DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-29 are pending in the instant application.
Priority
This application is a Continuation of PCT/JP22/01617, filed on 1/18/2022 which claims priority to the Japanese application JP2021-005763 filed on 1/18/2021.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 10-18) in the reply filed on 8/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 and 19-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/10/2026.
Applicant elected the following species of Formula (II), shown below:
After further consideration, there is no longer a search burden for the species of reagents described in claims 10-18; thus these other species will be examined.
Claims 10-18
Claims 10-18 are examined herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) dated 7/18/2023, 11/13/2025, 1/15/2026, and 3/25/2026 comply with the provisions of 27 CFR 1.97, 1.98, and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, they have been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Objections to the Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code on pg 16, para 4. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Interpretation
A “bioorthogonal functional group” has been defined as:
“a group that does not react with biological components (e.g., amino acids, proteins, nucleic acids, lipids, sugars, and phosphoric acids) or has a low reaction rate to the biological components but selectively reacts with components other than the biological components” (pg 26, last para). Applicant also cites several exemplary functional groups including: azide, alkyne, aldehyde, alkene, vinyl, allyl, halogen, tetrazine, nitrone, hydroxylamine nitrile, hydrazine, ketone, boronic acid, cyanobenzothiazol, α-halocarbonyl, isonitrile, sydnone, and selenium (pg 28, para 2-pg 30, para 3). The instant specification cites Sharpless (doi: 10.1002/1521-3773(20010601)40:11) and Bertozzi (doi: 10.1126/science.1059820).
A “thiol group-introduced antibody” has been interpreted as broadly encompassing both:
an antibody with engineered cysteine residues (pg 2, para 1). Applicant cites Wagner (WO201500111; instant spec pg 2, para 2) as incorporated by reference, which teaches a method of tagging engineered cysteine residues using 3-arylpropiolonitrile compounds; and
A chemically-modified side chain other than cysteine that includes a thiol functional group ( instant spec pg 2, para 3-4).
Note claim 17 was not listed as a substantial duplicate of claim 18, because claim 17 is drawn to formulas (1)-(12), while claim 18 is drawn to formulas (2)-(12).
The preamble for claim 10 was interpreted as an intended use as it did not materially modify the chemical structures provided in the formulas. MPEP § 2111.02(II) states:
“If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.”
Notice
Applicant is advised that should claim 10 be found allowable, claim 17 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 10,17
In the instant case, claim 10 differs from claim 17 solely in the described intended use in the preamble. However, the preamble fails to supply further structure that modifies the chemical structure described. As such, despite a difference in wording, claims 10 and 17 are substantial duplicates. See the claim interpretation section above.
Objections to the Claims
Claims 10 and 17 contain a list of lists, wherein the major list options need to be separated by semi-colons. Please add semi-colons after each instance of the word “protected” (excluding the last).
Claims 10-11 and 16-18 use the non-standard language “which may be protected”. Please replace all instances of “which may be protected” with “which is optionally protected”.
Claim 15 contains superfluous language and lacks a “wherein” clause. Please replace
“The reagent of claim 10, wherein the divalent group is one group selected from the group consisting of alkylene, arylene, -C(=O)-, -NR2-, -C(=O)-NR2-, -NR2-C(=O)-, -O-, and -(O-R3)m, or the divalent group is a divalent group in which two or more groups selected from the group consisting of alkylene, arylene, -C(=O)-, -NR2-, -C(=O)-NR2-, -NR2-C(=O)-, -0-, and-(O-R3)m are linked, R2 is a hydrogen atom”
with
“The reagent of claim 10, wherein the divalent group is selected from the group consisting of alkylene, arylene, -C(=O)-, -NR2-, -C(=O)-NR2-, -NR2-C(=O)-, -O-, and -(O-R3)m, or a combination thereof; wherein R2 is a hydrogen atom”.
Claims 16 and 18, contain a list of options (1)-(12) that need to be delineated by semi-colons.
Claims 16 and 18, lack the conjunction “and” between items (11) and (12). Please add “and”.
Claim 18, line 2, contains a typo. Please replace “consisiting” with “consisting”.
Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11
Claim 11 is a composition claim that contains methods steps to make something other than the claimed composition. Claim 11 reads:
“The reagent of claim 10, wherein the reagent is a reagent for derivatizing the thiol group-introduced antibody or salt thereof by reacting with a thiol group introduced via a side chain of an amino acid residue other than a cysteine residue in a thiol group-introduced antibody or a salt thereof.”
In essence, claim 11 is a product claim that appears to be reciting a method step of “reacting [the reagent] with a thiol group [on the antibody]” MPEP § 2173.05(p)(II) recites:
“Product and Process in the Same Claim
“A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). In Katz, a claim directed to “[a] system with an interface means for providing automated voice messages…to certain of said individual callers, wherein said certain of said individual callers digitally enter data” was determined to be indefinite because the italicized claim limitation is not directed to the system, but rather to actions of the individual callers, which creates confusion as to when direct infringement occurs. Katz, 639 F.3d at 1318, 97 USPQ2d at 1749 (citing IPXL Holdings v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384, 77 USPQ2d 1140, 1145 (Fed. Cir. 2005)”.
Because a composition claim drawn to the reagent cannot include method steps of using it to make another compound, this claim is rendered indefinite.
Claim 12
Claim 12 is substantially unclear as to what structures are being invoked. Claim 12 appears to be drawn to an antibody comprising a lysine residue, which has been chemically modified to contain a reactive thiol group, wherein said thiol group resides in the heavy chain constant region, wherein a linker is invoked wherein it is unclear what the structures the linker is linking. It is also further unclear what the linker comprises, as the only limitation supplied on its structure is “which does not contain a peptide”. Given this description, one of skill in the art would not be able to (1) identify the linker; (2) determine what defining features it comprises; or (3) determine where it begins and ends. As a result this claim is rendered indefinite. Dependent claim 14 fails to cure these deficiencies, thus is also rendered indefinite.
Claim 14
Claim 14 is drawn to lysine residues that are divided by slashes wherein it is unclear how to meet the limitations of the claim. For example, one artisan may interpret “246/248” as the antibody containing a lysine at either position as sufficient to satisfy the limitations of the claim. Whereas another artisan may interpret this to require a lysine at both positions 246 and 248 in order to satisfy the limitations of the claim. Because it is unclear how this claim should be interpreted, it is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 11-14
Claims 11-14 are drawn to a composition that includes additional components that are not present in parent claim 10. In essence, claims 11-14 are drawn to an antibody drug conjugate, whereas parent claim 10 is drawn to a reagent whose formulae excludes an antibody. Thus claims 11-14 represent an expansion of scope over parent claim 10.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Fu (US10435479).
Claim 10, 17
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Fu teaches the reagent below, which satisfies the satisfies the limitations of formula (IV), reproduced below, wherein Y is a divalent group; and R is a biorthogonal group (col 14, para 1).
MPEP § 2111.02(II) states:
“If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.”
The preamble of claim 10 includes an intended use: “for derivatizing a thiol group-introduced antibody or salt thereof”. However this intended use does not materially modify the structure of the chemical formulas claimed. As a result, this preamble was found non-limiting. Even if this was an intended limitation, Fu teaches their reagent can be conjugated to a reactive thiol group within an IgG antibody (claim 1). Fu also teaches the alkyne moiety (variable R, a.k.a. DBCO) can react with an azide (claim 1).
Claim 11-14
Claims 11-14 are drawn to intended uses of the reagent and refer to antibody structures that are excluded from the formulas presented in parent claim 10 (and also absent from the elected compound of the invention). However, as described in the rejections above, the structure of Fu describes all the structural requirements of the instantly claimed reagent. MPEP § 2112.01(II) states:
“A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.”
Thus the reagent of Fu has the same capacity for reacting with a thiol group on an IgG antibody, wherein the thiol group is generated chemically or present as an available cysteine residue. The reagent of Fu must also inherently possess the property of being compatible with antibodies comprising a lysine residue, located in one or more positions selected from 246/248, 288/290, and 317 (using EU numbering) within the heavy chain of an IgG antibody; wherein said lysine residue has been chemically modified to accommodate a reactive thiol group. Fu verifies these facts: Fu teaches the reagent can be conjugated to a reactive thiol group within an IgG antibody (claim 1). See the 112(b) rejection above regarding these claims.
Claim 15
Regarding claim 15, Fu teaches the divalent group is a combination of -C(=O)-, alkylene, and -NR2C(=O)-; wherein R2 is hydrogen (col 14, para 1), as shown below.
Claim 16, 18
Regarding claims 16 and 18, Fu teaches the reagent below which satisfies the satisfies the limitations of formula (10) reproduced below, wherein m is 2; and R is a biorthogonal group (col 14, para 1).
Relevant Prior Art
Krantz (US9545449) teaches the following reagent, wherein the thiol moiety on a protein performs a nucleophilic substitution with the primary bromide of the reagent shown below (col 15, para 4).
Krantz teaches a protein of formula P-SH is designed to react with the compound above to produce the product shown below (col 16, para 1).
Spidel (US20180044711) teaches modifying antibodies to incorporate lysine residues at positions 228 (para 0019) in order to incorporate DBCO-containing linkers which can be later modified by click reaction (claim 46).
Conclusion
/L.A.E./
Examiner, Art Unit 1675
/JEFFREY STUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1675