DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the amendments and arguments filed October 29th, 2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 10, 11, 14, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited of record Wang et al. (US Pub. No. 20220005364 A1), herein after Wang, and further in view of previously cited of record Khatwa et al. (US Pub. No. 20220068149 A1), herein after Khatwa.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches [a] method comprising (Wang: Para. 0006, teaching methods and systems for determining and displaying taxi routes for aircraft): monitoring, by the computing system and based on traffic data, movement of traffic relative to the taxi route (Wang: Para. 0024, teaching that the movements and locations of other aircraft around a host aircraft are monitored); detecting traffic located proximate a hot spot and within a threshold distance from the aircraft (Wang: Para. 0047, teaching that the traffic data is analyzed to detect where other aircraft are in relation to each route segment and the host aircraft); and based on detecting traffic located proximate the hot spot and within the threshold distance from the aircraft, providing an alert via the display interface (Wang: Para. 0043, teaching that traffic indicators are displayed along the route as well as an ownship indicator and range ring for determining if another aircraft is close to the host aircraft).
Wang is silent to receiving, at a computing system coupled to an aircraft, map and hot spot data for a taxi route for the aircraft; displaying, by the computing system and on a display interface, a representation of the taxi route based on the map and hot spot data, wherein the representation includes a graphical overlay that conveys a position of each hot spot located along the taxi route and rendered on the display using one or more graphic elements.
In a similar field, Khatwa teaches receiving, at a computing system coupled to an aircraft, map and hot spot data for a taxi route for the aircraft; displaying, by the computing system and on a display interface, a representation of the taxi route based on the map and hot spot data, wherein the representation includes a graphical overlay that conveys a position of each hot spot located along the taxi route and rendered on the display using one or more graphic elements (Khatwa: Para. 0019, teaching displaying hotspots, such as intersections, along a taxi route using graphical inserts; and Para. 0040, teaching that the turns and intersections along a route are displayed using graphical inserts) for the benefit of improving the routing of the airplane during taxiing.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify aircraft taxiing based on traffic from Wang with information on the location of hotspots where traffic is most frequent or dangerous, as taught by Khatwa, for the benefit of improving the routing of the airplane during taxiing.
Regarding claim 3, Wang and Khatwa remain as applied as in claim 1, and Khatwa goes on to further teach [t]he method of claim 1, further comprising: providing location data of the aircraft to an airport mapping system; and wherein receiving the map and hot spot data for the taxi route for the aircraft comprises: receiving the map and hot spot data for the taxi route from the airport mapping system, wherein the airport mapping system uses the location data of the aircraft to identify the map and hot spot data for the taxi route (Khatwa: Para. 0019, teaching displaying hotspots and the aircraft along a taxi route; and Para. 0057, teaching that the information on the location of the aircraft and hotspots can be determined using aerodrome mapping data).
Regarding claim 10, Wang and Khatwa remain as applied as in claim 1, and Wang goes on to further teach [t]he method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving traffic data for the taxi route for the aircraft, wherein the traffic data represents movement patterns for a plurality of aircraft (Wang: Para. 0036, teaching that the invention monitors the movements, past locations, and recency of traffic for patterns as part of its prediction of traffic along the route); and displaying the representation of the taxi route with respective graphic aircraft visuals representing the movement patterns for the plurality of aircraft (Wang: Para. 0043, teaching that traffic indicators are displayed along the route).
Regarding claim 11, Wang and Khatwa remain as applied as in claim 1, and Khatwa goes on to further teach [t]he method of claim 1, wherein providing the alert comprises: displaying a text alert along with an audio alert via a navigation system or an electronic flight bag (Khatwa: Para. 0021, teaching that the aircraft pilot is alerted via audio or visual alerts or via an electronic flight bag).
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches [a] system comprising: an airport mapping system; an aircraft (Wang: Para. 0006, teaching methods and systems for determining and displaying taxi routes for aircraft including an airport mapping database): monitor, based on traffic data, movement of traffic relative to the taxi route (Wang: Para. 0024, teaching that the movements and locations of other aircraft around a host aircraft are monitored); detect traffic located proximate a hot spot and within a threshold distance from the aircraft (Wang: Para. 0047, teaching that the traffic data is analyzed to detect where other aircraft are in relation to each route segment and the host aircraft); and based on detecting traffic located proximate the hot spot and within the threshold distance from the aircraft, provide an alert via the display interface (Wang: Para. 0043, teaching that traffic indicators are displayed along the route as well as an ownship indicator and range ring for determining if another aircraft is close to the host aircraft).
Wang is silent to a computing system configured to: receive map and hot spot data for a taxi route for the aircraft; display, on a display interface, a representation of the taxi route based on the map and hot spot data, wherein the representation includes a graphical overlay that conveys a position of each hot spot located along the taxi route and rendered on the display interface using one or more graphic elements.
In a similar field, Khatwa teaches a computing system configured to: receive map and hot spot data for a taxi route for the aircraft; display, on a display interface, a representation of the taxi route based on the map and hot spot data, wherein the representation includes a graphical overlay that conveys a position of each hot spot located along the taxi route and rendered on the display interface using one or more graphic elements (Khatwa: Para. 0019, teaching displaying hotspots, such as intersections, along a taxi route using graphical inserts; and Para. 0040, teaching that the turns and intersections along a route are displayed using graphical inserts) for the benefit of improving the routing of the airplane during taxiing.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify aircraft taxiing based on traffic from Wang with information on the location of hotspots where traffic is most frequent or dangerous, as taught by Khatwa, for the benefit of improving the routing of the airplane during taxiing.
Regarding claim 19, Wang and Khatwa remain as applied as in claim 14, and Khatwa goes on to further teach [t]he system of claim 14, wherein the computing system is an electronic flight bag device (Khatwa: Para. 0021, teaching that the aircraft pilot is alerted via audio or visual alerts or via an electronic flight bag).
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches [a] non-transitory computer readable medium configured to store instructions, that when executed by a computing system, causes the computing system to perform operations comprising (Wang: Para. 0031, teaching a non-transitory computer memory programmed to perform the processes of the invention): monitoring, based on traffic data, movement of traffic relative to the taxi route (Wang: Para. 0024, teaching that the movements and locations of other aircraft around a host aircraft are monitored); detecting traffic located proximate a hot spot and within a threshold distance from the aircraft (Wang: Para. 0047, teaching that the traffic data is analyzed to detect where other aircraft are in relation to each route segment and the host aircraft); and based on detecting traffic proximate the hot spot and within the threshold distance from the aircraft, providing an alert via the display interface (Wang: Para. 0043, teaching that traffic indicators are displayed along the route as well as an ownship indicator and range ring for determining if another aircraft is close to the host aircraft).
Wang is silent to receiving map and hot spot data for a taxi route for an aircraft; displaying, on a display interface, a representation of the taxi route based on the map and hot spot data, wherein the representation includes a graphical overlay that conveys a position of each hot spot located along the taxi route and rendered on the display interface using one or more graphic elements.
In a similar field, Khatwa teaches receiving map and hot spot data for a taxi route for an aircraft; displaying, on a display interface, a representation of the taxi route based on the map and hot spot data, wherein the representation includes a graphical overlay that conveys a position of each hot spot located along the taxi route and rendered on the display interface using one or more graphic elements (Khatwa: Para. 0019, teaching displaying hotspots, such as intersections, along a taxi route using graphical inserts; and Para. 0040, teaching that the turns and intersections along a route are displayed using graphical inserts) for the benefit of improving the routing of the airplane during taxiing.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify aircraft taxiing based on traffic from Wang with information on the location of hotspots where traffic is most frequent or dangerous, as taught by Khatwa, for the benefit of improving the routing of the airplane during taxiing.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Khatwa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of previously cited of record Feyereisen et al. (US Pub. No. 20110196599 A1), herein after Feyereisen.
Regarding claim 2, Wang and Khatwa remain as applied as in claim 1, and Khatwa goes on to further teach [t]he method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving additional map and hot spot data for a modified taxi route for the aircraft; and displaying, on the display interface, a… representation of the… taxi route based on the additional map and hot spot data, wherein the… representation includes a… graphical overlay that conveys the position of each hot spot located along the… taxi route (Khatwa: Para. 0019, teaching displaying hotspots along a taxi route).
They are silent to displaying a second representation for a modified taxi route.
In a similar field, Feyereisen teaches displaying multiple routes on a display that are modified from an initial route for if the original route could become unavailable (Feyereisen: Para. 0038, teaching that alternative routes can be displayed when a second aircraft may intersect with the taxi path of the host aircraft) for the benefit of creating redundant routes in the event of traffic blocking the original route.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the aircraft taxiing route generation and display from Wang in view of Khatwa with the multiple other routes the aircraft could take, as taught by Feyereisen, for the benefit of creating redundant routes in the event of traffic blocking the original route.
Claims 4, 6-8, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Khatwa as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Pepitone; David (US Pub. No. 20070067093 A1), herein after Pepitone.
Regarding claim 4, Wang and Khatwa remain as applied as in claim 1, however they are silent to [t]he method of claim 1, wherein the graphical overlay that conveys a position of the hot spot comprises: a first inner circle located inside a second outer circle, wherein a diameter of the first inner circle is less than a diameter of the second outer circle, the first inner circle is associated with an alert, and the second outer circle is associated with a less severe alert than the first inner circle.
In a similar field, Pepitone teaches [t]he method of claim 1, wherein the graphical overlay that conveys a position of the hot spot comprises: a first inner circle located inside a second outer circle, wherein a diameter of the first inner circle is less than a diameter of the second outer circle, the first inner circle is associated with an alert, and the second outer circle is associated with a less severe alert than the first inner circle (Pepitone: Para. 0033, teaching that zones of protection can be displayed around aircraft and airfield structures in a runway; and Para. 0041, teaching that the zones of protection can include multiple inner areas that provide more sever warnings the closer an aircraft or other object intrudes on the zones of protection) for the benefit of enhanced warning of incursions for aircraft during taxiing.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the graphical display of the taxiing of an aircraft from Wang in view of Khatwa with the multiple rings that mark important locations to monitor that have different levels of urgency, as taught by Pepitone, for the benefit of enhanced warning of incursions for aircraft during taxiing.
Regarding claim 6, Wang, Khatwa, and Pepitone remain as applied as in claim 4, and Pepitone goes on to further teach [t]he method of claim 4, wherein the first inner circle is represented by a first color and the second outer circle is represented by a second color, and wherein the second color differs from the first color (Pepitone: Para. 0041, teaching that the inner zone may be colored green and the outer zone may be color amber).
Regarding claim 7, Wang, Khatwa, and Pepitone remain as applied as in claim 4, and Pepitone ox goes on to further teach [t]he method of claim 4, wherein detecting traffic located proximate the hot spot and within the threshold distance from the aircraft comprises: detecting traffic located proximate or within the second outer circle of the hot spot and outside the first inner circle when the aircraft is positioned proximate or within the second outer circle of the hot spot (Pepitone: Para. 0041, teaching that the zones of protection can include multiple inner areas that provide more sever warnings the closer an aircraft or other object intrudes on the zones of protection); and Khatwa goes on to further teach providing a first audiovisual alert via a navigation system or an electronic flight bag (Khatwa: Para. 0021, teaching that the aircraft pilot is alerted via audio or visual alerts or via an electronic flight bag).
Regarding claim 8, Wang, Khatwa, and Pepitone remain as applied as in claim 7, and Pepitone ox goes on to further teach [t]he method of claim 7, further comprising: detecting traffic located proximate or within the first inner circle of the hot spot when the aircraft is positioned proximate or within the first inner circle of the hot spot; and providing a second audiovisual alert via the navigation system or the electronic flight bag, wherein the second audiovisual alert represents a more severe alert than the first audiovisual alert (Pepitone: Para. 0041, teaching that the zones of protection can include multiple inner areas that provide more sever warnings the closer an aircraft or other object intrudes on the zones of protection).
Regarding claim 15, Wang and Khatwa remain as applied as in claim 14, however they are silent to [t]he system of claim 14, wherein the graphical overlay that conveys the position of a given hot spot comprises: a first inner circle located inside a second outer circle, wherein a diameter of the first inner circle is less than a diameter of the second outer circle, the first inner circle is associated with an alert, and the second outer circle is associated with a less severe alert than the first inner circle.
In a similar field, Pepitone teaches [t]he system of claim 14, wherein the graphical overlay that conveys the position of a given hot spot comprises: a first inner circle located inside a second outer circle, wherein a diameter of the first inner circle is less than a diameter of the second outer circle (Pepitone: Para. 0033, teaching that zones of protection can be displayed around aircraft and airfield structures in a runway; and Para. 0041, teaching that the zones of protection can include multiple inner areas that provide more sever warnings the closer an aircraft or other object intrudes on the zones of protection) for the benefit of enhanced warning of incursions for aircraft during taxiing.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the graphical display of the taxiing of an aircraft from Wang in view of Khatwa with the multiple rings that mark important locations to monitor that have different levels of urgency, as taught by Pepitone, for the benefit of enhanced warning of incursions for aircraft during taxiing.
Regarding claim 16, Wang, Khatwa, and Pepitone remain as applied as in claim 15, and Pepitone ox goes on to further teach [t]he system of claim 15, wherein the computing system is configured to: based on detecting traffic located within the second outer circle and outside the first inner circle, provide a caution alert that includes text, audio, and applies a color to the second outer circle on the representation of the taxi route (Pepitone: Para. 0041, teaching that the inner zone may be colored green and the outer zone may be color amber).
Regarding claim 17, Wang, Khatwa, and Pepitone remain as applied as in claim 16, and Pepitone ox goes on to further teach [t]he system of claim 16, wherein the computing system is configured to: based on detecting traffic located within the first inner circle, provide a warning alert that includes text, audio, and applies a different color to the first inner circle on the representation of the taxi route (Pepitone: Para. 0041, teaching that the inner zone may be colored green and the outer zone may be color amber).
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Khatwa in further view of Pepitone as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of previously cited of record Kathirvel et al. (US Pub. No. 20160063869 A1), herein after Kathirvel.
Regarding claim 5, Wang, Khatwa, and Pepitone remain as applied as in claim 4, however they are silent to [t]he method of claim 4, wherein the diameter of the first inner circle is based on a wingspan of the aircraft and the diameter of the second outer circle is based on a separation distance between two aircrafts maintained while the two aircrafts are lined up for take-off or waiting for clearance to cross intersection for landing aircraft.
In a similar field, Kathirvel teaches [t]he method of claim 4, wherein the diameter of the first inner circle is based on a wingspan of the aircraft and the diameter of the second outer circle is based on a separation distance between two aircrafts maintained while the two aircrafts are lined up for take-off or waiting for clearance to cross intersection for landing aircraft (Kathirvel: Para. 0041 and 0057, teaching a ring around an aircraft that denotes the wingspan of the aircraft as well as a graphical representation of the separation distance between the aircraft and a second aircraft) for the benefit of conveying important information in an easy to understand manner.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the two circles representing areas of interest from Wang in view of Khatwa in further view of Pepitone to have one be based on the aircraft’s wingspan and the other to convey the separation distance between the aircraft and another aircraft, as taught by Kathirvel, for the benefit of conveying important information in an easy to understand manner.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Khatwa as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of previously cited of record Gaertner et al. (US Pub. No. 20110196599 A1), herein after Gaertner.
Regarding claim 9, Wang and Khatwa remain as applied as in claim 1, and Wang goes on to further teach [t]he method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving the traffic data representing movement of other aircraft and ground vehicles from Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) (Wang: Para. 0024, teaching the use of Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Rebroadcast to obtain traffic data of other aircraft) and Khatwa goes on to further teach wherein displaying the representation of the taxi route based on the map and hot spot data comprises: displaying the representation of the taxi route with the traffic data represented along the taxi route (Khatwa: Para. 0019, teaching displaying hotspots along a taxi route).
They are silent to receiving traffic data from an Airport Surface Detection Equipment (ASDE-X).
In a similar field, Gaertner teaches receiving traffic data from an Airport Surface Detection Equipment (ASDE-X) (Gaertner: Para. 0032, teaching the use of Airport Surface Detection Equipment (ASDE-X) to obtain traffic data of other aircraft) for the benefit of improving the accuracy of positioning aircraft on a taxiway.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the from Wang in view of Khatwa with the Airport Surface Detection Equipment (ASDE-X), as taught by Gaertner, for the benefit of improving the accuracy of positioning aircraft on a taxiway.
Regarding claim 9, Wang and Khatwa remain as applied as in claim 1, and Wang goes on to further teach [t]he system of claim 14, wherein the traffic data is received from Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B)…, and wherein the traffic data represents movement of other aircraft and ground vehicles (Wang: Para. 0024, teaching the use of Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Rebroadcast to obtain traffic data of other aircraft).
They are silent to receiving traffic data from one or more ground-based radars.
In a similar field, Gaertner teaches receiving traffic data from one or more ground-based radars (Gaertner: Para. 0040, teaching the use of radar for tracking the movements of traffic) for the benefit of improving the accuracy of positioning aircraft on a taxiway.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the from Wang in view of Khatwa with the ground based radars, as taught by Gaertner, for the benefit of improving the accuracy of positioning aircraft on a taxiway.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Khatwa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of previously cited of record Govindillam et al. (US Pub. No. 20210005095 A1), herein after Govindillam.
Regarding claim 12, Wang and Khatwa remain as applied as in claim 1, and Khatwa goes on to further teach wherein displaying the representation of the taxi route based on the map and hot spot data comprises: augmenting the image data to include the graphical overlay that conveys the position of each hot spot located along the taxi route (Khatwa: Para. 0029, teaching displaying hotspots along a taxi route).
They are silent to [t]he method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving image data depicting the taxi route from a camera coupled to the aircraft.
In a similar field, Govindillam teaches [t]he method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving image data depicting the taxi route from a camera coupled to the aircraft (Govindillam: Para. 0037, teaching the use of cameras to monitor hotspots and other locations of interest) for the benefit of improving the display of the area around the aircraft.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the display of the surrounding of the aircraft from Wang in view of Khatwa to utilize cameras installed on the aircraft for images of the taxi route, as taught by Govindillam, for the benefit of improving the display of the area around the aircraft.
Regarding claim 13, Wang, Khatwa, and Govindillam remain as applied as in claim 12, and Govindillam goes on to further teach [t]he method of claim 12, wherein detecting traffic located proximate the hot spot and within the threshold distance from the aircraft comprises: detecting another aircraft or ground vehicle is located proximate the hot spot and within the threshold distance from the aircraft based on subsequent image data from the camera during ground navigation by the aircraft (Govindillam: Para. 0041, teaching detecting the location of other aircraft near the hotspot or the host aircraft based on the image data).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 29th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed October 29th, 2025 with respect to the 103 rejection of claims 1, 3, 10, 11, 14, 19, and 20 in view of Wang and in further view of Khatwa have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends (see page 9 line 15 through page 11 line 2, filed October 29th, 2025) that Wang in view of Khatwa does not recite displaying “a graphical overlay that conveys a position of each hot spot located along the taxi route and rendered on the display using one or more graphic elements” as recited by the newly amended independent claims as Khatwa only displays the graphical inserts for hotspots as it approaches them and does not display all of the along the route as is required by the amended independent claims. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that, while paragraph 0019 states that the hotspots and other locations of interest are displayed as the aircraft approaches them, the prior art of Khatwa does teach displaying all of the locations of interest (hotspots, intersections, turns, etc.) along a route in paragraph 0040 which talks about Fig. 3 of Khatwa. In paragraph 0040, Khatwa teaches that intersections and other locations of interest are displayed along the route and not just as the aircraft is approaching. Furthermore, the examiner notes that the Khatwa defines a hotspot in paragraph 0030 to “may include areas not visible from a control tower and complex geometries at the intersection of surfaces such as crossing runways and taxiways, taxiway/taxiway intersections, taxiway intersection with runway in close proximity to another runway, and others”, thus the display of intersection in paragraph 0040 other than the ones the aircraft are actively approaching reads on the BRI of the claimed invention. The examiner notes that the rejection of the independent claims have been updated in light of the amendments of record to include paragraph 0040.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-13, filed October 29th, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 4, 7, and 15 under 103 in view of Wang in further view of Khatwa and further in view of Cox have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wang in further view of Khatwa and further in view of Pepitone.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663