determining that the mobile device is allowed to execute the privileged operation, generating an encrypted privileged operation by encrypting the privileged operation using an encryption function (at least paragraph 54, 51).
As per Claim 8. The method of claim 7, wherein transmitting the request to the vehicle to perform the privileged operation comprises transmitting the encrypted privileged operation (at least paragraph 54, 51).
As per Claim 9. The method of claim 2, wherein initiating the privileged mode of operation further comprises, based on receiving the first privileged command, monitoring the second channel for the second privileged command from the vehicle controller (at least paragraph 39; 45-49; Fig. 5; eg. 45, 43, 44 input(s) after input 41 activates other input).
As per Claim 10. The method of claim 2, wherein determining whether the second privileged command corresponds to the second input in the sequence of inputs for executing the privileged operation further comprises: determining whether the privileged mode of operation has been initiated; determining, based on the second privileged command received via the second channel, whether a plurality of inputs within the second privileged command match the privileged operation; and determining that the second privileged command corresponds to the second input in the sequence of inputs based on both determining (1) that the privileged mode of operation has been initiated and (2) that the plurality of inputs within the second privileged command match the privileged operation (at least paragraph 39; 45-49; operator control unit 40 must be activated in the proper sequence of inputs 41..45..43..44).
As per Claim 11. The method of claim 2, wherein determining that the second privileged command corresponds to the second input in the sequence of inputs for executing the privileged operation further comprises: receiving, from the vehicle controller over the second channel, a plurality of signals indicating that a combination of input devices has been actuated; receiving, from the vehicle controller over the second channel while the combination of the input devices is being actuated, an additional signal indicating that an additional input device has been actuated, wherein the additional signal indicates that both the combination of the input devices and the additional input device have been actuated; determining that the combination of the input devices being actuated corresponds to a first portion of the sequence of inputs and that the additional input device being actuated together with the combination of the input devices corresponds to a second portion of the sequence of inputs; and generating one or more instructions comprising the privileged operation (at least paragraph 33-38, 49-50; input switches activating when done in sequence; operator is also provided with operator module 50, FIG. 4 which includes kill switch 52. When kill switch 52 is activated, the weapon is also rendered safe).
Claims 13-16, 18-20 do not, in substance, add or define any additional limitations over claims 2-5, 7-9 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons, supra. Claims 13-16, 18-20 are corresponding non-transitory CRM claims to respective method claims 2-5, 7-9.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morin in view of Fujiwara and Opperman, further in view of Kim sang a et al (hereinafter “Kim”, KR20180005519).
Morin, Fujiwara, and Opperman fail to explicitly disclose wherein the mobile device slides into the vehicle controller to form the physical universal serial bus connection. However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Kim. Kim discloses, in an analogous art, a mobile device such as a phone, sliding into a controller via a physical electronic connection (at least Fig. 2a-2b). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Kim’s controller and phone connection with Morin and Fujiwara and Opperman as Kim teaches a mobile robot being controlled by a controller with physical buttons to maneuver the robot, this gives the well known benefit of a mobile device, such as a phone for example, that is used to control a robot with a touchscreen the added advantage of being controlled with easier to use physical buttons and joysticks, easing a robot operators interface and ability to control a robot without looking at a screen to see where the buttons are.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the priority date of the Opperman ‘241 Patent cannot be claimed as the cited portions on not disclosed in either provisional application from which the priority date is needed to be before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Applicant notes the ‘241 patent was filed June 21, 2023 and the current application filed June 17, 2023, however, the ‘241 patent was filed July 21, 2023 and the current application filed July 17, 2023, 4 days before the ‘241 patent.
The ‘241 patent has priority:
us-provisional-application US 63457443 20230406 (82 page specification, 11 drawings)
us-provisional-application US 63393526 20220729 (43 page specification, 11 drawings)
Provisional application 63/457,443 thus is filed earlier than the earliest filing of the instant application and contains more subject matter at least by volume. Then the questions are:
Does the ‘443 provisional disclose the exact citations of that in the ‘241 patent relied on in the Final Rejection?
Does the ‘443 provisional disclose the subject matter of that in the ‘241 patent relied on in the Final Rejection?
The Final Rejection relied on Opperman disclosing the claim 1 limitation:
generating, responsive to receiving the indication that the user actuated the input device of the vehicle controller, a prompt for display at the mobile device, wherein interaction with the prompt triggers transmission of a first privileged command to the unmanned vehicle.
Examiner cited that Opperman discloses, in an analogous art, a mobile device/ laptop working in conjunction with a controller having a touchscreen with interactive buttons allowing a warfighter to control a UAV with arming, locking, release etc and other controls (at least Fig. 13; col. 18:28-59; 28:8-52; 68:18-38)
‘443 does not appear to have a filed Fig. 13 as in ‘241, yet ‘443 page 82 lines 16-17 recites “FIGs. 13A-B depict screenshots from a Fire Control Station interface giving a user control over the Lock/Unlock modes, and over the firing/release of the rounds/munitions when unlocked.” As well as ‘443 page 14:11-13: “FIGs. 13A-B. Screenshot depictions of the Fire Control Station (FCS) interface with Safety Supervisor controls and round/munition controls enabled or disabled based on the Lock/Unlock status of the FCS commands sent to UAS”
‘241 col. 18:28-59:
The primary subsystem of the UAV is the Ground Control Station. The Ground Control Station is preferably a laptop computer or tablet, preferably ruggedized, that is linked to the UAV via a radio system, such as a 900 MHz radio. The Ground Control Station allows the operator to use its touch screen to quickly produce a desired mission (flight altitude, velocities and waypoints) via an installed software package (e.g., an open-source software package such as Ardupilot® may be used) loaded onto the Ground Control Station. This software package allows the warfighter to operate in the “Click-to-Fly” mode whereby the user indicates a location or point on the touchscreen display and the UAV/UAS then flies to that location without manual control of the user directing the flight. The Ground Control Station allows the user to load preplanned missions via wired or wireless means to the UAV, command takeoff and landing when desired, and perform click to fly with the map view. These features permit lower skilled users the ability to rapidly gain proficiency with the UAV, rather than requiring extensive training to learn how to fly with the handheld RC controller. This interface also facilitates multi-tasking as multiple UAVs can be commanded from a single Ground Control Station. Additionally, the Ground Control Station software has many safety features and fail safes that can be enabled for low risk tolerance environments, and can be removed if inappropriate for operational environments by the user adjusting some configurations. For example, for the operational assessments of the Drop Glides, a geofence, radio link quality, and navigation health are all being monitored by the autopilot in flight. If any of these tests fail, the configured criteria, the UAS will return to launch position and land automatically or land in place depending on the situation.
‘443 page 17 line 18 – page 18 line 6:
The primary subsystem of the UAV is the Ground Control Station. The Ground Control Station is preferably a laptop computer or tablet, preferably ruggedized, that is linked to the UAV via a radio system, such as a 900 MHz radio. The Ground Control Station allows the operator to use its touch screen to quickly produce a desired mission (flight altitude, velocities and waypoints) via an installed software package (e.g., an open-source software package such as Ardupilot® may be used) loaded onto the Ground Control Station. This software package allows the warfighter to operate in the "Click-to-Fly" mode whereby the user indicates a location or point on the
touchscreen display and the UAV/UAS then flies to that location without manual control of the user directing the flight. The Ground Control Station allows the user to load preplanned missions via wired or wireless means to the UAV, command takeoff and landing when desired, and perform click to fly with the map view. These features permit lower skilled users the ability to rapidly gain proficiency with the UAV, rather than requiring extensive training to learn how to fly with the handheld RC controller. This interface also facilitates multi-tasking as multiple UAVs can be commanded from a single Ground Control Station. Additionally, the Ground Control Station software has many safety features and fail safes that can be enabled for low risk tolerance environments, and can be removed if inappropriate for operational environments by the user adjusting some configurations. For example, for the operational assessments of the Drop Glides, a geofence, radio link quality, and navigation health are all being monitored by the autopilot in flight. If any of these tests fail, the configured criteria, the UAS will return to launch position and land
automatically or land in place depending on the situation.
‘241 col. 28:8-52:
Each Weapons Release System includes a Fire Control Station (FCS) (aka, Ground Control Station) to allow the user on the ground full control of the WRS when in the air. The Fire Control Station is preferably a ruggedized portable computer or tablet (nonlimiting e.g., Dell Extreme Rugged laptop [e.g., Dell Latitude 7330 Rugged Extreme laptop computer]) that is preferably linked to the UAV via wireless communication (e.g., 900 MHz radio), and is loaded with fire control console software and firmware suites of the present invention. The Ground Control Station allows the operator to use the laptop's touch screen to quickly produce a desired mission (flight altitude, velocities and waypoints) via an open-source software package (Mission Planner) loaded onto the Ground Control Station, and further to interface with the WRS throughout the entire mission via the Fire Control Console App. Once the UAV is powered up and the UAV begins its boot sequence, the user launches the Fire Control Console App on the laptop. This App allows the warfighter to communicate with the on-board Edge Computer and the Safety Supervisory application. Once in flight, the Fire Control Console App displays video from the imaging cameras within the ISR hardware. The Fire Control Console is capable of adjusting the camera settings in order to compensate for the brightness. The low end of the settings places the imaging system in Low-light camera mode. As it sounds, the Lock mode ensures the Drop-Glides are secured within the WRS and no power is provided to the Drop-Glide electronics and fuze until the operator desires to release (Unlock Mode) the Drop-Glides upon the operator's command. Essentially, the user can view the video feed and select a target; then, a) press the button to Unlock the WRS, b) initialize the Drop-Glide mission within the WRS, c) complete the handshake (data transfer) with the WRS and the Drop-Glide, and d) release the Drop-Glide. Steps b and c happen within the WRS without user input through communication between the Edge Computer and different subsystems. This software package allows the warfighter to operate in the “Click-to-Fly” mode. The Ground Control Station allows the user to load preplanned missions via wired or wireless means to the UAV, command takeoff and landing when desired, and perform click to fly with the map view. These features permit lower-skilled UAV operators the ability to rapidly gain proficiency with the UAV, rather than requiring extensive training to learn how to fly with handheld controller (e.g., Jeti RC controller).
‘443 page 24:2-25:
Each Weapons Release System includes a Fire Control Station (FCS) (aka, Ground Control Station) to allow the user on the ground full control of the WRS when in the air. The Fire Control Station is preferably a ruggedized portable computer or tablet (nonlimiting e.g., Dell Extreme Rugged laptop), and is loaded with fire control console software and firmware suites of the present invention. In a particular usage example for at least one embodiment wherein the user makes the decision to change the UAS between Lock and Unlock (or Safe and Fire) modes, the UAV is first powered on and booted up, and then, once the UAV is powered up and the UAV begins its boot
sequence, the user launches the fire control console on the computer or tablet. This console allows the warfighter to place the WRS in Lock and Unlock mode. As it sounds, the Lock mode ensures
the Drop Glides are secured within the WRS until the operator desires to release (Unlock Mode) the Drop Glides upon their command. Upon boot up completion a visual indicator, (e.g., a green locked light, green representing that the UAS is in safe, locked mode) may begin to flash indicating the warfighter can load munitions when ready. The indication that the UAS may be placed into Unlocked/Fire mode is preferably based on at least two data points that show the UAS safely able to be armed without placing the user and friendly resources in danger. This may be confirmed by
sensor data on the UAS, visual confirmation by the user, Safety Supervisor data, or a combination
of one or more of these. When the UAS is in Lock mode, all of the round release/fire controls are preferably locked and inactive, but they become active and selectable when the UAS is Unlocked
and placed into fire mode. Once in flight, the fire control console preferably provides video of the drop area, some basic camera setting adjustments, the Lock/Unlock Mode feature, and the release or "Drop" command for each position on the weapons rack. In summary, the user can preferably
view the video feed and select a target; then, a) enter the command to Unlock the WRS, b) initialize the Drop Glide mission within the WRS, c) complete the handshake (data transfer) with the WRS
and the Drop Glide, and d) release the Drop Glide.
‘241 col. 68:18-38:
FIGS. 13A-B depict screenshots from one embodiment of a Fire Control Station interface 1300 giving a user control over the Lock 1315/Unlock 1310 modes, and over the firing/release 1370 of the rounds/munitions when unlocked. The user interface 1300 provides interactive buttons for unlocking the UAS 1310, 1355, and for locking the UAS 1315, 1360, and when a mode is selected, an indicator 1305, 1350 changes in order to notify the user the state in which the system currently operates. For example, the indicator 1305 may be colored green when locked to indicate that the system is safe and the rounds are unable to be released and/or detonated, while conversely the indicator may be colored red to indicate that the system is in engagement mode and the rounds are armed or able to be armed and released. Any combination of indicator types may be used, including different colors, patterns, and the like. The interface 1300 additionally depicts the operation buttons for the rounds, including one for checking the status 1365, 1320 of the rounds, and individual drop buttons 1325, 1370 which provide the user direct control of the individual rounds or munitions mounted on the WRS of the UAV/UAS.
‘443 page 82:16-17 :
FIGs. 13A-B depict screenshots from a Fire Control Station interface giving a user control over the Lock/Unlock modes, and over the firing/release of the rounds/munitions when unlocked.
Thus, as can be seen from the table above, the non-provisional ‘241 does contain slightly more breadth as indicated, and Fig. 13 was likely not finished in time for filing that April but was intended to be drafted.
So, the answer to question 1) from above would be no, the ‘443 provisional does not have the exact citations from ‘241.
However, the answer to question 2) is that the equivalent subject matter is disclosed in ‘443. ‘443 discloses in the above sections that a Fire/Ground Control Station FCS is a touchscreen laptop console allowing an operator or untrained user a simple way to fly and operate the UAV. The FCS requires a plurality of inputs in order to perform a privileged command on the touchscreen, for example first entering an Unlocked mode via selection in order to prompt the user with no green light to enter fire mode and enable (prompt) other second Drop command on the touchscreen interface.
Applicant argues that the majority of cited text is missing, however, the majority is present with the entirely of the first passage and the majority of the second passage and minority of the third passage. The lack of the provisional applications citing “interactive buttons” is not persuasive as the provisional applications simply do not use the term ‘interactive’, but rather still disclose them being enabled or disabled based on lock or unlock mode and thus are interactive in nature.
Applicant has, again, not responded to the 103 Rejection of claim 21 in view of Kim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is indicated in PTO form 892.
/GREGORY TODD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443