DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-21 are pending and have been examined in this application.
Claims 1, 11, 13 and 19 are currently amended; claims 3-9 and 12, 14-18 and 19 are original; claims 2 and 10 were previously presented; claim 21 is new;
Claims 1-14 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 03/18/2024 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection/interpretation of Johnson, LaPalomento and Flick.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Johnson (U.S. Pat. No. 7,271,350 B2) in view of Flick (U.S. Pat. No. 2895313).
Regarding claim 1 Johnson teaches an electrical device support assembly for securement to a surface, comprising:
a support bracket (21) having an outer rim (32-35), a main region (J1 see annotated figure below), an inner region (J2 see annotated figure below), and a plurality of first apertures (27-28, 94-95) spaced from one another so as to be configured to secure the support bracket to a pair of structural supports (14, 16) of the surface,
the outer rim surrounding the main region,
the main region surrounding the inner region, and
the inner region including one or more second apertures (24) that are configured for mechanical connection of an electrical device to the support bracket.
However, Johnson is silent to disclose the inner region being configured as an x-shaped structure having legs, and the one or more second aperture being disposed on one or more of the legs.
Flick teaches the inner region (Flick; 24) being configured as an x-shaped structure having legs (Flick; Col. 2; line 4), and the one or more second aperture (Flick; apertures for receiving 25) being disposed on one or more of the legs.
Johnson and Flick are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the inner region of Johnson having the x-shaped configuration. The motivation would have been to provide appropriate strength during the retention while making the product cost effective.
Regarding claim 21, Jonson as modified teaches the outer rim (32-35) is offset from the main region (J1) by a first distance along an axis, and wherein the legs (Flicks; legs of 24) are offset from the main region by a second distance along the axis.
Alternatively, claims 1-7, 10-14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaPalomento (U.S. Pat. No. 5,183,233) in view of Flick (U.S. Pat. No. 2895313).
Regarding claim 1, LaPalomento teaches an electrical device support assembly for securement to a surface, comprising: a support bracket (LaPalomento; 10) having a main region (LaPalomento; surface area including 11) a plurality of first apertures (LaPalomento; 11) spaced from one another so as to be configured to secure the support bracket to a pair of structural supports (LaPalomento; 42) of the surface; an inner region (LaPalomento; region defined between 14 comprising 17A); the inner region includes one or more second apertures (17A) that are configured for mechanical connection of an electrical device to the support bracket.
However, LaPalomento is silent to disclose a rim and the x shaped configuration of the inner region.
Flick teaches a support bracket (Flick; 14) having an outer rim (Flick; Rim surrounding 24), a main region (Flick; region accommodating 15), the outer rim surrounding the main region, and an inner region (Flick; 24)
the main region surrounding the inner region, and
the inner region includes one or more second apertures (Flick; aperture for receiving 25) that are configured for mechanical connection of an electrical device to the support bracket [capable/intended use].
LaPalomento and Flick are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the invention of LaPalomento having a rim surrounding the main region and the main region surrounding the inner region as disclosed by Lowe. The motivation would have been to facilitate the installation and as well as to make the product cost effective. Additionally, it would have been the obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 2, LaPalomento as modified teaches the plurality of first apertures (LaPalomento; 11) are in the outer rim or the main region.
Regarding claim 3, LaPalomento teaches the inner region has a first window (LaPalomento; 12) through which electrical leads of an electrical device can pass [intended use/capable].
Regarding claim 4, LaPalomento as modified teaches the main region comprises a plurality of first windows (Lowe; L4 see annotated figures above) through which electrical leads of an electrical device can pass.
Regarding claim 5, LaPalomento as modified teaches the plurality of first windows comprises. However, Lowe is silent to disclose a plurality of knockouts. The Examiner takes the official notice that providing the plurality of knockouts are old and well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first windows of Lowe having knockouts. The motivation would have been to utilize the desired windows while keeping the other windows sealed.
Regarding claim 6, LaPalomento as modified teaches the outer rim (Lowe; L1) is offset from the main region by a first distance (vertical distance) along an axis (vertical axis) and the main region (Lowe; L2) is offset from the inner region (Lowe; 105) by a second distance along the axis.
Regarding claim 7, LaPalomento as modified teaches the first distance provides a space (vertical space) through which the electrical leads can pass (via window).
Regarding claim 10, LaPalomento teaches the plurality of first apertures (LaPalomento; 11) have a center-to-center distance (distance between each 121) equal to a center-to-center distance (D) of the pair of structural supports (LaPalomento; 42) [capable/intended use].
Regarding claim 11, LaPalomento as modified teaches the support bracket is configured such that the outer rim (Lowe; L1) extends into the main area to define ears on opposite sides of a portion of the outer rim having the at least one first apertures.
Regarding claim 12, LaPalomento as modified teaches the support bracket. However, LaPalomento is silent to disclose the bracket is formed as a single piece of galvanized steel. The Examiner takes the official notice that bracket made of galvanized steel are old and well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the bracket of LaPalomento formed as a single piece of galvanized steel. The motivation would have been to make the inventio durable and as well as to provide appropriate strength during the retention.
Regarding claim 13, LaPalomento teaches a decorative cover (LaPalomento; 20), wherein the decorative cover is sized to conceal the support bracket and has second window (21) sized and positioned to be in alignment with the inner region of the support bracket when the cover is removably connected to the support bracket.
Regarding claim 14, LaPalomento teaches the decorative cover. However, LaPalomento is silent to disclose an integrally formed connector that is removably connectable with the support bracket. Lowe teaches the integrally formed connector (Lowe; 310) that is removably connectable with the support bracket. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the cover of LaPalomento having integrally formed connector as disclosed by Lowe. The motivation would have been to facilitate the installation of the of cover.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaPalomento (U.S. Pat. No. 5,183,233) in view of Flick (U.S. Pat. No. 2895313).and further in view of Johnson (U.S. Pat. No. 7271350 B2).
Regarding claim 8, LaPalomento a cover plate (LaPalomento; 20). However, LaPalomento is silent to disclose the cover plate is positioned on the outer rim so that an enclosed space is defined in the support bracket. Johnson teaches the cover plate (Johnson; 41) is positioned on the outer rim so that an enclosed space is defined in the support bracket (see Fig. 2 for configuration).
LaPalomento and Johnson are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the cover plate of LaPalomento as disclosed by Johnson. The motivation would have been the motivation would have been to provide space/gap for electrical cables.
Regarding claim 9, LaPalomento as modified teaches the cover is between the surface and the support bracket or the bracket (LaPalomento; 10) is between the surface (Fig. 4; surface in contact with 10) and the cover (Johnson; 41).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631