DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 8, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20230013234 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Lin discloses a data uploading method, applying to a network device (e.g., ¶ [0005] [0006] data uplink transmission method [performed by network device]), the network device comprising a page queue (e.g., ¶ [0006] network device stores a page queue), the data uploading method comprising: receiving an authorization message, the authorization message comprising an authorization size (e.g., FIG. 1, ¶ [0020] configured to perform a report procedure, an authorized uploading procedure, and a packet receiving procedure… receives an authorization message and an assigned time slot from the optical line terminal 20. In an uplink transmission time slot, the first input/output port 12 outputs data (that is, a packet) that satisfies or is less than the authorized size to the optical line terminal 20); executing an upload procedure to obtain an upload queue, the upload procedure comprising: executing a page queue upload procedure according to the page queue and the authorization size to obtain a first authorization remaining size and a continuation page number (e.g., ¶ [0020] In an uplink transmission time slot, the first input/output port 12 outputs data (that is, a packet) that satisfies or is less than the authorized size to the optical line terminal 20. In addition, the first input/output port 12 also outputs an amount of remaining to-be-uploaded data (which is referred to as a report size below) [Examiner interpreting this as remaining size] to the optical line terminal 20 in the uplink transmission; e.g., ¶ [0022] Each of the single packet records 1113 includes a data size 11133 of a different packet. Each of the page records 1133 includes a page size 11331. The page size 11331 is a sum of the data sizes 11133 of the packets corresponding to the page record 1133. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the first page record (the page record 1133 having a page number 1135 of “0”) corresponds to a first packet to a 100.sup.th packet, that is, the first page record corresponds to the first single packet record (a single packet record 1113 having a packet number 1115 of “0”) to a 100.sup.th single packet record (a single packet record 1113 having a packet number 1115 of “99”). The page size 11331 of the first page record is a sum of the data size 11133 of the first single packet record to the data size 11133 of the 100.sup.th single packet record; e.g., ¶ [0024] Then, the controller 11 sums the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 corresponding to the start page number 11311 and the page size 11331 of each of the subsequent page records 1133 one by one to calculate a first sum result 50 (step S302). After that, the controller 11 uses the first sum result 50 as the report size, and outputs the report size to the optical line terminal 20 in the uplink transmission time slot (step S304) [Examiner interpreting these citations as page numbers’ tracking during summation procedure]); executing a remaining queue upload procedure according to the first authorization remaining size, the continuation page number and a remainder parameter to obtain a continuation packet number and a second authorization remaining size ([Examiner is citing the entire paragraph to indicate the process to determine an updated “underfull” value, which Examiner interprets as a second remaining size] e.g., ¶ [0024] Then, the controller 11 sums the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 corresponding to the start page number 11311 and the page size 11331 of each of the subsequent page records 1133 one by one to calculate a first sum result 50 (step S302). After that, the controller 11 uses the first sum result 50 as the report size, and outputs the report size to the optical line terminal 20 in the uplink transmission time slot (step S304). For example, as shown in FIG. 2, assuming that the start page number 11311 is “0”, the controller 11 sums the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 having the page number 1135 of “0” and the page size of each of the subsequent page records one by one until the page size 11331 of a last one of the page records 1133 in the page queue 113 (for example, the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 having a page number 1135 of “3”), to calculate the first sum result 50 as the report size. Therefore, the report size can be quickly calculated by using the page size as a unit (that is, by using a packet group as a unit) compared with using a data size of a single packet as a unit; e.g., ¶ [0025] Referring to FIG. 2, in some embodiments, each of the page records 1133 further includes a page-full flag 11333 and a subsequent-page indicator 11335. The page-full flag 11333 is configured to define whether a quantity of packets (or a quantity of single packet records 1113) corresponding to the page record 1133 reaches a preset full threshold. If the preset full threshold is reached, the page-full flag 11333 is a full value (for example, a logic “1”). If the preset full threshold is not reached, the page-full flag 11333 is an underfull value (for example, a logic “0”). For example, as shown in FIG. 2, it is assumed that the preset full threshold is “100”. Since there are only single packet records 1113 having packet numbers of “300” to “304” (that is, a quantity of single packet records 1113 corresponding to the page record 1133 having the page number “3” does not reach the preset full threshold), the page-full flag 11333 of the page record 1133 having the page number “3” is an underfull value. In another example, assuming that packets corresponding to single packet records 1113 having packet numbers of “0” to “49” have been outputted to the optical line terminal 20 in a previous uplink transmission time slot (that is, part of packets corresponding to the page record 1133 having the page number “0” have been outputted, and therefore the current page record 1133 having the page number “0” corresponds to only single packet records 1113 having packet numbers of “50” to “99”, which fail to reach the preset full threshold), the page-full flag 11333 of the page record 1133 having the page number “0” is an underfull value); and executing a packet upload procedure according to the continuation packet number and the second authorization remaining size (e.g., ¶ [0023] Referring to FIG. 3, FIG. 3 illustrates a schematic flowchart of a report procedure according to some embodiments. In the report procedure, first, the controller 11 obtains a start page number 11311 according to the page queue header 1131 (step S300). The start page number 11311 corresponds to one of the page records 1133. Specifically, the start page number 11311 corresponds to the first to-be-uploaded page record); and uploading packet data stored in the upload queue through the network device (e.g., FIG. 3, ¶ [0024] Then, the controller 11 sums the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 corresponding to the start page number 11311 and the page size 11331 of each of the subsequent page records 1133 one by one to calculate a first sum result 50 (step S302). After that, the controller 11 uses the first sum result 50 as the report size, and outputs the report size to the optical line terminal 20 in the uplink transmission time slot (step S304)).
Regarding Claim 2, Lin discloses all the limitations of the data uploading method according to claim 1.
Lin discloses wherein the page queue upload procedure comprises: obtaining a start page number according to the page queue, wherein the page queue comprises multiple sequential page records, the start page number corresponds to one of the page records (e.g., ¶ [0005] According to some embodiments, the data uplink transmission method includes: performing a report procedure. The report procedure includes: obtaining a start page number according to a page queue header of a page queue, where the page queue has a plurality of page records in sequence, the start page number corresponds to one of the page records, each of the page records includes a page size, and the page size is a sum of data sizes of packets corresponding to the page record; summing the page size of the page record corresponding to the start page number and the page size of each of the subsequent page records one by one to calculate a first sum result; and outputting the first sum result as a report size), and each page record comprises a page size and an auxiliary queue, wherein the auxiliary queue comprises multiple sequential packets corresponding to the page record, and the page size is a sum of data sizes of the packets corresponding to the page record (e.g., ¶ [0021] Referring to FIG. 2, FIG. 2 illustrates a schematic diagram of a packet queue 111 and a page queue 113 according to some embodiments. The controller 11 stores the page queue 113. The page queue 113 includes a page queue header 1131 and a plurality of page records 1133 in sequence. The page records 1133 may be distinguished from each other by using a page number 1135. For example, a page number “0” is a first page record, a page number “1” is a second page record, and so on. In some embodiments, the controller 11 further stores the packet queue 111. The packet queue 111 includes a packet queue header 1111 and a plurality of single packet records 1113 in sequence. Each of the single packet records 1113 is configured to store relevant data of a different packet. The single packet records 1113 may be distinguished from each other by using a packet number 1115. For example, a packet number “0” is a first single packet record, a packet number “1” is a second single packet record, and so on. In some embodiments, an order of the single packet records 1113 and an order of the page records 1133 may be arranged according to an order in which the controller 11 receives packets from the corresponding user terminal devices 40A-40C); storing data of the packets corresponding to the page record corresponding to the start page number and the continuation page records thereof to the upload queue page by page, and summing the page sizes of the page record corresponding to the start page number and the continuation page records thereof to calculate a first summation result (e.g., ¶ [0006] According to some embodiments, the network device includes a controller. The controller stores a page queue. The page queue includes a page queue header and a plurality of page records in sequence. Each of the page records includes a page size. The page size is the sum of the data sizes of the packets corresponding to the page record. The controller is configured to perform a report procedure. The report procedure includes: obtaining a start page number according to a page queue header, where the start page number corresponds to one of the page records; summing the page size of the page record corresponding to the start page number and the page size of each of the subsequent page records one by one to calculate a first sum result; and outputting the first sum result as a report size); and determining whether the first summation result meets a first stop condition or not after working out the first summation result page by page each time, wherein the first stop condition is that the authorization size minus the first summation result is less than the page size (e.g., ¶ [0034] Referring to FIG. 6, FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic flowchart of a report procedure according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, when the first sum result 50 is calculated one by one, the controller 11 determines one by one whether the first sum result 50 satisfies a first stop condition (step S600). If the first stop condition is not satisfied, the controller 11 continues to perform step S302, S404, or S502 to calculate a new first sum result 50. If the first stop condition is satisfied, the controller 11 uses a previous first sum result 50 as the report size (step S602). The first stop condition includes the first sum result 50 being greater than a size threshold. The size threshold is a maximum report amount allowed for the optical network devices 10A-10C during each report. The maximum report amount may conform with passive optical network communication specifications. In this way, the report size can be the closest or equal to the maximum report amount. In some embodiments, the first stop condition may include that a difference between the first sum result 50 and the authorized size is greater than the size threshold, for example, the first sum result 50 minus the authorized size is greater than the size threshold); when the first stop condition is met, taking the first summation result as a first upload size (e.g., ¶ [0034] , the report size can be the closest or equal to the maximum report amount. In some embodiments, the first stop condition may include that a difference between the first sum result 50 and the authorized size is greater than the size threshold, for example, the first sum result 50 minus the authorized size is greater than the size threshold), and subtracting the first upload size from the authorization size to obtain a first authorization remaining size; and obtaining the continuation page number according to the page record that follows the last page record in the first summation result (e.g., ¶ [0032] Next, in step S502, the controller 11 sums the third sum result, the data size 11133 of the single packet record 1113 corresponding to the subsequent-page indicator 11335 of the page record 1133 previous to the page record 1133 corresponding to the page count 11313, and the data size 11133 of each of the subsequent single packet records 1113 one by one to calculate the first sum result 50. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, assuming that the page count 11313 is “110000100|.sub.BIN”, the page count 11313 corresponds to the page record 1133 having the page number 1135 of “3”, and the subsequent-page indicator 11335 of the page record 1133 (that is, the page record 1133 having the page number 1135 of “2”) previous to the page record corresponds to the single packet record 1113 having a packet number 1115 of “300”. Therefore, the controller 11 sums the third sum result and the data size 11133 of the single packet record 1113 having the packet number 1115 of “300”, until the data size 11133 of a last one of the single packet records 1113 in the packet queue 111 (for example, the single packet record 1113 having a packet number 1115 of “304”), to calculate the first sum result 50; e.g., ¶ [0034] Referring to FIG. 6, FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic flowchart of a report procedure according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, when the first sum result 50 is calculated one by one, the controller 11 determines one by one whether the first sum result 50 satisfies a first stop condition (step S600). If the first stop condition is not satisfied, the controller 11 continues to perform step S302, S404, or S502 to calculate a new first sum result 50. If the first stop condition is satisfied, the controller 11 uses a previous first sum result 50 as the report size (step S602). The first stop condition includes the first sum result 50 being greater than a size threshold. The size threshold is a maximum report amount allowed for the optical network devices 10A-10C during each report. The maximum report amount may conform with passive optical network communication specifications. In this way, the report size can be the closest or equal to the maximum report amount. In some embodiments, the first stop condition may include that a difference between the first sum result 50 and the authorized size is greater than the size threshold, for example, the first sum result 50 minus the authorized size is greater than the size threshold).
Regarding Claim 3, Lin discloses all the limitations of the data uploading method according to claim 2.
Lin discloses wherein the remaining queue upload procedure comprises: subtracting a remainder derived from the first authorization remaining size divided by the remainder parameter from the first authorization remaining size to obtain a second upload size; storing data of part of packets corresponding to the page record corresponding to the continuation page number to the upload queue according to the continuation page number and the second upload size, wherein a sum of data sizes of the part of packets corresponding to the page record corresponding to the continuation page number stored to the upload queue is equal to the second upload size; obtaining a start packet number according to the auxiliary queue of the page record corresponding to the continuation page number, the start packet number corresponding to one of the packets, and each packet comprising the data size of the packet; obtaining the continuation packet number according to the start packet number and the second upload size, the continuation packet number corresponding to one of the packets; and subtracting (ng the second upload size from the first authorization remaining size to obtain the second authorization remaining size (e.g.,¶ [0036] Referring to FIG. 7, FIG. 7 illustrates a schematic diagram of a report procedure according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, when the first stop condition is satisfied, the controller 11 determines whether a previous first sum result reaches the size threshold (step S700). If the previous first sum result reaches the size threshold, the controller 11 performs step S602. If the previous first sum result 50 does not reach the size threshold, the controller 11 acquires a corresponding one of the single packet records 1113 from the packet queue 111 according to the subsequent-page indicator 11335 of a last one of the page records 1133 in the first sum result 50 (step S702). For example, as shown in FIG. 2, when the first stop condition is satisfied and the previous first sum result 50 does not reach the size threshold, assuming that the previous first sum result 50 is obtained when the summation proceeds to the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 having the page number 1135 of “1”, the subsequent-page indicator 11335 of the page record 1133 having the page number 1135 of “1” corresponds to the single packet record 1113 having a packet number 1115 of “200”. Therefore, the controller 11 acquires the single packet record 1113 having the packet number 1115 of “200” from the packet queue 111 according to the subsequent-page indicator 11335 of the page record 1133 having the page number 1135 of “1”. In some embodiments of step S702, when the first stop condition is satisfied and a previous difference (the difference between the previous first sum result 50 and the authorized size) does not reach the size threshold, the controller 11 acquires a corresponding one of the single packet records 1113 from the packet queue 111 according to the subsequent-page indicator 11335 of the last one of the page records 1133 in the previous first sum result 50).
Regarding Claim 4, Lin discloses all the limitations of the data uploading method according to claim 3.
Lin discloses wherein the packet upload procedure comprises: storing data of the packet corresponding to the continuation packet number and the continuation packets thereof to the upload queue one by one, and summing the data sizes of the packet corresponding to the continuation packet number and the continuation packets thereof to calculate a second summation result, and determining whether the second summation result meets a second stop condition or not after working out the second summation result one by one, wherein the second stop condition is that the second authorization remaining size minus the second summation result is less than the data size (e.g., ¶ [0038] After summing the fourth sum result one by one, the controller 11 determines one by one whether the fourth sum result satisfies a second stop condition (step S706). If the second stop condition is not satisfied, the controller 11 performs step S704 to calculate a new fourth sum result. If the second stop condition is satisfied, the controller 11 uses a previous fourth sum result as the report size (step S708). The second stop condition includes the fourth sum result being greater than the size threshold. In this way, the report size can be quickly calculated by means of a two-stage summation (for example, the first stage is to perform summation in a unit of the page size 11331, and the second stage is to perform summation in a unit of the data size 11133), and the report size is the closest or equal to the maximum report amount).
Regarding Claim 5, Lin discloses all the limitations of the data uploading method according to claim 4.
Lin discloses further comprising: after receiving the authorization message, determining whether the authorization size is greater than or equal to a sum of the page sizes of all the page records in the page queue or not; and when the authorization size is greater than or equal to the sum of the page sizes of all the page records in the page queue, uploading the data of the packets corresponding to all the page records in the page queue through the network device (e.g., ¶ [0034] Referring to FIG. 6, FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic flowchart of a report procedure according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, when the first sum result 50 is calculated one by one, the controller 11 determines one by one whether the first sum result 50 satisfies a first stop condition (step S600). If the first stop condition is not satisfied, the controller 11 continues to perform step S302, S404, or S502 to calculate a new first sum result 50. If the first stop condition is satisfied, the controller 11 uses a previous first sum result 50 as the report size (step S602). The first stop condition includes the first sum result 50 being greater than a size threshold. The size threshold is a maximum report amount allowed for the optical network devices 10A-10C during each report. The maximum report amount may conform with passive optical network communication specifications. In this way, the report size can be the closest or equal to the maximum report amount. In some embodiments, the first stop condition may include that a difference between the first sum result 50 and the authorized size is greater than the size threshold, for example, the first sum result 50 minus the authorized size is greater than the size threshold).
Regarding Claim 6, Lin discloses all the limitations of the data uploading method according to claim 5.
Lin discloses further comprising: when the authorization size is less than the sum of the page sizes of all the page records in the page queue, executing the upload procedure (e.g., ¶ [0041] Referring to FIG. 8, FIG. 8 illustrates a schematic flowchart of an authorized uploading procedure according to some embodiments. Similar to FIG. 3 and FIG. 6, in the authorized uploading procedure, the controller 11 obtains a start page number 11311 according to the page queue header 1131 (step S800). Then, the controller 11 sums the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 corresponding to the start page number 11311 and the page size 11331 of each of the subsequent page records 1133 one by one to calculate a fifth sum result 60 (step S802). After calculating the fifth sum result 60 one by one, the controller 11 determines one by one whether the fifth sum result 60 satisfies a third stop condition (step S804). If the third stop condition is not satisfied, the controller 11 performs step S802 to calculate a new fifth sum result 60. A difference between the authorized uploading procedure in FIG. 8 and the report procedures in FIG. 3 and FIG. 6 is that the third stop condition includes the fifth sum result 60 being greater than the authorized size. When the third stop condition is satisfied, the controller 11 updates the start page number 11311 according to a last one of the page records 1133 in the fifth sum result 60 (step S806). For example, as shown in FIG. 2, when the third stop condition is satisfied, assuming that the fifth sum result 60 is obtained when the summation proceeds to the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 having the page number 1135 of “2”, the controller 11 updates the start page number 11311 to “2” for subsequently performing the report procedure. In other words, in the report procedure, the report size is calculated by performing summation from the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 having the page number 1135 of “2”. In this way, packets to be transmitted in a current uplink transmission time slot can be the closest to or equal to the authorized size. For example, the controller 11 uses packets corresponding to a previous the fifth sum result 60 as the packets to be transmitted in the current uplink transmission. In addition, on this basis, the controller 11 can accurately calculate the report size for the current uplink transmission time slot).
Regarding Claim 7, Lin discloses all the limitations of the data uploading method according to claim 6.
Lin discloses wherein the upload procedure further comprises: when the first authorization remaining size is equal to zero or less than the data size, uploading the packet data stored in the upload queue through the network device (e.g., ¶ [0041] Referring to FIG. 8, FIG. 8 illustrates a schematic flowchart of an authorized uploading procedure according to some embodiments. Similar to FIG. 3 and FIG. 6, in the authorized uploading procedure, the controller 11 obtains a start page number 11311 according to the page queue header 1131 (step S800). Then, the controller 11 sums the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 corresponding to the start page number 11311 and the page size 11331 of each of the subsequent page records 1133 one by one to calculate a fifth sum result 60 (step S802). After calculating the fifth sum result 60 one by one, the controller 11 determines one by one whether the fifth sum result 60 satisfies a third stop condition (step S804). If the third stop condition is not satisfied, the controller 11 performs step S802 to calculate a new fifth sum result 60. A difference between the authorized uploading procedure in FIG. 8 and the report procedures in FIG. 3 and FIG. 6 is that the third stop condition includes the fifth sum result 60 being greater than the authorized size. When the third stop condition is satisfied, the controller 11 updates the start page number 11311 according to a last one of the page records 1133 in the fifth sum result 60 (step S806). For example, as shown in FIG. 2, when the third stop condition is satisfied, assuming that the fifth sum result 60 is obtained when the summation proceeds to the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 having the page number 1135 of “2”, the controller 11 updates the start page number 11311 to “2” for subsequently performing the report procedure. In other words, in the report procedure, the report size is calculated by performing summation from the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 having the page number 1135 of “2”. In this way, packets to be transmitted in a current uplink transmission time slot can be the closest to or equal to the authorized size. For example, the controller 11 uses packets corresponding to a previous the fifth sum result 60 as the packets to be transmitted in the current uplink transmission. In addition, on this basis, the controller 11 can accurately calculate the report size for the current uplink transmission time slot).
Regarding Claim 8, Lin discloses all the limitations of the data uploading method according to claim 7.
Lin discloses wherein the upload procedure further comprises: when the second authorization remaining size is equal to zero or less than the data size, uploading the packet data stored in the upload queue through the network device (e.g., ¶ [0041] Referring to FIG. 8, FIG. 8 illustrates a schematic flowchart of an authorized uploading procedure according to some embodiments. Similar to FIG. 3 and FIG. 6, in the authorized uploading procedure, the controller 11 obtains a start page number 11311 according to the page queue header 1131 (step S800). Then, the controller 11 sums the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 corresponding to the start page number 11311 and the page size 11331 of each of the subsequent page records 1133 one by one to calculate a fifth sum result 60 (step S802). After calculating the fifth sum result 60 one by one, the controller 11 determines one by one whether the fifth sum result 60 satisfies a third stop condition (step S804). If the third stop condition is not satisfied, the controller 11 performs step S802 to calculate a new fifth sum result 60. A difference between the authorized uploading procedure in FIG. 8 and the report procedures in FIG. 3 and FIG. 6 is that the third stop condition includes the fifth sum result 60 being greater than the authorized size. When the third stop condition is satisfied, the controller 11 updates the start page number 11311 according to a last one of the page records 1133 in the fifth sum result 60 (step S806). For example, as shown in FIG. 2, when the third stop condition is satisfied, assuming that the fifth sum result 60 is obtained when the summation proceeds to the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 having the page number 1135 of “2”, the controller 11 updates the start page number 11311 to “2” for subsequently performing the report procedure. In other words, in the report procedure, the report size is calculated by performing summation from the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 having the page number 1135 of “2”. In this way, packets to be transmitted in a current uplink transmission time slot can be the closest to or equal to the authorized size. For example, the controller 11 uses packets corresponding to a previous the fifth sum result 60 as the packets to be transmitted in the current uplink transmission. In addition, on this basis, the controller 11 can accurately calculate the report size for the current uplink transmission time slot).
Regarding Claim 17, Lin discloses a network device coupled to an optical line terminal and a user terminal device, comprising: a first output/input port coupled to the optical line terminal; a controller (e.g., FIG. 1, network device 10, controller 11, first I/O unit 12), comprising a page queue (e.g., ¶ [0006] network device stores a page queue), the page queue comprises multiple sequential page records (e.g., ¶ [0005] According to some embodiments, the data uplink transmission method includes: performing a report procedure. The report procedure includes: obtaining a start page number according to a page queue header of a page queue, where the page queue has a plurality of page records in sequence, the start page number corresponds to one of the page records, each of the page records includes a page size, and the page size is a sum of data sizes of packets corresponding to the page record; summing the page size of the page record corresponding to the start page number and the page size of each of the subsequent page records one by one to calculate a first sum result; and outputting the first sum result as a report size), and each page record comprises a page size and an auxiliary queue, wherein the auxiliary queue comprises multiple sequential packets corresponding to the page record, and the page size is a sum of data sizes of the packets corresponding to the page record (e.g., ¶ [0021] Referring to FIG. 2, FIG. 2 illustrates a schematic diagram of a packet queue 111 and a page queue 113 according to some embodiments. The controller 11 stores the page queue 113. The page queue 113 includes a page queue header 1131 and a plurality of page records 1133 in sequence. The page records 1133 may be distinguished from each other by using a page number 1135. For example, a page number “0” is a first page record, a page number “1” is a second page record, and so on. In some embodiments, the controller 11 further stores the packet queue 111. The packet queue 111 includes a packet queue header 1111 and a plurality of single packet records 1113 in sequence. Each of the single packet records 1113 is configured to store relevant data of a different packet. The single packet records 1113 may be distinguished from each other by using a packet number 1115. For example, a packet number “0” is a first single packet record, a packet number “1” is a second single packet record, and so on. In some embodiments, an order of the single packet records 1113 and an order of the page records 1133 may be arranged according to an order in which the controller 11 receives packets from the corresponding user terminal devices 40A-40C), the controller being configured to execute a data uploading method, the data uploading method comprising: receiving an authorization message from the optical line terminal through the first output/input port, the authorization message comprising an authorization size (e.g., FIG. 1, ¶ [0020] configured to perform a report procedure, an authorized uploading procedure, and a packet receiving procedure… receives an authorization message and an assigned time slot from the optical line terminal 20. In an uplink transmission time slot, the first input/output port 12 outputs data (that is, a packet) that satisfies or is less than the authorized size to the optical line terminal 20); executing an upload procedure to obtain an upload queue, the upload procedure comprising: executing a page queue upload procedure according to the page queue and the authorization size to obtain a first authorization remaining size and a continuation page number (e.g., ¶ [0020] In an uplink transmission time slot, the first input/output port 12 outputs data (that is, a packet) that satisfies or is less than the authorized size to the optical line terminal 20. In addition, the first input/output port 12 also outputs an amount of remaining to-be-uploaded data (which is referred to as a report size below) [Examiner interpreting this as remaining size] to the optical line terminal 20 in the uplink transmission; e.g., ¶ [0022] Each of the single packet records 1113 includes a data size 11133 of a different packet. Each of the page records 1133 includes a page size 11331. The page size 11331 is a sum of the data sizes 11133 of the packets corresponding to the page record 1133. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the first page record (the page record 1133 having a page number 1135 of “0”) corresponds to a first packet to a 100.sup.th packet, that is, the first page record corresponds to the first single packet record (a single packet record 1113 having a packet number 1115 of “0”) to a 100.sup.th single packet record (a single packet record 1113 having a packet number 1115 of “99”). The page size 11331 of the first page record is a sum of the data size 11133 of the first single packet record to the data size 11133 of the 100.sup.th single packet record; e.g., ¶ [0024] Then, the controller 11 sums the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 corresponding to the start page number 11311 and the page size 11331 of each of the subsequent page records 1133 one by one to calculate a first sum result 50 (step S302). After that, the controller 11 uses the first sum result 50 as the report size, and outputs the report size to the optical line terminal 20 in the uplink transmission time slot (step S304)); executing a remaining queue upload procedure according to the first authorization remaining size, the continuation page number and a remainder parameter to obtain a continuation packet number and a second authorization remaining size (e.g., ¶ [0024] Then, the controller 11 sums the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 corresponding to the start page number 11311 and the page size 11331 of each of the subsequent page records 1133 one by one to calculate a first sum result 50 (step S302). After that, the controller 11 uses the first sum result 50 as the report size, and outputs the report size to the optical line terminal 20 in the uplink transmission time slot (step S304). For example, as shown in FIG. 2, assuming that the start page number 11311 is “0”, the controller 11 sums the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 having the page number 1135 of “0” and the page size of each of the subsequent page records one by one until the page size 11331 of a last one of the page records 1133 in the page queue 113 (for example, the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 having a page number 1135 of “3”), to calculate the first sum result 50 as the report size. Therefore, the report size can be quickly calculated by using the page size as a unit (that is, by using a packet group as a unit) compared with using a data size of a single packet as a unit; e.g., ¶ [0025] Referring to FIG. 2, in some embodiments, each of the page records 1133 further includes a page-full flag 11333 and a subsequent-page indicator 11335. The page-full flag 11333 is configured to define whether a quantity of packets (or a quantity of single packet records 1113) corresponding to the page record 1133 reaches a preset full threshold. If the preset full threshold is reached, the page-full flag 11333 is a full value (for example, a logic “1”). If the preset full threshold is not reached, the page-full flag 11333 is an underfull value (for example, a logic “0”). For example, as shown in FIG. 2, it is assumed that the preset full threshold is “100”. Since there are only single packet records 1113 having packet numbers of “300” to “304” (that is, a quantity of single packet records 1113 corresponding to the page record 1133 having the page number “3” does not reach the preset full threshold), the page-full flag 11333 of the page record 1133 having the page number “3” is an underfull value. In another example, assuming that packets corresponding to single packet records 1113 having packet numbers of “0” to “49” have been outputted to the optical line terminal 20 in a previous uplink transmission time slot (that is, part of packets corresponding to the page record 1133 having the page number “0” have been outputted, and therefore the current page record 1133 having the page number “0” corresponds to only single packet records 1113 having packet numbers of “50” to “99”, which fail to reach the preset full threshold), the page-full flag 11333 of the page record 1133 having the page number “0” is an underfull value); and executing a packet upload procedure according to the continuation packet number and the second authorization remaining size (e.g., ¶ [0023] Referring to FIG. 3, FIG. 3 illustrates a schematic flowchart of a report procedure according to some embodiments. In the report procedure, first, the controller 11 obtains a start page number 11311 according to the page queue header 1131 (step S300). The start page number 11311 corresponds to one of the page records 1133. Specifically, the start page number 11311 corresponds to the first to-be-uploaded page record); and uploading packet data stored in the upload queue to the optical line terminal through the first output/input port; a buffer coupled to the controller, the buffer configured to store the data of the packets corresponding to the multiple page records (e.g., FIG. 1, ¶ [0020] The first input/output port 12 is configured to perform transmission with the optical line terminal 20. For example, during downlink transmission, the first input/output port 12 receives an authorization message and an assigned time slot from the optical line terminal 20. In an uplink transmission time slot, the first input/output port 12 outputs data (that is, a packet) that satisfies or is less than the authorized size to the optical line terminal 20. In addition, the first input/output port 12 also outputs an amount of remaining to-be-uploaded data (which is referred to as a report size below) to the optical line terminal 20 in the uplink transmission; e.g., FIG. 3, ¶ [0024] Then, the controller 11 sums the page size 11331 of the page record 1133 corresponding to the start page number 11311 and the page size 11331 of each of the subsequent page records 1133 one by one to calculate a first sum result 50 (step S302). After that, the controller 11 uses the first sum result 50 as the report size, and outputs the report size to the optical line terminal 20 in the uplink transmission time slot (step S304)); and a second output/input port coupled to the user terminal device, the second output/input port configured to receive the data of the packets corresponding to the multiple page records from the user terminal device (e.g., ¶ [0020] The second input/output port 13 is configured to perform transmission with a corresponding one of the user terminal devices 40A-40C. For example, the second input/output port 13 receives a packet from the corresponding one of the user terminal devices 40A-40C).
Regarding Claim 18, Lin discloses all the limitations of the network device according to claim 17.
The functional limitations of Claim 18 are similar to claim 2. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 2 shall be applied to claim 18.
Regarding Claim 19, Lin discloses all the limitations of the network device according to claim 18.
The functional limitations of Claim 19 are similar to claim 3. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 3 shall be applied to claim 19.
Regarding Claim 20, Lin discloses all the limitations of the network device according to claim 19.
The functional limitations of Claim 20 are similar to claim 4. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 4 shall be applied to claim 20.
Regarding Claim 21, Lin discloses all the limitations of the network device according to claim 20.
The functional limitations of Claim 21 are similar to claim 5. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 5 shall be applied to claim 21.
Regarding Claim 22, Lin discloses all the limitations of the network device according to claim 21.
The functional limitations of Claim 22 are similar to claim 6. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 6 shall be applied to claim 22.
Regarding Claim 23, Lin discloses all the limitations of the network device according to claim 22.
The functional limitations of Claim 23 are similar to claim 7. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 7 shall be applied to claim 23.
Regarding Claim 24, Lin discloses all the limitations of the network device according to claim 23.
The functional limitations of Claim 24 are similar to claim 8. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 8 shall be applied to claim 24.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-16 and 17-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 9, dependent from claim 8, and Claim 25, dependent from claim 24, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation wherein the remaining queue upload procedure further comprises: when the first authorization remaining size is less than the remainder parameter, setting the second upload size as zero.
Claims 10-15, dependent directly or indirectly from claim 9, and Claims 26-31, dependent directly or indirectly from claim 25, are also objected.
Regarding Claim 16, dependent from claim 2, and Claim 32, dependent from claim 18, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation wherein the remaining queue upload procedure comprises: subtracting the first authorization remaining size divided by the data size from the first authorization remaining size to obtain a second upload size; storing data of part of packets corresponding to the page record corresponding to the continuation page number to the upload queue according to the continuation page number and the second upload size, wherein a sum of data sizes of the part of packets corresponding to the page record corresponding to the continuation page number stored to the upload queue is equal to the second upload size; and uploading data of the packets corresponding to all the page records in the page queue through the network device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached "Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/VLADISLAV Y AGUREYEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2471