DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Group I, claims 1-6 and 8-21, drawn to a method for differentiating lung progenitor cells into epithelial or basal cells, in the reply filed on 01/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 22-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant also elects the species of about 100 ng/mL of FGF10 in the culture medium of (i) in claim 9.
Claim Status
Claims 1-6 and 8-27 are pending.
Claims 22-27 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are considered on the merits.
Priority
This application claims benefit from application 63/390,454 (filed on 07/19/2022). This has been granted and the benefit date of the instant application is 07/19/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/02/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. The corresponding signed and initialed PTO form 1449 has been mailed with this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the ROCK inhibitor”, and claim 16 recites the limitation “the culture medium”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims because base claim 1 recites a ROCK inhibitor in both culture medium in (i) and culture medium in (iii), thus it is not clear which ROCK inhibitor or culture medium these limitations are referring to. For the sake of compact prosecution, the limitations are examined as being referring to any ROCK inhibitor in (i) or (iii).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
(Written Description)
Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Under the written description guidelines (see MPEP 2163) the Examiner is directed to determine whether one skilled in the art would recognize that the Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention as a whole at the time of filing. The following considerations are critical to this determination.
To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Moba, B.V. v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d at 1563, 19 USPQ2d at 1116. An original claim may lack written description support when (1) the claim defines the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the disclosure fails to sufficiently identify how the function is performed or the result is achieved or (2) a broad genus claim is presented but the disclosure only describes a narrow species with no evidence that the genus is contemplated. See Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc). The written description requirement is not necessarily met when the claim language appears in ipsis verbis in the specification. "Even if a claim is supported by the specification, the language of the specification, to the extent possible, must describe the claimed invention so that one skilled in the art can recognize what is claimed. The appearance of mere indistinct words in a specification or a claim, even an original claim, does not necessarily satisfy that requirement." Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 968, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1616 (Fed. Cir. 2002).
Accordingly, to satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also MPEP 2163.
SCOPE OF THE INVENTION
Independent claim 1 encompasses a genus of method for differentiating lung progenitor cells (LPC) into epithelial or basal cells comprising (i) culturing LPC in any type of base culture medium comprising FGF2, FGF10, dexamethasone, cAMP, any inhibitor of cyclic nucleotide phosphodiesterases and any ROCK inhibitor, in any concentration for any period of time, (ii) separating the cells of (i) having no or low expression of NGFR to form basal precursor cells, and (iii) culturing the cells of (ii) in any type of base culture medium comprising FGF10, KGF, any ALK5 inhibitor, any SMAD inhibitor and any ROCK inhibitor, in any concentration for any period of time, and (iv) separating the cells of (iii) having expression of NGFR to form epithelial or basal cells. It is noted that the instant specification prophetically discloses a wide range of concentrations and agents, and a schematic diagram of a prophetic protocol that can be used in the method (e.g., see [0070]-[0089] and Fig 1). However, the specification only discloses in Example 2 one single species of method for differentiating LPC into basal cells comprising (i) culturing LPC in ADM for 9 days (see [0155], Differentiation Day 17- Day 26. It is noted that ADM comprises defined compositions comprising a basal culture medium supplemented with FGF2, FGF10, dexamethasone, cAMP, IBMX, Y-27632, see [0128]), dissociating the spheres and culture for 4 days (see [0156], Differentiation Day 26 – Day 30), harvesting and sorting the cells for NGFR, “after sorting, NGFR positive cells were seeded” and cultured for 9 days ([0157-0158], Differentiation Day 31 – Day 40, possibly in a defined medium described in [0130] comprising a basal culture medium supplemented with FGF10, KGF (also known as FGF7), A8301, DMH-1 and Y-27632), and expanding for at least 5 days in Basal Maturation Media ([0159], Day 41+, see the Basal Cells Maturation Medium in [0131]). It is noted that Example 2 (the only working example disclosing a method for differentiating LPC into basal cells) does not even comprise the instantly claimed step (ii) “separating the cells of (i) having no or low expression of NGFR to form basal precursor cells”.
Dependent claims 2-6 and 8-21 encompass a method further comprising (v) culturing the cells of (iv) in any type of base culture medium comprising FGF10, KGF, any ALK5 inhibitor, any SMAD inhibitor and any ROCK inhibitor, in 3D matrix and limitations directed to a single composition. However, the instant specification only discloses a single species of method comprising culturing cells in defined media comprising defined compositions in defined concentrations for defined culture periods.
ACTUAL REDUCTION TO PRACTICE
As stated supra, the claims encompass a genus of method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells, however, the specification only discloses a single species of the method comprising culturing cells in defined media comprising defined compositions in defined concentrations for defined culture periods.
Accordingly, Applicant did not demonstrate a reduction to practice a genus of method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells by culturing the cells with any type of agents (e.g., any inhibitor of cyclic nucleotide phosphodiesterases, any ROCK inhibitor, any ALK5 inhibitor, or any SMAD inhibitor) in any concentration for any period, nor did Applicant adequately set forth in terms of distinguishing identifying characteristics as evidenced by other descriptions of the invention that are sufficiently detailed to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus of method.
DISCLOSURE OF STRUCTURE
The Applicant has only provided one working example to differentiate LPC into epithelial or basal cells. Although a method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells is known in the field, the prior art is silent on such a method comprising culturing the cells with any type of agents (e.g., any inhibitor of cyclic nucleotide phosphodiesterases, any ROCK inhibitor, any ALK5 inhibitor, or any SMAD inhibitor) in any concentration or period, nor indicate a relationship between the claimed structure of compositions/steps and the ability to differentiate LPC into epithelial or basal cells.
SUFFICIENT RELEVANT IDENTIFYING CHARACTERISTICS
As mentioned in above, a method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells is known in the field, and the skilled artisan could differentiate LPC into epithelial or basal cells using the known methods and compositions.
The breadth of the claims encompasses a genus of method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells by culturing the cells with any type of agents (e.g., any inhibitor of cyclic nucleotide phosphodiesterases, any ROCK inhibitor, any ALK5 inhibitor, or any SMAD inhibitor) in any concentration for any period, yet the present specification merely provides a single species of the method comprising culturing cells in defined media comprising defined compositions in defined concentrations for defined culture periods, thus provides no guidance nor description on how to choose specific agents and concentrations so as to result in differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells. Therefore, the skilled artisan would not know what rational approach to take to use the claimed genus of method. Therefore, it is incumbent on the applicant to provide this nexus between structure and function, in order to be given credit for possession of the claimed genus of method.
An applicant may show that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics which provide evidence that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention, i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics. Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 964, 63 USPQ2d at 1613.
STATE OF THE ART & QUANTITY OF EXPERIMENTATION
The method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells is not well established. Although the method was known in the state of the art, one of skill in the art would neither expect nor predict the method may differentiate LPC into epithelial or basal cells by culturing the cells with any type of agents (e.g., any inhibitor of cyclic nucleotide phosphodiesterases, any ROCK inhibitor, any ALK5 inhibitor, or any SMAD inhibitor) in any concentration for any period.
With respect to the lack of predictability in such a method, Hawkins et al., (US 2021/0254016 A1, cited in IDS 02/02/2024) teaches a method of generating airway basal cells (abstract) and teaches even just lowering concentrations of known growth factors FGF2 and FGF10, results in lowered efficiency of generating basal progenitor cells (see e.g., [0299]).
Furthermore, the instant specification exemplifies a wide range of agents and concentrations encompassed by the method (e.g., see [0070]-[0089]). For example, the specification discloses that “Examples of a ROCK inhibitor include, but are not limited to, polynucleotides, polypeptides, and small molecules. More specific examples of a ROCK inhibitor include, but are not limited to, an anti-ROCK antibody, and dominant-negative ROCK variant, siRNA, shRNA, miRNA and antisense nucleic acids that target ROCK. Other examples of a ROCK inhibitor include, but are not limited to, thiazovivin, Y-27632, Fasudil, AR122-86, Y-30141, WF-536, HA-1077, hydroxyl-HA-1077, GSK269962A, SB-772077-B, N-(4-Pyridyl)-N'(2,4,6-trichlorophenyl)urea, 3-( 4-Pyridyl)-lH-indole, (R)-(+)-trans-N-(4-Pyridyl)-4-(1-aminoethyl)-cyclohexanecarboxamide, and ROCK inhibitors disclosed in U.S. Pat. No. 8,044,201” (specification, [0081]).
Consequently, there is ample reason to conclude that there would be a high degree of unpredictability in differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells by culturing the cells with any type of agents (e.g., any inhibitor of cyclic nucleotide phosphodiesterases, any ROCK inhibitor, any ALK5 inhibitor, or any SMAD inhibitor) in any concentration for any period encompassed by the instant invention. Thus, the method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells is highly unpredictable, and is not well established.
Applicant has claimed a genus of method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells, yet the specification has only disclosed a single species of the method, has not set forth in terms of distinguishing identifying characteristics as evidenced by other descriptions of the invention that are sufficiently detailed to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus of method. Furthermore, the state of the art indicated that a method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells is not well established and would require undue experimentation, and one of skill in the art would neither expect nor predict the claimed outcome of obtaining epithelial or basal cells according to the claimed genus of method.
CONCLUSION
Therefore, the Examiner concludes that there is insufficient written description of the instantly claimed genus of method. Specifically, there is only description of a single species of the method, and limited description of the structure-function relationship between the claimed genus of steps/compositions and their ability to differentiate LPC into epithelial or basal cells, and the Examiner further concludes a skilled artisan would find the specification inadequately describes the claimed genus of method.
Therefore, the specification fails to provide sufficient written description to inform a skilled artisan that inventors were in possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention.
(Scope of Enablement)
Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells comprising (i) culturing LPC in a basal culture medium comprising FGF2, FGF10, dexamethasone, cAMP, IBMX and Y-27632; (ii) separating the cells of (i) having no or low expression of NGFR to form basal precursor cells; (iii) culturing the cells of (ii) in a base culture medium comprising FGF10, KGF, A83-01, DMH-1 and Y-27632; and (iv) separating the cells of (iii) having expression of NGFR to form epithelial or basal cells (e.g., specification, Example 2, [0155-0159]), does not reasonably provide enablement for a method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells by culturing the cells with any type of agents (e.g., any inhibitor of cyclic nucleotide phosphodiesterases, any ROCK inhibitor, any ALK5 inhibitor, or any SMAD inhibitor) in any concentration for any period. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required are summarized In re Wands 858 F.2d 731, 8 USPQ2nd 1400 (Fed. Cir, 1988). The Court in Wands states: “Enablement is not precluded by the necessity for some 'experimentation.'” Clearly, enablement of a claimed invention cannot be predicated on the basis of quantity of experimentation required to make or use the invention. “Whether undue experimentation is needed is not a single simple factual determination, but rather is a conclusion reached by weighing many factual considerations.” (Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1404). The factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required include: (1) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (2) the amount or direction or guidance presented, (3) the presence or absence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6) the relative skill of those in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claims. While all of these factors are considered, a sufficient amount for a prima facie case is discussed below.
The office has analyzed the specification in direct accordance to the factors outlined in In re Wands. MPEP 2164.04 states: "[W]hile the analysis and conclusion of a lack of enablement are based on factors discussed in MPEP 2164.01(a) and the evidence as whole, it is not necessary to discuss each factor in written enablement rejection." These factors will be analyzed, in turn, to demonstrate that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had to perform "undue experimentation" to make and/or use the invention and therefore, Applicant's claims are not enabled commensurate with the scope of the invention.
SCOPE OF THE INVENTION
The breadth of the claims encompasses a genus of a method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells by culturing the cells with any type of agents (e.g., any inhibitor of cyclic nucleotide phosphodiesterases, any ROCK inhibitor, any ALK5 inhibitor, or any SMAD inhibitor) in any concentration for any period.
As discussed supra, the specification fails to describe the genus of method, but merely discloses and provides guidance for a single species of method comprising culturing cells in defined media comprising defined compositions in defined concentrations for defined culture periods (see specification, Example 2).
Independent claim 1 encompasses a genus of method for differentiating lung progenitor cells (LPC) into epithelial or basal cells comprising (i) culturing LPC in any type of base culture medium comprising FGF2, FGF10, dexamethasone, cAMP, any inhibitor of cyclic nucleotide phosphodiesterases and any ROCK inhibitor, in any concentration for any period of time, (ii) separating the cells of (i) having no or low expression of NGFR to form basal precursor cells, and (iii) culturing the cells of (ii) in any type of base culture medium comprising FGF10, KGF, any ALK5 inhibitor, any SMAD inhibitor and any ROCK inhibitor, in any concentration for any period of time, and (iv) separating the cells of (iii) having expression of NGFR to form epithelial or basal cells. However, the specification only discloses in Example 2 one single species of method for differentiating LPC into basal cells comprising (i) culturing LPC in ADM for 9 days (see [0155], Differentiation Day 17- Day 26. It is noted that ADM comprises defined compositions comprising a basal culture medium supplemented with FGF2, FGF10, dexamethasone, cAMP, IBMX, Y-27632, see [0128]), dissociating the spheres and culture for 4 days (see [0156], Differentiation Day 26 – Day 30), harvesting and sorting the cells for NGFR, “after sorting, NGFR positive cells were seeded” and cultured for 9 days ([0157-0158], Differentiation Day 31 – Day 40, possibly in a defined medium described in [0130] comprising a basal culture medium supplemented with FGF10, KGF (also known as FGF7), A8301, DMH-1 and Y-27632), and expanding for at least 5 days in Basal Maturation Media ([0159], Day 41+, see the Basal Cells Maturation Medium in [0131]). It is noted that Example 2 (the only working example disclosing a method for differentiating LPC into basal cells) does not even comprise the instantly claimed step (ii) “separating the cells of (i) having no or low expression of NGFR to form basal precursor cells”.
Dependent claims 2-6 and 8-21 encompass a method further comprising (v) culturing the cells of (iv) in any type of base culture medium comprising FGF10, KGF, any ALK5 inhibitor, any SMAD inhibitor and any ROCK inhibitor, in 3D matrix and limitations directed to a single composition. However, the instant specification only discloses a single species of method comprising culturing cells in defined media comprising defined compositions in defined concentrations for defined culture periods.
ACTUAL REDUCTION TO PRACTICE
The specification only provides a single working example for a method comprising culturing cells in defined media comprising defined compositions in defined concentrations for defined culture periods (see specification, Example 2), but does not provide guidance for or a working example for a method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells by culturing the cells with any type of agents (e.g., any inhibitor of cyclic nucleotide phosphodiesterases, any ROCK inhibitor, any ALK5 inhibitor, or any SMAD inhibitor) in any concentration for any period. The absence of working examples directed to the scope of the invention necessitates further experimentation. Therefore, the specification does not provide sufficient guidance on how to make and use the claimed genus of method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells.
STATE OF THE ART & QUANTITY OF EXPERIMENTATION
In fact, the state of the art teaches that a method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells is not well established. With respect to the lack of predictability in such a method, Hawkins et al., (US 2021/0254016 A1, cited in IDS 02/02/2024) teaches a method of generating airway basal cells (abstract) and teaches even just lowering concentrations of known growth factors FGF2 and FGF10, results in lowered efficiency of generating basal progenitor cells (see e.g., [0299]).
Furthermore, the instant specification exemplifies a wide range of agents and concentrations encompassed by the method (e.g., see [0070]-[0089]). For example, the specification discloses that “Examples of a ROCK inhibitor include, but are not limited to, polynucleotides, polypeptides, and small molecules” (specification, [0081]).
Consequently, there is ample reason to conclude that there would be a high degree of unpredictability in differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells by culturing the cells with any type of agents (e.g., any inhibitor of cyclic nucleotide phosphodiesterases, any ROCK inhibitor, any ALK5 inhibitor, or any SMAD inhibitor) in any concentration for any period encompassed by the instant invention. Thus, the method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells is highly unpredictable, and is not well established.
Since the art did not provide guidance for a genus of method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells encompassed by the instant invention, it is incumbent upon the instant specification to do so. The physiological art is recognized as unpredictable (MPEP 2164.03). As set forth in In re Fisher, 166 USPQ 18 (CCPA 1970), compliance with 35 USC 112, first paragraph requires: “That scope of claims must bear a reasonable correlation to scope of enablement provided by specification to persons of ordinary skill in the art; … in cases involving unpredictable factors, such as most chemical reactions and physiological activity, scope of enablement varies inversely with degree of unpredictability of factors involved.” Moreover, the courts have also stated that reasonable correlation must exist between scope of exclusive right to patent application and scope of enablement set forth in the patent application (27 USPQ2d 1662 Ex parte Maize!.). In view of the foregoing, due to the lack of sufficient guidance provided by the specification regarding the issues set forth above, the state of the relevant art, and the breadth of the claims, it would have required undue experimentation for one skilled in the art to use the instant broadly claimed invention.
CONCLUSION
In conclusion, since the art teaches that the method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells is prone to influence by multiple factors, and is highly unpredictable, and the specification does not provide ample guidance with respect to obtaining epithelial or basal cells by culturing LPC with any type of agents (e.g., any ROCK inhibitor, any ALK5 inhibitor, or any SMAD inhibitor) in any concentration for any period, one would be burdened with undue experimentation to use the claimed invention for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells.
In conclusion, given the breadth of the claims and the limited scope of the specification, an undue quantity of experimentation is required to use the invention beyond the scope of a method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells comprising (i) culturing LPC in a basal culture medium comprising FGF2, FGF10, dexamethasone, cAMP, IBMX and Y-27632; (ii) separating the cells of (i) having no or low expression of NGFR to form basal precursor cells; (iii) culturing the cells of (ii) in a base culture medium comprising FGF10, KGF, A83-01, DMH-1 and Y-27632; and (iv) separating the cells of (iii) having expression of NGFR to form epithelial or basal cells.
Examiner’s comment
Based on the limited scope of a method for differentiating LPC into epithelial or basal cells comprising (i) culturing LPC in a basal culture medium comprising FGF2, FGF10, dexamethasone, cAMP, IBMX and Y-27632; (ii) separating the cells of (i) having no or low expression of NGFR to form basal precursor cells; (iii) culturing the cells of (ii) in a base culture medium comprising FGF10, KGF, A83-01, DMH-1 and Y-27632; and (iv) separating the cells of (iii) having expression of NGFR to form epithelial or basal cells, enabled by Applicant’s specification, the prior art Hawkins et al have been applied to make obvious this limited scope of method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins et al., (US 2021/0254016 A1, cited in IDS 02/02/2024), evidenced by Hawkins et al., (referred to by “JCI”, J Clin Invest. 2017;127(6):2277-2294) and in view of Schliermann et al., (Int. J. Mol. Sci. 2018;19: 3220, p. 1-17) and Weaver et al., (Development. 2000; 127: 2695-2704).
With respect to claim 1, Hawkins teaches a method for directed differentiation of hPSCs into lung progenitors and then into isolated PSC-derived basal cells (iBCs) (see e.g., from [0283] to [0295]), thus teaches the preamble a method for differentiating lung progenitor cells (LPC) into epithelial or basal cells.
In regard to step (i), Hawkins teaches “the NKX2-1+ lung progenitors were sorted … and then were resuspended in three-dimensional growth factor reduced Matrigel, then cultured in airway medium, cSFDM containing 250 ng/ml FGF2, 100 ng/ml FGF10, 50 nM dexamethasone, 100 nM 8-Bromoadenosine 3',5'-cyclic monophosphate sodium salt (cAMP), 100 nM 3-Isobutyl-1-methylxanthine (IBMX), and 10 μM Y-27632 (FGF2+FGF10+DCI+Y) to drive airway program and to form airway organoid containing airway progenitors” (e.g., [0287]), thus teaches the step (i) culturing LPC in a base medium comprising FGF2, FGF10, dexamethasone, cAMP, IBMX and Y-27632.
In regard to step (ii), Hawkins teaches “After the formation of airway organoid (typically -day 30 of directed differentiation), cells in 3D Matrigel with FGF2+FGF10+ DCI+Y were dissociated as described above. NKX2-1 GFP and TP63 tdTomato expressing cells were purified via cell sorting” (e.g., [0289]). In regard to NGFR expression in the sorted cells, Hawkins teaches “NGFR was expressed on only a small fraction, 1.9%±1.8%, of GFP+/TOM+ cells on day 40-42 of differentiation” (e.g., [0500], see Fig 9D and Fig 2A-2D). Thus, Hawkins teaches the step (ii) separating the cells of (i) by sorting and teaches the sorted cells have no or low expression of NGFR to form airway progenitors (equivalent to the claimed basal precursor cells).
In regard to step (iii), Hawkins teaches “culture medium was switched to Pneumacult ExPlus supplemented with inhibitors of the SMAD signaling pathway: 1 μM A83-01 (TGF-b pathway), 1 μM DMH1 (BMP pathway), and 10 μM Y-27632 (Basal cell medium) to maturate and expand iPSCs-derived basal cells (iBCs)” (e.g., [0289]), thus teaches the step (iii) culturing the cells of (ii) in a base culture medium comprising A83-01, DMH-1 and Y-27632.
However, Hawkins is silent on the basal cell medium comprising FGF10 and KGF.
Nevertheless, in regard to using FGF10 and KGF, Hawkins teaches in generating lung progenitors, hPSCs are first differentiated toward anterior foregut endoderm, and are then cultured in a medium comprising BMP4, FGF10 and KGF (also known as FGF7 that belongs to the same FGF10 subfamily as FGF10 does) to induce a lung progenitor fate (e.g., [0285]). In regard to the basal cell medium, Hawkins teaches key new factors to generate mature basal cells include inhibitors of BMP signaling (e.g., [0289, end of p., 27).
In regard to the connection between FGF and BMP signaling, Schliermann summarizes that FGF10 initially synergizes with BMP4 in fate determination of pulmonal precursors from the foregut epithelium (this is consistent with Hawkins’ using FGF10 and KGF together with BMP4 to induce lung progenitors from foregut endoderm), and teaches then BMP4 and FGF10 signals via FGFR2IIIb antagonize in the regulation of lung bud outgrowth and branching (it is noted that FGFR2IIIb is also known as KGFR that is activated by KGF/FGF7 and FGF10) (p. 8, para 3, “Lung and Gut”).
Weaver teaches BMP4 and FGF10 play opposing roles during lung bud morphogenesis (e.g., title and abstract). Weaver teaches Fgf10 is both a mitogen and a chemoattractant in vitro and Fgf7 promotes proliferation of lung epithelial endoderm, while Bmp4 inhibits outgrowth of isolated lung endoderm (p. 2699, left col). Thus, both Schliermann and Weaver teach FGF10 and FGF7 serve as inhibitors of BMP signaling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method for generating mature basal cells by culturing in medium comprising inhibitors of BMP signaling disclosed by Hawkins, by combining FGF10 and KGF/FGF7 as inhibitors of BMP signaling as suggested by Schliermann and Weaver with a reasonable expectation of success. Since both Schliermann and Weaver suggest FGF10 and FGF7 may serve as inhibitors of BMP signaling in the context of lung bud culture, and since Hawkins has reduced to practice using FGF10 and KGF/FGF7 in the method of differentiating foregut endoderm into lung progenitors, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reason to combine FGF10 and KGF/FGF7 as inhibitors of BMP signaling in the basal cell medium to generate mature basal cells.
In regard to step (iv), Hawkins teaches isolated basal cells (iBCs) at ~ Day 40 are sorted based on NKX2-1GFP/TP63tdTomato/Nerve growth factor receptor (NGFR), or by staining NGFR alone (e.g., [0291]), thus teaches the step (iv) separating the cells of (iii) having expression of NGFR to form epithelial or basal cells.
With respect to claim 2, Hawkins teaches the isolated PSC-derived basal cells (iBCs) are maintained with Basal cell medium (e.g., [0290]) and can be passaged for at least 170 days (e.g., [0291]), thus teaches the step (v) culturing the cells of (iv) having expression of NGFR in a Basal cell medium comprising FGF10, KGF, A83-01, DMH-1 and Y-27632 that is made obvious over Hawkins in view of Schliermann and Weaver.
With respect to claim 3, Hawkins teaches the iBCs are cultured in Matrigel (e.g., [0290], it is noted that Matrigel comprises laminin), thus teaches the culturing of (v) is on a laminin-coated surface.
With respect to claim 5 and claim 6, Hawkins teaches the Nkx2-1+ lung progenitor cells are cultured (i.e., step (i)) in a 3-dimensional microenvironment, and the airway progenitor cells are cultured (i.e., step (iii)) in a 3-dimensional microenvironment (e.g., [0163]), thus teaches the culturing of (i) and (iii) is in a 3D matrix.
With respect to claim 8, claim 9 and claim 11, as stated supra, Hawkins teaches the lung progenitors are cultured in a basal medium comprising 250 ng/ml FGF2, 100 ng/ml FGF10, 50 nM dexamethasone, 100 nM 8-Bromoadenosine 3',5'-cyclic monophosphate sodium salt (cAMP), 100 nM 3-Isobutyl-1-methylxanthine (IBMX), and 10 μM Y-27632 (FGF2+FGF10+DCI+Y) (e.g., [0287]), thus teaches the FGF2 is present in the culture medium at a concentration of about 250 ng/mL in claim 8, the FGF10 is present in the culture medium of (i) at a concentration of about 100 ng/mL in claim 9, and the dexamethasone is present in the culture medium at a concentration of about 50 nM in claim 11.
With respect to claim 10 directed to FGF10 being in the culture medium of (iii) at a concentration of about 20 ng/mL, and claim 17 directed to KGF being in the culture medium at a concentration of about 20 ng/mL, as stated supra, Hawkins reduces to practice using 10 ng/mL recombinant human FGF10 and 10 ng/mL recombinant human KGF to induce lung progenitors (e.g., [0285]).
However, Hawkins does not specifically teach FGF10 and KGF are at about 20 ng/mL.
Nevertheless, because Hawkins teaches the concentration of FGFs is a results effective variable (see e.g., [0299] teaching lower concentrations of FGFs result in lower efficiency of generating immature airway progenitors), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the claimed concentrations, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With respect to claim 12 directed to cAMP being at about 100 µM, claims 13 and 14 directed to IBMX being at about 100 µM, as stated supra, Hawkins teaches the lung progenitors are cultured in a medium “FGF2+FGF10+DCI+Y” comprising 100 nM cAMP and 100 nM IBMX (e.g., [0287]). In another embodiment, Hawkins teaches the same medium comprising 100 nM cAMP and 100 μM IBMX (e.g., p. 45, para 1, thus teaches claims 13-14). Hawkins teaches this protocol is based on previously described approaches to derive airway organoid from hPSCs (Hawkins et al., 2017) (e.g., [0283]).
JCI, being the reference of Hawkins et al., JCI, 2017, referred to by Hawkins, evidences a method for differentiating hPSCs into lung progenitors, and then differentiating the lung progenitors into epithelial organoids in a medium comprising CHIR, FGF10, KGF and DCI (e.g., abstract and Fig 2A in p. 2280). JCI evidences that the “DCI” (also referred to by Hawkins, e.g., [0287]) represents 50 nM dexamethasone, 0.1 mM 8-bromoadenosine 3′,5′-cyclic monophosphate (8-Br-cAMP) sodium salt, and 0.1 mM 3-isobutyl-1-methylxanthine (IBMX) (p. 2292, left col, end of para 1). Thus, JCI evidences the same components “DCI” used in Hawkins comprise 0.1 mM cAMP and 0.1 mM IBMX (i.e., 100 µM cAMP and 100 µM IBMX), thus teaches claims 12-14.
With respect to claim 15 and claim 16 directed to Y-27632 at about 10 µM, as stated supra, Hawkins teaches 10 μM Y-27632 in the medium “FGF2+FGF10+DCI+Y” (e.g., [0287]), and 10 μM Y-27632 in Basal cell medium (e.g. [0289]).
With respect to claim 18 and claim 19 directed to A83-01 at about 1 µM, as stated supra, Hawkins teaches 1 μM A83-01 in the Basal cell medium (e.g., [0289]).
With respect to claim 20 and claim 21 directed to DMH-1 at about 0.5 µM, as stated supra, Hawkins teaches 1 μM DMH1 in the Basal cell medium (the third medium in Hawkins) (e.g., [0289]). Hawkins teaches the third culture medium comprises from 100 nM to about 10 μM DMH1 (e.g., [0210]), encompassing the claimed concentration.
Notably, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It is a routine procedure to optimize component amounts to arrive at an optimal product that is superior for its intended use, since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See M.P.E.P. §2144.05.
Hence, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins et al., (US 2021/0254016 A1, cited in IDS 02/02/2024), evidenced by Hawkins et al., (referred to by “JCI”, J Clin Invest. 2017;127(6):2277-2294) and in view of Schliermann et al., (Int. J. Mol. Sci. 2018;19: 3220, p. 1-17) and Weaver et al., (Development. 2000; 127: 2695-2704), as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Murphy et al., (ALTEX. Published June 20, 2022; 40(1): 141-159).
Claim 4 is directed to the laminin being laminin-521.
However, Hawkins teaches the iBCs are cultured in Matrigel (that comprises laminin, e.g., [0290]), but Hawkins, JCI, Schliermann and Weaver are silent on the laminin being laminin-521.
Murphy teaches comparison of three commercially available human ECM coatings (vitronectin, laminin-511, and laminin-521) to Matrigel in three hiPSC lines in long-term culture (e.g., abstract). Murphy teaches Matrigel is an animal product that is derived from mouse sarcoma (e.g., abstract), and teaches the results show that all tested human ECM coatings are highly comparable to animal-derived Matrigel for both hiPSC maintenance and differentiation (e.g., abstract and Figs 1-3). Murphy teaches in addition to avoiding working with animal-derived material, reported batch-to-batch variations of Matrigel could be avoided by switching to alternative coatings (p. 156, right col, para 4.6 “Conclusions and recommendations”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method for culturing the basal cells in Matrigel as suggested by Hawkins, JCI, Schliermann and Weaver, by substituting the Matrigel with human ECM laminin-521 coating as suggested by Murphy with a reasonable expectation of success. Since Murphy teaches Matrigel is an animal product that is derived from mouse sarcoma and switching to alternative human ECM coatings such as laminin-521 would achieve comparable results and would avoid animal-derived material and batch variations (e.g., abstract and p. 156, para 4.6), one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reason to substitute Matrigel with human ECM laminin-521 in order to avoid animal-derived material and batch variations.
Hence, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
/JIANJIAN ZHU/Examiner, Art Unit 1631