Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 16, 17, and 19 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only--, and/or, --cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claims. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckelberry (US 9085745).
Regarding claim 1, Eckelberry teaches a system and method using microalgae slurry comprising at least one compartment (328,329,334,335 and/or,336) comprising a plate-shaped catalytic membrane (refer to Figure 1 and 11) which directly converts microalgae into biofuel and separates products and/or raw materials in a reaction medium and two cells (328,329,334,335 and/or,336), a warm water inlet (333), a warm water outlet (330), a wet microalgae inlet (333), wherein wet microalgae enter through, a liquid products and unconverted wet algae outlet (330), wherein wet microalgae exit through.
Eckelberry fails to teach the warm water with a temperature between 80°C-90°C enters through and the warm water with a temperature between 80°C-90°C exits through. Eckelberry does teach heating water to control the specific gravity of the water relative to the algae and the impact on the power required to extract the lipids.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to heat the warm water with a temperature between 80°C-90°C enters through and the warm water with a temperature between 80°C-90°C exits through in order obtain optimal operating conditions for the algae.
Regarding claim 2, the reactor (328) comprises one compartment.
Regarding claim 3, the reactor (328) comprises two compartments (refer to figure 11) having a first compartment (334) and a last compartment (329).
Regarding claims 4, the reactor (328) further comprises at least one intermediate compartment (335) between a first compartment (334) and a last compartment (329).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the warm water inlet (333) and the liquid products and unconverted wet algae outlet (330) are located in the upper right corner of the reactor (328), and the wet algae inlet (333) and warm water outlet (330) are located at the lower-left corner of the reactor (328). (Refer to Figures 1 and 11) Applicants further recite “to create reverse flow when number of compartments is odd” and “…even”. This limitation is considered a process and/or intended use limitation, which do not further delineate the structure of the claimed apparatus (i.e. from apparatus claim 1) from that of the prior art. Since claim 1, etc. are drawn to an apparatus statutory class of invention, it is the structural limitations of the apparatus, as recited in the claims, which are considered in determining the patentability of the apparatus itself. This recited process or intended use limitation is accorded no patentable weight to an apparatus. Process limitations are not germane to patentability to a structure, which is not distinguished from the prior art. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, the surface of the membrane is covered with catalysts. (Refer to Col. 9, Lines 40-45)
Regarding claims 8 and 18, the catalysts is alumina-silica supported nickel catalyst. (Refer to Col. 9, Lines 25-35)
Regarding claims 9 and 19, the wet microalgae comprise a solid content between 2-10% in the growth medium. (Refer to Col. 15, Lines 1-10)
Regarding claims 10 and 20, the growth medium comprises sea water and f/2 medium. (Refer to Col. 11, Lines 8-15)
Regarding claims 11 and 21, the f/2 medium comprises trace metals, vitamins, Na₂SiO₃.9H₂O, NaH₂PO₄.H₂O and NaNO₃. (Refer to Col. 11, Lines 8-15)
Regarding claims 12 and 16, the microalgae is Nannochloropsis oculato (N. oculata). (Refer to Col. 5, Lines 25-35)
Regarding claim 13-15, the method comprising entrance of the wet microalgae to one of the cells through wet microalgae inlet, wherein the wet microalgae comprise a solid content between 2-10% in the growth medium, at the same time, entrance of warm water with a temperature between 80°C-90°C to the cell through warm water inlet in order to bring the reaction temperature to the desired point, after the entry of wet microalgae to the compartment, reacting wet microalgae on the plate-shaped catalytic membrane surface, passing of water, polar products and salt to the other cell through the membrane inside the compartment, after the end of the reaction, exit of liquid products and unconverted wet algae through the liquid products and unconverted wet algae outlet, at the same time, exit of warm water through the warm water outlet. (Refer to Col. 10, Lines 51-67 and Col. 11, Lines 1-54)
Eckelberry fails to teach the warm water with a temperature between 80°C-90°C enters through and the warm water with a temperature between 80°C-90°C exits through. Eckelberry does teach heating water to control the specific gravity of the water relative to the algae and the impact on the power required to extract the lipids.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to heat the warm water with a temperature between 80°C-90°C enters through and the warm water with a temperature between 80°C-90°C exits through in order obtain optimal operating conditions for the algae.
Conclusion
/JYOTI Mutreja/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798