Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, line 1, “Method of” should read “A method of”
Regarding claim 2, line 1, “Method according” should read “the method according”
Regarding claim 3, line 1, “Method according” should read “the method according”
Regarding claim 2, line 1, “Method according” should read “the method according”
Regarding claim 4, line 1, “Method according” should read “the method according”
Regarding claim 5, line 1, “Method according” should read “the method according”
Regarding claim 6, line 1, “Method according” should read “the method according”
Regarding claim 7, line 1, “Method according” should read “the method according”
Regarding claim 8, line 1, “Method according” should read “the method according”
Regarding claim 9, line 1, “Method according” should read “the method according”
Regarding claim 10, line 1, “Method according” should read “the method according”
Regarding claim 11, line 1, “Method according” should read “the method according”
Regarding claim 12, line 1, “Method according” should read “the method according”
Regarding claim 13, line 1, “Method according” should read “the method according”
Regarding claim 14, line 1, “Sensor configured” should read “the sensor configured”
Regarding claim 15, line 1, “Sensor comprising” should read “the sensor configured to implement the method according to claim 11 and comprising: ”
Regarding claim 16, line 1, “Sensor comprising” should read “the sensor configured to implement the method according to claim 10 and comprising: ”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites the same limitation as the final lines of claim 1, mainly line 12-17, without further limiting the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination the claim is rejected in the same manner as the final lines of claim 1, pending further amendment or cancellation.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Singer et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20200200904 A1), hereinafter Singer.
Regarding claim 1, Singer teaches method of acquisition of distances from a sensor to a scene, the method comprising, during a phase of capture of the scene, a number N of consecutive capture sub-phases Ci, with N an integer greater than or equal to 2 and i an integer index ranging from 1 to N ([0036] Now referring to FIG. 3, a chart 300 depicting a piecewise linear modulation scheme that is employed by the lidar system 102 to allow for different range resolutions is illustrated; [0037] While the up-chirp is illustrated as consisting of two linear segments, it is to be understood that a piecewise linear up-chirp can be configured to include more than two linear segments (e.g., an up-chirp can include between two and five linear segments).), each of the capture sub-phases Ci comprising:
the supplying of a laser beam having an optical frequency linearly varying over a frequency range of width Bi for a time period Ti ([Fig. 3]; [0029] The shape of the frequency variation, for example a frequency chirp whereby the frequency is altered linearly with time, can be set by adjusting the electrical and/or optical parameters of the modulator 208.);
the supplying from said laser beam of a reference beam and of a useful beam ([0031] In a conventional FMCW lidar system, the frequency of radiation emitted from the lidar system is modulated and chirped in a periodic fashion f(t), and the modulated radiation is split into two branches, a local oscillator (LO) (represented by line 220) that is kept local to the lidar system 102 and an emitted beam (represented by line 222)); and
the illumination of the scene by the useful beam and the illumination of at least one row of pixels of the sensor by a beam corresponding to a superposition of the reference beam and of a reflected beam corresponding to the reflection of the useful beam by the scene ([0031] The return reflection 224 interferes coherently with the LO 220 at the sensor 214, resulting in the sensor 214 outputting a sensor signal that is representative of a beat frequency),
wherein an absolute value of a ratio Bi/Ti is different for each capture sub-phase Ci ([Fig. 3]; [0037] the equivalent range where the lidar system 102 switches from short-range to long-range mode; and 2) k, the ratio of the two chirps (ξ1=k×ξ2), where k is user-specified (which may be equivalently considered as specifying bandwidths B1 and B2, which respectively correspond to the segment 308 and 310).),
wherein each capture sub-phase Ci corresponds to a range Dzi of measurement of distances from the sensor to the scene, range Dzi ranging from zmini to zmaxi with zmaxi greater than zmini, ratios Bi/Ti being determined so that for i varying from 1 to N−1, zmini+i is substantially equal to zmaxi without being greater than zmaxi ([Fig. 3]; [0037] the equivalent range where the lidar system 102 switches from short-range to long-range mode; and 2) k, the ratio of the two chirps (ξ1=k×ξ2), where k is user-specified (which may be equivalently considered as specifying bandwidths B1 and B2, which respectively correspond to the segment 308 and 310)...As illustrated in FIG. 3, the line 304 represents a “short-range return” when the object 226 is at some distance RS≤Rx from the lidar system 102 and the line 308 is a “long-range return” when the object 226 is at some distance RS>Rx from the lidar system 102. It is also to be noted that, due to signal-to-noise characteristics associated with the lidar system 102, effective short-range returns may occur for a distance Rx, that is less than Rx.).
Regarding claim 2, Singer teaches method according to claim 1, where ratios Bi/Ti are determined so that for i ranging from 1 to N−1 zmini+1 is equal to zmaxi ([Fig. 3]; [0037] the equivalent range where the lidar system 102 switches from short-range to long-range mode; and 2) k, the ratio of the two chirps (ξ1=k×ξ2), where k is user-specified (which may be equivalently considered as specifying bandwidths B1 and B2, which respectively correspond to the segment 308 and 310)...As illustrated in FIG. 3, the line 304 represents a “short-range return” when the object 226 is at some distance RS≤Rx from the lidar system 102 and the line 308 is a “long-range return” when the object 226 is at some distance RS>Rx from the lidar system 102. It is also to be noted that, due to signal-to-noise characteristics associated with the lidar system 102, effective short-range returns may occur for a distance Rx, that is less than Rx.).
Regarding claim 3, Singer teaches method according to claim 1, wherein, for each measurement sub-phase Ci and for each pixel of the sensor, the illumination of the pixel by the beam corresponding to the superposition of the reference beam and of the reflected beam results in a signal oscillating at a beat frequency FRi belonging to a range ΔFRi of frequencies ranging from a frequency FRinfi to a frequency FRsupi if a point in the scene associated with said pixel is at a distance from the pixel within range Dzi ([0033] A solid line 902 represents the LO 220 , while a dashed line 904 represents the return reflection 222 from the object 226. The lines 902 and 904 have a slope...and the beat frequency f is related to... Thus , the range R ( the distance between the lidar system 102 and the object 226 ) and the beat frequency f have a linear relationship that is proportional to the slope of the chirp.).
Regarding claim 4, Singer teaches method according to claim 3, wherein, for i ranging from 1 to N, FRsupi is equal to Ki times FRinfi, with Ki a coefficient, and frequency FRinfi is identical for all indexes i in the range from 1 to N ("[0037] up - chirp of the LO 220 includes a first segment 308 with a first slope ξ1, and a second segment 310 with a second slope ξ2 , wherein ξ1 > ξ2 ... k , the ratio of the two chirps (ξ1 = kxξ2 ), where k is user - specified ( which may be equivalently considered as specifying bandwidths B1 , and B2 , which respectively correspond to the segment 308 and 310 ) ").
Regarding claim 5, Singer teaches method according to claim 4, wherein Ki is identical for all indexes i in the range from 1 to N ([0037] k , the ratio of the two chirps (ξ1 = kxξ2 ) , where k is user - specified ( which may be equivalently considered as specifying bandwidths B1 , and B2 , which respectively correspond to the segment 308 and 310 )).
Regarding claim 6, Singer teaches method according to claim 3, wherein for each capture sub-phase Ci and each pixel of the sensor, if the beat frequency FRi is within frequency range ΔFRi, a distance z from the pixel to the point in the scene associated with the pixel is calculated based on the following formula: z=(c·T i ·F Ri)/(2·B i), with c the speed of light ("[0038] Accordingly, the sensor 214 outputs an analog sensor signal that exhibits two beat frequencies fs1 and fs2. These beat frequencies, as well as the associated range resolutions, are related by k as follows [Eq. 3]; [0045] For instance, when the up - chirp has two segments, bandwidths for such segments can be computed as follows [Eq. 4]").
Regarding claim 7, Singer teaches method according to claim 3, wherein for each pixel and at each capture sub-phase Ci, a measurement of the frequency FRi of a pixel is obtained by counting, during the duration Ti of said sub-phase Ci, a number of periods of the oscillating signal of said pixel ([0040] The return reflection 224 constructively interferes with the local oscillator 220 at the sensor 214, and the analog sensor signal output by the sensor 214 is representative of such interference. The ADC 216 receives the analog sensor signal and generates a digital signal based thereon, where the digital signal has N data points per chirp period T (e.g., based upon the sampling rate of the ADC 216). The processing circuitry 218 performs an FFT over the N data points, thus generating a frequency signal.).
Regarding claim 8, Singer teaches method according to claim 7, wherein, for each pixel and for each capture sub-phase Ci, the pixel is at a distance from the point in the scene associated with this pixel within measurement range Dzi if the number of periods counted during the duration Ti of sub-phase Ci belongs to a range of values ranging from a low value Mmini to a high value Mmaxi, the low value being equal to Ti*FRinfi and the high value being equal to Ti*FRsupi ([Fig. 3]; [0035] While the beat frequency f is analog, the resolution at which the beat frequency f can be measured is limited by the sampling rate FADC of the ADC 216. More specifically, for a given capture or “pixel”, the ADC 216 captures N samples at the rate of fADC, and so the bin width (resolution bandwidth (RBW)) of the FFT performed by the processing circuitry 218 is Δf = fADC/N.).
Regarding claim 9, Singer teaches method according to claim 2, wherein, for i ranging from 1 to N, each range Dzi has a width equal to a targeted distance measurement resolution ([0035] More specifically, for a given capture or “pixel”, the ADC 216 captures N samples at the rate of fADC, and so the bin width (resolution bandwidth (RBW)) of the FFT performed).
Regarding claim 10, Singer teaches method according to claim 8, wherein, for i ranging from 1 to N, each range Dzi has a width equal to a targeted distance measurement resolution, and, for each pixel and for each capture sub-phase Ci, the pixel is at a distance from the point in the scene associated with this pixel within measurement range Dzi if the number of periods counted during the duration Ti of sub-phase Ci is equal to a number determined by this targeted resolution ([0035] The range resolution ΔR at which the processing circuitry 218 can compute the range to the object 226, without any additional resolution enhancements in post-processing (such as peak interpolation or oversampling), is as follows... Resolution enhancements used in post-processing can additionally be employed to further improve resolution.).
Regarding claim 11, Singer teaches method according to claim 6, wherein each range Dzi has a width equal to a targeted distance measurement resolution, and, for each pixel and for each capture sub-phase Ci, a determination that the beat frequency FRi is within frequency range ΔFRi is performed by detecting a given frequency of range ΔFRi ([0035] While the beat frequency f is analog, the resolution at which the beat frequency f can be measured is limited by the sampling rate FADC of the ADC 216. More specifically, for a given capture or “pixel”, the ADC 216 captures N samples at the rate of fADC, and so the bin width (resolution bandwidth (RBW)) of the FFT performed by the processing circuitry 218 is Δf = fADC/N.).
Regarding claim 13, Singer teaches method according to claim 1, wherein, for each capture sub-phase Ci, the optical frequency of the laser beam varies from fstarti to fendi, for i ranging from 1 to N−1, fendi equal to fstarti+1 and a sign of coefficient Bi/Ti changes at each passage from a current capture sub-phase Ci to a next capture sub-phase Ci ([Fig. 3]; [0029] The down-chirp of the chirp can be a piecewise linear down-chirp with negative slopes that correspond to the slopes of the up-chirp.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singer in view of Nicolaescu (United States Patent Application Publication 20190391243 A1), hereinafter Nicolaescu.
Regarding claim 12, Singer teaches method according to claim 1,
Singer fails to teach the method wherein, for i ranging from 1 to N, Ti is equal to T/N with T a duration of a phase of simultaneous acquisition by all the sensor pixels, or of a phase of acquisition by a single pixel row of a pixel array of the sensor.
However, Nicolaescu teaches the method wherein, for i ranging from 1 to N, Ti is equal to T/N with T a duration of a phase of simultaneous acquisition by all the sensor pixels, or of a phase of acquisition by a single pixel row of a pixel array of the sensor ([0152] Another example including an architecture for off chip steering or flash illumination of the scene is shown in FIG. 26... field of view for flash/entire scene illumination. One or more signals 2609 can be routed to the receiver block to be further divided to supply local oscillator light to a plurality of pixels.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Singer to comprise the sensor pixel distribution similar to Nicolaescu, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a method known to the art to ensure equal distribution of signal distributed across an array of pixels.
Regarding claim 14, teaches sensor configured to implement the method according to claim 1, the sensor comprising:
a source of a laser beam ([0029] The transmitter 202 includes a laser source 206),
an optical device configured to supply a reference beam and a useful beam intended to illuminate a scene to be captured ([0031] In a conventional FMCW lidar system, the frequency of radiation emitted from the lidar system is modulated and chirped in a periodic fashion f(t), and the modulated radiation is split into two branches, a local oscillator (LO) (represented by line 220) that is kept local to the lidar system 102 and an emitted beam (represented by line 222)),
an optical device configured to simultaneously supply at least one pixel row with a beam corresponding to a superposition of the reference beam and of a beam reflected by the scene when it is illuminated by the useful beam ([0031] The return reflection 224 interferes coherently with the LO 220 at the sensor 214, resulting in the sensor 214 outputting a sensor signal that is representative of a beat frequency), and
a circuit for controlling the source, configured to modulate an optical frequency of the laser beam supplied by the source so that at each capture sub-phase Ci, the optical frequency of the beam varies linearly over the frequency range of width Bi during time period Ti ([Fig. 3]; [0029] The shape of the frequency variation, for example a frequency chirp whereby the frequency is altered linearly with time, can be set by adjusting the electrical and/or optical parameters of the modulator 208; [0036] Now referring to FIG. 3, a chart 300 depicting a piecewise linear modulation scheme that is employed by the lidar system 102 to allow for different range resolutions is illustrated; [0037] While the up-chirp is illustrated as consisting of two linear segments, it is to be understood that a piecewise linear up-chirp can be configured to include more than two linear segments (e.g., an up-chirp can include between two and five linear segments).).
Singer fails to teach the method with a sensor comprising an array of pixels.
However, Nicolaescu teaches the method with a sensor comprising an array of pixels ([0114] The receiver PIC 408 includes an array of N by M pixels 503,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Singer to comprise the array of pixels similar to Nicolaescu, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a known method in the art to itemize returned signals into quantifiable detection units.
Regarding claim 15, Singer teaches sensor comprising:
a source of a laser beam ([0029] The transmitter 202 includes a laser source 206);
an optical device configured to supply a reference beam and a useful beam intended to illuminate a scene to be captured ([0031] In a conventional FMCW lidar system, the frequency of radiation emitted from the lidar system is modulated and chirped in a periodic fashion f(t), and the modulated radiation is split into two branches, a local oscillator (LO) (represented by line 220) that is kept local to the lidar system 102 and an emitted beam (represented by line 222));
an optical device configured to simultaneously supply all the pixels with a beam corresponding to a superposition of the reference beam and of a beam reflected by the scene when it is illuminated by the useful beam ([0031] The return reflection 224 interferes coherently with the LO 220 at the sensor 214, resulting in the sensor 214 outputting a sensor signal that is representative of a beat frequency); and
a circuit for controlling the source, configured to modulate an optical frequency of the laser beam supplied by the source so that at each capture sub-phase Ci, the optical frequency of the beam varies linearly over the frequency range of width Bi during time period Ti ([Fig. 3]; [0029] The shape of the frequency variation, for example a frequency chirp whereby the frequency is altered linearly with time, can be set by adjusting the electrical and/or optical parameters of the modulator 208; [0036] Now referring to FIG. 3, a chart 300 depicting a piecewise linear modulation scheme that is employed by the lidar system 102 to allow for different range resolutions is illustrated; [0037] While the up-chirp is illustrated as consisting of two linear segments, it is to be understood that a piecewise linear up-chirp can be configured to include more than two linear segments (e.g., an up-chirp can include between two and five linear segments).);
the sensor being configured to implement the method according to claim 11 and comprising an event management circuit ([0030] The receiver 204 also includes processing circuitry 218 that is operably coupled to the ADC 216. The processing circuitry 218 is configured to compute a distance between the lidar system 102 and one or more objects in a field of view of the lidar system 102 based upon the digital signal output by the ADC 216.), and
each pixel comprising a circuit configured to detect the given frequency and a circuit configured to deliver at least one event signal to the event management circuit if, during a sub-phase Ci, the given frequency is detected ([0039] FIG. 4 is a chart 400 that depicts a frequency signal 402 output by the processing circuitry 218 when the processing circuitry 218 performs an FFT on a digital signal output by the ADC 216 when the short-range return interferes with the LO 220.... when the processing circuitry 218 performs an FFT on a digital signal output by the ADC 218 when the long-range return interferes with the LO 220. The frequency signal 502 includes a single peak that represents the beat frequency fL.).
Singer fails to teach the sensor with an array of pixels
However, Nicolaescu teaches the sensor with an array of pixels ([0114] The receiver PIC 408 includes an array of N by M pixels 503,)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Singer to comprise the array of pixels similar to Nicolaescu, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a known method in the art to itemize returned signals into quantifiable detection units.
Regarding claim 16, Singer teaches sensor comprising:
a source of a laser beam ([0029] The transmitter 202 includes a laser source 206);
an optical device configured to supply a reference beam and a useful beam intended to illuminate a scene to be captured ([0031] In a conventional FMCW lidar system, the frequency of radiation emitted from the lidar system is modulated and chirped in a periodic fashion f(t), and the modulated radiation is split into two branches, a local oscillator (LO) (represented by line 220) that is kept local to the lidar system 102 and an emitted beam (represented by line 222));
an optical device configured to simultaneously supply all the pixels with a beam corresponding to a superposition of the reference beam and of a beam reflected by the scene when it is illuminated by the useful beam ([0031] The return reflection 224 interferes coherently with the LO 220 at the sensor 214, resulting in the sensor 214 outputting a sensor signal that is representative of a beat frequency); and
a circuit for controlling the source, configured to modulate an optical frequency of the laser beam supplied by the source so that at each capture sub-phase Ci, the optical frequency of the beam varies linearly over the frequency range of width Bi during time period Ti ([Fig. 3]; [0029] The shape of the frequency variation, for example a frequency chirp whereby the frequency is altered linearly with time, can be set by adjusting the electrical and/or optical parameters of the modulator 208; [0036] Now referring to FIG. 3, a chart 300 depicting a piecewise linear modulation scheme that is employed by the lidar system 102 to allow for different range resolutions is illustrated; [0037] While the up-chirp is illustrated as consisting of two linear segments, it is to be understood that a piecewise linear up-chirp can be configured to include more than two linear segments (e.g., an up-chirp can include between two and five linear segments).);
the sensor being configured to implement the method according to claim 10 and comprising an event management circuit ([0030] The receiver 204 also includes processing circuitry 218 that is operably coupled to the ADC 216. The processing circuitry 218 is configured to compute a distance between the lidar system 102 and one or more objects in a field of view of the lidar system 102 based upon the digital signal output by the ADC 216.), and
each pixel comprising a circuit configured to supply at least one event signal to the event management circuit if, during a sub-phase Ci, the number of periods counted during the duration Ti of sub-phase Ci is equal to the number determined by the targeted resolution ([0035] More specifically, for a given capture or “pixel”, the ADC 216 captures N samples at the rate of fADC, and so the bin width (resolution bandwidth (RBW)) of the FFT performed by the processing circuitry 218... In the limit where the period of the chirp T is also the pixel time N×fADC=T, Eq. (2)).
Singer fails to teach the sensor comprising an array of pixels
However, Nicolaescu teaches the sensor with an array of pixels ([0114] The receiver PIC 408 includes an array of N by M pixels 503,)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Singer to comprise the array of pixels similar to Nicolaescu, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a known method in the art to itemize returned signals into quantifiable detection units.
Conclusion
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645