DETAILED ACTION
Claims 17-22 withdrawn
Claims 1-16 pending and elected
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 03/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gallagher (PG Pub 2004/0137728 A1).
Consider Claim 1, Gallagher teaches the process of gap filling (abstract), teaches the process of filling the gaps within pattern using sacrificial materials (20) (fig. 1A-1B), where the sacrificial material is made from cross-linked polymer composition [0008]. Gallagher teaches the cross-linking polymer composition include monomer and cross-linking agents [0021], where the monomer (a second monomer) include alkyl methacrylate [0021], and the cross-linking agent include glycidyl methacrylate [0035], as crosslinking monomer. Gallagher teaches the process of applying gap-filling composition (cross-linking polymer composition) followed by curing step [0010], then the process of depositing a porous overlayer on the sacrificial layer (20) ([0010], fig 1-1C) as an additional semiconductor processing step, then the step of removing of the sacrificial layer ([0010], figure 1D) by heating to a decomposition temperature [0067].
Consider Claim 3, Gallagher teaches the decomposition temperature is from 150-450℃ [0067], for a duration of 60 min [0082].
Consider Claim 4, Gallagher teaches the complete (100%) removal of the sacrificial layer (20), as the cross-linked polymer composition (fig. 1D).
Consider Claim 5, Gallagher teaches the additional semiconductor process include the coating of porous overlayer (60) as photoresist layer (fig. 4B), then the patterning in figure 4D.
Consider Claim 6, Gallagher teaches the patterning process for forming micro-electronic device [0019].
Consider Claims 7-8, Gallagher teaches the additional semiconductor process include the copper barrier layer (41) as support layer prior to deposition the porous overlayer/as photoresist layer [0070], and the step of removal of the sacrificial layer forming air-gap (36) (fig. 3, [0070]).
Consider Claims 10-12, Gallagher teaches the cross-linking polymer composition include monomer and cross-linking agents [0021], where the monomer (a second monomer) include alkyl methacrylate [0021], and the cross-linking agent include glycidyl methacrylate [0035], as crosslinking monomer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallagher (PG Pub 2004/0137728 A1).
Consider Claim 3, Gallagher teaches the decomposition temperature is from 150-450℃ [0067], for a duration of 60 min [0082]. In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 2, 9, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallagher (PG Pub 2004/0137728 A1) in view of Park (PG Pub 2015/0132921 A1).
Consider Claims 2, 9 and 15-16, Gallagher teaches the previously disclosed in claim 1, including the using of heating for curing [0038], [0067].
Gallagher does not teach the claimed curing temperature.
However, Park is in the prior art of gap filling process (abstract), teaches the cross-linking process using 200-300℃ [0043], using gap filling composition comprising crosslinking polymer [0014], where the crosslinking polymer include alkyl acrylate [0016], and where the crosslinking polymer process is performed using reversible addition fragmentation chain transfer (RAFT) polymerization [0030], and within gap with aspect ratio of 2 or more and gap width of 1-50 nm [0040]. In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention would combine Gallagher with Park to provide with a process of manufacture of semiconductor devices for the filling of high aspect ratio gaps [0006], such as electronic devices [0002].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Mohammad Mayy/
Art Unit 1718
/GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718