DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention group I, claims 1-10 and 26, in the reply filed on 02/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/04/2026.
Applicants further elected Nylon 11 as specific filament and acid orange 50 as specific ligand. Claims 1-10 and 26 read on the elected species and are under examination.
Claims 1-26 are pending and claims 1-10 and 26 are under examination.
Priority
Acknowledge is made for priority from US provisional application 63/376,203, filed on 09/19/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/02/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
For compact prosecution purpose, additional species nylon filaments and reactive dyes are also examined.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-10 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Cornero et al. (US20210198308).
The limitation of claims 1-3 and 5 are met by Cornero et al. disclosing a substrate (which is nylon filaments) functionalized with reactive dyes (claims 1 and 5-6).
Regarding claims 7-10, this is regarded as inherency of prior art composition. MPEP 2112.01 II, "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. MPEP 2112 I, "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 26, “an instruction material” is not limiting. Where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862, 1864 (Fed. Cir. 2004). "Where the printed matter is not functionally related to the substrate, the printed matter will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability….[T]he critical question is whether there exists any new and unobvious functional relationship between the printed matter and the substrate." ); In re Miller, 418 F.2d 1392, 1396 (CCPA 1969). MPEP 2112.01. III.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (US12516471) in view of Koenig et al. (US4082506).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Anderson et al. teaches methods of continuously imparting a desired characteristic, optionally color, to a linear polymeric substrate with reliability and reproducibility. According to some aspects, a method of continuously bonding an active agent to or into a polymeric substrate may include contacting an active agent solution with a polymeric substrate. Contacting the active agent solution with the polymeric substrate may occur at a treatment temperature and for a treatment time (abstract). n some aspects, an active agent is suitable to impart color or a change in color to the linear substrate. In some aspects, the active agent is a dye. The dye used to form a colored linear polymer according to particular aspects is optionally an acid dye. An acid dye is optionally an anthraquinone acid dye, an azo acid dye, a triphenylmethane acid dye, or a premetallized acid dye. Illustrative examples of acid dyes include Acid Blue #60, Acid Blue #260 (Blue RL), Acid Blue #9 (Blue FG, CAS #2650-18-2), Acid Blue #25 (Blue GR, CAS #006408-78-2), Acid Blue 1 (CAS #129-17-9), Acid Red #151 ((5Z)-5-[(2-methoxy-5-methyl-4-sulfonatopheny)hydrazinylidene]-6-oxonaphthalene-2-sulfonate), Acid Red #407 (Red 407, CAS #146103-68-6, i.e., Rubine S3G), Acid Red #337, Acid Red #151 (CAS 6406-56-0), Mordant Red 7 (CAS 3618-63-1), Acid Red #1 (i.e., Acid Red G; azophloxine), Acid Red #87 (CAS 548-26-5), Acid Black #2, Acid Yellow #23, Acid Yellow #43 (i.e., Yellow R), Acid Yellow #36 (3-((4-(phenylamino)phenyl)azo)-benzenesulfonicacimonosodium salt), Acid Yellow #232 (CAS 134687-50-6), Acid Orange #144 (i.e., Orange SR 125%; CAS #72797-02-5), Acid Orange #7 (Fast Orange YA, CAS #633-96-5), Acid Black #107 (CAS 12218-96-1), Acid Green 25 (Green G, CAS #4403-90-1), Acid Green 3 (CAS #4680-78-8), Acid Violet #90 (trisodium bis[4-[(4,5-dihydro-3-methyl-5-oxo-1-phenyl-1H-pyrazol-4-yl)azo]-3-hydroxynaphthalene-1-sulphonato(3-)]chromate(3-)), and Acid Violet #17 (i.e., 3-[[4-[[4-(diethylamino)phenyl]-4-[ethyl-[(3-sulfonatophenyl)methyl]azaniumylidene]cyclohexa-2,5-dien-1-ylidene]methyl]-N-ehtylanilino]methyl]benzenesulfonate; Violet Crude, CAS #61916-41-4 (Column 7, line 26-58). A substrate optionally includes or is an outer layer that includes one or more polyamide polymeric materials. Exemplary illustrative examples of a polymeric material include polyamides. In particular aspects, the polymeric material is a polyamide known as nylon. In some particular aspects, the polymeric material is or includes a polyamide. Optionally, a polymer is a homopolymer, a copolymer or a reinforced polymer as long as the polymer includes one or more polyamides. Illustrative examples of a polyamide include nylon 6 nylon 66, nylon 6/6-6, nylon 6/9, nylon 6/10, nylon 6/12, nylon 11, nylon 12, among others, or any combination thereof (column 8, line 20-33). The systems and methods described herein may be used to impart color or other desired physical or chemical characteristic into a linear polymeric substrate by a process that may include bonding an active agent to or into a linear substrate at a treatment temperature. In some aspects, the treatment time is sufficient to enable the active agent(s) to infuse into the surface or penetrate the surface of the linear polymeric material to a depth of less than 1 millimeter. In some aspects, the treatment time is sufficient to enable the active agents to infuse to the surface or penetrate the surface of the linear polymeric material to a depth of less than 200 microns. Accordingly, in some aspects, the active agents penetrate the surface of the linear polymeric material from 1 micron to 1 millimeter, from 5 microns to 500 microns, from 10 microns to 250 microns, or from 20 microns to 200 microns. In other aspects, the active agents bind to the surface of the linear polymeric substrate, optionally through covalent bonding, hydrogen bonding, ionic bonding, by van der Walls interactions, or combinations thereof (column 11, line 48-67).
Koenig et al. teaches A formulation for use in the printing of fabrics or carpets comprising a thickener such as hydroxyalkyl cellulose, an ethylene oxide adduct of a mixture of C11 to C15 linear secondary alcohols, a dyestuff and water (abstract). he dyestuffs most frequently used and preferred are the acid or metalized dyes; many of these are known and commercially available and an extensive enumeration thereof is not necessary for one skilled in the art to clearly understand and reproduce the herein claimed invention. Nevertheless, the following specific dyestuffs are identified as suitable for use in this invention, Acid Yellow 151 (C.I. 13906), Acid Orange 60 (C.I. i8732), Acid Orange 50 (C.I. 13150), Acid Red 151 (C.I. 26900), Acid Red 114 (C.I. 23635), Acid Violet 11 (C.I. 17060), Acid Blue 25 (C.I. 62055), Acid Blue 27 (C.I. 61530), Acid Blue 40 (C.I. 62125), Acid Black 52 (C.I. 15711). Any of the known dyes known to be suitable can be used, the above is merely an illustration of a limited number of the most frequently used dyes (column 2, line 15-34). Compositions of this invention were shown to have several advantages. Among the obvious improvements were that dye compatibility, defoaming and screen release were noted. It was also noted that at low pH value, from about 2 to 5, acid dyes showed less of a tendency to precipitate out of the composition. In addition, in the dyeing of nylon substrates, the composition appears to produce clearer and sharper dye prints (column 2, line 57-66).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Anderson et al. is that Anderson et al. do not expressly teach Acid orange 50. This deficiency in Anderson et al. is cured by the teachings of Koenig et al.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Anderson et al., as suggested by Koenig et al., and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to replace Acid orange 50 for Acid red 151 as dye for Nylon 11 in the composition of Anderson et al. because this is simple substitution of one known dye for another to obtain predictable results. MPEP 2143, it is prima facie obviousness for simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Under guidance from Koenig et al. teaching Acid orange 50 is alternative dye to Acid red 151 for dyeing Nylon, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace Acid orange 50 for Acid red 151 as dye for Nylon 11 and produce instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 1-6, Prior art teaches Nylon 11 treated with Acid orange 50 to impart color or other desired physical or chemical characteristic into a linear polymeric substrate Nylon 11 so Nylon 11 is functionalized with Acid orange 50.
Regarding claims 7-10, this is regarded as inherency of prior art composition. MPEP 2112.01 II, "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. MPEP 2112 I, "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 26, “an instruction material” is not limiting. Where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862, 1864 (Fed. Cir. 2004). "Where the printed matter is not functionally related to the substrate, the printed matter will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability….[T]he critical question is whether there exists any new and unobvious functional relationship between the printed matter and the substrate." ); In re Miller, 418 F.2d 1392, 1396 (CCPA 1969). MPEP 2112.01. III.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-3, 5, 7-10 and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1of U.S. Patent No. 6251516. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches a dye on active substrate (nylon) for capture microdissection (claims 1, 6 and 10), thus, nylon is functionalized with dye. Claims 7-10 are regarded as inherency and instruction material in claim 26 is not limiting, it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention.
Claims 1-3, 7-10 and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11912740 in view of Cornero et al. (US20210198308). The reference teaches substrate functionalized with reactive dye, in view of Cornero et al. teaching substrate comprising nylon, claims 7-10 are regarded as inherency and instruction material in claim 26 is not limiting, it is obvious to have substrate comprising nylon functionalized with reactive dye and produce applicant’s claimed invention.
Claims 1-4, 7-10 and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13, 17 and 20 of copending Application No. 18953424 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application teaches dye bound to nylon-6, claims 7-10 are regarded as inherency and instruction material in claim 26 is not limiting, it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 5-10 and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13, 16, 18-20 of copending Application No. 118406908 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application teaches dye (Acid orange 50) bound to nylon filament, claims 7-10 are regarded as inherency and instruction material in claim 26 is not limiting, it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JIANFENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613