DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 09/30/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yuan et al., (US 2018/0133129).
Yuan et al. teaches oral care compositions comprising “from about 0.01% to about 40% peroxysulfate whitening agent and from about 1% to about 99% non-aqueous dispersant” (Abstract). Yuan et al. teaches a specific embodiment below:
(see p. 7, para. [0086]).
Here, the embodiment includes 1% (0.5% MPS) Oxone, which is a triple salt of potassium peroxymonosulfate, as per claims 1-4. It is the only oxidizing agent, as per claim 5, and further includes 23% polyvinyl pyrrolidone, as the water-soluble polymer, as per claim 6, 10% PEG-600 (polyethylene glycol (dispersant; humectant), as per claims 7-10. The embodiment further comprises a thickening agent, which includes polysaccharides, i.e. “carrageenan” (p. 5, para. [0070]), as per claim 11; and a pH modifying agent, which is taught to modify the pH within the range of “about 5 to about 7” (p. 6, para. [0076]), which falls within the pH range recited in claim 12
This embodiment was taught to be in the form of a slurry insofar as Yaun et al. teaches, “Two slurries were used to brush the bovine incisors for 2 minutes under a 250 g force. One slurry contained 2 g of oral composition #1 and 2 g of artificial saliva” (p. 6, para. [0098]). Since artificial saliva is primarily water (>90%; see Technoloogical Background), the slurry is reasonably expected to have greater than 30% water (2g artificial saliva is roughly half the weight of the slurry). Note: Yuan also teaches that the compositions are activated by water (p. 2, para. [0023]; p. 3, [0052] teaching, “the oral composition is activated when exposed to water outside the oral cavity”), as per McLaughlin (above).
The prior art is anticipatory insofar as it teaches an aqueous slurry of 0.01% to 5% MPS, greater than 30% water, 10% to 40% PVP, 0.5 to 10% humectant, i.e. polyethylene glycol 600.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103—Previous
Claim(s) 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al., (US 2018/0133129), as applied to claims 1-12 above.
Yuan et al. which is taught above, differs from claims 13-15 insofar as the formulations are not taught to “consist” of the ingredients recited therein or 60 to 80% water.
As taught above, the formulations of Yuan include Oxone, which is a triple salt of peroxymonosulfate, PVP, and PEG 600. The compositions are also taught to be pH adjusted insofar as Yuan teaches, “MPS is more stable either as a solid or in an non-aqueous formulation, and it is most active as an oxidizing agent (and tooth whitening agent) in an aqueous solution at pH 5-8” (p. 3, para. [0051]). Yuan uses water to activate the formulations (see p. 3, [0052] teaching, “the oral composition is activated when exposed to water outside the oral cavity”).
pH modifying agents are specifically taught at p. 6, para. [0076].
Since the compositions of Yuan only require peroxysulfate (e.g. MPS, Oxone) and a nonaqueous dispersant (see abstract), it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to provide formulations that consist of MPS (Oxone), water (activating agent), PVP, PEG 600, and pH adjusting agent, as per claims 13-14.
Concerning the amount of water, water is taught therein as an activating agent, as well as a dispersant in making a slurry. Again, 2g of oral care composition #1 was combined with 2g artificial saliva to form a slurry. The amount of water here (from the artificial saliva) is reasonably expected to be greater than 30%; however, it is unclear what amount is sufficient to provide a slurry. Given that the function of the slurry was to demonstrate whitening efficacy on teeth, it would have been obvious to optimize a range of water for the slurry. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation" (see MPEP 2144.05 IIA quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (105 USPQ 233)).
The adjustment of particular conventional working conditions of water (e.g., determining result effective amounts of the ingredients beneficially taught by the cited references, especially within the broad ranges instantly claimed), is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Accordingly, this type of modification would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan and no more than an effort to optimize results.
Technological Background
The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Saito et al, (EP 0596675). Saito et al. is pertinent for teaching, “Artificial saliva compositions which contain lysozyme chloride in concentrations of 0.2 to 0.6 % (w/v) effectively surpass the development of oral edema and possess improved feeling of use and show lessened change in appearance and pH value as well as minimized reduction in enzymatic activity of lysozyme chloride after prolonged use” (Abstract).
Saito et al. teaches a specific embodiment of an artificial saliva comprising water Q.S. ~97% below:
(p. 3).
Response to Arguments
i) Applicant argues, that the Yuan fails to teach the inventive claims as amended. Noting that Yuan teaches uses with devices other than a whitening strip, e.g., felt tip, and could not have greater than 30% water in its compositions, as claimed, insofar as the compositions of Yuan are taught to be nonaqueous. Applicant further adds that the compositions of Yuan are taught to be substantially free of liquid ingredients with a high density of hydroxyl groups (p. 10).
However, the instant claims have been amended such that the composition is in the form of a slurry, which would have been obvious insofar as Yan teaches using water to activate the formulations, “the oral composition is activated when exposed to water outside the oral cavity” (p. 2, para. [0023]). Given the need of water for activation, it would have been obvious for the person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a range for water. Moreover, Yuan et al. teaches making a slurry of the inventive formulation, i.e., Oral Care Composition #1, wherein half of the slurry, i.e., 2g, was artificial saliva, which is greater than 90% water. Note: Natural saliva is about 98% to 99.5% water. The artisan would have reasonably expected the slurry to comprise greater than 30% water, as a result of mixing 2g Oral Care Composition #1 with 2g artificial saliva.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Walter E. Webb
/WALTER E WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612