DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-11 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peralta (EP 2913389).
Regarding claim 1, Peralta teaches a culture device comprising a first body (40) forming a first portion of the cell culture chamber (74); a second body (76) forming a second portion of the cell culture chamber (74) the first body (40) and the second body (76) configured to couple together (refer to Figure 10), thereby forming an enclosed volume; wherein a first non-porous, gas-permeable material (78) is disposed on the first body (40); and wherein the first non-porous, gas-permeable material (78) and the first body (40) are formed together. (Refer to Figure 7)
Regarding claim 2, a second non-porous, gas-permeable material (silicone, 12) disposed on the second body (42); and wherein the second non-porous, gas-permeable material and the second body are formed together. (Refer to Figure 10)
Regarding claim 4, one or more structural islands (26 and 28).
Regarding claim 5, the first body (40) and the second body (76) couple together using mating elements (screws).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the first body (40) includes a plurality of openings (36) configured to allow gas exposure to an external environment via an outside surface of the first non- porous, gas-permeable material and/or the second non-porous, gas-permeable material. (Refer to Figure 10)
Regarding claim 7, the plurality of openings (36) comprise a geometric, hexagonal, septagonal, octagonal, symmetrical, honeycomb, round, circular, oblong, oval, or square shape. (Refer to Figure 10)
Regarding claim 8, the first non-porous, gas-permeable material (78) is positioned on an inner surface of the first body (40), the first non-porous, gas-permeable material being configured to cover the plurality of openings of the first body (40). (Refer to Figure 10)
Regarding claim 9, a structural section of the second body (76) includes a plurality of openings (78) configured to allow gas exposure to an external environment via an outside surface of the first non-porous, gas-permeable material and/or the second non-porous, gas- permeable material.
Regarding claim 10, the plurality of openings (36) comprise a geometric, hexagonal, septagonal, octagonal, symmetrical, honeycomb, round, circular, oblong, oval, or square shape. (Refer to Figure 10)
Regarding claim 11, the second non-porous, gas-permeable material (78) is positioned on an inner surface of the first body, the second non-porous, gas-permeable material being configured to cover the plurality of openings of the second body (76).
Regarding claim 29, the cell culture chamber (74) comprising at least one body (76) forming an enclosed volume; and a non-porous, gas-permeable material (78) disposed on the at least one body such that the non-porous, gas-permeable material and the at least one body are formed together; wherein no structures are disposed within the enclosed volume. (Refer to Figure 10)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 12-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peralta (EP 2913389) in view of Zappia (US 20110151486).
Refer above for the teachings of Peralta. Peralta teaches a bubble trap system (54) not integrally formed with the cell culture device.
Peralta fails to teach a bubble trap device integrally formed with a cell culture device. Peralta further fails to at least one bubble trap is integrally formed with the first body of the cell culture chamber, and further including a bubble trap track integrally formed with the first body and fluidly connected to the at least one bubble trap. Peralta further fails to teach a cell culture chamber having at least one bubble trap disposed thereon.
Peralta further fails to teach at least two bubble traps are integrally formed with the first body of the cell culture chamber, and the bubble trap tracks are fluidly connected to the at least two bubble traps and the bubble trap track tapers in width and height. Peralta further fails to teach at least two bubble traps are integrally formed with the first body of the cell culture chamber, and at least two corresponding bubble trap tracks are fluidly connected to each of the at least two bubble traps such that the at least two corresponding bubble trap tracks are disconnected from each other.
Zappia teaches at least one bubble trap (1801) integrally formed with the cell culture chamber in order to easily remove the bubbles so they do not interfere with the cell culture or biological substances. (Refer to paragraph [0193]) Zappia teaches at least two bubble traps (2306 and 2308) are integrally formed with the first body of the cell culture chamber, and bubble trap tracks (2312 and 2314) are fluidly connected to the at least two bubble traps and the bubble trap track tapers in width and height (Refer to Figure 23) Zappia teaches a bubble trap disposed a cell culture chamber. (Refer to paragraph [0200])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the bubble trap disposed on the cell culture chamber of Peralta in order to easily remove the bubbles so they do not interfere with the cell culture or biological substances.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide at least two bubble traps are integrally formed with the first body of the cell culture chamber, and the bubble trap tracks are fluidly connected to the at least two bubble traps and the bubble trap track tapers in width and height as disclosed in Zappia in order to mitigate trapping the bubbles in a constantly flowing system.
Conclusion
/JYOTI Mutreja/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798