DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-24 are pending in this application. Claims 1-24 are being examined with the priority date of 01/16/2023. Claims 1-16 and 24 have been amended in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/18/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Claim interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)
The applicant’s arguments (see Remarks filed 12/24/2025) regarding the claim interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been fully considered by the examiner, given that the previously invoking terms have been removed from the claims the previous 112(f) interpretations have been withdrawn. However, the applicant has amended the claims to add the component of “image processing device” in place of the previous placeholders, which is a generic placeholder modified by functional language without providing sufficient structure for performing the claimed acts (MPEP § 2181). Given that the newly added placeholder of “image processing device” meets the three requirements detailed in MPEP § 2181 the examiner has elected to interpret claims 2-15 and 24 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
35 U.S.C. 102 and 103
The applicant’s arguments (see Remarks filed 12/24/2025) regarding the rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 102 under Tachi Source 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, in view of the change in scope to newly amended claims 1, 16 and 24 a new grounds of rejection is presented in view of Tachi source 1 and Honda and fully discussed below.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites the term “impage processing device” rather than “image processing device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Image Processing device in claims 2-15 and 24
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-11, 16-18, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachi (Hereinafter Tachi 1, CA 2861220 A1) in view of Honda (US 20100157091 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Tachi 1 discloses; An image processing device
generate a determination area corresponding to a candidate defective pixel based on externally received pixel values (Tachi 1, [0009] the signal processing unit (determination area manager), obtains a references pixel and an attention pixel (candidate defective pixel) which falls within a reference area (determination area), in which pixel values are received for the pixels in the area);
(Tachi 1, [0010] the signal processing unit determines whether one or more saturated pixel values exist in the values of the interpolated white pixels in the area);
[select, prior to determining whether a candidate defective pixel has a defect, reference pixels to be either white pixels included in the determination area or non-white color pixels included in the determination area, based on whether the determination area is determined to be saturated;]
the selected reference pixels; (Tachi 1, [0009] Reference pixels in an area are used to calculate a compensation pixel value for the attention/target pixel (the pixel that is defective or being assessed for a defect), )
and the defect based on both the reference value (Tachi 1, [0081] whether or not the target pixel has a defect is determined, [0083] the defect determination is done by comparing the target value with a compensation pixel value, which is determined using the white pixel saturation as described in [0009]-[0010]) and second pixel values of determination pixels having a color identical to that of the candidate defective pixel, among pixels included in the determination area (Tachi 1, [0076] the defect determination can be completed by looking at reference pixels in the same neighborhood (same determination area) as the target/attention pixel (pixel with the defect), and which have the same color, and then can determine and compensate for the defect).
Tachi 1 does not teach; select, prior to determining whether a candidate defective pixel has a defect, reference pixels to be either white pixels included in the determination area or non-white color pixels included in the determination area, based on whether the determination area is determined to be saturated;
However, in the same field of endeavor Honda teaches; select, prior to determining whether a candidate defective pixel has a defect, reference pixels to be either white pixels included in the determination area or non-white color pixels included in the determination area, based on whether the determination area is determined to be saturated (Honda, [0113] the correction processing section determined whether a selected target white pixel is saturated [0114] if it is determined the target pixel or pixel block is not saturated, the target pixel used is white, [0115] if the target pixel is saturated, color pixels are used in the correction interpolation function, this step occurs prior to a determination that the target pixel has low illuminance and requires correction, which the examiner is interpreting as a determination of defect);
(Honda, Figure 10)
(Honda Figure 12)
(Honda, [0112]-[0116])
The combination of Tachi 1 and Honda would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the presently claimed invention. Tachi 1 teaches a method of defect correction using neighboring pixels but does not teach a determination of reference pixel color prior to the determination that the target pixel is defective. Honda teaches this deficiency, the motivation for the combination lies in that pixel adjustment and correction values being generated based on saturation values can help prevent image blurring (Honda, [0001]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 2 the combination of Tachi 1 and Honda teaches; The image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the image processing device determines a size of the determination area based on a color of the candidate defective pixel (Tachi 1, [0011] the reference area is a 2 dimensional area which contains the target/attention pixel, where the reference pixel, which is also in the area, has the same color as the target/attention pixel (candidate defective pixel), [0028] describes the reference area as a 7x7 pixel reference area, where the target pixel is in the center, this area must also contain a reference pixel which is the same color. Since the reference area is set and must contain a reference pixel of the same color as the target pixel, the determination of the area must be based on the color as well).
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Tachi 1 and Honda teaches; The image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the image processing device determines a size of the determination area based on the number of the determination pixels (Tachi 1, [0027] for the pixel arrangements and selection of the reference area (determination area) there must be a certain amount of reference pixels present or else the correction precision is reduced, [0028] the pixel area must have the target/attention pixel at the center, and as few as 4 reference pixels present, which examiner is interpreting as there is a minimum amount of reference pixels which must be present in order to complete the calculation, therefore the amount of pixels is used to determine the area).
Regarding claim 4 the combination of Tachi 1 and Honda teaches; The image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the image processing device counts the number of the saturated white pixels (Tachi 1, [0056] Four white interpolation pixels are assigned, and [0057] a saturation processing determines which and how many of each of the white pixels are saturated), pixel values of which are greater than a saturation reference value ([0057] if the white pixels are a maximum pixel values, they are determined to be saturated),
and determines whether the determination area is saturated based on the number of the saturated white pixels and a saturation threshold number (Tachi 1, [0151] The signal processing unit determines whether the white pixels in the area are saturated (determining if the area is saturated based on the white pixels) and then uses this determination to calculated the compensation value).
Regarding claim 5 the combination of Tachi 1 and Honda teaches; The image processing device according to claim 4, wherein the image processing device determines at least one of the saturation reference value or the saturation threshold number based on a size of the determination area (Tachi 1, [0151] The signal processing unit (determination area manager) determines whether the white pixels in the area are saturated (determining if the area is saturated based on the white pixels) and then uses this determination to calculated the compensation value (reference value)).
Regarding claim 6 the combination of Tachi 1 and Honda teaches; The image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the image processing device calculates the reference value based on both a mean absolute deviation of the first pixel values (Tachi 1, [0066] the average of the pixels that are adjacent to the pixel of interest, further, figure 8 illustrates this calculation, showing that if the white pixel is saturated, the values are averaged and the absolute value of the differences are taken, which is functionally equivalent to the mean absolute deviation) and a dynamic range that is a difference between a maximum value and a minimum value, among the first pixel values (Tachi 1, [0082] the minimum and maximum values of the pixels in the reference neighborhood area are determined).
(Tachi, Figure 8)
Regarding claim 10 the combination of Tachi 1 and Honda teaches; The image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the image processing device sets green pixels included in the determination area as the reference pixels in response to a case in which the determination area is in a saturated state (Tachi 1, Figure 9, when the white pixel being used in interpolation (reference pixel) is saturated, the smoothing weight (correction/reference value) is computed from a color pixel, [0056] says the pixel used in place of the white pixel being saturated (a case where the area is saturated) can be a red green or blue pixel, Examiner is interpreting this as being analogous to the setting of the reference pixel to a green pixel).
(Tachi, figure 9)
Regarding claim 11 the combination of Tachi 1 and Honda teaches; The image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the image processing device sets white pixels included in the determination area as the reference pixels in response to a case in which the determination area is not in a saturated state (Tachi 1, Figure 9 shows that when the interpolation pixel is a white pixel and is not saturated that it is used as a reference pixel to calculate the compensation smoothing value).
Regarding claim 16 the combination of Tachi 1 and Honda teaches; An image processing method, comprising:
generating a determination area corresponding to a candidate defective pixel based on externally received pixel values (Tachi 1, [0009] the signal processing unit (determination area manager), obtains a references pixel and an attention pixel (candidate defective pixel) which falls within a reference area (determination area), in which pixel values are received for the pixels in the area);
determining whether the determination area is saturated based on pixel values of white pixels included in the determination area (Tachi 1, [0010] the signal processing unit determines whether one or more saturated pixel values exist in the values of the interpolated white pixels in the area);
selecting, prior to determining whether a candidate defective pixel has a defect, reference pixels to be either white pixels included in the determination area or non-white color pixels included in the determination area, based on whether the determination area is determined to be saturated (Honda, [0113] the correction processing section determined whether a selected target white pixel is saturated [0114] if it is determined the target pixel or pixel block is not saturated, the target pixel used is white, [0115] if the target pixel is saturated, color pixels are used in the correction interpolation function, this step occurs prior to a determination that the target pixel has low illuminance and requires correction, which the examiner is interpreting as a determination of defect);
calculating a reference value based on first pixel values of reference pixels (Tachi 1, [0009] Reference pixels in an area are used to calculate a compensation pixel value for the attention/target pixel (the pixel that is defective));
and determining whether the candidate defective pixel has the defect based on both the reference value and second pixel values of determination pixels having a color identical to that of the candidate defective pixel, among pixels included in the determination area (Tachi 1, [0081] whether or not the target pixel has a defect is determined, [0083] the defect determination is done by comparing the target value with a compensation pixel value, which is determined using the white pixel saturation as described in [0009]-[0010], [0076] the defect determination can be completed by looking at reference pixels in the same neighborhood (same determination area) as the target/attention pixel (pixel with the defect), and which have the same color, and then can determine and compensate for the defect).
The combination of Tachi 1 and Honda would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the presently claimed invention. Tachi 1 teaches a method of defect correction using neighboring pixels but does not teach a determination of reference pixel color prior to the determination that the target pixel is defective. Honda teaches this deficiency, the motivation for the combination lies in that pixel adjustment and correction values being generated based on saturation values can help prevent image blurring (Honda, [0001]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 17 the combination of Tachi 1 and Honda teaches; The image processing method according to claim 16, wherein the generating of the determination area comprises: determining a size of the determination area such that the number of the determination pixels is greater than a preset threshold value (Tachi 1, [0027] for the pixel arrangements and selection of the reference area (determination area) there must be a certain amount of reference pixels present or else the correction precision is reduced, [0028] the pixel area must have the target/attention pixel at the center, and as few as 4 reference pixels present, which examiner is interpreting as there is a minimum amount of reference pixels which must be present in order to complete the calculation, therefore the amount of pixels is used to determine the area, since there is minimum amount of pixels that must be present in the area there is a preset threshold that must be met or exceeded).
Regarding claim 18 the combination of Tachi 1 and Honda teaches; The image processing method according to claim 16, wherein the determining of whether the determination area is saturated comprises:
counting the number of the saturated white pixels (Tachi 1, [0056] Four white interpolation pixels are assigned, and [0057] a saturation processing determines which and how many of each of the white pixels are saturated), pixel values of which are greater than a saturation reference value (Tachi 1, [0057] if the white pixels are a maximum pixel values, they are determined to be saturated);
and determining whether the determination area is saturated based on the number of the saturated white pixels and a saturation threshold number (Tachi 1, [0151] The signal processing unit determines whether the white pixels in the area are saturated (determining if the area is saturated based on the white pixels) and then uses this determination to calculated the compensation value).
Regarding claim 21 the combination of Tachi 1 and Honda teaches; The image processing method according to claim 16, wherein the calculating of the reference value comprises:
setting green pixels included in the determination area as the reference pixels in response to a case in which the determination area is in a saturated state (Tachi 1, Figure 9, when the white pixel being used in interpolation (reference pixel) is saturated, the smoothing weight (correction/reference value) is computed from a color pixel, [0056] says the pixel used in place of the white pixel being saturated (a case where the area is saturated) can be a red green or blue pixel, Examiner is interpreting this as being analogous to the setting of the reference pixel to a green pixel).
Regarding claim 22 the combination of Tachi 1 and Honda teaches; The image processing method according to claim 16, wherein the calculating of the reference value comprises:
setting white pixels included in the determination area as the reference pixels in response to a case in which the determination area is not in a saturated state (Tachi 1, Figure 9 shows that when the interpolation pixel is a white pixel and is not saturated that it is used as a reference pixel to calculate the compensation smoothing value).
2. Claims 7-9, 12, 14-15, 19-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachi (Hereinafter Tachi 1) (CA 2861220 A1) in view of Honda (US 20100157091 A1) and in further view of Tachi (hereinafter Tachi 2) (US 20140253808 A1).
Regarding claim 7 the combination of Tachi 1 and Honda fails to teach; The image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the the image processing device corrects the reference value based on a ratio of the first pixel values to the second pixel values in response to a case in which a color of the reference pixels is different from a color of the candidate defective pixel.
However, in the same filed of endeavor, Tachi 2 teaches; wherein the the image processing device corrects the reference value based on a ratio of the first pixel values to the second pixel values in response to a case in which a color of the reference pixels is different from a color of the candidate defective pixel (Tachi 2,[0027] the correct the pixels gradients are computed based upon the pixel interpolation for the target pixel [0031] to correct the target pixel, a gradient is calculated for a case where reference pixels are different colors using weighted addition of high and low frequency gradient information, which the examiner is interpreting as being analogous to a ratio given that gradient computation includes division or ratio calculation, and in this case information from two different sets of pixel values is used).
(Tachi 2, Figure 7)
The combination of Tachi 1, Honda and Tachi 2 would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Tachi 1 teaches a method of correcting defective pixels by calculating a compensation/correction value using white pixels and pixels of the same color, but not for a case when the defective pixel is a difference color than the reference. Tachi 2 remedies this by teaching a case where pixel gradients can be calculated to correct defective pixels in cases where the pixels are the same and where they are different in color. The motivation for the combination is that the methods of Tachi 2 allow for correction of the defective pixel regardless of the color of the surrounding areas. (Tachi 2 [0025]-[0032])
Regarding claim 8 the combination of Tachi 1, Honda, and Tachi 2 teaches; The image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the image processing device determines whether the candidate defective pixel has a defect based on both a defect threshold number (Tachi 2, [0340] if the gradient for a target pixel is equal to or less than a threshold value it is marked for correction (determination of a defect requiring correction)) and a number of homogenous pixels for which a difference between the second pixel values and a pixel value of the candidate defective pixel, among the determination pixels, is greater than the reference value (Tachi 2, [0161] gradients/differences in pixel values are determined in 8 directions, which includes differences between pixels of the same color (homogenous) in the determination area as shown in Figure 5 and 6, [0299]-[0399] if the value for the pixel value gradient/differences is less than a threshold these pixels are used to determine a smoother replacement signal to correct the target pixel, since a value under a threshold indicates a normal pixel to be used in pixel corrections, the Examiner is interpreting this threshold to mean that a value larger than the threshold would be a defective pixel which needs correction of some kind).
(Tachi 2, Figure 5)
(Tachi 2, Figure 6)
The combination of Tachi 1, Honda, and Tachi 2 would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Tachi 1 teaches a method of correcting defective pixels by calculating a compensation/correction value using white pixels and pixels of the same color, but not using a threshold to verify the defect. Tachi 2 teaches this limitation, further the motivation for combining the two methods lies in that the method of Tachi 2 allows for determination of a defect and defect correction in multiple pixel arrangement situations, by using a gradient calculation in multiple directions compared to a threshold which allows for comparison and correction using multiple reference pixels. (Tachi 2, [0017]-[0033])
Regarding claim 9 the combination of Tachi 1, Honda, and Tachi 2 teaches; The image processing device according to claim 8, wherein the image processing device determines the defect threshold number based on a size of the determination area (Tachi 1, the compensation pixel value (threshold for correction) is determined from the pixels in the reference area, and the pixel number and positions are used in this calculation, which are dependent on the size of the area).
Regarding claim 12 the combination of Tachi 1, Honda, and Tachi 2 teaches; The image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the image processing device comprises:
a pixel value corrector (Tachi 1, figure 16, Color Pixel Defect Compensation Unit), in response to a case in which the candidate defective pixel is further determined to be a defective pixel, configured to (Tachi 1, [0078] determination is made on whether the pixel has a defect or not):
calculate slope values for preset directions based on the first pixel values (Tachi 2, [0017] pixel gradients (slope values) are detected in 8 directions based on pixel values);
calculate temporary correction values corresponding to the preset directions based on the second pixel values (Tachi 2, [0026] an interpolated pixel value (temporary correction value) is calculated based on the reference pixel values (second pixel values));
and correct a pixel value of a defective pixel based on the slope values and the temporary correction values (Tachi 2, [0027] the correction smoothing value is applied to the target pixel (defective pixel), where the smoothed signal is based on the gradients (slopes) and interpolated pixel value (temporary correction value)).
The combination of Tachi 1, Honda, and Tachi 2 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Tachi 1 teaches a method of defect detection and correction, but not using slopes or gradients of the pixel values. Tachi 2 teaches this deficiency, the motivation for the combination lies in that the use of a slope/gradient based on the pixel values would allow for interpolation and color correction based on pixels in the area. (Tachi 2 [0015]-[0027])
Regarding claim 14 the combination of Tachi 1, Honda, and Tachi 2 teaches; The image processing device according to claim 12, wherein the the image processing device calculates the slope values for a horizontal direction, a vertical direction (Tachi 2, figure 5, a vertical and a horizontal direction gradients shown as V and H are computed), a 45-degree direction (Tachi 2, [0043] top and bottom right and left 45 degree gradients are calculated (45 degree direction slope)), and a 135-degree direction (Tachi 2, in [0150]-[0158] details that 8 gradients are calculated in different directions, including two 45 degree gradients that cross one another and form 4 angles in different quadrant’s, The examiner is interpreting the second 45 degree gradient (gradient D) as being analogous to the 135 degree angle claimed because is a unit circle ordered pair angle to 45 degrees in the second quadrant, Examiner has included an annotated figure 5 showing the gradients and a unit circle annotated to show the equivalency using the ordered pairs).
(Tachi 2, annotated figure 5, where H and V are the X and Y axis respectively, and A is the first 45-degree gradient and D is the 135 angle)
(Unit circle demonstrating the angular equivalency)
The combination of Tachi 1, Honda, and Tachi 2 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Tachi 1 teaches a method of defect detection and correction, but not using slopes or gradients of the pixel values. Tachi 2 teaches this deficiency, the motivation for the combination lies in that the use of a slope/gradient based on the pixel values would allow for interpolation and color correction based on pixels in the area (Tachi 2 [0015]-[0027]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that in determining the angle directions, gradients creating a 45-degree angle in each quadrant are equivalent to the paired angles on the unit circle.
Regarding claim 15 the combination of Tachi 1, Honda, and Tachi 2 teaches; The image processing device according to claim 12, wherein the the image processing device calculates average pixel values of pixels respectively located in the preset directions of the defective pixel, among the determination pixels, as the temporary correction values (Tachi 1, [0041] average pixel values for the pixels surrounding the defective pixel are determined and interpolated to get a correction value).
Regarding claim 19 the combination of Tachi 1, Honda, and Tachi 2 teaches; The image processing method according to claim 16, wherein the calculating of the reference value comprises:
calculating the reference value based on a dynamic range that is a difference between a mean absolute deviation of the first pixel values and a maximum value and a minimum value, among the first pixel values (Tachi 1 [0066] the average of the pixels that are adjacent to the pixel of interest, further, figure 8 illustrates this calculation, showing that if the white pixel is saturated, the values are averaged and the absolute value of the differences are taken, which is functionally equivalent to the mean absolute deviation,[0082] the minimum and maximum values of the pixels in the reference neighborhood area are determined));
and correcting the reference value based on a ratio of the first pixel values to the second pixel values in response to a case in which a color of the reference pixels is different from a color of the candidate defective pixel (Tachi 2,[0027] the correct the pixels gradients are computed based upon the pixel interpolation for the target pixel [0031] to correct the target pixel, a gradient is calculated for a case where reference pixels are different colors using weighted addition of high and low frequency gradient information, which the examiner is interpreting as being analogous to a ratio given that gradient computation includes division or ratio calculation, and in this case information from two different sets of pixel values is used).
The combination of Tachi 1, Honda, and Tachi 2 would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Tachi 1 teaches a method of correcting defective pixels by calculating a compensation/correction value using white pixels and pixels of the same color, but not for a case when the defective pixel is a difference color than the reference. Tachi 2 remedies this by teaching a case where pixel gradients can be calculated to correct defective pixels in cases where the pixels are the same and where they are different in color. The motivation for the combination is that the methods of Tachi 2 allow for correction of the defective pixel regardless of the color of the surrounding areas. (Tachi 2 [0025]-[0032]).
Regarding claim 20 the combination of Tachi 1, Honda, and Tachi 2 teaches; The image processing method according to claim 16, wherein the determining of whether the candidate defective pixel has a defect comprises:
determining whether the candidate defective pixel has a defect based on a defect threshold number (Tachi 2, [0340] if the gradient for a target pixel is equal to or less than a threshold value it is marked for correction (determination of a defect requiring correction)) and a number of homogenous pixels for which a difference between the second pixel values and a pixel value of the candidate defective pixel, among the determination pixels, is greater than the reference value (Tachi 2, [0161] gradients/differences in pixel values are determined in 8 directions, which includes differences between pixels of the same color (homogenous) in the determination area as shown in Figure 5 and 6, [0299]-[0399] if the value for the pixel value gradient/differences is less than a threshold these pixels are used to determine a smoother replacement signal to correct the target pixel, since a value under a threshold indicates a normal pixel to be used in pixel corrections, the Examiner is interpreting this threshold to mean that a value larger than the threshold would be a defective pixel which needs correction of some kind).
The combination of Tachi 1, Honda, and Tachi 2 would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Tachi 1 teaches a method of correcting defective pixels by calculating a compensation/correction value using white pixels and pixels of the same color, but not using a threshold to verify the defect. Tachi 2 teaches this limitation, further the motivation for combining the two methods lies in that the method of Tachi 2 allows for determination of a defect and defect correction in multiple pixel arrangement situations, by using a gradient calculation in multiple directions compared to a threshold which allows for comparison and correction using multiple reference pixels. (Tachi 2, [0017]-[0033])
Regarding claim 23 the combination of Tachi 1, Honda, and Tachi 2 teaches; The image processing method according to claim 16, further comprising: in response to a case in which the candidate defective pixel is determined to be a defective pixel:
calculating slope values for preset directions based on the first pixel values (Tachi 2, [0017] pixel gradients (slope values) are detected in 8 directions based on pixel values);
calculating temporary correction values corresponding to the preset directions based on the second pixel values (Tachi 2, [0026] an interpolated pixel value (temporary correction value) is calculated based on the reference pixel values (second pixel values));
and correcting a pixel value of the defective pixel based on the slope values and the temporary correction values (Tachi 2, [0027] the correction smoothing value is applied to the target pixel (defective pixel), where the smoothed signal is based on the gradients (slopes) and interpolated pixel value (temporary correction value)).
The combination of Tachi 1, Honda, and Tachi 2 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Tachi 1 teaches a method of defect detection and correction, but not using slopes or gradients of the pixel values. Tachi 2 teaches this deficiency, the motivation for the combination lies in that the use of a slope/gradient based on the pixel values would allow for interpolation and color correction based on pixels in the area. (Tachi 2 [0015]-[0027])
Claims 13 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachi (Hereinafter Tachi 1) (CA 2861220 A1) in view of in view of Honda (US 20100157091 A1) and in Tachi (hereinafter Tachi 2) (US 20140253808 A1) and in further view of Gwang (KR 102018246 B1).
Regarding claim 13 The combination of Tachi 1, Honda, and Tachi 2 fails to teach; The image processing device according to claim 12, wherein the the image processing device:
calculates a correction value for the defective pixel by obtaining a weighted sum of reciprocals of the slope values and the temporary correction values, and outputs the correction value.
However, in the same field of endeavor of pixel correction, Gwang teaches;
calculates a correction value for the defective pixel by obtaining a weighted sum of reciprocals of the slope values (Gwang, [0128] a weighted function of the inverse gradients is generated) and the temporary correction values, and outputs the correction value (Gwang, [0128] the system generates a final correction value based on the gradient inverse function (reciprocal slopes) and the initial correction value estimate (temporary correction value)).
The combination of Tachi 1, Honda, Tachi 2 and Gwang would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. The addition of the calculation of the final correction value using an initial estimated correction value and inverse gradient values as taught in Gwang would allow for sufficient estimation to obtain missing or defective pixel information and correct the defect. (Gwang, [0063]-[0066])
Regarding claim 24 the combination of Tachi 1, Honda, Tachi 2 and Gwang teach; An image processing system, comprising:
an image sensor including white pixels and non-white color pixels (Tachi 1, Figure 16, 150 imaging element, which shows white and color pixels);
and an image processing device configured to detect defective pixels included in the image sensor based on pixel values received from the image sensor and configured to correct pixel values of the defective pixels, wherein the image processing device (Tachi 1, Figure 16 shows a processing device with a pixel defect compensation unit and a signal processing unit which detect and correct the pixel values) is further ;
generate a determination area corresponding to a candidate defective pixel based on externally received pixel values (Tachi 1[0009] the signal processing unit (determination area manager), obtains a references pixel and an attention pixel (candidate defective pixel) which falls within a reference area (determination area), in which pixel values are received for the pixels in the area);
and(Tachi 1 [0010] the signal processing unit determines whether one or more saturated pixel values exist in the values of the interpolated white pixels in the area);
select, prior to determining whether a candidate defective pixel has a defect, reference pixels to be either white pixels included in the determination area or non-white color pixels included in the determination area, based on whether the determination area is determined to be saturated (Honda, [0113] the correction processing section determined whether a selected target white pixel is saturated [0114] if it is determined the target pixel or pixel block is not saturated, the target pixel used is white, [0115] if the target pixel is saturated, color pixels are used in the correction interpolation function, this step occurs prior to a determination that the target pixel has low illuminance and requires correction, which the examiner is interpreting as a determination of defect);
calculate a reference value based on first pixel values of the selected reference pixels (Tachi 1,[0009] Reference pixels in an area are used to calculate a compensation pixel value for the attention/target pixel (the pixel that is defective);
and determine whether a candidate defective pixel has a defect based on both the reference value (Tachi 1, [0081] whether or not the target pixel has a defect is determined, [0083] the defect determination is done by comparing the target value with a compensation pixel value, which is determined using the white pixel saturation as described in [0009]-[0010]) and second pixel values of determination pixels having a color identical to that of the candidate defective pixel, among pixels included in the determination area (Tachi 1, [0076] the defect determination can be completed by looking at reference pixels in the same neighborhood (same determination area) as the target/attention pixel (pixel with the defect), and which have the same color, and then can determine and compensate for the defect);
wherein the impage processing device, in response to a case in which the candidate defective pixel is determined to be a defective pixel, is further configured to (Tachi 1, [0078] determination is made on whether the pixel has a defect or not):
calculate slope values for preset directions based on the first pixel values;
calculate temporary correction values corresponding to the preset directions based on the second pixel values;
The combination of Tachi 1 and Honda would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the presently claimed invention. Tachi 1 teaches a method of defect correction using neighboring pixels but does not teach a determination of reference pixel color prior to the determination that the target pixel is defective. Honda teaches this deficiency, the motivation for the combination lies in that pixel adjustment and correction values being generated based on saturation values can help prevent image blurring (Honda, [0001]-[0010])
The combination of Tachi 1 and Honda does not teach;
calculate slope values for preset directions based on the first pixel values;
calculate temporary correction values corresponding to the preset directions based on the second pixel values;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tachi 2 teaches;
calculate slope values for preset directions based on the first pixel values (Tachi 2, [0017] pixel gradients (slope values) are detected in 8 directions based on pixel values);
calculate temporary correction values corresponding to the preset directions based on the second pixel values (Tachi 2, [0026] an interpolated pixel value (temporary correction value) is calculated based on the reference pixel values (second pixel values));
The combination of Tachi 1, Honda, and Tachi 2 would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Tachi 1 teaches a method of defect detection and correction, but not using slopes or gradients of the pixel values. Tachi 2 teaches this deficiency, the motivation for the combination lies in that the use of a slope/gradient based on the pixel values would allow for interpolation and color correction based on pixels in the area, additionally the use of slopes/gradients in multiple directions would allow for more accurate interpolation of the pixel values to generate the corrected pixel values because more non-defective data is included in the calculation (Tachi 2 [0015]-[0027]).
The combination of Tachi 1, Honda and Tachi 2 fails to teach;
calculate a correction value by obtaining a weighted sum of reciprocals of the slope values and the temporary correction values and the temporary correction values;
and output the correction value as a pixel value of the defective pixel.
Gwang teaches; calculate a correction value by obtaining a weighted sum of reciprocals of the slope values and the temporary correction values (Gwang, [0128] a weighted function of the inverse gradients is generated) and the temporary correction values (Gwang, [0128] the system generates a final correction value based on the gradient inverse function (reciprocal slopes) and the initial correction value estimate (temporary correction value));
and output the correction value as a pixel value of the defective pixel (Gwang, [0128] the system generates a final correction value based on the gradient inverse function (reciprocal slopes) and the initial correction value estimate (temporary correction value).
The combination of Tachi 1, Honda, Tachi 2 and Gwang would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Tachi 1 teaches a method of defect detection and correction, but not using slopes or gradients of the pixel values. Tachi 2 teaches this deficiency, the motivation for the combination lies in that the use of a slope/gradient based on the pixel values would allow for interpolation and color correction based on pixels in the area (Tachi 2 [0015]-[0027]). Further, the addition of the calculation of the final correction value using an initial estimated correction value and inverse gradient values as taught in Gwang would allow for sufficient estimation to obtain missing or defective pixel information and correct the defect. (Gwang, [0063]-[0066]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For a listing of analogous art as cited by the examiner, please see the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited form.
/J.M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2666
/EMILY C TERRELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2666