DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action addresses claims 1-20. Claims 1-20 were amended but remain rejected under U.S.C. 35 103. Accordingly, this action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,2,3,4,5-8, 10,13-15,16,20 have been amended. The rejections are withdrawn accordingly.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the handle provided on the power supply module” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 has a handle as part of the first structural member but is a protruded handle and is not described as “on the power supply module”. It is unclear if this is the same handle in 4, as in 1 or a different handle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 18-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al. (CN209447901U; hereinafter Su in view of Zeiler et al. (US20210354541 A1; Zeiler hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Su teaches a power supply module assembly (a stacked battery pack (abstract)) comprising at least two power supply modules (group of battery modules, abstract) at least one first structural member (fixing member, abstract), and at least one second structural member (see convex portion 5 and opening groove 6 matching the convex portion in figure 1), wherein the power modules are stacked (see figure 1 below) any two adjacent power supply modules of the at least two power supply modules are limited and/or fixed with each other in at least one direction through a corresponding first structural member of the at least one first structural member (see the connecting member 41 with fasteners 42 in figure 1); the at least two power supply modules are limited and/or fixed with each other in at least one other direction through the at least one second structural members (see convex portion 5 and opening groove 6 matching the convex portion in figure 1); and the at least two power supply modules are limited and/or fixed in three directions through the at least one first structural members together with the at least one second structural members (The convex portion with matched groove limits the movement in the horizontal plane and the fixing rod additionally limits any displacement in the vertical direction). Su discloses a convex portion and a matching opening groove but fails to disclose that the at least one first structural member comprises a slot and a protruded handle. Zeiler discloses a scalable power unit that includes handles which allows the removal of individual battery packs.
Su and Zeiler are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery packs and their fixing structures.
In seeking a battery pack with a simple and easy to install fixing structure that is low cost and includes a handle before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the handle fixing structure discloses by Zeiler to the power supply module assembly disclosed by Su as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known method for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Regarding claim 2, Su teaches stacked power supply module assembly according to claim 1 and discloses a shaft-hole matched fitting structure by disclosing that the transverse cross-sectional shape of the connecting rod is matched with the shape of the base 1 (Fig. 2).
Figure 1: Su figure 2
Figure 2: Zeiler figure 10
Regarding claim 3, modified Su teaches the power supply module assembly according to claim 1, wherein a part, provided on the power supply module, of each of the at least one first structural members a part of the power supply module or a separate structure connected the power supply module (Zeiler figure 10 displays the handle being a part of the power supply module.).
Regarding claim 4, modified Su teaches the stacked power supply module assembly according to claim 1 but fails to disclose that wherein a part of each of the at least one first structural member comprises the handle provided on the power supply module (Zeiler: figure 10, see figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Su discloses the stacked power supply module assembly modules according to claim 1, wherein the at least two power supply modules share all of the at least one second structural (see Su element 41).
Regarding claim 6, Su discloses the stacked power supply module assembly modules according to claim 2, wherein the at least two power supply modules share all of the at least one second structural (see Su element 41).
Regarding claim 7, Su discloses the stacked power supply module assembly modules according to claim 3, wherein the at least two power supply modules share all of the at least one second structural (see Su element 41).
Regarding claim 8, Su discloses the stacked power supply module assembly modules according to claim 4, wherein the at least two power supply modules share all of the at least one second structural (see Su element 41).
Regarding claim 9, Su discloses the power supply module assembly according to claim 5, wherein in a case that the at least two power supply modules share the at least one second structural members, wherein the at least one second structural members is provided at one end or both ends of the power supply modules in a stacking direction, and/or, the at least one second structural members is provided on an outermost or second outermost power supply module of the at least two power supply modules in a stacking direction(see base 1 and connecting rod fixed in the respective opening on the base (Su: fig. 2)).
Regarding claim 10, Su discloses the stacked power supply module according to claim 1 and teaches at least one second structural member that is in a discrete structure interconnected with the corresponding power supply (fixing rod 41 and fixing elements 42) to form one joined battery assembly. Su figure 3 shows one power supply module assembly (see Su figure 3). Su further discloses that the base, the battery module group and the main control module can be connected into a whole through the fixing device, so that the battery pack is integrally fixed (abstract).
Figure 4: Su figure 3
Regarding claim 11, Su discloses the stacked power supply module according to claim 2 and teaches at least one second structural member that is in a discrete structure interconnected with the corresponding power supply (fixing rod 41 and fixing elements 42) to form one joined battery assembly. Su figure 3 shows one power supply module assembly (see Su figure 3). Su further discloses that the base, the battery module group and the main control module can be connected into a whole through the fixing device, so that the battery pack is integrally fixed (abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Su discloses the stacked power supply module according to claim 3 and teaches at least one second structural member that is in a discrete structure interconnected with the corresponding power supply (fixing rod 41 and fixing elements 42) to form one joined battery assembly. Su figure 3 shows one power supply module assembly (see Su figure 3). Su further discloses that the base, the battery module group and the main control module can be connected into a whole through the fixing device, so that the battery pack is integrally fixed (abstract).
Regarding claim 18, Su teaches stacked power supply modules according to claim 3 but fails to disclose connections for energy flow and signal flow and further fails to disclose that the electrical connection is realized by means of hot -plugging or cold-plugging and that the electrical connection is a sequential or spanning connection. Zhang however, in the same field of endeavor namely batteries, discloses hot-plugging males (171) and females (173) as required by the claim (Zhang fig. 3-5) and the hot-plug male and female parts are being connected in stacking direction [0067].
Su and Zhang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely power supply assemblies and their fixing structures.
In seeking an electrically connected battery before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the connections for energy flow per the teachings of Zhang, to battery modules as disclosed by Su and the motivation to do so would have been to improve a similar device with a known technique.
Regarding claim 19, Su teaches stacked power supply modules according to claim 4 but fails to disclose connections for energy flow and signal flow and further fails to disclose that the electrical connection is realized by means of hot -plugging or cold-plugging and that the electrical connection is a sequential or spanning connection. Zhang however, in the same field of endeavor namely batteries, discloses hot-plugging males (171) and females (173) as required by the claim (Zhang fig. 3-5) and the hot-plug male and female parts are being connected in stacking direction [0067].
Su and Zhang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely power supply assemblies and their fixing structures.
In seeking an electrically connected battery before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the connections for energy flow per the teachings of Zhang, to battery modules as disclosed by Su and the motivation to do so would have been to improve a similar device with a known technique.
Regarding claim 20, Su teaches vertically stacked power supply modules (Figures 1 and 2).
Claims 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al. (CN209447901U; hereinafter Su in view of Zeiler et al. (US 20210354541 A1; Zeiler hereinafter) as applied to claim 1/2/3 and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20210218103 A1; hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claims 13, modified Su discloses the stacked power supply module according to claim 1 and discloses that one end of each of the at least one second structural member is connected to a corresponding power supply module (see figure 1, connection rod connected to each battery module) of the at least two power supply modules, and the other end of each of the second structural members is mechanically connected to a support structure (see base plate 1, figure 1); and wherein the support structure is an external structural member (see base plate 1, figure 1).
Modified Su fails to disclose that each of the second structural members are connected to an external structural member or an end wall. Su and Zhang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely batteries and their fastening members.
In seeking fastening members that are easy to remove and install and able to connect a battery assembly to a wall before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the fastening member disclosed by Zhang to the power supply module assembly disclosed by modified Su as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Regarding claim 14, modified Su discloses the stacked power supply module according to claim 2 and discloses that one end of each of the at least one second structural member is connected to a corresponding power supply module (see figure 1, connection rod connected to each battery modules) of the at least two power supply modules, and the other end of each of the second structural members is mechanically connected to a support structure (see base plate 1, figure 1); and wherein the support structure is an external structural member (see base plate 1, figure 1).
Modified Su fails to disclose that each of the second structural members are connected to an external structural member or an end wall. Su and Zhang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely batteries and their fastening members.
In seeking fastening members that are easy to remove and install and able to connect a battery assembly to a wall before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the fastening member disclosed by Zhang to the power supply module assembly disclosed by modified Su as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Regarding claim 15, modified Su teaches the power supply module assembly according to claim 3 and discloses that one end of each of the at least one second structural member is connected to a corresponding power supply module (see figure 1, connection rod connected to each battery modules) of the at least two power supply modules, and the other end of each of the second structural members is mechanically connected to a support structure (see base plate 1, figure 1); and wherein the support structure is an external structural member (see base plate 1, figure 1).
Modified Su fails to disclose that each of the second structural members are connected to an external structural member or an end wall. Su and Zhang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely batteries and their fastening members.
In seeking fastening members that are easy to remove and install and able to connect a battery assembly to a wall before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the fastening member disclosed by Zhang to the power supply module assembly disclosed by modified Su as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Regarding claim 16, Su teaches the power supply module assembly according to claim 1 but fails to disclose connections for energy flow and signal flow and that the electrical connection is realized by means of hot -plugging or cold-plugging and that the electrical connection is a sequential or spanning connection. Zhang however, in the same field of endeavor namely batteries, discloses hot-plugging males (171) and females (173) as required by the claim (Fig. 3-5) and the hot-plug male and female parts are being connected in stacking direction [0067]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the connections for energy flow per the teachings of Zhang, to battery modules as disclosed by Su and the motivation to do so would have been to improve a similar device with a known technique.
Regarding claim 17, Su teaches stacked power supply modules according to claim 2 but fails to disclose connections for energy flow and signal flow and further fails to disclose that the electrical connection is realized by means of hot -plugging or cold-plugging and that the electrical connection is a sequential or spanning connection. Zhang however, in the same field of endeavor namely batteries, discloses hot-plugging males (171) and females (173) as required by the claim (Zhang fig. 3-5) and the hot-plug male and female parts are being connected in stacking direction [0067].
Su and Zhang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely power supply assemblies and their fixing structures.
In seeking an electrically connected battery before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the connections for energy flow per the teachings of Zhang, to battery modules as disclosed by Su and the motivation to do so would have been to improve a similar device with a known technique.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/10/ have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claim 1 has been amended to include “the at least one first structural member comprises a slot and a protruded handle”. Accordingly, the claims are newly rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure:
CN216750120U: Discloses a stacked battery pack and battery cabinet including a handle.
CN115036640A: Discloses a fixing mechanism including a lock rod and hole
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725