DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 22-24, drawn to a group comprising an apparatus, kit and method involving in each instance a geared dual-axis hinge comprising four gears and hinge-rods coupled to one or more of the four gears (Fig. 32), in the reply filed on 16 February 2026, is acknowledged. It is noted that there was no species requirement made in the Office action mailed 16 December 2025.
Claims 1-21 were withdrawn by Applicant in the response filed 16 February 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities.
Figures 10, 11A, 11C, 12A, 12B, 18A, 18B, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 27A, 27B, 28A, 28B, 32 and 33 contain extraneous text that should be replaced with a corresponding reference number or removed where a reference number is already present.
Figures 29, 30 and 31 are illegible.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22, line 9, “the first unipolar clamp” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 23, line 10, “the first unipolar clamp” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 24, line 10, “the first unipolar clamp” lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (2009/0198279; cited by Applicant) in view of Doose et al. (2017/0231664).
Regarding claim 22, Zhang et al. disclose a uniplanar clamp hinge for spinal surgery (see annotated Fig. 11, below) comprising:
a hinge comprising, a first hinge-rod coupled to the hinge, a second hinge-rod coupled to the hinge;
a first uniplanar clamp movably coupled to the first hinge-rod and a second uniplanar clamp movably coupled to the second hinge-rod;
a stabilizing rod movably coupled to the first uniplanar clamp and the second uniplanar clamp; and
a first provisional spine rod 34 movably coupled to the first uniplanar clamp and a second provisional spine rod 34 movably coupled to the second uniplanar clamp.
Zhang et al. do not disclose a geared dual-axis hinge comprising four gears; the first hinge-rod coupled to one or more of the four gears; the second hinge-rod coupled to one or more of the four gears; and a plurality of locking screws to lock the four gears at a desired angle.
Doose et al. disclose a uniplanar clamp hinge (Figs. 5A, 5B, 9 and 10; para. 0035) for spinal surgery (para. 0003), comprising a geared dual-axis hinge 20 (e.g., a hinge characterized by at least two axes of rotation; here, the axis of rotation of the worm gear 200 and the axis of rotation about axle 230; para. 0035; Figs. 5A, 5B) comprising at least three gears: 200, 210, 235 (id.). A first hinge-rod 10 is coupled to all of the gears and most directly to gear 200 (id.). A second hinge-rod 30 is coupled to all of the gears and most directly to gear 235 (id.). A locking screw 270 locks the gears at a desired angle (para. 0037). The uniplanar clamp hinge is actuated magnetically in a simple manner by an instrument 285 (para. 0040) without requiring contact or physical effort by a surgeon (paras. 0010, 0011, 0013, 0040).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the uniplanar clamp hinge of Zhang et al. to comprise a geared dual-axis hinge comprising at least three gears; the first hinge-rod coupled to one or more of the gears; the second hinge-rod coupled to one or more of the gears; and a locking screw to lock the gears at a desired angle, in view of Doose et al., to allow the hinge to be actuated magnetically in a simple manner by an instrument without requiring contact or physical effort by a surgeon. It would have been further obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a fourth gear, e.g., to provide a desired gear ratio or rotational direction. Likewise, it would have been further obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a plurality of the locking screws, e.g., to ensure that the gears do not move and the rods maintain stability.
Regarding claim 23, Zhang et al. disclose a uniplanar clamp hinge kit for spinal surgery comprising a uniplanar clamp hinge (see annotated Fig. 11, above) comprising:
a hinge comprising, a first hinge-rod coupled to the hinge, a second hinge-rod coupled to the hinge;
a first uniplanar clamp movably coupled to the first hinge-rod and a second uniplanar clamp movably coupled to the second hinge-rod;
a stabilizing rod movably coupled to the first uniplanar clamp and the second uniplanar clamp; and
a first provisional spine rod 34 movably coupled to the first uniplanar clamp and a second provisional spine rod 34 movably coupled to the second uniplanar clamp; and
a tool such as a handle to increase leverage (para. 0082).
Zhang et al. do not disclose a geared dual-axis hinge comprising four gears; the first hinge-rod coupled to one or more of the four gears; the second hinge-rod coupled to one or more of the four gears; and a plurality of locking screws to lock the four gears at a desired angle.
Doose et al. disclose a uniplanar clamp hinge (Figs. 5A, 5B, 9 and 10; paras. 0035 and 0040) for spinal surgery (para. 0003), comprising a geared dual-axis hinge 20 (e.g., a hinge characterized by at least two axes of rotation; here, the axis of rotation of the worm gear 200 and the axis of rotation about axle 230; para. 0035; Figs. 5A, 5B) comprising at least three gears: 200, 210, 235 (id.). A first hinge-rod 10 is coupled to all of the gears and most directly to gear 200 (id.). A second hinge-rod 30 is coupled to all of the gears and most directly to gear 235 (id.). A locking screw 270 locks the gears at a desired angle (para. 0037). The uniplanar clamp hinge is actuated magnetically in a simple manner by a tool 285 (para. 0040) without requiring contact or physical effort by a surgeon (paras. 0010, 0011, 0013, 0040).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the uniplanar clamp hinge kit of Zhang et al. to comprise a geared dual-axis hinge comprising at least three gears; the first hinge-rod coupled to one or more of the gears; the second hinge-rod coupled to one or more of the gears; a locking screw to lock the gears at a desired angle, and an actuation tool to manipulate the uniplanar clamp hinge in view of Doose et al., to allow the hinge to be actuated magnetically in a simple manner by the tool without requiring contact or physical effort by a surgeon. It would have been further obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a fourth gear, e.g., to provide a desired gear ratio or rotational direction. Likewise, it would have been further obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a plurality of the locking screws, e.g., to ensure that the gears do not move and the rods maintain stability.
Regarding claim 24, Zhang et al. disclose a method of using a uniplanar hinge clamp comprising:
providing a uniplanar hinge clamp (see annotated Fig. 11, above) comprising:
a hinge comprising, a first hinge-rod coupled to the hinge, a second hinge-rod coupled to the hinge;
a first uniplanar clamp movably coupled to the first hinge-rod and a second uniplanar clamp movably coupled to the second hinge-rod;
a stabilizing rod movably coupled to the first uniplanar clamp and the second uniplanar clamp; and
a first provisional spine rod 34 movably coupled to the first uniplanar clamp and a second provisional spine rod 34 movably coupled to the second uniplanar clamp; and
performing spinal surgery using the uniplanar hinge clamp (para. 0010).
Zhang et al. do not disclose a geared dual-axis hinge comprising four gears; the first hinge-rod coupled to one or more of the four gears; the second hinge-rod coupled to one or more of the four gears; and a plurality of locking screws to lock the four gears at a desired angle.
Doose et al. disclose a uniplanar clamp hinge (Figs. 5A, 5B, 9 and 10; para. 0035) for spinal surgery (para. 0003), comprising a geared dual-axis hinge 20 (e.g., a hinge characterized by at least two axes of rotation; here, the axis of rotation of the worm gear 200 and the axis of rotation about axle 230; para. 0035; Figs. 5A, 5B) comprising at least three gears: 200, 210, 235 (id.). A first hinge-rod 10 is coupled to all of the gears and most directly to gear 200 (id.). A second hinge-rod 30 is coupled to all of the gears and most directly to gear 235 (id.). A locking screw 270 locks the gears at a desired angle (para. 0037). The uniplanar clamp hinge is actuated magnetically in a simple manner by an instrument 285 (para. 0040) without requiring contact or physical effort by a surgeon (paras. 0010, 0011, 0013, 0040).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to perform the method of Zhang et al. including to configure the uniplanar clamp hinge of Zhang et al. to comprise a geared dual-axis hinge comprising at least three gears; the first hinge-rod coupled to one or more of the gears; the second hinge-rod coupled to one or more of the gears; and a locking screw to lock the gears at a desired angle, in view of Doose et al., to allow the hinge to be actuated magnetically in a simple manner by an instrument without requiring contact or physical effort by a surgeon. It would have been further obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a fourth gear, e.g., to provide a desired gear ratio or rotational direction. Likewise, it would have been further obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a plurality of the locking screws, e.g., to ensure that the gears do not move and the rods maintain stability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see attached PTO-892).
DAVID C. COMSTOCK
Examiner
Art Unit 3773
/DAVID C COMSTOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773