DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/18/2023 and 05/20/2025 have considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 2: Remove “characterized in that”
Claims 2-10: Remove “characterized in that” and replace with wherein
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. 2022/0142855 in view of McGann et al. 2012/0136289 and Liu et al. Cn 110585586 A
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a length-adjustable massager based on wireless induction power supply, characterized in that, comprising a rod body (Figure 1, stick body 10) and a massage component (massage subassembly 20) that can move back and forth along the lengthwise direction of the rod body (The abstract states “The stick body is provided with a conducting sliding rail, and the PCB is electrically connected to the conducting sliding rail. Each massage subassembly is provided with a conducting sheet adapting to the conducting sliding rail. The conducting sheet is capable of sliding in a reciprocating manner on the conducting sliding rail”);
The rod body is provided with a first PCB board (Figure 3, PCB board 11), a first massage module member (“0050 states “the first massage module 12 includes a first vibration module, and the first vibration module has a first vibration motor.”), a power supply (13); The first massage module and power supply, are electrically connected to the first PCB board (Figure 4); The massage component is provided with, a second massage module (massage subassembly 20) which are electrically connected to the second PCB board;
Huang fails to teach a first massage module with a wireless charging transmitter module that is electrically connected to a first PCB board, and a second module with a wireless charging receiver module, wherein the wireless charging transmitter module is adapted to the wireless charging receiver module.
Mcgann teaches an analogous personal massager that does teach a first massage module (massage module with outer sleeve 1 as depicted in figure 9a) with a wireless charging transmitter module (inner conduction coil 8, figure 10b) that is electrically connected to a first PCB board (Connected to circuit board 11 as seen in figure 10b), and a second module with a wireless charging receiver module Coil ring 29 and 30 in figure 9a contains external charging coil 31), wherein the wireless charging transmitter module is adapted to the wireless charging receiver module (Depicted in figures 10a and 10b).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the massage subcomponent of Huang with the teachings of Mcgann and include a first massage module with a wireless charging transmitter module that is electrically connected to a first PCB board, and a second module with a wireless charging receiver module, wherein the wireless charging transmitter module is adapted to the wireless charging receiver module as this would allow for wireless recharging through induction which allows for recharging of the system during operation and standby mode (abstract).
The combination still fails to teach a second PCB board which is electrically connected to the second massage module. Liu teaches an analogous apparatus that does teach a second PCB board which is electrically connected to the second massage module (PCB 43 as depicted in figure 2 is located in eccentric wheel 32 as shown in the circled portion fop figure 1. The other PCB board is PCB 63 which is located in the actual body of the device.). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination and the massage component of Huang to include a second PCB as this allows for individual control of the massage module (page 15 of the attached translated application.).
Once these modifications are made, the combination would now include wherein the massage component is provided with a second PCB board, a second massage module, and a wireless charging receiver module, which are electrically connected to the second PCB board as this inclusion of the second PCB board would require wiring these components together with the PCB.
Regarding claim 2, modified Huang teaches the length-adjustable massager based on wireless induction power supply of claim 1, characterized in that, the rod body has a first mounting chamber (Figure 3 of Huang depicts second inner housing 102 that has a mounting chamber within it), the first massage module is installed in the first mounting chamber (massage module 12 is located in housing 102), and the first massage module corresponds to the front end of the rod body (This is the front end of the rod body as depicted in figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Hang teaches the length-adjustable massager based on wireless induction power supply of claim 1, characterized in that, the massage component has a mounting ring (mounting ring is depicted in figure 3 on massage subassembly 20), and the mounting ring is sleeved on the rod body and can slide back and forth on the rod body (The abstract states “The stick body is provided with a conducting sliding rail, and the PCB is electrically connected to the conducting sliding rail. Each massage subassembly is provided with a conducting sheet adapting to the conducting sliding rail. The conducting sheet is capable of sliding in a reciprocating manner on the conducting sliding rail”).
Regarding claim 4, modified Huang teaches the length-adjustable massager based on wireless induction power supply of claim 3, characterized in that, the wireless charging receiver module is set in the mounting ring (Mounting ring 30 and 29 of McGann include the wireless charging receiver module in external charging coil 31, when modified into Huang, the mounting ring of Huang would include the wireless charging receiver module.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Huang teaches the length-adjustable massager based on wireless induction power supply of claim 3, characterized in that, the front section of the rod body is in a strip shape (Figure 1 depicts a strip shape), and the mounting ring can slide out of the rod body from the front end of the rod body (Depicted in figures 1 and 2 of Huang); Alternatively, the rear section of the rod body is in a strip shape, and the mounting ring can slide out of the rod body from the rear end of the rod body (Mounting ring of McGann can slide out of the backside of the device as depicted in figure 9a);
Both references on their own fails to teach the front and rear sections of the rod body are in a strip shape, and the mounting ring can slide out of the rod body from the front end and back end of the rod body, however Since both McGann and Huang teach the mounting ring either sliding through the front or the back, a combination of the teachings of both that allows for the mounting ring to slide the entire way through would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow for different positionings of the second massage element.
Regarding claim 6, modified Huang teaches the length-adjustable massager based on wireless induction power supply of claim 5, characterized in that, the rear section of the rod body is in a strip shape (depicted in McGann), but fails to explicitly teach wherein the front section of the rod body extends diagonally with a first massage end. However, regarding the diagonal end shape of the rod body, the courts have held that a change in shape alone, without demonstration of the criticality of a specific limitation, may be considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.04-IV-B.
Regarding claim 7, modified Huang teaches the length-adjustable massager based on wireless induction power supply of claim 2, characterized in that, the rod body comprises a first plastic inner shell (Housing 101 and 102 of Huang) and a first silicone jacket encased on the outside of the first plastic inner shell (Silica gel outer sleeve 103 of Huang) and the first mounting chamber is formed inside the first plastic inner shell (the first mounting chamber as depicted in figure 4 is located inside the inner shell of 101 and 102 as depicted in Figure 4 of Huang).
Regarding claim 8, modified Huang teaches the length-adjustable massager based on wireless induction power supply of claim 7, characterized in that, a holding slot is provided between the first plastic inner shell and the first silicone jacket (Connecting recess 143 depicted in figure 8 of Huang), and the wireless charging transmitter module is set in the holding slot (Inner conduction coil 8 is located on the inner slot between an outer and inner layer as depicted in figure 10b of McGann).
Regarding claim 9, modified Huang teaches the length-adjustable massager based on wireless induction power supply of claim 6, characterized in that, the first mounting chamber extends along the lengthwise direction of the first plastic inner shell (mounting chamber within 102 as depicted in figure 4 extends along a lengthwise direction of the inner shell), the power supply is a battery (0048), and the first massage module, battery, and first PCB board are set in sequence from front to back in the first mounting chamber (Depicted in figure 4).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Huang in view of Pfeil et al. 5,377,962
Regarding claim 10, modified Huang teaches the length-adjustable massager based on wireless induction power supply of claim 6, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the outer side of the first silicone jacket is provided with massage patterns. Pfeil teaches an analogous vibrating device that does teach wherein the outer side of the first silicone jacket is provided with massage patterns (vibrating region 6 and strip 8 of Figure 1). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Huang with the teachings of Pfeil and include wherein the outer side of the first silicone jacket is provided with massage patterns as this allows for specific vibrational paths to be followed when the device is in use.
Conclusion
/ROHAN PATEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785