DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 10 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, ln. 1-2, the phrase, “…a plurality of side surfaces…” could read “…[[a plurality of]] side surfaces…” to better conform to U.S. practice.
In claim 3, ln. 4, the phrase, “…the connector…” could read “…the groove-shaped connector…” to establish the proper antecedent basis and for consistency purposes with the remainder of the claim(s).
In claim 5, ln. 2, the phrase, “…a plurality of side surfaces…” could read “…[[a plurality of]] side surfaces…” to better conform to U.S. practice.
In claim 10, ln. 1-2, the phrase, “…a plurality of side surfaces…” could read “…[[a plurality of]] side surfaces…” to better conform to U.S. practice.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP §608.01(m)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 3, ln. 2-3, the phrase, “…a groove-shaped connector that is connected in a case where the upper ends of the side surfaces of the first packing material are inserted into the connector…” renders the claim to be vague and indefinite because it is unclear as to what structural limitations or relationships is being encompassed with such language. In other words, it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase “in case” are part of the claimed invention or optional. See MPEP §2173.05(d) Further clarification is required. An art rejection is provided below as best understood by the examiner; emphasis added.
In claim 6, ln. 2-3, the phrase, “…wherein in a case where the second packing material is loaded onto the first packing material…” renders the claim to be vague and indefinite because it is unclear as to what structural limitations or relationships is being encompassed with such language. In other words, it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase “in case” are part of the claimed invention or optional. See MPEP §2173.05(d) Further clarification is required. An art rejection is provided below as best understood by the examiner; emphasis added.
As for claim 4, due to its dependency from claim 3, it too has these deficiencies.
Examiner's note: Applicant should carefully proofread all claims and make all necessary corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meyer-Horn (US 20140021090 A1 – art of record; hereinafter Meyer-Horn).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Meyer-Horn discloses an auxiliary unit embodiment (1; as shown in figs. 2, 10a-10c and 12a-12e) that is disposed between a first packing material including a plurality of side surfaces (i.e. the lowermost four lateral walls (3) is what examiner equates to the claimed first packing material; as shown in Figs. 2 and 10a-10c) and a second packing material (i.e. the upper four lateral walls (3) is what examiner equates to the claimed first packing material; as shown in Fig. 2 and 10a-10c) loaded onto the first packing material in a direction of gravity and assists in loading the second packing material onto the first packing material, the auxiliary unit comprising:
a load receiving portion (i.e. in the form of a bottom or transverse partition (13) is what examiner equates the claimed load receiving portion) that is provided along the side surfaces of the first packing material on an upper side in a direction of gravity and receives a load of the second packing material (Meyer-Horn [0181-0210]).
Regarding claim 2, Meyer-Horn further discloses wherein the load receiving portion is disposed at upper ends of the side surfaces of the first packing material (see Meyer-Horn Figs. 2 and 10a-10c).
Regarding claim 3, Meyer-Horn further discloses wherein the load receiving portion is disposed above a groove-shaped connector (i.e. in the form of space (15 and 15a-15b) formed by an interior lateral partition (12) AND an external lateral partition (11) in Figs. 12a-12e is what examiner equates to the claimed groove-shaped connector) that is connected in a case where the upper ends of the side surfaces of the first packing material are inserted into the [groove-shaped] connector (Meyer-Horn [0169-0188] and Figs. 12a-12e).
Regarding claim 4, Meyer-Horn further discloses wherein a groove width of the connector is partially increased to correspond to a portion where thickness directions of the side surfaces of the first packing material overlap with each other (Meyer-Horn [0169-0188] and Figs. 12a-12e).
Regarding claim 5, Meyer-Horn further discloses wherein the second packing material includes a plurality of side surfaces, and the auxiliary unit includes a load portion that is provided along the side surfaces of the second packing material on a lower side in a direction of gravity and is in contact with the load receiving portion (see Meyer-Horn Figs. 2 and 10a-10c).
Regarding claim 6, Meyer-Horn further discloses wherein in a case where the second packing material is loaded onto the first packing material, only the load portion and the load receiving portion are in contact with each other and a gap is formed between an upper portion of the first packing material and a lower portion of the second packing material (see Meyer-Horn Figs. 2 and 10a-10c).
Alternative art rejection(s):
Claims 1-2, 5-9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gauthier et al. (US 7997213 B1; hereinafter Gauthier).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Gauthier discloses an auxiliary unit embodiment (as shown in Figs. 1-9; i.e. the combination of: four upper corner support structures which includes upper supports (28), stacking pin (30), upper corner plates (32) & lifting lugs (34) AND the combination of: base support bars (16), holes (14) & lower corner plates (15) – is which what the examiner equates to the claimed auxiliary unit) that is disposed between a first packing material (i.e. in the form of a cradle (2)) including a plurality of side surfaces (i.e. in the form of a top frame (20)) and a second packing material (i.e. the upper cradle (2) – as shown in Fig. 7-9) loaded onto the first packing material in a direction of gravity and assists in loading the second packing material onto the first packing material,
the auxiliary unit comprising: a load receiving portion (upper supports (28) AND corner plate (32)) that is provided along the side surfaces of the first packing material on an upper side in a direction of gravity and receives a load of the second packing material (Gauthier Col. 3 ln. 55 – Col. 5 ln. 12).
Regarding claim 2, Gauthier further discloses wherein the load receiving portion is disposed at upper ends of the side surfaces of the first packing material (see Gauthier Figs. 1-9).
Regarding claim 5, Gauthier further discloses wherein the second packing material includes a plurality of side surfaces, and the auxiliary unit (specifically the combination of: base support bars (16) and lower corner plates (15)) includes a load portion (specifically the base support bars (16)) that is provided along the side surfaces of the second packing material on a lower side in a direction of gravity and is in contact with the load receiving portion (specifically the upper corner plates (32); see annotated Gauthier Fig. 9 below).
Regarding claim 6, Gauthier further discloses wherein in a case where the second packing material is loaded onto the first packing material, only the load portion and the load receiving portion are in contact with each other and a gap is formed between an upper portion of the first packing material and a lower portion of the second packing material (see annotated Gauthier Fig. 9 above).
Regarding claim 7, Gauthier further discloses wherein the load receiving portion (specifically the stacking pin (30)) protrudes upward, and the load portion (specifically hole (14)) is recessed upward (see annotated Gauthier Fig. 9 above).
Regarding claim 8, Gauthier further discloses wherein the load receiving portion is formed in a shape of a linear projection extending in a horizontal direction, and
the load portion is formed in a shape of a groove to which the load receiving portion is fitted (see annotated Gauthier Fig. 9 above).
Regarding claim 9, Gauthier further discloses wherein the load portion is formed integrally with a support part that supports the second packing material on an upper surface thereof (see annotated Gauthier Fig. 9 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited documents are listed on the attached PTO-892 form.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
/B. V. P./
Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736