DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/18/2023 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-8, 10, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ammerman et al. (US 20060271317 A1) in view of Fullerton (US 7428258 B2, provided by applicant) and Campbell (US 6397173 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Ammerman teaches A test and measurement instrument (Fig. 1, unit under test (UUT) 180, comprising a flexible arbitrary waveform generator ([0019] lines 6-8, “The arbitrary waveform generator 150 may be connected to the UUT 180 to generate a signal based on waveform data to stimulate the UUT 180.”), comprising:
each waveform generator comprising:
a signal generator (The NCO memory 650 may receive and store waveform data from software. The stored waveform data may be used by the NCO 250 to generate any type of waveform, which is specified by software. In one embodiment, the NCO memory 650 may be loaded with a custom waveform, and then the NCO 250 may perform arbitrary waveform generator functions based on the waveform data received from software.) to generate in-phase and quadrature digital signals ([0031] lines 2-14, “the first data path may receive base-band in-phase (I) data and the second data path may receive base-band quadrature-phase (Q) data from the memory 151. The digital signal processing unit 155 may first perform gain and offset functions via the programmable gain circuitry 210 and the programmable offset circuitry 220, respectively. The digital signal processing unit 155 may then interpolate the base-band in-phase and quadrature-phase (IQ) data from a particular sample rate up to a higher sample rate via the programmable interpolation filters 230, and then translate the base-band IQ data to a programmable carrier frequency provided by the NCO 250 to generate enhanced waveform data”) according to a selected signal type ([0036] lines 5-11, “The stored waveform data may be used by the NCO 250 to generate any type of waveform, which is specified by software. In one embodiment, the NCO memory 650 may be loaded with a custom waveform, and then the NCO 250 may perform arbitrary waveform generator functions based on the waveform data received from software.”) for a digital constituent output signal to be generated by the signal generator ([0023] lines 10-14, “The digital signal processing unit 155 may receive data from memory (e.g., memory 151 of FIG. 1) to perform hardware computations on the data and generate enhanced waveform data for a DAC (e.g., DAC 154 of FIG. 1).”);
modulate amplitude of the in-phase and quadrature digital signals for the digital constituent output signal ([0024] lines 19-21, “The multipliers 235 may be digital multipliers used to mix the in-phase (I) and quadrature-phase (Q) data paths with the NCO 250 during an up-conversion function”; [0031] lines 2-8, “the first data path may receive base-band in-phase (I) data and the second data path may receive base-band quadrature-phase (Q) data from the memory 151. The digital signal processing unit 155 may first perform gain and offset functions via the programmable gain circuitry 210 and the programmable offset circuitry 220, respectively.”). The gain function is the modulating the amplitude of the digital signals; and
one or more multipliers (multipliers 235) to combine the in-phase and quadrature digital signals with a carrier signal to produce the digital constituent output signal ([0031] lines 8-18, “The digital signal processing unit 155 may then interpolate the base-band in-phase and quadrature-phase (IQ) data from a particular sample rate up to a higher sample rate via the programmable interpolation filters 230, and then translate the base-band IQ data to a programmable carrier frequency provided by the NCO 250 to generate enhanced waveform data. More specifically, each of the outputs from the first and second data paths are mixed with the corresponding NCO output via the multipliers 235, and then combined by the adder 270 to generate the enhanced waveform data at an intermediate frequency (IF).”);
a stream manager ([0024] lines 8-10, “the demultiplexer 205 may be logic that demuxes or divides a single data stream received from the memory 151 into multiple outputs”) to receive an input and produce a modulation descriptor word (MDW) for any of the at least two waveform generators ([0033] lines 7-10, “The memory 151 may store lists of attributes, e.g., frequencies, phases, amplitudes, offsets, and duration, among others, which may be sent to the NCO 250 to generate the corresponding waveforms”; lines 12-15, “instead of using a substantial amount of the memory 151 for storing complex waveform data, the memory 151 may store these lists of attributes.”) to be used to produce the digital constituent output signal (Fig. 1);
a summing block (adder 270);
a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) to convert the digital multi-constituent output signal to an analog output signal (DAC 154); and
an internal signal analyzer configured to receive an analyzer input of one of more of the digital output signals (Fig. 1, computer system 110; [0019] lines 9-11, “an output signal from the UUT 180 is analyzed by the computer system 110 to characterize the UUT.”).
Ammerman does not teach a test and measurement instrument, comprising:
at least two waveform generators;
a pulse envelope sequencer; and
a summing block to selectively combine digital constituent output signals from any of the at least two waveform generators to produce a digital multi-constituent output signal.
Fullerton teaches an analogous waveform generators, comprising:
at least two waveform generators (first and second RF waveform generators 5002 and 5004, respectfully);
a pulse envelope sequencer (envelope modulator 396); and
a summing block to selectively combine (col 33 lines 44-52, “the second RF waveform generator 5004 includes a delay element 5006 that establishes the time spacing between each of the second plurality of RF waveforms and a corresponding one of the first plurality of RF waveforms. In other words, delay element 5006 establishes the time spacing between the RF waveforms of each pair of RF waveforms. A combiner 5008 then combines the first plurality of RF waveforms and the second plurality of RF waveforms into a combined plurality of RF waveforms.”). The combiner is the summing block, and the delay element, in establishing a time spacing between the waveforms to be combined, is selectively combining the constituent signals.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instrument of Ammerman to have the at least two waveform generators, the signals of which are combined, of Fullerton because it would yield predictable results of generating a signal from a combination of signals. Ammerman includes motivation for including additional elements, such as additional waveform generators (e.g. [0028] lines 4-10, “in various embodiments, one or more of the components described may be omitted, combined, modified, or additional components included, as desired. For instance, in some embodiments, the digital signal processing unit 155 of the arbitrary waveform generator 150 may be configured to any number of configurations to perform different functions”).
Ammerman in view of Fullerton does not teach the waveform generator, comprising:
a summing block to selectively combine digital constituent output signals from any of the at least two waveform generators to produce a digital
Campbell teaches an analogous test and measurement instrument (Abstract), comprising:
a summing block to selectively combine digital constituent output signals from any of the at least two waveform generators to produce a digital(Fig. 7; col 7 lines 56-65, “These two waveform generators 100 and 102 need not include a Digital-to-Analog Converter (DAC) chip because the signals from the two waveform generators are digitally interleaved by a separate circuit 105 that incorporates a DAC 104 that can operate at up to 2.4 Gs/s with 12-bit resolution. Interleaving digitally before converting to an analog signal will provide a higher quality analog signal compared to interleaving two analog signal outputs from two waveform generators after each has converted to analog through respective DACs”). The interleaving of signals is the selectively combining digital constituent signals.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instrument of Ammerman in view of Fullerton to substitute the combining of signals of Ammerman in view of Fullerton with the combining of digital signals of Campbell because it would yield advantageous results, such as improvement to the output analog signal by performing only one digital-to-analog conversion.
Regarding claim 2, Ammerman in view of Fullerton and Campbell teaches The test and measurement instrument as claimed in claim 1, wherein the digital multi- constituent output signal comprises one of either a single digital constituent output signal, or a mixture of two or more digital constituent output signals (Campbell: Fig. 7; col 7 lines 56-65, “These two waveform generators 100 and 102 need not include a Digital-to-Analog Converter (DAC) chip because the signals from the two waveform generators are digitally interleaved by a separate circuit 105 that incorporates a DAC 104 that can operate at up to 2.4 Gs/s with 12-bit resolution. Interleaving digitally before converting to an analog signal will provide a higher quality analog signal compared to interleaving two analog signal outputs from two waveform generators after each has converted to analog through respective DACs”).
Regarding claim 5, Ammerman in view of Fullerton and Campbell teaches The test and measurement instrument as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a filter connected to the DAC to allow filtering of the analog output signal (Fullerton: bandpass filter 5010).
Regarding claim 7, Ammerman teaches
An arbitrary function generator, comprising:
a waveform generator (arbitrary waveform generator 150) comprising:
a digital signal generator (The NCO memory 650 may receive and store waveform data from software. The stored waveform data may be used by the NCO 250 to generate any type of waveform, which is specified by software. In one embodiment, the NCO memory 650 may be loaded with a custom waveform, and then the NCO 250 may perform arbitrary waveform generator functions based on the waveform data received from software.) to generate in-phase and quadrature digital signals ([0031] lines 2-14, “the first data path may receive base-band in-phase (I) data and the second data path may receive base-band quadrature-phase (Q) data from the memory 151. The digital signal processing unit 155 may first perform gain and offset functions via the programmable gain circuitry 210 and the programmable offset circuitry 220, respectively. The digital signal processing unit 155 may then interpolate the base-band in-phase and quadrature-phase (IQ) data from a particular sample rate up to a higher sample rate via the programmable interpolation filters 230, and then translate the base-band IQ data to a programmable carrier frequency provided by the NCO 250 to generate enhanced waveform data”) according to a selected signal type ([0036] lines 5-11, “The stored waveform data may be used by the NCO 250 to generate any type of waveform, which is specified by software. In one embodiment, the NCO memory 650 may be loaded with a custom waveform, and then the NCO 250 may perform arbitrary waveform generator functions based on the waveform data received from software.”) for a digital constituent output signal to be generated by the digital signal generator ([0023] lines 10-14, “The digital signal processing unit 155 may receive data from memory (e.g., memory 151 of FIG. 1) to perform hardware computations on the data and generate enhanced waveform data for a DAC (e.g., DAC 154 of FIG. 1).”);
modulate amplitude of the in-phase and quadrature digital signals for the digital constituent output signal ([0024] lines 19-21, “The multipliers 235 may be digital multipliers used to mix the in-phase (I) and quadrature-phase (Q) data paths with the NCO 250 during an up-conversion function”; [0031] lines 2-8, “the first data path may receive base-band in-phase (I) data and the second data path may receive base-band quadrature-phase (Q) data from the memory 151. The digital signal processing unit 155 may first perform gain and offset functions via the programmable gain circuitry 210 and the programmable offset circuitry 220, respectively.”). The gain function is the modulating the amplitude of the digital signals; and
a digital filter for applying at least one digital filter to the in-phase and quadrature signals (interpolating filters 230); and
a digital signal modulator (multipliers 235) configured to combine the in-phase and quadrature digital signals with a carrier signal to produce the digital constituent output signal ([0031] lines 8-18, “The digital signal processing unit 155 may then interpolate the base-band in-phase and quadrature-phase (IQ) data from a particular sample rate up to a higher sample rate via the programmable interpolation filters 230, and then translate the base-band IQ data to a programmable carrier frequency provided by the NCO 250 to generate enhanced waveform data. More specifically, each of the outputs from the first and second data paths are mixed with the corresponding NCO output via the multipliers 235, and then combined by the adder 270 to generate the enhanced waveform data at an intermediate frequency (IF).”);
a stream manager ([0024] lines 8-10, “the demultiplexer 205 may be logic that demuxes or divides a single data stream received from the memory 151 into multiple outputs”) to receive an input and produce a modulation descriptor word (MDW) containing a kernel of parameters for any of the at least two waveform generators ([0033] lines 7-10, “The memory 151 may store lists of attributes, e.g., frequencies, phases, amplitudes, offsets, and duration, among others, which may be sent to the NCO 250 to generate the corresponding waveforms”; lines 12-15, “instead of using a substantial amount of the memory 151 for storing complex waveform data, the memory 151 may store these lists of attributes.”) The list of attributes is the MDW containing a kernel of parameters
to be used to produce the digital constituent output signal (Fig. 1);
a summing block (adder 270); and
a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) to convert the digital multi-constituent output signal to an analog output signal (DAC 154).
Ammerman does not teach the arbitrary function generator, comprising:
at least two waveform generators;
a digital pulse envelope sequencer;
a summing block to combine digital constituent output signals from any of the at least two waveform generators to produce a digital multi-constituent output signal.
Fullerton teaches an analogous waveform generators, comprising:
at least two waveform generators (first and second RF waveform generators 5002 and 5004, respectfully);
a digital pulse envelope sequencer (envelope modulator 396); and
a summing block to selectively combine (col 33 lines 44-52, “the second RF waveform generator 5004 includes a delay element 5006 that establishes the time spacing between each of the second plurality of RF waveforms and a corresponding one of the first plurality of RF waveforms. In other words, delay element 5006 establishes the time spacing between the RF waveforms of each pair of RF waveforms. A combiner 5008 then combines the first plurality of RF waveforms and the second plurality of RF waveforms into a combined plurality of RF waveforms.”). The combiner is the summing block, and the delay element, in establishing a time spacing between the waveforms to be combined, is selectively combining the constituent signals.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arbitrary function generator of Ammerman to have the at least two waveform generators, the signals of which are combined, of Fullerton because it would yield predictable results of generating a signal from a combination of signals. Ammerman includes motivation for including additional elements, such as additional waveform generators (e.g. [0028] lines 4-10, “in various embodiments, one or more of the components described may be omitted, combined, modified, or additional components included, as desired. For instance, in some embodiments, the digital signal processing unit 155 of the arbitrary waveform generator 150 may be configured to any number of configurations to perform different functions”).
Ammerman in view of Fullerton does not teach the waveform generator, comprising:
a summing block to selectively combine digital constituent output signals from any of the at least two waveform generators to produce a digital
Campbell teaches an analogous arbitrary function generator (Abstract; Fig. 4, arbitrary waveform generator 44), comprising:
a summing block to selectively combine digital constituent output signals from any of the at least two waveform generators to produce a digital(Fig. 7; col 7 lines 56-65, “These two waveform generators 100 and 102 need not include a Digital-to-Analog Converter (DAC) chip because the signals from the two waveform generators are digitally interleaved by a separate circuit 105 that incorporates a DAC 104 that can operate at up to 2.4 Gs/s with 12-bit resolution. Interleaving digitally before converting to an analog signal will provide a higher quality analog signal compared to interleaving two analog signal outputs from two waveform generators after each has converted to analog through respective DACs”). The interleaving of signals is the selectively combining digital constituent signals.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arbitrary function generator of Ammerman in view of Fullerton to substitute the combining of signals of Ammerman in view of Fullerton with the combining of digital signals of Campbell because it would yield advantageous results, such as improvement to the output analog signal by performing only one digital-to-analog conversion.
Regarding claim 8, Ammerman in view of Fullerton and Campbell teaches The arbitrary waveform generator as claimed in claim 7, wherein the selected signal type for each waveform generator is one of Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexed (OFDM), single-carrier complex modulation, M-ary Quadrature Amplitude Modulation (M-QAM), M-ary Pulse Amplitude Modulation (M-PAM), and M-ary Phase Shift Keying (M-PSK) (Fullerton: col 3 lines 12-17, “UWB transmitters and receivers can employ numerous data modulation (and demodulation) techniques, including amplitude modulation, phase modulation, frequency modulation, pulse-position modulation (PPM) and M-ary versions of these (e.g., bi-phase, quad-phase, and M-phase modulation).”). The M-ary version of amplitude modulation is the M-ary Quadrature Amplitude Modulation.
Regarding claim 10, Ammerman in view of Fullerton and Campbell teaches The arbitrary waveform generator as claimed in claim 7, further comprising a filter applied to the analog output signal (Ammerman: [0021] lines 14-17, “The analog output circuitry 157 may modify the analog signals and may output the corresponding waveform, e.g., to stimulate the UUT 180.”; [0032] lines 11-14, “Typically, DACs (e.g., DAC 154) have better performance when sampling at higher rates. Sampling at a higher sample rate may also ease analog filter requirements.”).
Regarding claim 12, Ammerman in view of Fullerton and Campbell teaches The arbitrary waveform generator as claimed in claim 7, wherein the digital signal generator is configured to add noise to the in-phase and quadrature signals (Fullerton: col 19 lines 13-15, “The prototype signal can be a sine wave signal, chirped signal, pulse signal, or any other form of signal that has desired spectral characteristics, including a noise-like signal.”).
Regarding claim 13, Ammerman in view of Fullerton and Campbell teaches The arbitrary waveform generator as claimed in claim 7, further comprising a local oscillator (Fullerton: voltage-controlled oscillator (VCO)) connected to the analog output signal as a frequency converter under control of one of the signal generators (Fullerton: col 6 lines 31-37, “A fast-switching PLL needs a low-jitter voltage-controlled oscillator (VCO) that can be tuned to a new frequency very quickly. Generating low-jitter VCO output at high rate is not easy to accomplish and leads to complex, power consuming circuitry. Moreover, highly linear mixers with wide dynamic ranges are needed for super heterodyne frequency conversion”).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ammerman in view of Obata (US 20090086873 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Ammerman teaches A test and measurement instrument (Fig. 1, unit under test (UUT) 180), comprising:
a waveform generator ([0019] lines 6-8, “The arbitrary waveform generator 150 may be connected to the UUT 180 to generate a signal based on waveform data to stimulate the UUT 180.”) structured to generate a digital waveform having samples ([0032] lines 8-11, “The digital signal processing unit 155 may translate waveform data at a particular sample rate up to a higher sample rate to generate enhanced waveform data.”);
a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) to convert the samples of the digital waveform to an analog waveform (DAC 154); and
one or more processors configured to execute code to cause the one or more processors ([0027] lines 13-16, “the digital signal processing unit 155 may receive information from software (e.g., of computer system 110) and perform software-controlled arbitrary waveform generation functions. ”)
Ammerman does not teach the test and measurement instrument comprising:
cause the one or more processors to analyze the samples prior to the DAC, the one or more analyzes configured to perform a signal analysis on the waveform without having to connect any external instruments.
Obata teaches an analogous instrument for generating waveforms, comprising:
cause the one or more processors to analyze the samples prior to the DAC, the one or more analyzes configured to perform a signal analysis on the waveform without having to connect any external instruments (Fig. 11 [0043] lines 12-18, “The CPU of the signal generator add the jitter or noise to the selected bit or bits of the waveform data and generate new waveform data which is stored in the waveform memory (step 72). If a display button 21 is clicked at this stage, the characteristics of the digital signal that is going to be output is displayed as an eye pattern, jitter analysis graph, or the like (step 74).”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instrument of Ammerman to analyze samples prior to the DAC because it would yield predictable and advantageous results, including enabling a user to analyze and inspect the digital signal (Obata: [0043] lines 18-20, “This allows the user can confirm whether the characteristics of the digital signal to be output are what the user expected.”)
Regarding claim 16, Ammerman in view of Obata teaches The test and measurement instrument as claimed in claim 15, wherein the code to cause the one or more processors to analyze the samples comprises code to cause the one or more processors to perform in-phase and quadrature (IQ) analysis of the samples (Ammerman: [0031] lines 8-14, “The digital signal processing unit 155 may then interpolate the base-band in-phase and quadrature-phase (IQ) data from a particular sample rate up to a higher sample rate via the programmable interpolation filters 230, and then translate the base-band IQ data to a programmable carrier frequency provided by the NCO 250 to generate enhanced waveform data.”). The interpolation of in-phase and quadrature-phase data to generate enhanced waveform data is performing in-phase and quadrature (IQ) analysis of the samples.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ammerman in view of Obata as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Fullerton.
Regarding claim 17, Ammerman in view of Obata teaches The test and measurement instrument as claimed in claim 15.
Ammerman in view of Obata does not teach the instrument, wherein the code to cause the one or more processors to analyze the samples comprises code to cause the one or more processors to determine one or more of how much power the waveform generates, bandwidth used by the waveform
Fullerton teaches an analogous instrument, wherein the code to cause the one or more processors to analyze the samples comprises code to cause the one or more processors to determine one or more of how much power the waveform generates, bandwidth used by the waveform (col 15 lines 10-13, “Emission limits in the system of the present invention are based on the equivalent of a power spectral density, i.e., a field strength limit is specified along with a measurement bandwidth.”; col 22 lines 15-25, “The software controls are primarily used to define characteristics of the prototype signal such as its bandwidth and center frequency, envelope shape, etc., to define sampling characteristics, and to define the characteristics of the RF waveforms that would be generated to synthesize the prototype signal.”), how fast the waveform rises and falls.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instrument of Ammerman in view of Obata to determine the power or bandwidth of the waveform of Fullerton, because it would yield predictable results of determining characteristic information of the waveform.
Regarding claim 18, Ammerman in view of Obata teaches The test and measurement instrument as claimed in claim 15.
Ammerman in view of Obata does not teach the instrument wherein the code to cause the one or more processors to analyze the samples comprises code to cause the one or more processors to perform time and spectrum analysis on the waveform
Fullerton teaches an analogous instrument, wherein the code to cause the one or more processors to analyze the samples comprises code to cause the one or more processors to perform time and spectrum analysis on the waveform (col 29 lines 8-12, “Each RF waveform of the plurality of RF waveforms is modulated in accordance with the time profile of the desired waveform to produce an aggregate RF energy that approximates the spectral characteristics of the desired waveform.”; Figs. 69-71).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instrument of Ammerman in view of Obata to perform time and spectrum analysis of the waveform of Fullerton, because it would yield predictable results of determining characteristic information of the waveform.
Regarding claim 19, Ammerman in view of Obata and Fullerton teaches The test and measurement instrument as claimed in clam 18, wherein the code to cause the one or more processors to perform time and spectrum analysis on the samples comprises code to cause the one or more processors to display characteristics of the signal to users, including modulation, pulse analysis and time-correlated measurements (Figs. 69-71).
Regarding claim 20, Ammerman in view of Obata teaches The test and measurement instrument as claimed in clam 15.
Ammerman in view of Obata does not teach the instrument wherein the code to cause the one or more processors to analyze the samples comprises code to cause the one or more processors to determine an exact frequency of scenarios when multiple waveforms are generated simultaneously.
Fullerton teaches an analogous instrument, wherein the code to cause the one or more processors to analyze the samples comprises code to cause the one or more processors to determine an exact frequency of scenarios when multiple waveforms are generated simultaneously (col 8 lines 33-36, “the desired waveform can correspond to an enveloped sine wave signal having a carrier frequency that corresponds to the center frequency within the frequency band of interest.”; col 9 lines 31-40, “a method for generating waveforms includes generating a plurality of RF waveforms at a waveform generation rate selected in accordance with a center frequency within a frequency band of interest and modulating the plurality of RF waveforms in accordance with a time profile of a prototype signal to produce an aggregate RF energy that approximates the prototype signal. The plurality of RF waveforms can be amplitude and/or width modulated in accordance with the time profile to produce the desired aggregate RF energy.”; col 17 lines 55-60, “FIG. 1 shows an exemplary frequency profile of spectral requirements for a frequency band of interest 10 centered at 4 GHz with a 500 MHz bandwidth. In an ideal case, the transmitted waveform would `fill the band` such that the PSD of the transmitted signal would be exactly equal to what is permitted by the spectral requirements.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instrument of Ammerman in view of Obata to determine the exact frequency of Fullerton, because it would yield predictable results of determining characteristic information of the waveforms.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ammerman in view of Fullerton and Campbell as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Obata.
Regarding claim 4, Ammerman in view of Fullerton and Campbell teaches The test and measurement instrument as claimed in claim 1.
Ammerman in view of Fullerton and Campbell wherein the internal analyzer is configured to receive the digital multi-constituent output signal prior to the DAC
Obata teaches an analogous instrument, wherein the internal analyzer is configured to receive the digital multi-constituent output signal prior to the DAC
(Fig. 11 [0043] lines 12-18, “The CPU of the signal generator add the jitter or noise to the selected bit or bits of the waveform data and generate new waveform data which is stored in the waveform memory (step 72). If a display button 21 is clicked at this stage, the characteristics of the digital signal that is going to be output is displayed as an eye pattern, jitter analysis graph, or the like (step 74).”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instrument of Ammerman to receive the signal prior to the DAC because it would yield predictable and advantageous results, including enabling a user to analyze and inspect the digital signal (Obata: [0043] lines 18-20, “This allows the user can confirm whether the characteristics of the digital signal to be output are what the user expected.”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 9, 11, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest art was considered.
Regarding claim 3, Ammerman in view of Fullerton and Campbell teaches The test and measurement instrument as claimed in claim 1.
None of the prior art, alone or in combination, teaches the instrument, wherein the internal analyzer receives one or more digital constituent output signals prior to the summing block to analyze the one or more digital constituent output signals.
Regarding claim 6, Ammerman in view of Fullerton and Campbell teaches The test and measurement instrument as claimed in claim 1.
None of the prior art, alone or in combination, teaches the instrument, further comprising a multiplier applied to the analog output signal, wherein the multiplier is configurable to have an argument of 1, or to have a switch to allow bypass of the multiplier.
Regarding claim 9, Ammerman in view of Fullerton and Campbell teaches The arbitrary waveform generator as claimed in claim 7.
None of the prior art, alone or in combination, teaches the arbitrary waveform generator, wherein the MDW describes characteristics of the signal being one of continuous wave modulated, radio frequency (RF) carrier, and baseband carrier.
Regarding claim 11, Ammerman in view of Fullerton and Campbell teaches The arbitrary waveform generator as claimed in claim 7.
None of the prior art, alone or in combination, teaches the arbitrary waveform generator, wherein the digital filter is configured to perform at least one of: creating distortion models to replicate a desired signal; and one of either pre-compensating or pre-distorting the digital multi-constituent output signal to account for non-ideal external devices.
Regarding claim 14, Ammerman in view of Fullerton and Campbell teaches The arbitrary waveform generator as claimed in claim 7.
None of the prior art, alone or in combination, teaches the arbitrary waveform generator, wherein each waveform generator is configured to: maintain a time record of each kernel time; determine a latency to produce a signal for each kernel; and schedule the signal kernel against a time-correlated master clock to produce the digital constituent output signal at a known time.
Conclusion
/B.B.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857