DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 10, 13-15, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Droste (US 8973254 B2 as seen in IDS submitted on 7/18/2023)
Regarding Claim 1, Droste teaches a replacement pack ramp (“The vehicle drives up a ramp” col 1 line 64); a vehicle-mountable battery pack receptacle (“Mount 408 serves to keep charged replacement battery 406 in place as vehicle 100 is propelled or moves through exchange system 400. (i.e., battery pack receptacle is mountable to the vehicle)” col 6 lines 49-52); and a vehicle-mountable replacement pack coupling system (“FIG. 4 depicts an overview of battery exchange system 400” col 6 line 22) structured to be operable to connect a vehicle to a replacement pack positioned on the ramp during movement of the vehicle over the ramp, so that further movement of the vehicle over the ramp after connection to the replacement pack moves the replacement pack up the ramp, the ramp being structured so that movement of the replacement pack up the ramp causes the replacement pack to be positioned in in the receptacle (“The return to the exchange system may be automated such that charged batteries are automatically placed in line for future use within the exchange. For example, if the system has multiple charged batteries, the system may utilize a conveyor-belt, ramp, shuttle or the like that automatically places charged replacement battery 406 on or next to mount 408 within exchange system 400.” Col 9 lines 29-36; Where “Mount 408 may move laterally along exchange and/or alignment plate 402 such that charged replacement battery 406 aligns with approaching vehicle 100 (i.e., moves along the ramp). Mount 408 may drop down into exchange and/or alignment plate 402 once vehicle 100 reaches a certain point (e.g., once charged replacement battery 406 is aligned within housing 102) (i.e., mount moves battery into alignment of receptacle). There may be a mechanical or electrical trigger that causes mount 408 to drop down. Mount 408 may also be designed such that it is lower than the body of vehicle 100 such that it does not interfere as vehicle 100 moves forward on the exchange.” Col 6 line 60- col 7 line 3).
Regarding Claim 3, Droste teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Droste further teaches comprising a vehicle support structure having a first track extending along a first side of the ramp, and a second track extending along a second side of the ramp opposite the first side and parallel to the first track (“The tracks may also include a conveyor belt or other mechanism that propels vehicle 100 through the exchange. The tracks may be designed to allow for multiple sizes and types of vehicles, e.g., multiple tracks of varying width, tracks that expand/contract to align with the wheels of vehicle 100, etc. Vehicle 100 may approach the tracks and once aligned within the tracks, a wheel lock or engagement ensures that vehicle 100 remains aligned through the exchange. Vehicle 100 may be placed in neutral gear or alternatively shut off once it is on or engaged with the tracks.” col 6 lines 37-47 where for example let the first track be the left side track for the car and the second track be the track on the right side of the car, although they could be interchanged (first is right side, second is left side). The first and second tracks are parallel to each other because they line up with the parallel lines of the car wheels which are at a set width for each vehicle and thus held parallel (car won’t get bigger or smaller midway through the tracks so the tracks width apart won’t change), and the tracks are considered opposite each other as the left track is on the left side of the car and ramp and the second track is opposite the first by being on the right side of the car and ramp, therefore opposite sides of the car and ramp.).
Regarding Claim 4, Droste teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Droste further teaches comprising a depleted battery pack discharge portion structured to receive a depleted battery pack released from the pack receptacle (“Exchange system 400 further includes a battery repository 404 (such as a battery pit or depository) which houses the depleted battery as it is being removed from vehicle 100.” Col 6 lines 30-33) and positioned spaced apart from the replacement pack ramp in a direction opposite a direction of travel of the vehicle from the battery pack discharge portion toward the replacement pack ramp (“In this manner, charged replacement battery 406 pushes or forces depleted battery 104 out of the rear of the exchange (i.e., opposite direction of the vehicle movement on the replacement ramp) and into battery repository 404.” Col 6 lines 57-60).
Regarding Claim 10, Droste teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Droste further teaches wherein the pack receptacle includes at least one latching mechanism actuatable between a latched configuration structured to engage the replacement pack when the replacement pack is positioned inside the receptacle to secure the replacement pack inside the receptacle (“In one embodiment, a latching or locking post (not shown; which may be the same as the unlocking or unlatching post described above) pushes latches 106a-d or other latching or locking mechanism back into vehicle 100 so that vehicle 100 now has housing 102 containing charged replacement battery 406 locked into the undercarriage and is ready for further driving.” Col 9 lines 1-7), and an unlatched configuration disengaged from the replacement pack, to enable the replacement pack to drop out of the receptacle (“At 502, vehicle 100 reaches the exchange and/or alignment plate 402 and latches 106a-d (or other latching or locking mechanism) are unlocked. As described above, the latching or locking mechanism can be mechanical, electrical, or a combination of the two. As latches 106a-d are unlocked, depleted battery 104 (which remains in contact with contacts 204a-d of vehicle 100 through contact rails 200a-b and/or 202a-b) swings, slides, or drops down from housing 102 and onto exchange and/or alignment plate 402.” Col 7 lines 20-28).
Regarding Claim 13, Droste teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Droste further teaches wherein the pack receptacle includes at least one battery power contact structured to physically contact a complementary contact positioned on the replacement pack (“Corresponding contacts 204a-d of vehicle 100 are also included. One of skill in the art will also appreciate that differing numbers of vehicle contacts may also be used. An onboard sensor may be included that detects when a battery (such as battery 104) is connected to vehicle 100. A charged replacement battery (discussed below) contains similar or the same contacts to those illustrated in FIG. 3A.” col 5 lines 66- col 6 line 6), to enable power transfer from the replacement pack to the vehicle when the replacement pack is positioned inside the receptacle (“In one embodiment, each of the batteries has side contacts such that when the side contacts of the respective batteries physically contact each other in parallel, charged replacement battery 406 can provide charge to vehicle 100 through depleted battery 104, which in turn is connected to contacts 204a-d of vehicle 100 through top contact rails 200a-b. In another embodiment with top contact rails 200a-b, charged replacement battery 406 begins to provide charge to vehicle 100 as soon as the contact rails of charged replacement battery 406 make physical connection with one or more of corresponding contacts 204a-d of vehicle 100. In this manner, the vehicle is always powered during the exchange process as long as it has not been disabled.” Col 8 lines 9-21).
Regarding Claim 14, Droste teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Droste further teaches wherein the replacement pack coupling system comprises:
a hook structured to engage a complementary feature on the replacement pack to connect the vehicle to the replacement pack (“Top contact rails 200a-b are connected to corresponding contacts 204a-d of housing 102. For example, contacts 204a-b may be aligned along top contact rail 200a and contacts 204c-d may be aligned along top contact rail 200b. Contact rails 200a-b may remain in physical connection with corresponding contacts 204a-d of vehicle 100 during the battery exchange. A variety of configurations and designs of contact rails are possible. Contact rails 200a-b and 202a-b may be strips, channels, grooves (I.e., corresponding contacts would be hooks) or the like on the top/sides of battery 104 that receive and/or securely fit contacts 204a-d within or on top of the respective contact rails.” Col 5 lines 7-17, and “Battery 104 may continue to power vehicle 100 as contacts 204a-d extend down during the unlocking process of housing 102 thereby enabling contacts 204a-d to remain connected to contact rails 200a-b during at least an initial part of the exchange.” Col 5 lines 47-51 where “A charged replacement battery (discussed below) contains similar or the same contacts to those illustrated in FIG. 3A.” Col 6 lines 4-6).; and a hook retention mechanism structured to be actuatable to deploy the hook to an active configuration for connecting the replacement pack to the vehicle, and to secure the hook in an inactive configuration when not in use (“Top contact rails 200a-b are connected to corresponding contacts 204a-d of housing 102. For example, contacts 204a-b may be aligned along top contact rail 200a and contacts 204c-d may be aligned along top contact rail 200b. Contact rails 200a-b may remain in physical connection with corresponding contacts 204a-d of vehicle 100 during the battery exchange. A variety of configurations and designs of contact rails are possible. Contact rails 200a-b and 202a-b may be strips, channels, grooves (I.e., corresponding contacts would be hooks) or the like on the top/sides of battery 104 that receive and/or securely fit contacts 204a-d within or on top of the respective contact rails.” Col 5 lines 7-17, and “Battery 104 may continue to power vehicle 100 as contacts 204a-d extend down during the unlocking process of housing 102 thereby enabling contacts 204a-d to remain connected to contact rails 200a-b during at least an initial part of the exchange.” Col 5 lines 47-51 where “A charged replacement battery (discussed below) contains similar or the same contacts to those illustrated in FIG. 3A.” Col 6 lines 4-6, where Fig 2A shows the contacts 204a-d to be inactive).
Regarding Claim 15, Droste teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Droste further teaches further comprising a vehicle-mountable sensor configured to determine if the replacement battery pack coupling system is engaged with the replacement pack (“The exchange system (i.e., coupling system) may also incorporate onboard sensors of vehicle 100 (e.g., RFID, radar, optical, infrared, etc.) that determine when charged replacement battery 406 is within housing 102.” Col 9 line 7-10; “Vehicle 100 may also incorporate onboard sensors in the form of digital circuitry or similar that sense when contacts of charged replacement battery 406 are connected to corresponding contacts of vehicle 100. Vehicle 100 may also include onboard sensors that can determine whether charged replacement battery 406 includes side and/or top contacts, and adjust accordingly.” Col 8 lines 34-41)
Regarding Claim 17, Droste teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Droste further teaches further comprising a vehicle-mountable sensor configured to determine when the vehicle is in a position suitable for releasing a depleted battery pack from the receptacle (“The unlocking of battery 104 may also occur electronically using onboard digital circuitry of vehicle 100 or other sensor systems that sense when battery 104 is within exchange and/or alignment plate 402. For example, exchange system 400 may incorporate various sensors (e.g., radar, RFID, infrared, optical such as barcodes, and the like). In one embodiment, an RFID transponder senses when vehicle 100 containing an RFID tag is within proximity of exchange system 400. Each of the unlocking mechanisms may be used alone or in conjunction with each other. For example, RFID may be used in conjunction with an unlatch post. In this manner, battery 104 is only unlocked if the RFID of vehicle 100 is sensed by exchange system 400 and vehicle 100 propels over the unlatch post.” Col 7 lines 50-63).
Regarding Claim 18, Droste teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Droste further teaches comprising a vehicle-mountable sensor configured to detect when a replacement pack is positioned inside the receptacle (“The exchange system may also incorporate onboard sensors of vehicle 100 (e.g., RFID, radar, optical, infrared, etc.) that determine when charged replacement battery 406 is within housing 102. When in position, vehicle 100 may power the return of housing 102 into locked position (as shown in FIG. 2A).” col 9 lines 7-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-8, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Droste in view of Agassi et al., (US 8013571 B2) hereinafter Agassi.
Regarding Claim 2, Droste teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Droste further teaches a plurality of rolling elements supported by the frame so as to define a movement plane having a first slope (“The tracks may also include a conveyor belt” col 6 line 37-38, where a conveyor belt has rollers or pulleys (i.e., rolling elements) to support and move the belt along the belt line).
Droste does not teach a ramp frame (Fig. 3 where on the left side there is a ramp frame leading up to the platform and on the right side of platform there is a ramp frame that slopes downhill back to ground level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the ramp as depicted in Agassi to the ramp discussed in Droste for the purpose of changing the height of the material being moved on the ramp. This is advantageous because it allows for less time to install than the below ground swap lane because little or no underground excavation infrastructure is required (e.g., Agassi, col 7 line 66- col 8 line 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Droste teaches the limitations of claim 4.
Droste further teaches wherein the depleted battery pack discharge portion includes a discharge ramp where the depleted battery pack is received from the vehicle (“Depleted battery 104 may also be passed through repository 404 into a separate recharging system connected to repository 404. Once tested and/or recharged, depleted battery 104 is returned to the exchange system for future use (and once charged, effectively becomes charged replacement battery 406). The return to the exchange system may be automated such that charged batteries are automatically placed in line for future use within the exchange. For example, if the system has multiple charged batteries, the system may utilize a conveyor-belt, ramp, shuttle or the like that automatically places charged replacement battery 406 on or next to mount 408 within exchange system 400.” Col 9 lines 24-36)
Ramp to slope downwardly from a location (Fig. 3 where on the right side of the raise platform, the ramp slopes downhill back to ground level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the ramp as depicted in Agassi to the ramp discussed in Droste for the purpose of changing the height of the material being moved on the ramp. This is advantageous because it allows for less time to install than the below ground swap lane because little or no underground excavation infrastructure is required (e.g., Agassi, col 7 line 66- col 8 line 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Droste teaches the limitations of claim 3.
Droste does not teach wherein the replacement pack ramp has a first end and a second end, and wherein the ramp second end is positioned above a level of the first and second tracks.
Agassi teaches wherein the replacement pack ramp has a first end and a second end, and wherein the ramp second end is positioned above a level of the first and second tracks (Fig. 3 where the first end of the ramp (left side at ground level) is positioned below the second end of the ramp (left side at elevated level)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the ramp as depicted in Agassi to the ramp discussed in Droste for the purpose of changing the height of the material being moved on the ramp. This is advantageous because it allows for less time to install than the below ground swap lane because little or no underground excavation infrastructure is required (e.g., Agassi, col 7 line 66- col 8 line 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Droste and Agassi teach the limitation of claim 6.
Droste further teaches wherein the first track includes a first leveled portion extending along the first side of the replacement pack ramp and adjacent the ramp second end, the second track includes a second leveled portion extending along the second side of the replacement pack ramp and adjacent the ramp second end, and wherein the first leveled portion and the second leveled portion are positioned at the same level (“ The tracks may also align vehicle 100 with exchange and/or alignment plate 402. The tracks may also include a conveyor belt or other mechanism that propels vehicle 100 through the exchange. The tracks may be designed to allow for multiple sizes and types of vehicles, e.g., multiple tracks of varying width (i.e., if tracks vary for car widths there are tracks on both sides of the vehicle), tracks that expand/contract to align with the wheels of vehicle 100, etc. Vehicle 100 may approach the tracks and once aligned within the tracks, a wheel lock or engagement ensures that vehicle 100 remains aligned through the exchange. Vehicle 100 may be placed in neutral gear or alternatively shut off once it is on or engaged with the tracks.” col 6 lines 36-47).
Regarding Claim 8, Droste and Agassi teach the limitation of claim 7.
Droste further teaches wherein the first track includes a first vehicle ramp structured to be connectible to the first leveled portion, and the second track includes a second vehicle ramp structured to be connectible to the first leveled portion and positionable opposite the first vehicle ramp (“ The tracks may also align vehicle 100 with exchange and/or alignment plate 402. The tracks may also include a conveyor belt or other mechanism that propels vehicle 100 through the exchange. The tracks may be designed to allow for multiple sizes and types of vehicles, e.g., multiple tracks of varying width (i.e., if tracks vary for car widths there are tracks on both sides of the vehicle), tracks that expand/contract to align with the wheels of vehicle 100, etc. Vehicle 100 may approach the tracks and once aligned within the tracks, a wheel lock or engagement ensures that vehicle 100 remains aligned through the exchange. Vehicle 100 may be placed in neutral gear or alternatively shut off once it is on or engaged with the tracks.” col 6 lines 36-47, where “The vehicle drives up a ramp” col 1 line 64).
Regarding Claim 20, Droste teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Droste does not teach wherein the replacement pack ramp is mounted in a cavity formed in a ground surface along which the vehicle moves.
Agassi teaches wherein the replacement pack ramp is mounted in a cavity formed in a ground surface along which the vehicle moves (“FIG. 4 shows an embodiment of the exchange station 106 having a ground level swap lane 402. In this embodiment, the swapping mechanisms are buried below ground level.” Col 8 line 5-9).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the use of under ground swapping mechanics discussed in Agassi to the battery replacement system discussed in Droste for the purpose of keeping the vehicle on the ground level. This is advantageous because underground swapping may allow for a more user friendly driver experience, where all the motion of the vehicle throughout the station is done at ground level (e.g., Agassi, col 8 lines 8-10).
Claim(s) 9, 11, 12, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Droste in view of Heichal (US 2011/0223459 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Droste teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Droste does not teach one or more processors; and a memory communicably coupled to the one or more processors and storing a battery pack replacement system control module including computer-readable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to: determine that at least one latching mechanism is in one of an unlatched configuration and a latched configuration when it should be in the other of the unlatched configuration and the latched configuration; and generate an alert indicating that the at least one latching mechanism is in an incorrect configuration.
Heichal teaches one or more processors ([0167] “Communication Module (or instructions) 2718 that is used for connecting the battery bay system 2700 to other computers (e.g., other processors of the automobile or other servers at a charging station, exchange station, or control center) via one or more communications interfaces 2706 (e.g., based on a direct connection or based on one or more communications networks, using the network communication interface 2708);”); and a memory communicably coupled to the one or more processors and storing a battery pack replacement system control module including computer-readable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to ([0165] “Memory 2704 of the battery bay system 2700 includes high-speed random access memory, such as DRAM, SRAM, DDR RAM or other random access solid state memory devices; and may include non-volatile memory, such as one or more magnetic disk storage devices, optical disk storage devices, flash memory devices, or other non-volatile solid state storage devices. Memory 2704 may optionally include one or more storage devices remotely located from the CPU(s) 2702. Memory 2704, or alternately the non-volatile memory device(s) within memory 2704, comprises a non-transitory computer readable storage medium for storing information. In some embodiments, memory 2704 or the computer readable storage medium of memory 2704 stores the following programs, modules and data structures, or a subset thereof:”): determine that at least one latching mechanism is in one of an unlatched configuration and a latched configuration when it should be in the other of the unlatched configuration and the latched configuration ([0122] “In some embodiments, the latch lock mechanism 1020 is electrically actuated, and the gear lock 1502 is mechanically activated or vice versa. Activating the two different locks by two separate mechanisms (mechanical and electrical) prevents unauthorized or inadvertent removal of the battery pack 104 from the vehicle 102. Furthermore, in some embodiments, all of the locks are equipped with indicators which indicate possible failure before, during, or after the battery exchange process.”, Where a failure of a lock would be failing to open or shut appropriately, [0131] “ In some embodiments, a latch position indicator is utilized to measure whether the latch 1920 is in an engaged or disengaged position.”); and generate an alert indicating that the at least one latching mechanism is in an incorrect configuration ([0162] “ In some embodiments, communication buses 2714 include circuitry (sometimes called a chipset) that interconnects and controls communications between system components. In some other embodiments, the battery bay system 2700 includes a user interface (not shown) (e.g., a user interface having a touch-sensitive display and/or a voice recognition system) for displaying the status of the battery bay system (i.e., information that there is a failure in the latch would be displayed).” Where [0035] “ the battery bay further comprises a latch position indicator configured to determine an engaged position and a disengaged position of the latch.”; [0122] “In some embodiments, the latch lock mechanism 1020 is electrically actuated, and the gear lock 1502 is mechanically activated or vice versa. Activating the two different locks by two separate mechanisms (mechanical and electrical) prevents unauthorized or inadvertent removal of the battery pack 104 from the vehicle 102. Furthermore, in some embodiments, all of the locks are equipped with indicators which indicate possible failure before, during, or after the battery exchange process.”, Where a failure of a lock would be failing to open or shut appropriately, [0131] “ In some embodiments, a latch position indicator is utilized to measure whether the latch 1920 is in an engaged or disengaged position.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the sensors notifying of a failure as discussed in Heichal to the battery replacement system discussed in Droste for the purpose of knowing if the battery has been properly and safely placed in the vehicle. This is advantageous because it enhances the ability for automation to be successful and safe.
Regarding Claim 11, Droste teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Droste further teaches generate a control signal directing at least one latching mechanism to actuate to an unlatched configuration responsive to an indication from a sensor that the vehicle is in a position suitable for releasing a depleted battery pack from the receptacle (“At 502, vehicle 100 reaches the exchange and/or alignment plate 402 and latches 106a-d (or other latching or locking mechanism) are unlocked. As described above, the latching or locking mechanism can be mechanical, electrical, or a combination of the two. As latches 106a-d are unlocked, depleted battery 104 (which remains in contact with contacts 204a-d of vehicle 100 through contact rails 200a-b and/or 202a-b) swings, slides, or drops down from housing 102 and onto exchange and/or alignment plate 402.” Col 7 lines 20-28, where “For example, exchange system 400 may incorporate various sensors (e.g., radar, RFID, infrared, optical such as barcodes, and the like). In one embodiment, an RFID transponder senses when vehicle 100 containing an RFID tag is within proximity of exchange system 400. Each of the unlocking mechanisms may be used alone or in conjunction with each other. For example, RFID may be used in conjunction with an unlatch post. In this manner, battery 104 is only unlocked if the RFID of vehicle 100 is sensed by exchange system 400 and vehicle 100 propels over the unlatch post.” Col 7 lines 53-63); and generate a control signal directing the at least one latching mechanism to actuate to a latched configuration responsive to an indication from a sensor that the replacement pack has been positioned inside the receptacle (“In one embodiment, a latching or locking post (not shown; which may be the same as the unlocking or unlatching post described above) pushes latches 106a-d or other latching or locking mechanism back into vehicle 100 so that vehicle 100 now has housing 102 containing charged replacement battery 406 locked into the undercarriage and is ready for further driving.” Col 9 lines 1-7, where “The exchange system may also incorporate onboard sensors of vehicle 100 (e.g., RFID, radar, optical, infrared, etc.) that determine when charged replacement battery 406 is within housing 102.” Col 9 lines 7-10).
Droste does not teach one or more processors, and a memory communicably coupled to the one or more processors and storing a pack replacement system control module including computer-readable instructions.
Heichal teaches one or more processors ([0167] “Communication Module (or instructions) 2718 that is used for connecting the battery bay system 2700 to other computers (e.g., other processors of the automobile or other servers at a charging station, exchange station, or control center) via one or more communications interfaces 2706 (e.g., based on a direct connection or based on one or more communications networks, using the network communication interface 2708);”); and a memory communicably coupled to the one or more processors and storing a pack replacement system control module including computer-readable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to ([0165] “Memory 2704 of the battery bay system 2700 includes high-speed random access memory, such as DRAM, SRAM, DDR RAM or other random access solid state memory devices; and may include non-volatile memory, such as one or more magnetic disk storage devices, optical disk storage devices, flash memory devices, or other non-volatile solid state storage devices. Memory 2704 may optionally include one or more storage devices remotely located from the CPU(s) 2702. Memory 2704, or alternately the non-volatile memory device(s) within memory 2704, comprises a non-transitory computer readable storage medium for storing information. In some embodiments, memory 2704 or the computer readable storage medium of memory 2704 stores the following programs, modules and data structures, or a subset thereof:”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the processors and memory as discussed in Heichal to the battery replacement system discussed in Droste for the purpose of automating the battery replacement process. This is advantageous because it would speed up the time and lower the manpower and human skill required to change the batteries.
Regarding Claim 12, Droste and Heichal teach the limitations of claim 11.
Droste does not teach wherein the pack replacement system control module further includes computer-readable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to: determine that a depleted battery pack remains positioned in the receptacle after generation of a control command directing at least one latching mechanism to actuate to the unlatched configuration; and generate an alert indicating that the depleted battery pack remains positioned in the receptacle.
Heichal teaches wherein the pack replacement system control module further includes computer-readable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to ([0165] “Memory 2704 of the battery bay system 2700 includes high-speed random access memory, such as DRAM, SRAM, DDR RAM or other random access solid state memory devices; and may include non-volatile memory, such as one or more magnetic disk storage devices, optical disk storage devices, flash memory devices, or other non-volatile solid state storage devices. Memory 2704 may optionally include one or more storage devices remotely located from the CPU(s) 2702. Memory 2704, or alternately the non-volatile memory device(s) within memory 2704, comprises a non-transitory computer readable storage medium for storing information. In some embodiments, memory 2704 or the computer readable storage medium of memory 2704 stores the following programs, modules and data structures, or a subset thereof:”): determine that a depleted battery pack remains positioned in the receptacle after generation of a control command directing at least one latching mechanism to actuate to the unlatched configuration ([0122] “In some embodiments, the latch lock mechanism 1020 is electrically actuated, and the gear lock 1502 is mechanically activated or vice versa. Activating the two different locks by two separate mechanisms (mechanical and electrical) prevents unauthorized or inadvertent removal of the battery pack 104 from the vehicle 102. Furthermore, in some embodiments, all of the locks are equipped with indicators which indicate possible failure before, during, or after the battery exchange process.”, Where a failure of a lock would be failing to open or shut appropriately, [0131] “In some embodiments, a latch position indicator is utilized to measure whether the latch 1920 is in an engaged or disengaged position.” And [0131] “position indicators allow the battery pack 104 to be precisely monitored and positioned inside the battery bay 108 in six different degrees of freedom” where a failure to unlatch would leave the battery in the car and the position sensors would indicate that). ; and generate an alert indicating that the depleted battery pack remains positioned in the receptacle ([0162] “ In some embodiments, communication buses 2714 include circuitry (sometimes called a chipset) that interconnects and controls communications between system components. In some other embodiments, the battery bay system 2700 includes a user interface (not shown) (e.g., a user interface having a touch-sensitive display and/or a voice recognition system) for displaying the status of the battery bay system (i.e., information that there is a failure in unlatching and thus battery is still there would be displayed).” Where [0131] “position indicators allow the battery pack 104 to be precisely monitored and positioned inside the battery bay 108 in six different degrees of freedom”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the sensors notifying of a failure as discussed in Heichal to the battery replacement system discussed in Droste for the purpose of knowing if the battery has been properly and safely placed in the vehicle. This is advantageous because it enhances the ability for automation to be successful and safe.
Regarding Claim 16, Droste teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Droste further teaches the limitations of control operation of the replacement pack coupling system to deploy a hook of the coupling system to an active configuration for connecting the replacement pack to the vehicle (“Top contact rails 200a-b are connected to corresponding contacts 204a-d of housing 102. For example, contacts 204a-b may be aligned along top contact rail 200a and contacts 204c-d may be aligned along top contact rail 200b. Contact rails 200a-b may remain in physical connection with corresponding contacts 204a-d of vehicle 100 during the battery exchange. A variety of configurations and designs of contact rails are possible. Contact rails 200a-b and 202a-b may be strips, channels, grooves (I.e., corresponding contacts would be hooks) or the like on the top/sides of battery 104 that receive and/or securely fit contacts 204a-d within or on top of the respective contact rails.” Col 5 lines 7-17, and “Battery 104 may continue to power vehicle 100 as contacts 204a-d extend down during the unlocking process of housing 102 thereby enabling contacts 204a-d to remain connected to contact rails 200a-b during at least an initial part of the exchange.” Col 5 lines 47-51 where “A charged replacement battery (discussed below) contains similar or the same contacts to those illustrated in FIG. 3A.” Col 6 lines 4-6, where the contacts would work in reverse for the replacement battery, they would start extended (active) and end retracted (inactive)), responsive to an indication from a sensor that a battery pack has been released from the receptacle (“The exchange system may also incorporate onboard sensors of vehicle 100 (e.g., RFID, radar, optical, infrared, etc.) that determine when charged replacement battery 406 is within housing 102.” Col 9 lines 7-10).
Droste does not teach one or more processors, and a memory communicably coupled to the one or more processors and storing a pack replacement system control module including computer-readable instructions.
Heichal teaches one or more processors ([0167] “Communication Module (or instructions) 2718 that is used for connecting the battery bay system 2700 to other computers (e.g., other processors of the automobile or other servers at a charging station, exchange station, or control center) via one or more communications interfaces 2706 (e.g., based on a direct connection or based on one or more communications networks, using the network communication interface 2708);”); and a memory communicably coupled to the one or more processors and storing a pack replacement system control module including computer-readable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to ([0165] “Memory 2704 of the battery bay system 2700 includes high-speed random access memory, such as DRAM, SRAM, DDR RAM or other random access solid state memory devices; and may include non-volatile memory, such as one or more magnetic disk storage devices, optical disk storage devices, flash memory devices, or other non-volatile solid state storage devices. Memory 2704 may optionally include one or more storage devices remotely located from the CPU(s) 2702. Memory 2704, or alternately the non-volatile memory device(s) within memory 2704, comprises a non-transitory computer readable storage medium for storing information. In some embodiments, memory 2704 or the computer readable storage medium of memory 2704 stores the following programs, modules and data structures, or a subset thereof:”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the processors and memory as discussed in Heichal to the battery replacement system discussed in Droste for the purpose of automating the battery replacement process. This is advantageous because it would speed up the time and lower the manpower and human skill required to change the batteries.
Regarding Claim 19, Droste teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Droste does not teach further comprising a vehicle-mountable sensor configured to detect a latched configuration and/or an unlatched configuration of the at least one latching mechanism
Heichal teaches further comprising a vehicle-mountable sensor configured to detect a latched configuration and/or an unlatched configuration of the at least one latching mechanism ([0035] “ the battery bay further comprises a latch position indicator configured to determine an engaged position and a disengaged position of the latch.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the sensors notifying of a latch state as discussed in Heichal to the battery replacement system discussed in Droste for the purpose of knowing if the battery has been properly and safely placed in the vehicle. This is advantageous because it enhances the ability for automation to be successful and safe.
Conclusion
/EMMA ALEXANDER/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2863
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863