DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the amendment filed on 7/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lopez et al. (PGPub 2023/0411262 A1).
Lopez et al. teach a process of packaging microelectronic devices, comprising steps of: forming a redistribution layer (779, Fig. 7B) on a printed circuit panel (773, Fig. 7A and 7B), wherein the redistribution layer electrically is connected to vias (777, Fig. 7B) of the printed circuit panel; supporting a plurality of microelectronic dice on the redistribution layer (paragraphs [0068]-[0071]); electrically connecting respective microelectronic dice (702) of the plurality of microelectronic dice to the redistribution layer as shown in Fig. 7D (paragraphs [0073]-[0074]); and singulating microelectronic device packages from the printed circuit panel, respective microelectronic device packages comprising at least one microelectronic die (700, Figs. 7F-7G) of the plurality of microelectronic dice and a portion of the printed circuit panel (paragraphs [0077]-[0078]).
Re. claim 23: Electrically connecting respective microelectronic dice of the plurality of microelectronic dice to the redistribution layer comprises reflowing electrically conductive material extending from respective microelectronic dice of the plurality of microelectronic dice to the redistribution layer (see also paragraph [0074]).
Re. claim 25: The plurality of microelectronic dice is placed in flip-chip orientations when supporting the plurality of microelectronic dice on the redistribution layer (see paragraph [0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez et al. as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Koopmans (US PAT. 6,845,901).
Lopez et al. teach all limitations as set forth above, but silent a laser toward the electrically conductive material to reflow the electrically conductive material (as per claim 23). Koopmans teaches a process of packaging microelectronic devices including a process of a laser toward a solder paste (equivalent with an electrically conductive material) to reflow the solder paste in order to deposit the solder paste (equivalent with an electrically conductive material) to the microelectronic devices (see also col. 2, lines 41-59). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify a process of packaging microelectronic devices of Lopez et al. by reflowing electrically conductive material as taught by Koopmans in order to deposit the solder paste (equivalent with an electrically conductive material) to the microelectronic devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to disclose the claimed invention such as “forming a redistribution layer on a printed circuit panel, the redistribution layer electrically connected to vias of the printed circuit panel”. The printed circuit panel of Lopez et al. is not the same printed circuit panel of the claimed invention. Examiner traverses the argument. The examiner asserts that the claims have been given their broadest reasonable interpretation, without reading limitations from the specification into the claims. In re Zletz, 893 F. 2d 319, 312-322, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Since there is no specific structure definition in the body of the claim of what the printed circuit panel is. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, defining the printed circuit panel involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (il-A). It is generally known to the person skilled in the art that both printed circuit panels of the prior art and the claimed invention are equivalent and can be interchanged with one another where circumstances make it desirable. Therefore, Lopez et al. teach all limitations as set forth above and maintains his rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL D KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729