DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 01/07/26. Examiner acknowledged that claims 12 and 17 are amended. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/29/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/07/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claims 12 and 17, applicant argues in (p.6 of the Remarks) that Shiotsu does not disclose a trap-based dual-band antenna.
Examiner disagrees because Shiotsu teaches a trap (Fig. 6: 652) tuning the frequencies to allow the antenna to have the frequency ranges f(1)-f(4), f(5)-f(8), f(9)-f(13) also in Fig. 5: f(1)-f(4), f(5)-f(8), f(9)-f(13). Thus, Shiotsu teaches a trap or tuner based dual-band antenna. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 12 in view of Shiotsu is maintained.
Additionally, the “trap” in (Fig. 2: 28) of the instant application essentially contains inductors and capacitor which is the same components of (Fig. 6: 652) in the prior art. Since the components are the same, it would generate the first and second frequencies as claimed. However, applicant may claim generating both frequencies simultaneously if there is support in the specification in order to overcome the prior art as mentioned in the remark on p.6.
Claim 13 is rejected as it depends on claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiotsu (US 2004/0041734).
Regarding Claim 12, Shiotsu teaches a dual band inverted-F antenna ([0011] “an antenna apparatus includes an inverted-F antenna”) comprising: a planar inverted-F antenna (Fig. 6: 502, 506, 508, 510); and a trap (Fig. 6: 652) configured to provide the antenna with both a first frequency band (Fig. 10: 833 Mhz) and a second frequency band (Fig. 10: 938 Mhz); wherein the first frequency band is separated from the second frequency band by less than 100 MHz (Fig. 10: the bands overlap making it less than 100 Mhz separation).
Regarding Claim 13, Shiotsu teaches the dual band inverted-F antenna of claim 12, wherein the first frequency band includes 865-870 MHz and the second frequency band includes 902-928 MHz (Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 17, Shiotsu teaches a dual band inverted-F antenna ([0011] “an antenna apparatus includes an inverted-F antenna”) comprising: a planar inverted-F antenna (Fig. 6: 502, 506, 508, 510); and a trap (Fig. 6: 652) configured to provide the antenna with both a first frequency band (Fig. 10: 833 Mhz) and a second frequency band (Fig. 10: 938 Mhz); and the first frequency band includes 865-870 MHz and the second frequency band includes 905-925 MHz (Fig. 10: the bands ranges of 833 and 938 contains these different ranges).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1-11 are allowed.
The primary reasons for allowance of the claims 1-11 are due to the inclusion of the following limitations after a comprehensive search of the prior art:
"…a third antenna element formed by the first conductive layer, the third antenna element is spaced from the second leg of the first antenna element by a gap and positioned along the length of the second leg proximal of the distal end of the second leg but distal of the first connection point…" and in combination with the remaining claimed limitations as claimed in the claim(s), i.e., claim 1, (claims 2-11 are allowed as being dependent on claim 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Henry Luong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844