DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (claims 21-23 and 28-30) in the reply filed on 03/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 24-27 and 31-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/10/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 10/23/2023, has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “coupling device” in claims 21 and 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 28, and 29, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yap et al. (USPN 6,817,990).
[Claim 21] Yap teaches a device (figure 4, item 401) for delivering fluid to a user (abstract), the device (figure 4, item 401) comprising:
a fluid reservoir (figure 4, item 406) for holding the fluid, the fluid reservoir (figure 4, item 406) defining an internal volume (figure 4) and a stopper (figure 4, item 407) positioned in the internal volume of the fluid reservoir (figure 4, item 406), wherein the stopper (figure 4, item 407) is formed with a cavity (“threaded cavity”) (column 7, lines 20-43);
a piston (figure 4, item 405) having a distal end received within the cavity of the stopper (figure 4, item 407) (figure 4);
an actuator (figure 4, item 403) coupled to the piston (figure 4, item 405) for driving the piston (figure 4, item 405) into the internal volume of the fluid reservoir (figure 4, item 406) (column 7, lines 53-57); and
a coupling device (figure 4, items 424/426) coupled to the stopper (figure 4, item 407) and the piston (figure 4, item 405) and configured to prevent axial separation of the stopper (figure 4, item 407) from the piston (figure 4, item 405) (column 7, lines 34-43).
[Claim 28] Yap teaches the limitations of claim 21, upon which claim 28 depends. In addition, Yap discloses the coupling device (figure 4, items 424/426) is configured to prevent the stopper (figure 4, item 407) from slipping or reducing, in an uncontrolled manner, a volume of the fluid in the fluid reservoir (figure 4, item 406) by preventing the axial separation of the stopper (figure 4, item 407) from the piston (figure 4, item 405) (column 7, lines 34-43; column 10, lines 58-67).
[Claim 29] Yap teaches a device (figure 4, item 401) for detecting whether a fluid delivery device stopper (figure 4, item 407) (the examiner notes the “fluid delivery device stopper” is not a positively recited claim structure) is correctly positioned, the device (figure 4, item 401) comprising:
a fluid reservoir (figure 4, item 406) for holding fluid, the fluid reservoir (figure 4, item 406) defining an internal volume (figure 4), wherein the fluid delivery device stopper (figure 4, item 407) is formed with a cavity (“threaded cavity”) (column 7, lines 20-43);
a piston (figure 4, item 405) having a distal end received within the cavity of the fluid delivery device stopper (figure 4, item 407) (figure 4); and
a sensor (“encoder”) configured to generate information indicative of whether there is axial separation of the fluid delivery device stopper (figure 4, item 407) from the piston (figure 4, item 405) (the examiner notes that the functional limitation of “information indicative of whether there is axial separation” does not require a measurement; as such, the “monitoring the number of motor rotations” is considered to be “information indicative” of axial separation) (column 8, lines 43-48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22, 23, and 30, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yap et al. (USPN 6,817,990), in view of Tong et al. (PGPub 2021/0196935).
[Claim 22] Yap teaches the limitations of claim 21, upon which claim 22 depends. Although disclosing the coupling device (figure 4, items 424/426) comprises a first component (figure 4, item 424) mounted to the stopper (figure 4, item 407) and a second component (figure 4, item 426) mounted to the piston (figure 4, item 405), which are configured to engage the piston (figure 4, item 405) in the cavity of the stopper (figure 4, item 407) at a desired position to prevent the axial separation of the stopper (figure 4, item 407) from the piston (figure 4, item 405) (column 7, lines 34-43; column 10, lines 58-67), Yap does not specifically disclose the coupling device is magnetic.
However, Tong teaches a fluid delivery device (figure 8, item 210) comprising a magnet coupling device (figure 8, item 292) for connection of two parts (paragraph 0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the coupling device taught by Yap, with the use of a magnetic coupling device, as taught by Tong, in order to provide increased functionality and versatility, by allowing for an alternative means of achieving the same result of coupling the piston and the stopper.
[Claim 23] Yap and Tong teach the limitations of claim 22, upon which claim 23 depends. Although teaching a sensor (“encoder”), coupled to at least one of the first component (figure 4, item 424) or the second component (figure 4, item 426), for determining whether the piston (figure 4, item 405) is engaged in the cavity of the stopper (figure 4, item 407) at a desired position (column 8, lines 43-48), Yap does not specifically disclose the sensor is configured to detect magnetic field strength.
However, Tong teaches a fluid delivery device (figure 8, item 210) comprising a sensor (figure 8, item 290) configured to detect magnetic field strength to generate information indicative of whether there is the axial separation of the fluid delivery device stopper from the piston (Tong teaches the use of a magnetoresistive switch, reed switch, or Hall sensor) (the examiner notes that the functional limitation of “information indicative of whether there is axial separation” does not require a measurement; as such, the detecting connection between two parts is considered to be “information indicative” of axial separation) (paragraph [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the sensor taught by Yap, with the use of a magnetic sensitive sensor, as taught by Tong, in order to provide increased functionality and versatility, by allowing for an alternative, yet equivalent, means of monitoring the relative position of device components.
[Claim 30] Yap teaches the limitations of claim 29, upon which claim 30 depends. Although teaching a sensor (“encoder”) for generating information indicative of whether there is axial separation of the fluid delivery device stopper (figure 4, item 407) from the piston (figure 4, item 405) (column 8, lines 43-48), Yap does not specifically disclose the sensor is configured to detect magnetic field strength.
However, Tong teaches a fluid delivery device (figure 8, item 210) comprising a sensor (figure 8, item 290) configured to detect magnetic field strength to generate information indicative of whether there is the axial separation of the fluid delivery device stopper from the piston (Tong teaches the use of a magnetoresistive switch, reed switch, or Hall sensor) (again, the examiner notes that the functional limitation of “information indicative of whether there is axial separation” does not require a measurement; as such, the detecting connection between two parts is considered to be “information indicative” of axial separation) (paragraph [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the sensor taught by Yap, with the use of a magnetic sensitive sensor, as taught by Tong, in order to provide increased functionality and versatility, by allowing for an alternative, yet equivalent, means of monitoring the relative position of device components.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-23 and 28-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 10-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,724,045. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the elements of the recited instant application claims are found in the recited patent claims. For example, all of the elements of claim 21 of the instant application can be found in claim 1 of the patent. The difference between claim 21 of the instant application and claim 1 of the patent lies in the fact that the patent claim includes more elements and is thus more specific. Thus, the invention of claim 1 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the "generic” invention of claim 21 of the instant application. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 21 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of the patent.
Conclusion
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 03/27/2026