Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous 112 rejections are withdrawn due to applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5,7,8,10-12,14,15,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miladinov(US 2013/0216661).
Regarding claims 1-5, Miladinov teaches an adhesive composite film for a multi-region confectionery. The composition comprises layers of confectionery material and soft candy material, with an edible adhesive in between the confectionery and soft candy layers(para 195). Therefore, the confectionery can be considered the “edible backbone” and the edible adhesive as the adhesive layer. The adhesive layer adheres to the soft candy layer(para 195). Miladinov teaches that the backbone(confectionery composition) can comprise a polymer in the form of psyllium(dietary fiber)(para 11) and a plasticizer in the form of xylitol and/or sorbitol(para 82).
Regarding claims 7-8, Miladinov teaches that the adhesive layer comprises a sugar, which would become sticky after addition of water(para 196).
Regarding claim 10, Miladinov teaches that the edible adhesive is applied between each confectionery and soft candy layer, and that the composition can have multiple soft candy and confectionery layers(para 195). Therefore, the edible adhesive would be applied on each side of the confectionery layer(edible backbone) to adhere the multiple layers together.
Regarding claim 11, Miladinov teaches that the composite film can comprise flavor in the edible backbone(para 42).
Regarding claims 12,14,15,18 Miladinov teaches that the composite film(adhesive and confectionery) adheres to a soft candy food substrate material(para195). The soft candy can be considered the external barrier material, to which the adhesive composite film is adhered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6,16,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miladinov(US 2013/0216661).
Regarding claim 6, Miladinov is silent on the volume ratio of the dietary to plasticizer. However, Miladinov teaches a weight ratio of about 70 to 98 weight percent sugar alcohols(xylitol and sorbitol) and about 0.2 to about 20 weight percent diffusion controller such as psyllium(dietary fiber)(para 195). Therefore, the weight ratio of dietary to plasticizer is 98:0.1 to 70:20(2.5:1), would is broad enough to reasonably encompass the volume ratio as claimed.
Regarding claim 13, Miladinov teaches that the edible backbone(confectionery material) has height of at least 0.2mm(para 163) but is silent on the height of the edible adhesive. However, it would have been obvious to adjust the height of the adhesive layer depending on the nature of the confectionery and soft candy layers, in order to properly adhere the layers together.
Regarding claims 16 and 19, Miladinov teaches that the composite film(adhesive and confectionery) adheres to a soft candy food substrate material(para195). The soft candy can be considered the external barrier material, to which the adhesive composite film is adhered.
Miladinov teaches that the confectionary composition can have a variety of shapes including a twist shape, interlocking shapes, swirl shape, etc(para 111). Therefore, it would have been obvious to apply the adhesive composite film to two portions of the external barrier in order to twist the confection material and join two portions of the external barrier material(soft candy outer layer).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miladinov(US 2013/0216661) in view of The Cake Creator(What is Tylose Powder).
Miladinov teaches the use of various gums as a diffusion controller in the adhesive layer including gum Arabic and CMC(carboxymethyl cellulose)(para 36) but does not specifically teach the adhesive layer comprises tylose powders. However, Cake Creator teaches that tylose powder is an effective equivalent to CMC and gum Arabic in confection compositions. It would have been obvious to use tylose powder as an equivalent to gum Arabic and cmc as taught in The Cake Creator.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Miladinov does not teach an adhesive composite film comprising a layer of edible backbone and a layer of edible adhesive placed on the edible backbone, the adhesive configured to adhere to an item of food. The applicant argues that the confection cannot be considered the edible backbone and the edible adhesive cannot be considered the layer of edible adhesive. However, nothing in the claims precludes the “edible backbone” from being a confection.
The applicant argues that the Miladinov does not teach that the adhesive layer is water-activated. However, the claims do not recite that that the film is “water activated”, only that it becomes adhesive after exposure with water. In other words, the claims do not say that the film only is adhesive after exposure with water. As such, sugar components as taught in the adhesive layer of Miladinov are known to become sticky upon exposure contact with water.
The applicant argues that the instant spec shows that tylose powder provides superior adhesiveness compared to CMC. However, the applicant has not shown that any of the results are unexpected or compared the closest prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE D LEBLANC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791