DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 2. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. 3. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 4. Claim 4 recites the limitation " the second space" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " a second space". Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 5. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 6. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 7. Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakimoto (US 2019/0221791) . Regarding claim 1 , Wakimoto discloses a power storage device (prismatic secondary battery 20, Figs. 1 & 2, [0043]-[0044]) comprising an electrode body (3, Fig. 2, [0044]) and a case housing the electrode body (prismatic exterior body 1, Fig. 2, [0044]) , wherein the case is provided with a case body member having an opening to house the electrode body ([0044]) and a lid closing the opening of the case body member (sealing plate 2, Fig. 2, [0044]) , and having a first insertion hole penetrating through the lid in a thickwise direction (positive electrode terminal insertion hole 2 a, Fig. 14, [0058]) , the power storage device includes: a current collecting member provided in the case to be electrically connected to the electrode body (first positive electrode current collector 6a and second positive electrode current collector 6b, Figs. 2 & 14, [0045]) , the current collecting member including a hole circumferential portion that has a hole circumferential surface forming a second insertion hole (terminal connection hole of first positive electrode current collector 6a [0058], terminal connection hole 8y of first negative electrode current collector 8a, Fig. 8A, [0070]) ; a terminal member (positive electrode terminal 7, Fig. 14, [0045]) including a terminal inserting portion of any one of a columnar shape and a cylindrical shape extending from outside to inside of the case (7b, Fig. 14, [0089]) , the terminal member including a swaged and deformed portion formed by swaging and deforming a part of the terminal inserting portion that has been inserted in the first insertion hole and the second insertion hole (crimped portion 7c, Fig. 14, [0089]). The instant claim includes a recitation describing the manner in which the swaged and deformed portion is formed: by swaging and deforming. Said recitation appears to be product-by-process language. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. MPEP 2113. In this case, swaged results in a final product with a portion of reduced thickness; the art’s crimping reads on this because while a different process the final product is also a portion with reduced thickness. The reduction in thickness of a portion be it by swaging or crimping also both read on deformed. Continuing with claim 1, Wakimoto discloses a welded portion in which the hole circumferential portion of the current collecting member and the swaged and deformed portion (crimped) of the terminal member are welded (solidified portion from melted metal (i.e. welded) 70, Figs. 14 & 8C, [0064], [0066], [0008] ; also [0058] ). The instant claim includes a recitation describing the manner in which the welded portion is formed: are welded . For completeness, examiner notes that the recitation appears to be product-by-process language. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. MPEP 2113. Continuing with claim 1, Wakimoto discloses a first space (gap formed between the cover portion 80a and the positive electrode terminal 7, Fig. 14, [0088]) which is surrounded by the welded portion (70, Fig. 14) , the hole circumferential surface ( see terminal connection hole of first positive electrode current collector 6a, Fig. 14 as exemplified by terminal connection hole 8 y formed in the first negative electrode current collector 8a in Fig s . 8A & 9B) , and the swaged and deformed portion (see crimped portion 7c , Fig. 14), the first space being adjacent to the welded portion and extending in a circumferential direction along the hole circumferential surface (Fig. 14) . Regarding claim 3 , Wakimoto discloses a manufacturing method for the power storage device according to claim 1 ([0008]-[0009]) , the method including: swaging to form the lid structure in which the terminal member, the current collecting member, and the lid are joined by forming the swaged and deformed portion that is formed by swaging and deforming a to-be-swaged portion of the terminal inserting portion in a state of inserting the terminal inserting portion in the first insertion hole of the lid and in the second insertion hole of the current collecting member ( [0056], [0058]) ; and laser-welding a to-be-welded portion of the hole circumferential portion and a to-be-welded portion of the swaged and deformed portion in the lid structure ([0058]) , wherein in the swaging, the swaged and deformed portion is formed and a third space containing the first space as a space surrounded by the swaged and deformed portion and the hole circumferential portion is formed ([0058]) , the third space is a space adjacent to a side opposite to a side where the to-be-welded portion of the hole circumferential portion and the to-be-welded portion of the swaged and deformed portion are irradiated with a laser beam in the laser-welding ([0064], [0066], [0103]) , and in the laser-welding, the laser-welding is performed such that a part of a molten portion, in which the to-be-welded portion of the hole circumferential portion and the to-be-welded portion of the swaged and deformed portion are molten, reaches the third space to form the welded portion adjacent to the first space ([0066]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 8. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 9. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 10. Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakimoto (US 2019/0221791) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshida et al. (US 2016/0372722) . Regarding claim 2, Wakimoto discloses the lid (2, Figs. 2 & 14), the terminal member(7, Figs. 2 & 14), and the current collecting member (6a & 6b, Figs. 2 & 14) are integrated to configure a lid structure(Figs. 2 & 14), but does not explicitly disclose the welded portion is formed not over an entire circumference of the hole circumferential portion but on a part of the hole circumferential portion in a circumferential direction, a non-welded portion, in which the hole circumferential portion and the swaged and deformed portion are not welded, forms a second space in which the hole circumferential surface and the swaged and deformed portion are separated in a radial direction to open the second space to outside of the lid structure, and the first space is communicated with the second space. Yoshida teaches a secondary battery includes an electrode assembly having a positive electrode plate and a negative electrode plate, an outer body having a mouth and housing the electrode assembly, a sealing plate having a terminal attachment hole and sealing the mouth, a collector electrically connected to the positive electrode plate or the negative electrode plate, and a terminal connected to the collector and inserted into the terminal attachment, hole ([0012] , Figs. 1, 2, & 5 ) . Yoshida teaches t he collector has a through-hole, and a countersunk hole is formed around the through-hole ([0012]) . Yoshida teaches t he terminal is inserted into the through-hole, and the terminal is crimped in the countersunk hole and a groove is provided on the outer peripheral side of the countersunk hole ([0012]). Yoshida teaches the welded portion (50, Figs. 5 & 6) is formed not over an entire circumference of the hole circumferential portion (8d and 8e , Fig s . 3 , 5 & 6 , [0046], [0048]) but on a part of the hole circumferential portion in a circumferential direction (Fig. 6) , a non-welded portion (welded portion 50 is formed in an arc shape, Fig. 6, [0048]) , in which the hole circumferential portion (8d, Fig. 5) and the swaged and deformed portion (9b, Fig. 5) are not welded (Fig. 6) , forms a second space in which the hole circumferential surface and the swaged and deformed portion are separated in a radial direction to open the second space to outside of the lid structure (Figs. 5 & 6) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power storage device of Wakimoto with the welded portion is formed not over an entire circumference of the hole circumferential portion but on a part of the hole circumferential portion in a circumferential direction, a non-welded portion, in which the hole circumferential portion and the swaged and deformed portion are not welded, forms a second space in which the hole circumferential surface and the swaged and deformed portion are separated in a radial direction to open the second space to outside of the lid structure as taught by Yoshida as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143. Regarding claim 5 , modified Wakimoto discloses a manufacturing method for the power storage device according to claim 2 ( Wakimoto [0008]-[0009]), the method including: swaging to form the lid structure in which the terminal member, the current collecting member, and the lid are joined by forming the swaged and deformed portion that is formed by swaging and deforming a to-be-swaged portion of the terminal inserting portion in a state of inserting the terminal inserting portion in the first insertion hole of the lid and in the second insertion hole of the current collecting member( Wakimoto [0056], [0058]); and laser-welding a to-be-welded portion of the hole circumferential portion and a to-be-welded portion of the swaged and deformed portion in the lid structure( Wakimoto [0058]), wherein in the swaging, the swaged and deformed portion is formed and a third space containing the first space as a space surrounded by the swaged and deformed portion and the hole circumferential portion is formed( Wakimoto [0058]), the third space is a space adjacent to a side opposite to a side where the to-be-welded portion of the hole circumferential portion and the to-be-welded portion of the swaged and deformed portion are irradiated with a laser beam in the laser-welding( Wakimoto [0064], [0066], [0103]), and in the laser-welding, the laser-welding is performed such that a part of a molten portion, in which the to-be-welded portion of the hole circumferential portion and the to-be-welded portion of the swaged and deformed portion are molten, reaches the third space to form the welded portion adjacent to the first space( Wakimoto [0066]). Allowable Subject Matter 11. Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. And the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 11 2 set forth in this office action on claim 4 is overcome. In particular, the allowable limitation is in the swaging, the swaged and deformed portion is formed and the third space extending in a part of a circumferential direction along the hole circumferential surface and a second space communicated with the third space and extending in a part of the circumferential direction along the hole circumferential surface are formed, the second space is a space opening to outside of the lid structure, the space being formed by separation of the hole circumferential surface and the swaged and deformed portion in a radial direction, the third space and the second space define an annular space portion formed along an entire circumference of the hole circumferential surface in planar view of the lid structure, and in the laser-welding, the hole circumferential portion and the swaged and deformed portion that define the second space are free from laser-beam irradiation while the to-be-welded portion of the hole circumferential portion and the to-be-welded portion of the swaged and deformed portion that define the third space are molten to from the welded portion in a part of the circumferential direction of the hole circumferential portion. In the instant invention, the second portion 64 c 2 of the hole circumferential surface 64 is out of contact with an outer circumferential surface of the leading end portion of the swaged and deformed portion 81 b, and thus the second portion 64 c 2 of the hole circumferential surface 64 and the swaged and deformed portion 81 b are separated in a radial direction of the positive-electrode second insertion hole 63 (see FIG. 17 and FIG. 18 , [0076] US 2024/0072395 ). Thereby, a positive-electrode second space S21 opening outward is formed between the second portion 64 c 2 of the hole circumferential surface 64 and the swaged and deformed portion 81 b ([0076] . This positive-electrode second space S21 is communicated with the positive-electrode third space S31 and configured to extend in a part of the circumferential direction along the hole circumferential surface 64 ([0076]) . To be more specific, the positive-electrode second space S21 and the positive-electrode third space S31 are linked to each other in the circumferential direction of the hole circumferential surface 64 to constitute an annular space portion along the entire circumference of the hole circumferential surface 64 ([0076]) . T he hole circumferential portion and the swaged and deformed portion that define the second space are free from laser-beam irradiation while the to-be-welded portion of the hole circumferential portion and the to-be-welded portion of the swaged and deformed portion that define the third space are molten to from the welded portion in a part of the circumferential direction of the hole circumferential portion ([0018]) . Wakimoto discloses in the swaging, the swaged and deformed portion is formed and the third space extending in a part of a circumferential direction along the hole circumferential surface and a second space communicated with the third space and extending in a part of the circumferential direction along the hole circumferential surface are formed ([0056], [0058]) , but does not disclose, teach or render obvious the second space is a space opening to outside of the lid structure, the space being formed by separation of the hole circumferential surface and the swaged and deformed portion in a radial direction, the third space and the second space define an annular space portion formed along an entire circumference of the hole circumferential surface in planar view of the lid structure, and in the laser-welding, the hole circumferential portion and the swaged and deformed portion that define the second space are free from laser-beam irradiation while the to-be-welded portion of the hole circumferential portion and the to-be-welded portion of the swaged and deformed portion that define the third space are molten to from the welded portion in a part of the circumferential direction of the hole circumferential portion. 12. Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In particular, the allowable limitation is in the swaging, the swaged and deformed portion is formed and the third space extending in a part of a circumferential direction along the hole circumferential surface and the second space communicated with the third space and extending in a part of the circumferential direction along the hole circumferential surface are formed, the second space is a space opening to outside of the lid structure, the space being formed by separation of the hole circumferential surface and the swaged and deformed portion in a radial direction, the third space and the second space define an annular space portion formed along an entire circumference of the hole circumferential surface in planar view of the lid structure, and in the laser-welding, the hole circumferential portion and the swaged and deformed portion that define the second space are free from laser-beam irradiation while the to-be-welded portion of the hole circumferential portion and the to-be-welded portion of the swaged and deformed portion that define the third space are molten to from the welded portion in a part of the circumferential direction of the hole circumferential portion. The reasons for allowance are substantially the same as provided in paragraph 11 above and apply herein. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT VICTORIA HOM LYNCH whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-0489 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM EST M-F . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Miriam Stagg can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-5256 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /VICTORIA H LYNCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724