DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmelzer (US 2017/0106754, IDS Document) in view of Isaksson (US 2021/0129675, IDS Document).
Regarding Claim 1, Schmelzer discloses a vehicle electrical system for detecting insulation faults (Figures 1-2, Abstract ) comprises:
a high-voltage branch comprising a sensor (HZ comprising ME1, Figure 1);
insulation comprising insulation-bridging components and/or insulation material (comprising R_ISO, Figure 1, Paragraphs 15, 55-56);
a first low-voltage branch (comprising low voltage branch isolated from high voltage battery BT by SC1, SC2, SC3, Figure 1, LV branch not shown in Figure 1, Paragraph 54) galvanically isolated from the high-voltage branch by the insulation (Paragraphs 15, 56), the low-voltage branch includes:
a plurality of low-voltage lines extending from the high-voltage branch into the low-voltage branch (comprising line 1, 2, SA1 in V, extending from LP, LN, ME1 respectively in HZ, Figure 1), the plurality of low-voltage lines functionally distinct and includes:
a signal line for transmitting signals from the sensor (SA1 is signal line from ME1, Figure 1), and
a low-voltage supply line (1, 2 are low-voltage supply line, Figure 1), the plurality of low voltage lines operating with signal levels between 0 volt to 18 volts (Paragraph 54, “…on-board system BN may include an LV system branch, not represented in the figure, in which, according to the electric vehicle design, a service voltage, e.g., of 12V, is present. In this LV system branch, electrical consumers are electrically connected and operate at the service voltage of 12V”); and
a voltmeter having an input for receiving the plurality of low-voltage lines (comprising ME3 having input to receive MG, signal branching from 1, 2, Figure 1), the voltmeter detects when an absolute voltage value of the at least one low-voltage line with respect to a ground potential of the vehicle electrical system lies above a voltage limit (ME3 connected at ST in a signal transmitting manner to the plurality of low-voltage lines to transmit detected voltage to evaluation unit EE, Figure 1), the voltage limit defines an absolute voltage value greater than an absolute value of a maximum signal voltage of the low-voltage line, which the low-voltage line has during fault-free operation (Paragraphs 33-34, 77-78).
Schmelzer does not specifically disclose an actuation or data line for interfacing with a data source or sink of the high-voltage branch.
Isaksson discloses a vehicle electrical system (Figures 1-8) comprises:
a high-voltage branch (comprising 5, 6, Figures 1, 6-7);
insulation comprising insulation-bridging components and/or insulation material (comprising 13, 7, 8, Figure 1, 26, 28, 29, 13, Figure 6, 26, 28, 29, 30, 13, Figure 7);
a first low-voltage branch (comprising 20, 22, 23, 17, 18 and 15, signal paths, not labelled, from 16 to 22, 23, 19, Figure 1) galvanically isolated from the high-voltage branch by the insulation (insulation isolating high voltage branch 1 and low voltage branch, Figures 1, 6-7), the low-voltage branch includes:
a plurality of low-voltage lines leading to the high-voltage branch (comprising 15, signal paths, not labelled, from 16 to 22, 23, 19, Figure 1), the plurality of low-voltage lines functionally distinct and includes:
a signal line for transmitting signals from the sensor (comprising signal lines, not labelled from 22, 23 to 16, Figure 1),
an actuation or data line for interfacing with a data source or sink of the high-voltage branch (actuation or data line from 16 to 19, Figure 1); and
a low-voltage supply line, the plurality of low voltage lines operating with signal (comprising 15, Figure 1); and
a voltmeter (comprising 22, 23, Figure 1) connected in a signal-transmitting manner to the at least one low-voltage line and is set up to detect whether an absolute voltage value of the at least one low-voltage line with respect to a ground potential of the vehicle electrical system lies above a voltage limit (22, 23 connected between 5, 6 in 3and ground to transmit detected voltage to ECU 16, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the vehicle electrical system of Schmelzer, an actuation or data line included in the plurality of low-voltage lines such that electronic circuits such as inverter in the high voltage branch can be activated/controlled using low voltage lines.
Regarding Claim 2, combination of Schmelzer and Isaksson discloses the vehicle electrical system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one low-voltage line has a sensor line connected in a signal-transmitting manner to a sensor or a voltage tap of the high-voltage branch or an interlock connection of the high-voltage branch (signal line MG in ST to sensor ME3, Figure 1, Paragraph 63).
Regarding Claim 3, combination of Schmelzer and Isaksson discloses the vehicle electrical system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one low-voltage line has an actuation or data line connected in a signal-transmitting manner to a data source or sink of the high-voltage electrical system (line 2 from LN to ground MA via voltage source SQ that is connected in parallel to voltage divider ST, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 4, combination of Schmelzer and Isaksson discloses the vehicle electrical system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one low-voltage supply line is connected to a component of the high-voltage electrical system (Paragraph 58, “….the device V includes a power terminal SP, via which the device V or a circuit member of the device V is electrically connectable to the positive or the negative power supply line LP, LN of the HV system branch HZ”).
Regarding Claim 6, combination of Schmelzer and Isaksson discloses the vehicle electrical system of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of low-voltage lines are respectively connected via a series resistor to an input of the voltmeter (LN, LP connected via series resistor R1 in ST to an input of ME3, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 7, combination of Schmelzer and Isaksson discloses the vehicle electrical system of Claim 6, wherein the series resistor is connected via a shunt resistor to a ground potential of the vehicle electrical system (series resistor R1 connected via shunt resistor R2 to ground potential MA, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 8, combination of Schmelzer and Isaksson discloses the vehicle electrical system of Claim 1, further comprising:
a fast-turn-off signal switch (comprising SC1, SC2, SC3, Figure 1), wherein an input of the voltmeter is connected in an actuating manner to the fast-turn-off signal switch, or the at least one low-voltage line is connected in a signal-transmitting manner to a control input of the fast-turn-off signal switch, to actuate the fast-turn-off signal switch by the signal which is applied at the input of the voltmeter or at the low-voltage line (actuating circuit, not labelled, providing actuating signal to SC1, Sc2, Sc3 upon determination of electrical leakage in the on-board system BN, Figure 1), wherein the fast-turn-off signal switch is connected between a ground potential or a different reference potential of the vehicle electrical system on one side and a signal connection, which leads to a fast-turn-off unit of the high-voltage electrical system (SC1, Sc2, Sc3, Figure 1, Paragraphs 51, 71, Paragraph 79, “As soon as the insulation resistance R_ISO thus determined undershoots the reference resistance, an electrical leakage in the on-board system BN or between the HV system branch HZ and the rest of the on-board system BN or the electrical ground MA is assumed. Accordingly, the traction battery BT, by the controlled opening of the three contactors Sc1, Sc2, Sc3, is electrically isolated from the HV system branch HZ and the intermediate circuit capacitor Czk is discharged to a charging voltage below 60V, and further appropriate measures are implemented”).
Regarding Claim 9, combination of Schmelzer and Isaksson discloses the vehicle electrical system of Claim 1, wherein the low-voltage branch includes a signaling unit emitting an insulation fault signal when the absolute voltage value is greater than the voltage limit (part of evaluation unit, Figure 1, Paragraphs 76-79).
Regarding Claim 10, combination of Schmelzer and Isaksson discloses the vehicle electrical system of Claim 9, wherein the signaling unit is set up to emit an insulation fault signal when the absolute voltage value is greater than the voltage limit at least over a predetermined debouncing time period (Schmelzer, Paragraphs 72-76, Isaksson, Figure 3, Paragraph 73, ).
Regarding Claim 11, combination of Schmelzer and Isaksson discloses the vehicle electrical system of Claim 1, wherein the voltmeter is an analog-to-digital converter (part of evaluation unit EE, Figure 1, Paragraph 16) having a measurement input and connected in a signal-transmitting manner to the at least one low-voltage line (SE1, SE2, SE3 signals input to EE, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 12, combination of Schmelzer and Isaksson discloses the vehicle electrical system of Claim 1, further comprising: a second low-voltage branch (comprising 1, 2, Figure 1), the at least one low-voltage line extends from the first low-voltage branch into a housing of the second low-voltage branch (1, 2 extends from LP, LN, Figure 1, housing being the block/device V) and the at least one low-voltage line has a tap, via which the voltmeter is connected to the at least one low-voltage line (ME1 connected to tap on LP, LN, Figure 1). combination of Schmelzer and Isaksson does not specifically disclose the tap being located directly on a housing case or a housing inlet of the housing and inside or outside the housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the tap in the combination vehicle electrical system, based on the design conditions such as space, cost and safety of the system.
Regarding Claim 13, combination of Schmelzer and Isaksson discloses the vehicle electrical system of Claim 1, wherein the first low-voltage branch and the high-voltage branch are located in a high-voltage housing which has a low-voltage line connection (both LN, LP in V and LN, LP outside of V in HZ, Figure 1), wherein the at least one low-voltage line has a tap, via which the voltmeter is connected to the at least one low-voltage line, wherein the tap is located in or directly on the low-voltage line connection (ME1 located in V and connected to tap on LP, LN, Figure 1).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmelzer (US 2017/0106754, IDS Document) in view of Isaksson (US 2021/0129675, IDS Document) and Fischer (US 3,617,655).
Regarding Claim 5, combination of Schmelzer and Isaksson discloses the vehicle electrical system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one low-voltage line is connected, in a switchable manner, via a series resistor to an input of the voltmeter (LN, LP connected via series resistor R1 in ST to an input of ME3, Figure 1). Combination of Schmelzer and Isaksson does not specifically disclose a varistor is connected to the series resistor.
Fischer discloses a sensing circuit (Figures 1-2) comprising a resistor (25, Figure 2) and a varistor connected to the resistor (26 connected to 25, Figure 2) and connected to a line conductor (25, 26 connected to 18, Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the combination vehicle electrical system, a varistor as taught by Fischer to suppress transients and limit the current through the series resistor (see Fischer, Column 2, lines 6-13, Claim 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are rendered moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments.
Examiner respectfully notes that Applicant’s arguments, in the Remarks toward 102 rejection (Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11, 13) using Schmelzer reference and the secondary reference Fischer used in the 103 rejection (Claim 5) are directed toward the new limitations Claim 1, and newly applied secondary reference Isaksson is relied upon for the teaching of the limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Baier et al. (US 6,489,782) discloses in Figure 26 an insulation sensing system for a high voltage electrical system comprising a varistor 254 connected to a detection module PMD.
/LUCY M THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 2838, 1/15/2026 /CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838