DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claim language of claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
The applicant argues that the prior art “does not satisfy the "plurality of strip-shaped circumferential cooling sheets "and" plurality of strip-shaped axial cooling sheets" as recited in previous claim 1.”” This argument is not persuasive because Overweg clearly teaches parallel and perpendicular strip shaped cooling sheets, as shown in figure 2, that meet the claim limitations of axial and circumferential cooling sheets of claim 1.
The applicant further argues that “Overweg does not disclose or suggest that one of the conductor layer 101 and the isolator layer 201 is arrayed each with an interval along a circumferential direction of a superconducting coil, and the other of the conductor layer 101 and the isolator layer 201 is arrayed each with an interval along an axial direction of the superconducting coil, as recited in claim 1.” This argument is not persuasive because Overweg was not used on its own, but in combination with existing prior art discussed in the application. Overweg teaches two perpendicularly extending layers that, in combination with AAPA, meet the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA (conventional device discussed in paragraphs 3-4 of the disclosure) in view of Overweg (US 10794973) and Huang et al. (US 8903465).
In re claim 1, paragraphs 3-4 (AAPA) disclose a superconducting electromagnet device comprising: a superconducting coil for generating a magnetic field; a cooling mechanism for cooling the superconducting coil; a radiation shield housing the superconducting coil thereinside to prevent heat intrusion from the outside; and a vacuum vessel for vacuum insulation which houses the radiation shield. AAPA does not disclose the claimed details of the circumferential and axial cooling units, or the cooling units being adhered directly to the coil. Overweg however, in figures 1-4, discloses a cooling mechanism having a circumferential cooling unit having a plurality of strip-shaped circumferential cooling sheets (one of 101 or 201; see figure 2 for best detail) arrayed each with an interval along a circumferential direction of the superconducting coil; and an axial cooling unit having a plurality of strip-shaped axial cooling sheets (another one of 101 or 201; see figure 2 for best detail) arrayed each with an interval along an axial direction of the superconducting coil. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adapted strip shaped structure of the cooling unit as taught by Overweg to the device of AAPA in order to provide cooling while improving eddy current resistance (as discussed by Overweg throughout the disclosure, including the abstract). Huang teaches a similar device having a cooling unit (22) that can be made of strip shaped cooling sheets and is directly adhered to the coil (with epoxy, see column 5, lines 6-7). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adhered one of the cooling units of AAPA/Overweg directly to the superconducting coil as taught by Huang to provide a more secure connection between the cooling units and the superconducting coil.
In re claim 7, AAPA modified by Overweg discloses that the circumferential cooling unit is disposed at a position nearer to the superconducting coil than the axial cooling unit (any configuration of the cooling unit positioning would have been an obvious matter of design choice).
In re claim 8, AAPA modified by Overweg discloses that an insulating sheet (103 in Overweg) is disposed between the circumferential cooling sheet and the axial cooling sheet.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alexander Talpalatski/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837