Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber et al. (U.S. 2017/0234917 A1, newly cited) in view of Koran et al. (U.S. 2005/0017726 A1, newly cited).
Regarding claim 1, Weber et al. disclose in Fig. 2 a first probe (206 & 118a); a second probe (208 & 118b)(see [0018-0019] wherein 206-208 eventually connect to flex probes 118a, 118b, Figs. 1–3, [0015]); a resistor (202) that electrically couples the first probe (206) with the second probe (208); and a switch (204) that electrically couples the first probe (206) and the second probe (208)(see paragraphs [0018-0019]).
Weber et al. do not disclose a momentary switch that electrically couples the first probe and the second probe.
Koran et al. disclose a momentary switch (see [0041] wherein a momentary switch system via pushbuttons 18-21 as seen in Fig. 1A; wherein momentary pushbutton switch used to initiate a diagnostic measurement, Figs. 1–2, [0045] & [006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Weber et al. to replace or supplement the disclosed switching arrangement with the momentary switch of Koran et al. in order to apply a controlled, short-duration measurement signal while preventing continuous loading and overheating of the resistor, which is consistent with Weber et al.’s stated concern for thermal protection and controlled measurement (see Koran’s [0041]–[0042]).
Regarding claim 2, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 1, wherein Weber et al. further disclose intelligent analytics software (via ECUs, vehicle component ECUs 108, meter 120, and connected computing devices, [0013], [0016], [0027]–[0029]). An ECU, by definition, includes a processor executing stored control software, which inherently performs analytical and computational functions on measured electrical signals) configured to: measure an amperage load of a momentary signal across the first probe and the second probe (current inherently flows through resistor (202) 202 when push-button switch 300 is actuated, [0020], [0024]–[0027]); and
calculate a voltage based on the measured amperage load and a resistance of the resistor (202)(measuring voltage drop Vᴅ and using known resistance Rₜ according to Equation (1), [0027]–[0028]).
Regarding claim 3, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 2, wherein Weber et al. further disclose an interface (meter 120 including a display and user interface for presenting measured and calculated values, [0016]).
Regarding claim 4, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 3, wherein Weber et al. further disclose the intelligent analytics software (via ECUs, vehicle component ECUs 108, meter 120, and connected computing devices, [0013], [0016], [0027]–[0029]). An ECU, by definition, includes a processor executing stored control software, which inherently performs analytical and computational functions on measured electrical signals) is further configured to display a graph of the calculated voltage for a first battery cell through nth battery cell (meter 120 displaying measured and calculated voltage values, [0016], [0027]–[0028]; under BRI-broadest interpretation, displaying voltage values for multiple tested cells inherently includes graphical presentation).
Regarding claim 5, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 4, wherein Weber et al. further disclose contacting the first probe to a positive terminal of the first battery cell and contacting the second probe to a negative terminal of the first battery cell (probes 118a, 118b connected to power wire and ground wire of battery 106, [0015]); triggering the momentary switch (actuating push-button switch 300, [0024]–[0026]); measuring an amperage load of a momentary signal (current through resistor (202) 202, [0020], [0027]); and
calculating a voltage using the measured amperage load and resistance (Equation (1), [0028]).
Regarding claim 6, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 5, wherein Weber et al. further disclose the step of calculating capacity of the first battery cell (see calculating electrical characteristics based on measured voltage and current in Equation (1), [0028]; under BRI, capacity calculation is inherent from voltage and current measurements over time).
Regarding claim 7, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 5, wherein Weber et al. further disclose the step of repeating the method for a second through nth battery cell (see repeating the resistance measurement method for additional circuits and battery connections, wherein diagnosing multiple harness segments and circuits, [0012] & [0027]).
Regarding claim 8, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 7, wherein Weber et al. further disclose the step of generating and displaying a graph of the capacity for the first through nth battery cell (see [0016] generating calculated electrical results and displaying them via the interface, wherein meter 120,see [0027]–[0029]; wherein graphical display of capacity values is inherent).
Regarding claim 9, Weber et al. disclose in Fig. 2, one or more resistors (202) electrically coupled between a first probe and a second probe (resistor (202, [0018]–[0023]); a switch (204) electrically coupled with the first probe and the second probe (push-button switch 300, [0024]–[0026]); intelligent analytics software programmed to measure amperage and calculate voltage (Equation (1), [0027]–[0028]); and an interface configured to display a battery health report (meter 120 displaying calculated results, [0016]); one or more resistors electrically coupled between a first probe and a second probe (resistor 202, [0018]–[0023]); intelligent analytics software programmed via ECUs, vehicle component ECUs 108, meter 120, and connected computing devices, [0013], [0016], [0027]–[0029]). An ECU, by definition, includes a processor executing stored control software, which inherently performs analytical and computational functions on measured electrical signals) to (i) measure an amperage load and (ii) calculate a voltage (voltage measurement and calculation using known resistance, [0027]–[0028]); and an interface configured to display calculated electrical results (meter 120, [0016]).
Weber et al. do not disclose a momentary switch electrically coupled with the first probe and the second probe as claimed (thermal switch 204 is temperature-responsive and automatic, [0022]; push-button switch 300 is not disclosed as producing a momentary signal corresponding to a momentary load event under BRI, [0024]–[0026]).
Koran et al. disclose a momentary switch (see [0041] wherein a momentary switch system via pushbuttons 18-21 as seen in Fig. 1A; wherein momentary pushbutton switch used to initiate a diagnostic measurement, Figs. 1–2, [0045] & [006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Weber et al. to replace or supplement the disclosed switching arrangement with the momentary switch of Koran et al. in order to apply a controlled, short-duration measurement signal while preventing continuous loading and overheating of the resistor, which is consistent with Weber et al.’s stated concern for thermal protection and controlled measurement (see Koran’s [0041]–[0042]).
Regarding claim 10, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 9, wherein Weber et al. further disclose the battery health report displays health data for each individual cell within the battery pack (see displaying measured and calculated electrical data for each tested battery connection per-connection resistance and voltage measurements, [0027]–[0029]); under BRI, this constitutes health data for each individual cell).
Regarding claim 11, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 9, wherein Weber et al. further disclose the battery health report includes capacity in power watt the battery health report includes capacity in power watt (see voltage and current measurements; [0027]–[0028]; wherein capacity in watt-hours is mathematically inherent from voltage and current).
Regarding claim 12, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 9, wherein Weber et al. further disclose a scanner (via identification functionality) for reading a unique identifier wireless communicatively coupled with the intelligent analytics software (see connectors and identification of tested circuits and battery connections; [0015], [0019]); association of measurement results with the tested connection inherently provides identification functionality or scanner).
Regarding claim 13, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 12, wherein Weber et al. further disclose the intelligent analytics software (via ECUs, vehicle component ECUs 108, meter 120, and connected computing devices, [0013], [0016], [0027]–[0029]). An ECU, by definition, includes a processor executing stored control software, which inherently performs analytical and computational functions on measured electrical signals) is further programmed to register the unique identifier with an allocated non-transitory storage medium for saving the battery health report and any subsequent battery health reports (see storing measurement results in meter or connected computing devices data capture devices, [0016]); registration of results in non-transitory storage is inherent).
Regarding claim 14, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 12, wherein Weber et al. further disclose the intelligent analytics software is further programmed to send the battery health report to a USB port (see the battery analyzer device of claim 13, wherein Weber et al. further disclose connection to computing devices for data capture [0016]; output of results via a USB interface is inherent).
Regarding claim 15, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 14, wherein Weber et al. further disclose the intelligent analytics software is further programmed to send the battery health report to an email address via a wireless communication (see communication with external computing devices including smartphones and tablets [0016]; wireless transmission of results is inherent).
Regarding claim 16, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 9, wherein Weber et al. further disclose a push-button switch (push-button switch 300, [0024]).
Regarding claim 17, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 9, wherein Weber et al. further disclose a solid-state electrical circuit including one or more resistors (202)(see resistors 202 mounted via wiring or PCB, [0023]).
Regarding claim 18, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 17, wherein Weber et al. further disclose switching elements controlling current flow (thermal switch 204 and push-button switch 300, [0022], [0024]; under BRI, these are relay-equivalent switching elements).
Regarding claim 19, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 9, wherein Weber et al. further disclose thermal management of the resistor (202) via heat dissipation and thermal coupling (thermal switch 204 mounted to resistor (202) surface, [0022] therefore heat sinking is inherent).
Regarding claim 20, Weber et al. and Koran et al. disclose the battery analyzer device of claim 9, wherein Weber et al. further disclose a regulator coupled with the one or more resistors (see impedance selection and regulation of current through the resistor (202) based on operating conditions [0020]–[0021] therefore regulation functionality is inherent).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2004/0054503 A1 Namaky discloses a hand-held "off-board" device, such as a scan tool or code reader, having a test circuit in the same housing that tests the condition of a starter charging system. Such a tester of the present invention allows a user to purchase and maintain a single device that can perform the desired diagnostic tests that are currently being performed by the separate devices.
U.S. 6,570,385 to Roberts et al. disclose an improved hand held starting/charging system tester. According to one aspect of the present invention, the portable handheld tester includes a connector to which various test cables can be removably connected to the tester. Detection circuitry within the tester determines which of several types of test cable is connected to the tester before testing. According to another aspect of the present invention, the portable handheld tester includes an improved user interface that permits a user to review test data from previously performed tests and further permits a user to either skip a previously performed test (thereby retaining the previously collected data for that test) or re-do the test (thereby collecting new data for that test). According to yet another aspect of the present invention, the portable handheld tester that performs a more complete set of tests of the starting/charging system.
U.S. 5,367,250 to Whisenand discloses an instrument for performing electrical tests includes a housing adapted to be held in the hand. A conductive probe and a two-conductor power cable adapted to be connected to a vehicle battery protrude from the housing. Red and green light emitting diodes (LED's) mounted in the housing are operatively interconnected with the probe and power cable through circuitry which causes the red LED to glow when the probe contacts a positive voltage, and the green LED to glow when the probe contacts a low voltage, ground, or a negative voltage. Continuity testing may be performed by contacting the probe against one terminal of a device to be tested, and contacting the other terminal of the device to ground or to an auxiliary test lead extending from the housing, causing the green LED to glow. The instrument includes a momentary contact switch that permits the probe to be energized by internal connection to the positive or ground input terminal. Actuating the switch momentarily to energize the probe with a positive voltage causes the green LED to cease glowing and the red LED to glow if the test probe is in contact with a low resistance device, rather than directly to ground, thus providing means to determine whether ground or the supply terminal of a high-current load device has been probed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
December 29, 2025
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858