DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of CLAIMS 1-9 in the reply filed on 24 October 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that NO UNDUE BURDEN. This is not found persuasive because of the SEPARATE STATUS IN THE ART DUE TO CLASSIFICATIONS. Claims 10-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected INVENTION, there being no allowable generic or linking claim
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of Japan Application No. 2022-115211 was received on 04 September 2023 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 18 July 2023 and 08 December 2023 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 18 July 2023 are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tobiyama (JP 2019/171840A), using a machine translation.
With regard to Claim 1, Tobiyama discloses an image forming method (Abstract), comprising:
applying water-based ink to a first region of an object to be subjected to image forming by an inkjet method (Abstract, Lines 5-6; ¶0007, aqueous pigment ink);
applying a resin powder to a second region of the object (¶0007, heat melting powder applied to entire surface of the ink; ¶0009, resin powder), the first region and the second region at least partially overlapping each other (¶0007); and
heating the first region and the second region to thermally fix the water-based ink and the resin powder to the object (¶0007, Lines 10-12; ¶0012-0014; 0020),
wherein the water-based ink comprises a pigment and at least one of a water-soluble resin and a resin emulsion (¶0012-0014).
With regard to Claim 3, Tobiyama further discloses wherein the water-soluble resin and the resin emulsion are each a urethane resin, a polyester resin, an acrylic resin or a combination thereof (¶0009).
With regard to Claim 9, Tobiyama further discloses a method for manufacturing an image-formed article (Abstract), comprising forming an image by the image forming method according to claim 1, to obtain the image-formed article (Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tobiyama, in view of Ueki et al. (US PGPub 2006/0061641 A1), hereinafter Ueki.
With regard to Claim 5, Tobiyama discloses wherein an applied amount of the resin powder is an appropriate amount (¶0025), but does not explicitly disclose wherein an applied amount of the resin powder is 0.1 mg/cm2 or more.
The secondary reference of Ueki discloses wherein an applied amount of the resin powder is 0.1 mg/cm2 or more (¶0060, amount is not less than 0.1 g/m² to not more than 30 g/m²).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the applied amount of Ueki, with the method of Tobiyama, in order to improve on image quality by preventing inter-color bleeding, as taught by Ueki (¶0060).
With regard to Claim 7, Tobiyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the resin powder is a charged resin powder.
The secondary reference of Ueki discloses wherein the resin powder is a charged resin powder (¶0129, resin powder can be charged).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the charged resin powder of Ueki, with the method of Tobiyama, in order to disperse the resin powder statically on the intermediate transfer body, as taught by Ueki (¶0129).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tobiyama, in view of Furukawa (US PGPub 2004/0218028 A1).
With regard to Claim 6, Tobiyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the resin powder comprises a thermoplastic resin.
The secondary reference of Furukawa discloses wherein the resin powder comprises a thermoplastic resin (¶0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the thermoplastic resin of Furukawa, with the method of Tobiyama, in order to stably fix the resin, and selected as appropriate, as taught by Furukawa (¶0053).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for allowability for Claim 2 is that applicants claimed invention includes an image forming method wherein a ratio (X/Y) of an applied amount (X) of the water-based ink to an applied amount (Y) of the resin powder is 0.04 or more and 240 or less. It is this limitation, expressed in the claim combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for allowability for Claim 4 is that applicants claimed invention includes an image forming method wherein a total solid content of the water-soluble resin and the resin emulsion relative to an amount of the water-based ink is 5 mass% or more and 10 mass% or less. It is this limitation, expressed in the claim combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for allowability for Claim 8 is that applicants claimed invention includes an image forming method wherein heating the first region to thermally fix the water-based ink to the object after the applying of the water-based ink and before the applying of the resin powder, wherein the resin powder is applied by an electrophotographic method so that the second region is 1% or more larger than the first region, and wherein each heating is performed by a non-contact method. It is this limitation, expressed in the claim combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
/SCOTT A RICHMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853