DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/14/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Beyer 2,424,430 over in view of CN 113994939 to Akiba or JP 2007-125046 to Ezuka and Loomis et al. 4,962,608 or McMickle Des. 265,496.
In regard to claim 1, Beyer discloses a fishing rod handle (10) configured to fix a reel (12) having a front leg (front/left end of 22) and a rear leg (rear/right end of 22) and to be coupled to a rod body (14,18) and a rear grip (26,39-41), comprising: a front coupling portion including a front coupling hole (15) configured such that the rod body (18) is inserted into and coupled to the front coupling hole; a rear coupling portion spaced apart from the front coupling portion in a longitudinal direction and including a rear coupling hole (hole defined through 26 & 39-41) configured such that the rear grip (27-28) is inserted into and coupled to the rear coupling hole; a reel fixing portion (11) defined between a rear end of the front coupling hole and a front end of the rear coupling hole and configured to fix the front leg (front/left end of 22 is received in 23), the reel fixing portion having a first seating portion (21) which is configured such that the front leg and the rear leg are seated on the first seating portion, and which is spaced downward from an upper end/side of the front coupling hole (upper side of 15 is at least the upper half of 15 in Fig. 2) and an upper end/side of the rear coupling hole (upper side of hole defined through 26 & 39-41 is at least the upper half of this hole in Fig. 2) so as to be offset downward with respect to the upper end/side of the front coupling hole and the upper end/side of the rear coupling hole (see Fig. 2), a pressing mechanism (29-31) located on a rear upper side of the reel fixing portion (11; pressing mechanism 29-31 is located above 11) so as to be adjacent to a rear end (right end of 21 in Figs. 1-2) of the first seating portion (21) and configured to press and fix the rear leg (rear/right end of 22 in Fig. 2 to be received under 31) to the first seating portion (21), but does not disclose a reinforcing member disposed below the first seating portion, embedded in the reel fixing portion between the rear end of the front coupling hole and the front end of the rear coupling hole, and configured to be continuous in the longitudinal direction and to resist bending deformation of the reel fixing portion. Akiba and Ezuka disclose a fishing rod handle (1 OR see Fig. 1) configured to fix a reel having a front leg and a rear leg and to be coupled to a rod body (forward portion of 100 OR 12 in Fig. 1) and a rear grip (rearward portion of 100 OR 18 & left/rear portion of 12 in Fig. 1), comprising: a front coupling portion (22,20 OR 20) including a front coupling hole (22a OR hole through 20) configured such that the rod body (forward/left portion of 100 in Fig. 1 OR forward/right portion of 12 in Fig. 1) is inserted into and coupled to the front coupling hole (22a OR hole through 20); a rear coupling portion (10 OR 16) spaced apart from the front coupling portion in a longitudinal direction and including a rear coupling hole (hole in rear end of 10a OR hole through 16) configured such that the rear grip (rearward/right portion of 100 in Fig. 1 OR 18 & left/rear portion of 12 in Fig. 1) is inserted into and coupled to the rear coupling hole (rear end of 10a OR hole through 16); a reel fixing portion (3,30 OR 14) defined between a rear end of the front coupling hole (rear end of 22a OR rear end of hole through 20) and a front end of the rear coupling hole (front end of 10a OR front end of hole through 16) and configured to fix the front leg (at 3b OR front leg of reel to be received by 14), the reel fixing portion (3,30 OR 14) having a first seating portion (3 OR 22) which is configured such that the front leg (at 3b OR at area below 26) and the rear leg (at 3a OR rear leg of reel to be received by 14) are seated on the first seating portion (3 OR 22); and a pressing mechanism (22a,12a OR 16a,20a) coupled to the reel fixing portion (3,30 OR 14) above the first seating portion (3; 22a,12a are disposed above 3 with 3a-b in Figs. 3 & 5 OR 22); and a reinforcing member (reinforcing rib 35; in order to improve the compressive strength, forming the reinforcing rib 35 on the inner surface of the convex bending part 30A of the bridge portion 30 and due to the lower end area of the protruding bending part 30A having the larger pressure since this is the part held by hand and by forming the reinforcing rib 35 on the inner surface of the protruding bent portion 30A, it allows the protruding bent portion 30A to be thinned and the light weight can be realized even if the surface shape of the protruding bent portion 30A is properly deformed OR reinforced cylinder 17; since the main body member 16 is integrally formed by molding in addition to the reinforcement by the reinforced cylindrical body 17, an increase in size can be prevented and reduction in size and weight can be achieved) disposed below the first seating portion (3 OR 22), embedded in the reel fixing portion (3,30 OR 14) between the rear end of the front coupling hole (rear end of 22a) and the front end of the rear coupling hole (front end of 10a) and configured to be continuous in the longitudinal direction (see Figs. 1-3 OR see Figs. 1-2) and to resist bending deformation of the reel fixing portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fishing rod handle of Beyer such that it comprises a reinforcing member disposed below the first seating portion, embedded in the reel fixing portion between the rear end of the front coupling hole and the front end of the rear coupling hole, and configured to be continuous in the longitudinal direction and to resist bending deformation of the reel fixing portion as taught by Akiba or Ezuka in order to improve the compressive strength of the reel fixing portion and to allow the reel fixing portion to have a thinner shape which provides the benefit of weight reduction of the overall weight of the fishing rod handle so that the user does not become as weary during long periods of use of the fishing rod. Beyer discloses wherein the pressing mechanism (29-31) is coupled to the reel fixing portion (11) so as to be slid rearward (rotation of 37,39 such that it causes 34 & 28-31 to move toward the right in Fig. 2) from the first seating portion (21) to an open position where the pressing mechanism allows the rear leg to be seated on the first seating portion (the open position is where 29-31 are slid rearward into 26 in Fig. 2 such that there is sufficient room for the rear leg to be inserted under 31) and to be slid forward (rotation of 37,39 such that it causes 34 & 28-31 to move toward the left in Fig. 2) to a closed position where the pressing mechanism (29-31) presses the rear leg (rear leg of 22 at the right end of 22 in Fig. 1) to fix the rear leg to the first seating portion (see Fig. 1), but does not disclose wherein the pressing mechanism is coupled to the reel fixing portion so as to be rotated upward from the first seating portion to an open position where the pressing mechanism allows the rear leg to be seated on the first seating portion and to be rotated to a closed position where the pressing mechanism presses the rear leg to fix the rear leg to the first seating portion. Loomis et al. and McMickle disclose wherein the pressing mechanism (30,32,36 OR see Phillips head screw in Fig. 1 which is engaged with a movable plate within the reel seat that presses upon the rear leg of the reel to mount a reel therein) is coupled to the reel fixing portion (16 OR see reel seat in Fig. 1) so as to be rotated upward (loosening of threaded fastener 32 OR loosening of the Phillips head screw) from the first seating portion (28 OR generally flat surface of reel seat upon which the rear leg will sit) to an open position (loosening of threaded fastener 32 so as to allow slide plate 30 to be moved longitudinally to the left in Fig. 1 relative to 28 and causing slide plate 30 to move upwardly from 28 so as to provide space to admit the rear leg of mounting flange MF thereunder OR loosening of the Phillips head screw to move the movable plate so as to provide a gap between the Phillips head screw/movable plate and the reel seat to admit the rear leg of the reel) where the pressing mechanism allows the rear leg to be seated on the first seating portion and to be rotated to a closed position (tightening of threaded fastener 32 so as to position slide plate 30 longitudinally toward the rear leg of mounting flange MF such that 30 extends over mounting foot MF in Fig. 1 and downwardly toward 28 so as to tightly abut against the upper surface of the rear leg of the mounting foot MF OR tightening of the Phillips head screw downwardly toward the reel seat so as to cause the movable plate to abut the upper surface of the rear leg of the reel) where the pressing mechanism presses the rear leg to fix the rear leg to the first seating portion (28; slide plate 30 presses downwardly against rear leg of mounting flange MF toward 28 OR tightening of the Phillips head screw such that it causes the movable plate to press downwardly upon the upper surface of the rear leg of the reel to hold the reel in place on the reel seat). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the pressing mechanism which is coupled to the reel fixing portion so as to be rotated upward from the first seating portion to an open position where the pressing mechanism allows the rear leg to be seated on the first seating portion and to be rotated to a closed position where the pressing mechanism presses the rear leg to fix the rear leg to the first seating portion of Loomis et al. or McMickle for the pressing mechanism of Beyer which is slid rearward to the open position and slid forward to the closed position in order to utilize an alternative yet equally effective mechanism for securing the reel to the reel seat which requires fewer parts and is simpler in construction so as to reduce manufacturing costs and effort.
In regard to claim 2, Beyer and Akiba or Ezuka disclose wherein the reinforcing member (35 of Akiba; 17 of Ezuka) is a reinforcing pipe made of fiber-reinforced plastic (seat body 2 can be made of carbon reinforced fiber plastic of Akiba; reinforced fiber resin of Ezuka).
In regard to claim 3, Beyer and Akiba or Ezuka disclose wherein the reel fixing portion (11 of Beyer; 14 of Ezuka) has an insertion hole (hole through 16, 20 that receives 17 below 22 of Ezuka) perforated through the reel fixing portion in the longitudinal direction below the first seating portion (22 of Ezuka), and wherein the reinforcing member (17 of Ezuka) is configured to be inserted into and fitted to the insertion hole (see Fig. 1 of Ezuka).
In regard to claim 4, Beyer and Akiba or Ezuka disclose wherein the reel fixing portion (11 of Beyer; 3,30 of Akiba; 14 of Ezuka) has a front hood (23-24 of Beyer; 22 of Akiba; 26 of Ezuka) formed at a front end of the first seating portion (21 of Beyer; 3 of Akiba; 22 of Ezuka) and receiving the front leg, wherein the pressing mechanism (29-31 of Beyer) has a rear hood (31 of Beyer; 12a of Akiba; 24 of Ezuka) spaced apart from the front hood in the longitudinal direction and receiving the rear leg (see Fig. 1 of Beyer), and wherein the reinforcing member (35 of Akiba; 17 of Ezuka) has a length longer than a distance between a front end of the front hood and a rear end of the rear hood (see Fig. 1 of Ezuka).
In regard to claim 5, Beyer and Ezuka discloses wherein the front coupling portion (20 of Ezuka) includes a front coupling hole (see narrow front end opening in front of 20a in Fig. 1 of Ezuka), which is formed rearward from a front end of the fishing rod handle (front end of handle at front end of 20 of Ezuka) and has a rear end (where the narrow front end opening widens/is stepped to a larger diameter of Ezuka) forming a front end surface of the reel fixing portion, wherein the rear coupling portion (16,18 of Ezuka) includes a rear coupling hole (hole through 16 through which 17 extends of Ezuka), which is formed frontward from a rear end of the fishing rod handle and has a front end (forward end inside of 18 that abuts against the rearward end of 17a in Fig. 1 of Ezuka) forming a rear end surface of the reel fixing portion, and wherein the reinforcing member has a length shorter than a distance between the front end surface and the rear end surface of the reel fixing portion (see Fig. 1 of Ezuka).
In regard to claim 13, Beyer and Akiba or Ezuka disclose wherein the reel fixing portion (11 of Beyer; 3 of Akiba; 14 of Ezuka) has a recess (recess inside 22 of Akiba; 26 of Ezuka) which is recessed downward from the upper end of the front coupling portion (22 of Akiba; 20 of Ezuka) and the upper end of the rear coupling portion (upper end of 12 of Akiba; upper end of 16 has 24 exposed at the upper end in Fig. 1 of Ezuka) and accommodates the pressing mechanism (29-31 of Beyer).
In regard to claim 14, Beyer and Akiba or Ezuka disclose wherein the front coupling portion (15 of Beyer; 22 of Akiba; 20 of Ezuka), the rear coupling portion (hole defined through 26 & 39-41 of Beyer; 12 of Akiba; 16 of Ezuka), and the reel fixing portion (11 of Beyer; 3 of Akiba; 14 of Ezuka) are integrally formed (15, hole defined through 26, and 21 of Beyer are formed from a single integral material as shown in Fig. 2; 22, 12, and 3 of Akiba are formed from a single material) and are made of metal (Beyer discloses steel, aluminum or other suitable metal) or thermoplastic resin (seat body 2 of Akiba can be made of nylon, ABS and other synthetic resin material or mixed with glass fibre, carbon fibre reinforced fibre of plastic composite material are integrally formed).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyer 2,424,430 over in view of CN 113994939 to Akiba or JP 2007-125046 to Ezuka and Loomis et al. 4,962,608 or McMickle Des. 265,496 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Loomis 4,962,608.
In regard to claim 6, Beyer and Akiba or Ezuka disclose wherein the pressing mechanism (29-31 of Beyer) includes: a pressing member (31 of Beyer) configured to press the rear leg against the first seating portion (21 of Beyer; 3 of Akiba; 22 of Ezuka); and a rigid rod (28 of Beyer) to fix the pressing member (31 of Beyer) to the reel fixing portion (21 of Beyer), but do not disclose a pressing screw passing through the pressing member from top to bottom and fastened to the reel fixing portion to fix the pressing member to the reel fixing portion. Loomis et al. disclose wherein the pressing mechanism (28,30,32,34,36 of Loomis et al.) includes: a pressing member (30 of Loomis et al.) configured to press the rear leg against the first seating portion (portion of 100 extending from 10a to 20a of Akiba; 16 of Loomis et al.); and a pressing screw (32 of Loomis et al.) passing through the pressing member from top to bottom and fastened to the reel fixing portion (via 36 of Loomis et al.) to fix the pressing member to the reel fixing portion (see Fig. 1 of Loomis et al.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the pressing screw passing through the pressing member from top to bottom and fastened to the reel fixing portion to fix the pressing member to the reel fixing portion of Loomis et al. for the rigid rod of Beyer and Akiba or Ezuka in order to provide an alternative yet equally effective mechanism for compressing the rear leg of the reel against the first seating portion so as to fixedly mount the reel to the fishing reel handle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/DARREN W ARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647
DWA