Status of Claims
This action is in response to applicant arguments filled on 08/24/2026 for application 18354502.
Claims 17-21 and 23-31 have been canceled.
Claims 1-16, 22 and 32 are currently pending and have been examined.
Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-16, 22 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enzinna et al. (US 2019/0287381 A1) in view of Prakash et al. (US 2014/0004825 A1)
As per claim 1, Enzinna teaches a nurse call system (Fig. 2-3 and Para 24-25 wherein a pillow speaker system 10 connects to nurse call station 90), comprising: a patient hub (Fig. 2-3 and Para. 24 wherein hub 20 communicates with both nurse call audio port 22 and PID 12), comprising:
a nurse call interface circuit configured to be in electronic communication with a nurse call patient station (Fig. 2-3, Para. 24-25, 29, and 31 wherein port 22 and its circuitry communicates electrically with station 90. Fig. 2 identifies the connected component as the patient station); and
a hub controller in electronic communication with the nurse call interface circuit; and a patient interaction device ("PID") (Para. 24 and 25 and Fig. 2 and Para. 23 taches PIDS 12 which may be a tablet or a smartphone), comprising:
a hub interconnect configured to be in electronic communication with the hub controller (Fig. 2 and Para. 24-25 wherein the PID side USB connection communicates with the hub 20 and carries the hub generated digital nurse call indicator. ); and
Enzinna does not explicitly teach however Prakash teaches:
a communication link for receiving a PID software update (Fig.2 and Para. 28 wherein receiving software update thought wireless communication is taught.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Enzinna patient interaction device to include a communication link for receiving software updates as taught in Prakash. Such modification would permit updates to the PID software to be delivered remotely. Applying Prakash software update technique to Enzinna’s processor based PID would predictably enable the PID to receive update software through the communication link.
As per claim 2, Enzinna in view of Prakash teach the nurse call system of claim 1. Enzinna does not explicitly teach however Prakash teaches, wherein the PID software update is a PID firmware update (Para. 12 and 30 wherein software updates including firmware is taught. See also Fig. 3). The motivation to combine references is the same as seen in claim 1.
As per claim 3, Enzinna in view of Prakash teach the nurse call system of claim 1. Enzinna does not explicitly teach however Prakash teaches the nurse call system of claim 1, wherein the PID software update is a PID operating system update (Para. 12 securely updating software including operating system on a device is taught). The motivation to combine references is the same as seen in claim 1.
As per claim 4, Enzinna in view of Prakash teach the nurse call system of claim 1. Enzinna does not explicitly teach however Prakash teaches nurse call system of claim 1, wherein the PID further comprises a PID memory unit, and the PID is configured to load the PID software update into the PID memory unit (Para. 32-33). The motivation to combine references is the same as seen in claim 1.
As per claim 5, Enzinna in view of Prakash teach the nurse call system of claim 1. Enzinna does not explicitly teach however Prakash teaches the nurse call system of claim 4, wherein the PID is configured to load the PID software update into the PID memory unit only if the PID software update has been verified as genuine (Para. 30-31 and Fig. 4 wherein digital signature to verify update integrity and trusted sources is taught). The motivation to combine references is the same as seen in claim 1.
As per claim 6, Enzinna teaches the nurse call system of claim 4. Enzinna does not explicitly teach however Prakash teaches the nurse call system of claim 4, wherein the PID further comprises a PID memory recovery module configured to load a previous PID software version into the PID memory unit if the PID software update fails to load. (Para. 44-45 and fig. 4). The motivation to combine references is the same as seen in claim 1.
As per claim 7, Enzinna teaches the nurse call system of claim 4. Enzinna does not explicitly teach however Prakash teaches the nurse call system of claim 4, wherein the PID is configured to produce a confirmation sound when the PID software update is successfully programmed into the PID memory unit. (Para. 23 and Fig. 2). The motivation to combine references is the same as seen in claim 1.
As per claim 8, Enzinna teaches the nurse call system of claim 7, wherein the confirmation sound is produced by an audio speaker (Para. 23 and Fig. 2).
As per claim 9, Enzinna teaches the nurse call system of claim 4. Enzinna does not explicitly teach however Prakash teaches nurse call system of claim 4, wherein the PID is configured to produce a confirmation notice when the PID software update is successfully programmed into the PID memory unit (Para. 23). The motivation to combine references is the same as seen in claim 6.
As per claim 10, Enzinna teaches the nurse call system of claim 4. Enzinna does not explicitly teach however Prakash teaches teaches the nurse call system of claim 9, wherein the confirmation notice is shown by a display screen (Para. 32, 23, and Fig. 5). The motivation to combine references is the same as seen in claim 6.
As per claim 11, Enzinna teaches the nurse call system of claim 1, wherein the PID is a pillow speaker (Para. 38).
As per claim 12, Enzinna teaches the nurse call system of claim 1, wherein the PID is further configured to receive a hub software update received via the communication link, and to transmit the hub software update to the hub controller via the hub interconnect (Para. 9 and 24-25).
As per claim 13, Enzinna in view of Prakash teach the nurse call system of claim 1. Enzinna does not explicitly teach however Prakash teaches nurse call system of claim 12, wherein the hub software update is a hub firmware update (Para. 12 and 30). The motivation to combine references is the same as seen in claim 1.
As per claim 14, Enzinna in view of Prakash teach the nurse call system of claim 1. Enzinna does not explicitly teach however Prakash teaches the nurse call system of claim 12, wherein the hub controller comprises a hub memory unit, and the hub controller is configured to load the hub software update into the hub memory unit (Para. 32-33 and Fig. 5-6). The motivation to combine references is the same as seen in claim 1.
As per claim 15, Enzinna in view of Prakash teach the nurse call system of claim 1. Enzinna does not explicitly teach however Prakash teaches the nurse call system of claim 14, wherein the hub controller is configured to load the hub software update into the hub memory unit only if the hub software update has been verified as genuine (Para. 30-31 and Fig. 4 wherein authenticating procedure to the hub’s update process is taught). The motivation to combine references is the same as seen in claim 1.
As per claim 16, Enzinna in view of Prakash teach the nurse call system of claim 1. Enzinna does not explicitly teach however Prakash teaches nurse call system of claim 14. Ferguson does not explicitly teach however Hoffman teaches wherein the nurse call system of claim 14, wherein the hub controller further comprises a hub memory recovery module configured to load a previous hub software version into the hub memory unit if the hub software update fails to load (Para. 31). The motivation to combine references is the same as seen in claim 1.
As per claim 22, Prakash teaches the nurse call system of claim 1, wherein the PID is further configured to receive a nurse call software update received via the communication link (Para. 28 and FI. 2 wherein receiving software update wirelessly is taught. Applying this to the nurse call software is part of the proposed modification). Enzinna teaches
and to transmit the nurse call software update to the hub controller via the hub interconnect (Para. 24, 28, and Fig. 2 wherein Pid to hub transmission of digital data is taught.), and Prakash further teaches:
wherein the hub controller is configured to transmit the nurse call software update to the nurse call interface circuit via an intrahub communication link (Para. 34 wherein distributing update operations across physical devices is taught). The motivation to combine references is the same as seen in claim 1.
As per claim 32, Prakash teaches the nurse call system of claim 1, wherein the communication link (Para. 28 and Fig. 2 wherein wireless communication between update server and the device is taught) and Enzinna teaches is logically separated from the hub interconnect (Fig. 2 and Para. 24). The motivation to combine references is the same as seen in claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the art rejection above have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. The rejection has been withdrawn and replaced by the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
MAROUN P. KANAAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3687
/MAROUN P KANAAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3687