DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 7-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al (US 2024/0073770 A1) in view of Lewis et al (US 2023/0038198 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shah teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a radio access network (RAN) controller device of a RAN, performance metric information (Shah: Fig. 5; [0114]-[0115], CE/RAN controller receives at step S5040, HO status information/performance metric from RAN 110);
calculating, by the RAN controller device, offset values based on the performance metric information and different performance metric classifications of end devices (Shah: Fig. 5; [0115]-[0117], CE determines at step S5060, mobility configuration parameters based on the HO status information; the mobility configuration information comprising CIO/offset, see [0118]); and
transmitting, by the RAN controller device, the offset values to wireless stations of the RAN (Shah: Fig. 5; at step S5100 the offsets are transmitted to the UEs).
Shah does not explicitly disclose the performance metric pertains to a transport network that connects the RAN to a core network.
Lewis teaches performance metric pertaining to a transport network that connects the RAN to a core network (Lewis: Fig. 6; [0026], [0058], [0066], collecting transport network performance).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shah wherein the performance metric pertains to a transport network that connects the RAN to a core network as disclosed by Lewis to provide a system for dynamic wireless network throughput adjustment (Lewis: Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Shah teaches a network device (Shah: Fig. 5; CE 150) comprising: a processor that is configured to:
receive performance metric information ,wherein the network device is a RAN controller device of the RAN (Shah: Fig. 5; [0114]-[0115], CE/RAN controller receives at step S5040, HO status information/performance metric from RAN 110);
calculate offset values based on the performance metric information and different performance metric classifications of end devices (Shah: Fig. 5; [0115]-[0117], CE determines at step S5060, mobility configuration parameters based on the Ho status information; the mobility configuration information comprising CIO/offset, see [0118]); and
transmit the offset values to wireless stations of the RAN (Shah: Fig. 5; at step S5100 the offsets are transmitted to the UEs).
Shah does not explicitly disclose the performance metric pertains to a transport network that connects the RAN to a core network.
Lewis teaches performance metric pertaining to a transport network that connects the RAN to a core network (Lewis: Fig. 6; [0026], [0058], [0066], collecting transport network performance).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shah wherein the performance metric pertains to a transport network that connects the RAN to a core network as disclosed by Lewis to provide a system for dynamic wireless network throughput adjustment (Lewis: Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Shah teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions executable by a processor of a radio access network (RAN) controller device (Shah: Fig. 5; CE 150), wherein the instructions are configured to:
receive performance metric information, wherein the network device is a RAN controller device of the RAN (Shah: Fig. 5; [0114]-[0115], CE/RAN controller receives at step S5040, HO status information/performance metric from RAN 110);
calculate offset values based on the performance metric information and different performance metric classifications of end devices (Shah: Fig. 5; [0115]-[0117], CE determines at step S5060, mobility configuration parameters based on the Ho status information; the mobility configuration information comprising CIO/offset, see [0118]); and
transmit the offset values to wireless stations of the RAN (Shah: Fig. 5; at step S5100 the offsets are transmitted to the UEs).
Shah does not explicitly disclose the performance metric pertains to a transport network that connects the RAN to a core network.
Lewis teaches performance metric pertaining to a transport network that connects the RAN to a core network (Lewis: Fig. 6; [0026], [0058], [0066], collecting transport network performance).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shah wherein the performance metric pertains to a transport network that connects the RAN to a core network as disclosed by Lewis to provide a system for dynamic wireless network throughput adjustment (Lewis: Abstract).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Shah teaches wherein the performance metric information includes performance metric values relating to at least one of latency, throughput, reliability (Shah: [0132]-[0133] HO information status elated to reliability), or packet error pertaining to the transport network.
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Shah teaches calculating, by the RAN controller device, neighbor lists for each wireless station of the wireless stations based on the performance metric information and different performance metric classifications of the end devices (Shah: Fig. 7; [0118] CIO for different cells/neighboring cells determined).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Shah teaches receiving, by the RAN controller device, at least one of configuration or topology change information of the transport network, and wherein the calculating further comprises: calculating, by the RAN controller device, the offset values based on the performance metric information, the different performance metric classifications of end devices, and the at least one of the configuration or topology change information (Shah: Fig. 5; steps S5010 to step S5060; based on change of EU locations/configuration changes, CE determines updated mobility configuration parameters).
Regarding claims 5, 13 and 18, Shah teaches receiving calculating, by the RAN controller device, the offset values based on the performance metric information, the different performance metric classifications of end devices, at least one of configuration or topology change information (Shah: Fig. 5; steps S5010 to step S5060; based on change of EU locations/configuration changes, CE determines updated mobility configuration parameters), and at least one of mobility load balancing (MLB), mobility robustness optimization (MRO) (Shah: Fig. 5; [0066]-[0067], [0077], [0108]), or automatic neighbor relation (ANR).
Regarding claims 6, 14 and 19, Shah teaches wherein the different performance metric classifications relate to different Fifth Generation (5G) Quality of Service Class Identifiers (5QCIs) (Shah: Fig. 7; [0073], [0077] QoS in 5G system).
Regarding claims 8, 16 and 19, Shah teaches wherein the RAN controller device includes a RAN intelligent controller (RIC) device or a base station controller (BSC) device (Shah: Fig. 5; [0031], [0077]).
Claims 7, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al (US 2024/0073770 A1) in view of Lewis et al (US 2023/0038198 A1) in further view of Gajic et al (WO 2023/083458 A1).
Regarding claims 7, 15 and 20, Shah does not explicitly disclose wherein the offset values include cell individual offset values that pertain to different radio resource control (RRC) states of the end devices.
Gajic teaches wherein the offset values include cell individual offset values that pertain to different radio resource control (RRC) states of the end devices (Gajic: Page 29: lines 1-7, CIO based on RRC states of the users).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shah wherein the offset values include cell individual offset values that pertain to different radio resource control (RRC) states of the end devices as disclosed by Gajic to provide a system for RL-based mobility optimization (Gajic: Page 2).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478