DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the thickness range" in lines 13 and 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine the scope of the claim because the term thickness range has not been previously defined in the claim so the range of values that fall into the thickness range has an indefinite scope. Further, the words “thickness range” are not recited in the specification.
For the purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the thickness range to the range of positions in the first direction that overlap the electrode lead. This means that the first position is one where the lead contact member contacts the electrode lead, and the second position is one where it does not. Such a position is shown in Fig. 8, from which the examiner draws support for this interpretation because the applicant cited this figure as support for the amendment, where the center contact members are not contacting an electrode lead.
Claims 2-13 are rejected based on their dependence on claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that the cited reference does not teach a position where the gripper unit is moved to prevent mutual contact when a cell is not present is not persuasive because this argument is not commensurate with the scope of the claim language. Nothing in the claim language as amended describes this position where no cell is present, so this argument is not persuasive.
Further, the applicant’s amendments necessitate a new grounds of rejection based on the same SON reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US-20200280090-A1, SON.
Regarding claim 1, SON teaches a pressing apparatus (1) for a battery cell (2), the pressing apparatus comprising: a frame ([0047], “a shaft”); a plurality of plates (portion of 10 with checker marks annotated Fig. 3 below) movably installed in the frame ([0047], “capable of moving”) in a first direction ([0047], “X-axis direction”) and arranged to face each other in the first direction (see Fig. 5, which is taken down the Y-Axis) to form accommodating space (S in annotated Fig. 5 below)
a lead contact member (55 and side of 50 facing 2c labeled with arrow, see annotated Fig. 14 below, referred to with symbol 55’ going forward) including a charge-discharge plate (55) electrically connected [0080] to an electrode lead (2c) of a battery cell (2) for at least one of charging and discharging [0042] of the battery cell accommodated in the accommodating space; and a moving unit (50) connected to the lead contact member [0080]. When the compression plates 10 move, 50 and 55 necessarily move with it in the X-direction because they are coupled to 10.
The following limitation of claim 1 is considered intended use: “wherein the moving unit is configured to move between a first position in which the lead contact member is disposed inside the plurality of plates in the first direction and a second position in which the lead contact member is disposed outside the plurality of plates in the first direction”.
SON teaches the moving unit is connected to the lead contact member because the lead contact member is formed on the moving unit (see annotated Fig. 14 above). The lead contact member is moved along the first direction from the position in Fig. 14 to the position in Fig. 15, meaning it is movable in the first direction.
Further, the movement of 50 shown in Fig. 15 and Fig. 14 moves the lead contact member from a first and second position, respectively. The first and second positions of claim 1 of the instant have been explained in the 112(b) rejection of claim 1 above. SON teaches the moving member moving to have the lead contact member overlap the electrode lead of the cell (see Fig. 15, which shows the same view as Fig. 14 but with the grippers grabbing the lead contact). This is position 1 of the instant because SON teaches the lead contact member contacting the electrode lead in this position. SON shows the moving member moving to have the electrode lead not contact the electrode lead of the cell (see Fig. 14). This is position 2 of the instant because the electrode lead is not contacted by the contact member. This means the structure anticipates the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus.
Regarding claim 2, SON teaches each of the plurality of plates includes a plate body (20, 21) in contact with a cell body (2a) of the battery cell and an installation member (54) located outside the plate body in a second direction (Y-axis direction, see Fig. 3), which is a length direction of the plurality of plates, and on which the moving unit is disposed [0079], and a thickness of the installation member in the first direction (t4, see annotated Fig. 14 below. Fig. 5 is taken looking down the Z-axis) is less than a thickness of the plate body in the first direction (t1+t2+t3, see annotated Fig. 8 below. Fig 8 is taken looking down the Y-axis).
Regarding claim 3, SON teaches the moving unit is disposed on both sides (s1 and s2) of the installation member in the first direction (see annotated Fig. 14 below).
Regarding claim 4, SON teaches a thickness of the lead contact member (t6) in the first direction is less than or equal to half of a difference between the thickness of the plate body (t5) and the thickness of the installation member (t4) in the first direction. t6 is clearly less than half of (t5-t4), see annotated Fig. 14 below.
Regarding claim 5, SON teaches 50 is disposed on each of both ends of the plurality of plates in the second direction (see annotated Fig. 3 below). 54 is a part of 50, so the installation member is disposed on both ends of the plurality of plates in the second direction.
Regarding claim 6, SON teaches the lead contact member is disposed to be connected to the moving unit to face both sides of the installation member in the first direction (see annotated Fig. 15 below). The installation member 54 is between lead contact members 55’ on both Side A and Side B, and both lead contact members are connected to the same moving body (50’). Fig. 15 is a view from the same direction as Fig. 14 but after the battery cell is pressed [0040].
Regarding claim 7, SON teaches the charge-discharge plate is disposed to be connected to the moving unit to face both sides of the installation member in the first direction (see annotated Fig. 15 below). Similar to the remarks regarding claim 6, the installation member is between two charge/discharge plates on a Side A and Side B.
Regarding claim 8, SON teaches the lead contact member includes a support member (side of 50 facing 2c, see arrow in annotated Fig. 14 below) supporting the other side of the electrode lead when the charge-discharge plate contacts one side of the electrode lead (see Fig. 15), the charge-discharge plate is connected to the moving unit to face one of both sides of the installation member in the first direction, and the support member is connected to the moving unit to face the other side (see Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 9, SON teaches the moving unit contains a compression unit (60) capable of compressing in the first direction (see Fig. 15, [0084]). SON shows in Fig. 15 60 contacting the contact member which is what the examiner interprets to define the claimed first position of the instant.
Regarding claim 10, SON teaches a maximum thickness of the compression unit in the first direction is half or more of a thickness of a cell body of the battery cell (see Fig. 15, two compression units are completely covering the gap which is equal to the width of cell body 2a, which means their thickness must be more than half of the cell body’s thickness).
Regarding claim 12, SON teaches a pressing member ([0047], gears and drive motor) connected to the frame and pressing the plurality of plates in the first direction [0047].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Regarding claim 4, if it is found that SON does not anticipate the claimed range of thicknesses, then the following rejection has been prepared.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20200280090-A1, SON in view US-20230135483-A1, HONG.
The teachings of SON are taught in the above rejections of claims 1-3.
In an alternative interpretation (see 102 above for first interpretation), SON does not explicitly teach the thickness of the lead contact member nor the installation member.
However, HONG teaches a device for charging and discharging a battery cell (200) comprising plates (211, 212), pressing blocks (221, 222), and grippers (131, 132, present but not shown [0073]). HONG teaches the pressing blocks move when the plates move [0072] and press a region in the battery cell [0072]. HONG teaches the grippers contact the electrode lead [0049] and comprise an electric current and voltage terminal [0049]. HONG teaches the grippers have an embossed or debossed gride on the contacting surface which has an average recess depth or protrusion height of 0.01 to 0.05 mm. HONG teaches the grippers protrude 10% more than the first and second pressing blocks [0051] and that an example of heights may be 20 mm. for the pressing blocks and 22 mm. for the grippers [0051].
It is the examiner’s position that the pressing blocks of HONG read on the plates of the instant because the pressing blocks are movably installed on a frame (211, 212). It is the examiner’s position that the current and voltage contacts of HONG read on the lead contact member of the instant because they comprise a charge-discharge plate. It is the examiner’s position that the grippers read on the claimed installation member of the instant because they contact the cell body and are located in a second direction laterally apart from the pressing blocks (see Fig. 3, even though this is of the first embodiment, the structure of the gripper is the same [0074].
Therefore, because SON does not explicitly teach the thicknesses or widths of the plates, installation members, or contact members, and does not provide any limitations on the thicknesses or widths, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention would have found it obvious to select from measurements and proportions for said components which were known in the art. HONG provides such measurements, which would have been obvious to apply to the invention of SON because SON does not teach any limitations on the dimensions of its components and because HONG seeks to solve a problem in the same field of charging/assembly restraints for battery cells.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of US-20200280090-A1, SON in view of US-20190372147-A1, MATSUMURA.
Regarding claim 11, SON teaches a pressing member ([0047], gears and drive motor) connected to the frame and pressing the plurality of plates in the first direction [0047]. SON also teaches any mechanical combination capable of the function may be employed [0047].
SON does not teach the moving unit includes the compression unit which contains an air chamber and is driven by outside air.
MATSUMURA teaches a method and apparatus for manufacturing a film covered battery [0007] comprising airbags (32) which are used to compress cells (1). MATSUMURA teaches an air supply 39 which provides air from the outside to expand the airbags [0046] and that the air supply may be cut off to contract the airbags [0049]. MATSUMURA teaches the benefit of the airbags is they allow for removal of air bubbles from the middle of the cells which enables a faster injection of electrolyte [0050]
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention would have found it obvious to use the airbags of MATSUMURA to compress the plates of SON because SON teaches that any means of compression may be used and because MATSUMURA is a means of compression for battery cells. Doing so would be no more than replacing one means of compressing battery cells with another that was known in the art. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention would have done so to achieve the benefit MATSUMURA teaches of improved electrolyte injection speed.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SON in view of MATSUMURA and in further view of US-20220042501-A1, NISHIDO.
Regarding claim 13, MATSUMURA teaches measurement of pressure being applied to the cell (Figs. 5-7). While MATSUMURA does not specifically teach a pressure sensor connected to the frame and configured to directly or indirectly measure pressure applied to the battery cell, the presence of this data suggests the use of such a sensor in the application of MATSUMURA, which means MATSUMURA necessarily teaches a pressure sensor.
NISHIDO teaches an air compressor (1) with a pressure gauge (33) that indicates the supply pressure [0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to utilize a pressure gauge as seen in NISHIDO on the air supply of MATSUMURA because doing so would provide a means to measure the pressure exerted on the plates. Such a pressure gauge would be connected to the air supply lines (38) which are connected to the frame (34), meaning the pressure gauge is connected to the frame. This reads on claim 13 of the instant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUISE JAMES IANNUCCI/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721