DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Amended claims are discussed below in the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 10, 13-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liang (WO/2019/095798).
Regarding claim 1, Liang teaches a cell selection method, applied to a terminal and comprising: obtaining first information by the terminal, wherein the first information is used for indicating that a second cell does not support a first intended slice [Para 78 and 89, message is sent about cell not supporting the intended slice], wherein the first intended slice is an intended slice supported by a first cell [Para 77, provides services for the first intended slice], the first cell is a cell currently selected or camped on by the terminal, and the second cell is different than the first cell [Para 90-93, cell reselection is done to select a different cell to provide services for the slice]; and performing cell selection or reselection by the terminal according to the first information [Para 90-91, UE performs cell reselection if the intended slice is not supported]; wherein performing cell selection or reselection comprises at least one of: considering the second cell as an acceptable cell [Para 157-163, accepts the cell as acceptable cell and provides services for other slices until the services for intended slice can be provided]; falling back to a non-slice based cell selection or reselection rule; ignoring a slice-based cell selection or reselection rule; or performing non-slice based cell selection or reselection.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Liang teaches system information [Para 78-79].
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Liang teaches determining a cell selection or reselection parameter according to the first information [Para 90-93]; and performing cell selection or reselection according to the cell selection or reselection parameter [Para 90-93].
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Liang teaches determining a second cell-selection or reselection parameter as the cell selection or reselection parameter according to the first information [Para 90-93].
Regarding claim 10, Liang teaches a terminal, comprising: a processor, a memory, and a transceiver; wherein the transceiver is configured to obtain first information, wherein the first information is used for indicating that a second cell does not support a first intended slice [Para 78 and 89, message is sent about cell not supporting the intended slice], wherein the first intended slice is an intended slice supported by a first cell [Para 77, provides services for the first intended slice], the first cell is a cell currently selected or camped on by the terminal, and the second cell is different than the first cell [Para 90-93, cell reselection is done to select a different cell to provide services for the slice]; and wherein the processor is configured to perform cell selection or reselection according to the first information [Para 90-91, UE performs cell reselection if the intended slice is not supported], wherein cell selection or reselection comprises at least one of: considering the second cell as an acceptable cell [Para 157-163, accepts the cell as acceptable cell and provides services for other slices until the services for intended slice can be provided]; falling back to a non-slice based cell selection or reselection rule; ignoring a slice-based cell selection or reselection rule; or performing non-slice based cell selection or reselection.
Regarding claim 19, Liang teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program is executed by a processor to implement a cell selection method comprising: obtaining first information by a terminal, wherein the first information is used for indicating that a second cell does not support a first intended slice [Para 78 and 89, message is sent about cell not supporting the intended slice], wherein the first intended slice is an intended slice supported by a first cell [Para 77, provides services for the first intended slice], the first cell is a cell currently selected or camped on by the terminal, and the second cell is different than the first cell [Para 90-93, cell reselection is done to select a different cell to provide services for the slice]; and performing cell selection or reselection by the terminal according to the first information [Para 90-91, UE performs cell reselection if the intended slice is not supported]; wherein performing cell selection or reselection comprises at least one of: considering the second cell as an acceptable cell [Para 157-163, accepts the cell as acceptable cell and provides services for other slices until the services for intended slice can be provided]; falling back to a non-slice based cell selection or reselection rule; ignoring a slice-based cell selection or reselection rule; or performing non-slice based cell selection or reselection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464