DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendments filed on 06/04/2026.
Claim 19 remains cancelled.
Claims 1, 8, and 14 are amended.
Claims 1-18, 20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/04/2026 in Remarks pg. 7-10 regarding 35 USC 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in essence:
[a] “Applicant has amended the independent claims to include the subject matter of "changing a labelling of the adversarial training sample to benign, such that the adversarial training sample comprises the malicious sample with the inserted payload labelled as benign". Applicant submits that the prior art cited above, alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest at least this subject matter.
…Applicant submits that Chat does not teach or suggest the newly amended subject matter of the independent claims. As provided at paragraph [0001], Chat is directed to correcting label bias in training data based on a sample of trusted data. Chat's adversarial process determines whether observed labels in an untrusted dataset should be corrected; that is, whether a label that may be biased should be reassigned to an estimated true label based on trusted data. At paragraphs [0004]-[0005], Chat describes that the embodiments "clean the dataset of bias" and let "the adversarial process determine whether each data sample (e.g., observed label) in the untrusted dataset may include a true label or may be reassigned with an estimated true label." This is fundamentally a correction mechanism that seeks to determine whether true labels are suitable for various data samples.
In contrast, claims 1 and 8, as amended, now recite that the adversarial training sample comprises "the malicious sample with the inserted payload labelled as benign." Unlike Chat, this is not a correction of a biased or erroneous label. Rather, it is the deliberate mislabeling of a known malicious sample, one that has had a benign-based payload inserted into its code cave, as benign, for the specific purpose of adversarial training. The claimed invention intentionally creates a training sample that is malicious in nature but labelled as benign, so that the model can be iteratively trained to detect such adversarial samples. This deliberate mislabeling for adversarial training purposes is entirely different from Chat's approach of correcting bias in untrusted datasets by recovering true labels based on trusted data.” Pg. 7-8 Remarks.
In response to [a], examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues the purpose or intent of a limitation in the claim, however this intent is not reflected in the claim language. The claim limitations argued recite in part “the one or more machine learning models are iteratively trained using, at least, generated adversarial training samples,
wherein, during each iteration: the adversarial training sample for such iteration is generated by:
determining a code cave in a malicious sample, generating a payload based on a benign sample,
inserting the generated payload at the determined code cave, and changing a labelling of the adversarial training sample to benign, such that the adversarial training sample comprises the malicious sample with the inserted payload labelled as benign, and
training the model using the adversarial training sample”
Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim requires taking a malicious sample, inserting a benign sample into the malicious sample, and changing the labeling of the malicious sample to benign, and does not disclose or imply that this is a deliberate mislabeling of the sample, only that after the benign sample is inserted, the label is changed.
Chat performs this same process in at least para.0005 and para.0075 below. Wherein an untrusted dataset is injected with noise based on a trusted dataset, i.e. benign samples, and this causes changing of the labels for the untrusted dataset.
Chat: para.0005 “The embodiments may let the adversarial process determine whether each data sample (e.g., observed label) in the untrusted dataset may include a true label or may be reassigned with an estimated true label determined based on the trusted labels in the trusted dataset, the features of the data, and the observed label. … In some embodiments, the updated dataset with one or more reassigned labels for untrusted dataset and/or trusted dataset in the trusted dataset may be used to train the machine learning model”
para.0075 “At step 506, the bias correction computing device 102 may update observed labels in the untrusted dataset based at least in part on trusted labels in the trusted dataset and injecting noise in the untrusted dataset. For example, adversarial algorithm 310 may inject noise in the untrusted dataset 308 based on trusted labels in the trusted dataset 306 to generate updated training data 316. Adversarial algorithm 310 may inject noise into the untrusted dataset 308 to reassign labels to the data samples in the untrusted dataset.”
[b] “At page 13 of the Office Action, the Examiner's rationale for combining Chat states that "Chat shows the process of adding data to untrusted samples in order to flip a label of the sample, similar to that of Smith that injects bits into code caves until a sample flips from adversarial to benign, and it would be obvious to apply this process of Chat such that the new samples that used to be adversarial are then labeled as benign." Applicant respectfully submits that this rationale conflates two distinct concepts: (1) a model classifying a sample as benign (as in Smith, where the model's output changes), and (2) deliberately relabeling a known malicious sample as benign in the training data (as claimed). Chat does not teach the latter. Chat's label reassignment is reactive in that it corrects observed labels that may be biased and should be reassigned to an estimated true label. In contrast, the claimed approach is proactive, deliberately assigning an incorrect label to a known malicious sample for adversarial training purposes.” Pg. 8-9 of Remarks.
In response to [b], examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, as explained in [a] above, examiner disagrees that the intent of the relabeling, i.e. deliberately mislabeling, is fully incorporated by the claim, only that the claim does change the labeling of a training data set after inserting benign data into a malicious sample prior to use.
Applicant further argues that Chat is a reactive process and the claims are a proactive process, however examiner disagrees. The claims under broadest reasonable interpretation do not have a proactive or reactive requirement. The claims under broadest reasonable interpretation only require that after the malicious sample is injected with a benign sample, the label is flipped. Chat performs the same, wherein after noise based on a trusted sample is injected into the untrusted dataset, the label is flipped. This process occurs in the same stage of the machine learning process as well in Chat as in the claims, after obtaining malicious/untrusted samples, modifying the samples, changing the label of the samples, and using it for training.
Therefore as Chat reads on the limitations under broadest reasonable interpretation, examiner maintains rejection in view of the same combination of references.
[c] “Furthermore, Chat's label reassignment is contextually different from the claimed approach. Chat's entire purpose is to recover true labels in order to correct labels that may be erroneous or biased. As described at paragraph [0004], the embodiments "clean the dataset of bias" by "leveraging a small amount of trusted data in the dataset." Chat further describes at paragraph [0005] that the adversarial process determines whether each data sample "may include a true label or may be reassigned with an estimated true label." In contrast, claims 1 and 8 require intentionally changing a label that is known to be malicious to benign, the opposite of correcting toward truth. The claimed approach deliberately introduces a false label (benign) onto a known malicious sample for the purpose of adversarial training. This is not bias correction; it is deliberate mislabeling to improve model robustness. A person of ordinary skill in the art working in the field of adversarial malware detection would have no motivation to apply Chat's bias correction technique, which aims to recover true labels by correcting erroneous or biased annotations, to the fundamentally different task of deliberately assigning a known-false label to a malicious executable sample, because Chat's entire objective is to determine which data should be assigned true labels, whereas the claimed approach requires intentionally introducing a false label for adversarial training purposes.” Pg. 9 of Remarks.
In response to [c], examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained above, this deliberate mislabeling of the training dataset is not explicitly claimed. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims do not require that the payloads still be malicious while having an improper label, and would read on any form of changing the label on a sample after inserting benign samples into a malicious sample.
Applicant further argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to combine Chat because it performs its relabeling for a different purpose. However examiner respectfully disagrees as this purpose is not fully claimed in its current state. Chat describes how this process improved machine learning in at least para.0005 “As a result, the embodiments of the present disclosure can automatically and significantly reduce labelling bias in training dataset prior to training the machine learning model. It can increase the accuracy of the machine learning model by reducing learned bias prevalent in previous techniques. In addition to or instead of these example advantages, persons of ordinary skill in the art would recognize and appreciate other advantages as well.” Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply the process of correcting labels prior to training.
Based on the arguments provided, examiner suggests further amending to incorporate language that would reflect the mislabeling aspect of the training data set as a feature of the claims rather than simply changing the label.
[d] “Additionally, Applicant submits that Smith does not teach the subject matter of claims 1 and 8 of "generating a payload based on a benign sample". The Examiner, at page 19 of the Office Action, relies on Smith for this limitation, citing Smith's teaching, at column 9, lines 4-7, that "the malicious code is obfuscated by appending a large benign section of code and/or random and/or predetermined data to the malicious code." However, Smith describes appending pre- existing benign code or predetermined/random data, not generating a payload based on a benign sample. In contrast, the present claims recite "generating a payload based on a benign sample", which refers to using a generative model to create new payload content derived from patterns in benign samples; not merely appending existing benign code or random data as taught by Smith. This interpretation of the limitation is supported in the application as filed which provides, at paragraph [0079], that "[t]he generative model generates payloads based on bytecode segment patterns of benign samples in the given training dataset to insert into malicious sparse code cave spaces." At paragraph [0078], it provides that "the sample generator module 120 generates a meaningful bytecode and inserts byte level data (i.e., mimicking a byte level of benign samples in the training dataset) into the code cave spaces." Thus, Smith's approach of appending static or predetermined data does not teach or suggest the claimed generation of payloads based on benign samples.” Pg. 9-10 of Remarks.
In response to [d], examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “In contrast, the present claims recite "generating a payload based on a benign sample", which refers to using a generative model to create new payload content derived from patterns in benign samples” from para.0078-0079) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The claim does not disclose a particular way in which the benign payload is generated, other than that it is broadly generated based on a benign sample. In the case above, the payload may be generated by obtaining a section of code that is known to be benign or based on a predetermined benign sample.
Therefore under broadest reasonable interpretation in the current state of the claim, examiner maintains rejection under the same combination of references, and suggests incorporating such features into the claim.
[e] “With respect to independent claim 14, the Examiner relies on the combination of Yuste, Smith, and Chat. Claim 14 has been similarly amended to claims 1 and 8 to include the subject matter of "the executable sample comprises the malicious sample with the inserted payloads labelled as benign." For the same reasons discussed above with respect to claims 1 and 8, Chat's bias correction approach does not teach or suggest deliberately labelling a malicious sample with inserted payloads as benign for adversarial sample generation. Accordingly, the combination of Yuste, Smith, and Chat does not teach or suggest the subject matter of claim 14 as amended.
Claims 2-7, 9-13, 15-18, and 20 depend from claims 1, 8, or 14, respectively, and are patentable for at least the same reasons as the independent claims from which they depend, in addition to the subject matter recited therein. Withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is respectfully requested.” Pg. 10 of Remarks.
In response to [e], examiner maintains rejection in view of the same combination of references for claims 1-8 as explained above in response to previous arguments. Therefore these arguments do not apply.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“8. A system for adversarial malware threat prevention, the system comprising one or more processors and a data storage, the data storage comprising instructions for the one or more processors to execute:
an input module to receive an input executable sample;
an adversarial prevention module to extract features of the input executable sample and apply feature mapping to determine one or more components of the features, and to determine a binary classifier representing whether the executable sample is adversarial using one or more machine learning models, …and
an output module to output the input executable sample unless the binary classifier indicates adversarial.” In claim 8.
“wherein the input module receives a further input executable sample and, where the input executable sample was determined to be adversarial, the adversarial prevention module compares one or more of the adversarial characteristics of the input executable sample to those of the further input executable sample to determine if the further input executable sample is adversarial.” In claim 11.
While the above limitations contain language that align with 112(f) invocation, claim 8 further recites sufficient structure for each of the modules “the system comprising one or more processors and a data storage, the data storage comprising instructions for the one or more processors to execute:… an input module to receive… an adversarial prevention module to extract… to determine… an output module to output” that states each of the modules are executed by the processor of the data storage unit. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abusnaina et al. (hereinafter Abusnaina, US 2023/0289441 A1) in view of Smith et al. (hereinafter Smith, US 12,019,746 B1) in view of Chatterjee et al. (hereinafter Chat, US 2022/0179840 A1) in view of Radinsky et al. (hereinafter Radinsky, US 2012/0084859 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Abusaina discloses A computer-executed method for adversarial malware threat prevention, the method comprising (Abusaina: para.0008):
receiving an input executable sample (Abusaina: para.0026 “In some embodiments, feature extraction unit 220 receives the byte reset software 33 from byte resetting unit 214” the software 33 is obtained);
extracting features of the input executable sample and applying feature mapping to determine one or more components of the features (Abusaina: para.0032 “In some embodiments, after component-based feature extractor 223 generates the component-based features 35, graph construction unit 232 of graphical encoding unit 230 receives the component-based features 35 and commences the process of graphically encoding the component-based features 35.” para.0027 “In some embodiments, in order to extract the component-based features from the byte reset software 33, section extractor 224 of component-based feature extractor 223 receives the byte reset software 33 and commences the process of partitioning the byte reset software 33 into distinct sections or components. In some embodiments, section extractor 224 is configured to partition byte reset software 33 into the distinct plurality of sections such that each section is independent from another section and may be represented using a plurality of component-based feature representations (described further below with reference to feature extractor 225). … An example of distinct sections (e.g., 81-82) partitioned by section extractor 224 is illustrated in FIG. 2B. In some embodiments, each section is provided by section extractor 224 to feature extractor 225 for component-based feature extraction.” Para.0032 “In some embodiments, the graph 36 generated by the graph construction unit 232 is a graph that includes a plurality of isolated subgraphs (e.g., subgraph 61, subgraph 62, subgraph 63, subgraph 64, subgraph 65 of FIG. 2B), with each subgraph 61-65 representing a component in the software 30 and each feature representation of the component (e.g., component-based feature) is a node in the subgraph.” Fig. 2B 61-65. In Fig. 2A the feature extraction unit 220 and the graphical encoding unit together extract features from the software and maps the features to generate a set of components, such as in Fig. 2B. Examiner notes that the features and components of abusnaina are components and features respectively in view of claim language.);
a binary classifier representing whether the input executable sample is adversarial using one or more machine learning models (Abusaina: para.0038 “In some embodiments, malware detection unit 260 is software configured to generate a malware indicator 42 that indicates whether the received vector 40 (and thus the corresponding portion of software 30) is malicious or not malicious. In some embodiments, malware detection unit 260 may utilize a tree learning structure, such as, for example, a Light Gradient Boosting Machine (LightGBM) tree learning structure, to detect whether the received vector 40 (that includes the vector and graphical representation of the component-based features 35 and monotonic features 39) is malicious or not malicious.” Using machine learning model, the malware detection unit determines whether or not the sample is malware or not, i.e. adversarial.),
the one or more machine learning models taking the one or more components as input (Abusaina: para.0033 “In some embodiments, graph encoder 234 uses the graph attention network to encode the nodes representing different representations of the components and translate the graph into a vector representation.” Para.0037 “In some embodiments, vectorization unit 290 is configured to combine the monotonic features 39 with the graphical encoding output 38 into a vector 40. In some embodiments, vectorization unit 290 provides the vector 40 to malware detection unit 260.” Para.0038 “In some embodiments, malware detection unit 260 may utilize a tree learning structure, such as, for example, a Light Gradient Boosting Machine (LightGBM) tree learning structure, to detect whether the received vector 40 (that includes the vector and graphical representation of the component-based features 35 and monotonic features 39) is malicious or not malicious.” The features of the component are converted to vector form, and fed to the malware detection unit, and uses the vectorized components to detect if that portion of the software is malicious.),
where the binary classifier indicates adversarial, dropping the input executable sample, otherwise outputting the input executable sample (Abusnaina: para.0038-0039 “In some embodiments, malware detection unit 260 is software configured to generate a malware indicator 42 that indicates whether the received vector 40 (and thus the corresponding portion of software 30) is malicious or not malicious….In some embodiments, malware removal unit 270 receives the malware indicator 42 and, when the malware indicator 42 indicates that the software is malicious, removes or nullifies the malicious software. In some embodiments, when the malware indicator 42 indicates that the software is not malicious, the non-malicious software is not removed or nullified.” The malware detection unit 260 and the malware removal unit 270 together make up the binary classifier, and if malware is detected, i.e. adversarial, the software is removed, otherwise the software is not removed, i.e. outputted.).
However Abusaina does not explicitly disclose determining a binary classifier; the one or more machine learning models are iteratively trained using, at least, generated adversarial training samples, wherein, during each iteration: the adversarial training sample for such iteration is generated by: determining a code cave in a malicious sample, generating a payload based on a benign sample, inserting the generated payload at the determined code cave, and changing a labeling of the adversarial training sample to benign, such that the adversarial training sample comprises the malicious sample with the inserted payload labelled as benign, and training the model using the adversarial training sample.
Smith discloses the one or more machine learning models are iteratively trained using, at least, generated adversarial training samples (Smith: Col. 3 lines 12-37 “the systems apply a random sample contraction that iteratively and automatically reduces the search set for the alterations that yield the sought after operational malware and/or their variants that are prone to a misclassification. The optimization calculations continue recursively until operational malware prone to misclassifications and any associated synthesized operational malware, variants, and/or its family members are identified or substantially identified in the sample. The calculations are thereafter repeated automatically, continuously and/or periodically so that the entire synthesized malware sample set is screened and an update of the malware and/or its attributes is written to a memory 804 to ensure that the machine learning algorithms 820 can train on these forms and/or precisely track and/or identify the operational malware instances, variants, its family members, and/or etc. that are likely to be misclassified when traditional malware detection systems are exposed to them” the machine learning models are periodically trained on newly generated synthesized adversarial training samples that are generated in an iterative manner.),
wherein, during each iteration: the adversarial training sample for such iteration is generated by: determining a code cave in a malicious sample (Smith: col. 10 lines 18-30 “FIG. 6 is a block diagram restructuring code by code caving. This alteration engine's technique of injecting code avoids malware detection by dynamically introducing unused blocks of code 604 into the original malware executables 602. The placement of code within blocks preserves the malware's functionality while exploiting traditional malware detector's vulnerability to misclassify the modified code as benign. While an exemplary code placement shown in italics and underlined is inserted in an intermediate portion or mid-section of original malware code, in other applications optimization techniques place code and/or data in other positions of the original malware code.” Code cave is identified in Fig. 6, within malicious sections of code to inject benign samples, such that the malware is still functional, but would be misclassified as benign.),
generating a payload based on a benign sample (Smith: Fig. 6 col. 9 lines 4-7 “In FIG. 3, the malicious code is obfuscated by appending a large benign section of code and/or random and/or predetermined data to the malicious code.” col. 10 lines 18-30 “FIG. 6 is a block diagram restructuring code by code caving….This alteration engine's technique of injecting code avoids malware detection by dynamically introducing unused blocks of code 604 into the original malware executables 602.” A payload is generated that is known to be benign, or predetermined benign data, that is to be appended or injected into the code cave.),
inserting the generated payload at the determined code cave (Smith: Fig. 6 col. 9 lines 4-7 “In FIG. 3, the malicious code is obfuscated by appending a large benign section of code and/or random and/or predetermined data to the malicious code.” col. 10 lines 18-30 “This alteration engine's technique of injecting code avoids malware detection by dynamically introducing unused blocks of code 604 into the original malware executables 602.” The benign code or predetermined benign code is injected into the code cave.), and
training the model using the adversarial training sample (Smith: col. 6 lines 39-45 “When the synthesized malware candidates 828 and/or variant candidates are classified as benign and confirmed as operational, a target classifier engine 110 generates a vulnerability report 112, the malware profiles 818 are made available and the operational synthesized malware 822 are made available for training or used to generate malware training data.” Col. 10 lines 47-54 “While traditional machine learning models do not provide a strong defense against an attack intentionally designed to cause misclassifications, training machine learning algorithms 820 on synthesized malware samples and/or variants and/or comparing input sampled attributed to information stored in malware profiles 818 minimize and/or prevent malware misclassifications.” Col. 3 lines 12-37 “the systems apply a random sample contraction that iteratively and automatically reduces the search set for the alterations that yield the sought after operational malware and/or their variants that are prone to a misclassification. The optimization calculations continue recursively until operational malware prone to misclassifications and any associated synthesized operational malware, variants, and/or its family members are identified or substantially identified in the sample. The calculations are thereafter repeated automatically, continuously and/or periodically so that the entire synthesized malware sample set is screened and an update of the malware and/or its attributes is written to a memory 804 to ensure that the machine learning algorithms 820 can train on these forms and/or precisely track and/or identify the operational malware instances, variants, its family members, and/or etc. that are likely to be misclassified when traditional malware detection systems are exposed to them” The machine learning models are then trained on the synthesized malware samples. The process repeats periodically and the synthesized malware sample is updated such that the model is able to be trained on the synthesized malware sample.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Abusnaina with Smith in order to incorporate the one or more machine learning models are iteratively trained using, at least, generated adversarial training samples, wherein, during each iteration: the adversarial training sample for such iteration is generated by: determining a code cave in a malicious sample, generating a payload based on a benign sample, inserting the generated payload at the determined code cave, and training the model using the adversarial training sample.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improving the training and accuracy of malware detection (Smith: col. 4 lines 13-50).
However Abusnaina-Smith does not explicitly disclose determining a binary classifier; and changing a labeling of the adversarial training sample to benign, such that the adversarial training sample comprises the malicious sample with the inserted payload labelled as benign.
Chat discloses changing a labeling of the adversarial training sample to benign, such that the adversarial training sample comprises the malicious sample with the inserted payload labelled as benign (Chat: para.0005 “The embodiments may let the adversarial process determine whether each data sample (e.g., observed label) in the untrusted dataset may include a true label or may be reassigned with an estimated true label determined based on the trusted labels in the trusted dataset, the features of the data, and the observed label. … In some embodiments, the updated dataset with one or more reassigned labels for untrusted dataset and/or trusted dataset in the trusted dataset may be used to train the machine learning model” para.0075 “At step 506, the bias correction computing device 102 may update observed labels in the untrusted dataset based at least in part on trusted labels in the trusted dataset and injecting noise in the untrusted dataset. For example, adversarial algorithm 310 may inject noise in the untrusted dataset 308 based on trusted labels in the trusted dataset 306 to generate updated training data 316. Adversarial algorithm 310 may inject noise into the untrusted dataset 308 to reassign labels to the data samples in the untrusted dataset.” Noise may be introduced to untrusted dataset, i.e. adversarial training sample, based on a trusted set, to reassign the label to be trusted, i.e. benign. Therefore the adversarial training sample comprises the untrusted sample and the trusted sample, but labeled as trusted.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Abusaina-Smith with that of Chat in order to incorporate changing a labeling of the adversarial training sample to benign, such that the adversarial training sample comprises the malicious sample with the inserted payload labelled as benign. Chat shows the process of adding data to untrusted samples in order to flip a label of the sample, similar to that of Smith that injects bits into code caves until a sample flips from adversarial to benign, and it would be obvious to apply this process of Chat such that the new samples that used to be adversarial are then labeled as benign.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved accuracy of the machine learning model (Chat: para.0005).
However Abusaina-Smith-Chat does not explicitly disclose determining a binary classifier.
Radinsky discloses determining a binary classifier (Radinsky: para.0096 “FIG. 7 illustrates a computer-implemented engine selection method in accordance with the disclosed architecture. At 700, file properties of an unknown file are inspected. At 702, one or more candidate anti-malware classification engines are selected from a set of classification engines based on the file properties. At 704, the unknown file is processed using the one or more candidate anti-malware classification engines to output classification information for each of the candidate anti-malware classification engines. At 706, the unknown file is classified based on a single output or multiple outputs of the one or more of the candidate anti-malware classification engines.” Based on properties of the file to be inspected for malware, one or more classifiers are selected for classifying the file.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Abusnaina-Smith-Chat with Radinsky in order to incorporate determining a binary classifier.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved accuracy of malware detection by using the most accurate models based on file type (Radinsky: para.0001-0003).
Regarding Claim 2, Abusnaina-Smith-Chat-Radinsky discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
However Abusnaina does not explicitly disclose wherein the binary classifier classifies the executable sample where a probability of being adversarial is above a defined threshold.
Smith discloses wherein the binary classifier classifies the executable sample where a probability of being adversarial is above a defined threshold (Smith: col.7 lines 23-25 “When the malware classification score is above a predetermined detection threshold, the surrogate model classifies the file or file-less malware as malicious” the classification score being above a threshold classifies the malware as malicious).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Abusnaina with Smith in order to incorporate wherein the binary classifier classifies the executable sample where a probability of being adversarial is above a defined threshold.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improving the training and accuracy of malware detection (Smith: col. 4 lines 13-50).
Regarding Claim 3, Abusnaina-Smith-Chat-Radinsky discloses claim 2 as set forth above.
However Abusnaina-Smith-Chat-Radinsky does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more machine learning models comprises a stack of machine learning models and wherein the probability of being adversarial is an aggregated probability of the outputs of the machine learning models in the stack of machine learning models.
Radinsky discloses wherein the one or more machine learning models comprises a stack of machine learning models (Radkinsky: para.0025 “Here, the selection component 114 selects two candidate expensive classification engines (from the multiple different engines 104): a first expensive engine 124 and a third expensive engine 126 each of which provides some level of expertise in processing and identifying the unknown entity 110.” A plurality of models are selected.) and
wherein the probability of being adversarial is an aggregated probability of the outputs of the machine learning models in the stack of machine learning models (Radinsky: para.0026 “Where multiple candidate expensive engines 118 are ultimately selected, an aggregation component 128 can be employed to process the corresponding outputs of classification information 122 and output an overall detection output 130 for the unknown entity 110.” Para.0086 “The weighted score S for the combined anti-malware engines is:… where a.sub.i is the predicted accuracy of engine 1, and I represents the indicator function where it is assigned the value one if the lth anti-malware engine detects that the unknown file is malware. The denominator ensures that the value of S is less than or equal to one. A file is determined to be malware by this method if: [[S is greater than or equal to T]]” The outputs of each model are aggregated to produce a single output 130 in Fig. 1 by weighing each result to generated an aggregated probability S, and when S is greater than T, it it determined to be malware.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Abusnaina-Smith-Chat with Radinsky in order to incorporate wherein the one or more machine learning models comprises a stack of machine learning models and wherein the probability of being adversarial is an aggregated probability of the outputs of the machine learning models in the stack of machine learning models.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved accuracy of malware detection by using the most accurate models based on file type (Radinsky: para.0001-0003).
Regarding Claim 4, Abusnaina-Smith-Chat-Radinsky discloses claim 2 as set forth above.
However Abusnaina-Smith does not explicitly disclose wherein the defined threshold is a probability greater than 0.5.
Chat discloses wherein the defined threshold is a probability greater than 0.5 (Chat: para.0068 “A confidence of the adversarial algorithm 310 in determining true labels of the data samples in the untrusted dataset 308 can be determined for each data sample in untrusted dataset 308 by confidence determiner 312 using eq. 14 above. Denoising engine 314 may recover true labels of the data samples in the untrusted dataset 308 based on the confidence corresponding to the data sample being above or below predetermined threshold (e.g., 0.5), using eq. 15.” A predetermined threshold of 0.5 may be used to determine if a data sample is untrusted or not).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Abusaina-Smith with that of Chat in order to incorporate wherein the defined threshold is a probability greater than 0.5.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved accuracy of the machine learning model (Chat: para.0005).
Regarding Claim 8, Abusnaina discloses A system for adversarial malware threat prevention, the system comprising one or more processors and a data storage, the data storage comprising instructions for the one or more processors to execute (Abusnaina: para.0008-0011):
an input module to receive an input executable sample (Abusaina: para.0026 “In some embodiments, feature extraction unit 220 receives the byte reset software 33 from byte resetting unit 214” the software 33 is obtained via the feature extraction unit.);
an adversarial prevention module to extract features of the input executable sample and apply feature mapping to determine one or more components of the features (Abusaina: para.0032 “In some embodiments, after component-based feature extractor 223 generates the component-based features 35, graph construction unit 232 of graphical encoding unit 230 receives the component-based features 35 and commences the process of graphically encoding the component-based features 35.” para.0027 “In some embodiments, in order to extract the component-based features from the byte reset software 33, section extractor 224 of component-based feature extractor 223 receives the byte reset software 33 and commences the process of partitioning the byte reset software 33 into distinct sections or components. In some embodiments, section extractor 224 is configured to partition byte reset software 33 into the distinct plurality of sections such that each section is independent from another section and may be represented using a plurality of component-based feature representations (described further below with reference to feature extractor 225). … An example of distinct sections (e.g., 81-82) partitioned by section extractor 224 is illustrated in FIG. 2B. In some embodiments, each section is provided by section extractor 224 to feature extractor 225 for component-based feature extraction.” Para.0032 “In some embodiments, the graph 36 generated by the graph construction unit 232 is a graph that includes a plurality of isolated subgraphs (e.g., subgraph 61, subgraph 62, subgraph 63, subgraph 64, subgraph 65 of FIG. 2B), with each subgraph 61-65 representing a component in the software 30 and each feature representation of the component (e.g., component-based feature) is a node in the subgraph.” Fig. 2B 61-65. In Fig. 2A the feature extraction unit 220 and the graphical encoding unit together extract features from the software and maps the features to generate a set of components, such as in Fig. 2B. Examiner notes that the features and components of abusnaina are components and features respectively in view of claim language.), and
a binary classifier representing whether the executable sample is adversarial using one or more machine learning models (Abusaina: para.0038 “In some embodiments, malware detection unit 260 is software configured to generate a malware indicator 42 that indicates whether the received vector 40 (and thus the corresponding portion of software 30) is malicious or not malicious. In some embodiments, malware detection unit 260 may utilize a tree learning structure, such as, for example, a Light Gradient Boosting Machine (LightGBM) tree learning structure, to detect whether the received vector 40 (that includes the vector and graphical representation of the component-based features 35 and monotonic features 39) is malicious or not malicious.” Using machine learning model, the malware detection unit determines whether or not the sample is malware or not, i.e. adversarial.),
the one or more machine learning models taking the one or more components as input (Abusaina: para.0033 “In some embodiments, graph encoder 234 uses the graph attention network to encode the nodes representing different representations of the components and translate the graph into a vector representation.” Para.0037 “In some embodiments, vectorization unit 290 is configured to combine the monotonic features 39 with the graphical encoding output 38 into a vector 40. In some embodiments, vectorization unit 290 provides the vector 40 to malware detection unit 260.” Para.0038 “In some embodiments, malware detection unit 260 may utilize a tree learning structure, such as, for example, a Light Gradient Boosting Machine (LightGBM) tree learning structure, to detect whether the received vector 40 (that includes the vector and graphical representation of the component-based features 35 and monotonic features 39) is malicious or not malicious.” The features of the component are converted to vector form, and fed to the malware detection unit, and uses the vectorized components to detect if that portion of the software is malicious.),
an output module to output the input executable sample unless the binary classifier indicates adversarial (Abusnaina: para.0038-0039 “In some embodiments, malware detection unit 260 is software configured to generate a malware indicator 42 that indicates whether the received vector 40 (and thus the corresponding portion of software 30) is malicious or not malicious….In some embodiments, malware removal unit 270 receives the malware indicator 42 and, when the malware indicator 42 indicates that the software is malicious, removes or nullifies the malicious software. In some embodiments, when the malware indicator 42 indicates that the software is not malicious, the non-malicious software is not removed or nullified.” The malware detection unit 260 and the malware removal unit 270 together make up the binary classifier, and if malware is detected, i.e. adversarial, the software is removed, otherwise the software is not removed, i.e. outputted.).
However Abusnaina does not explicitly disclose to determine a binary classifier; the one or more machine learning models are iteratively trained using, at least, generated adversarial training samples, wherein during each iteration: the adversarial training sample for such iteration is generated by: determining a code cave in a malicious sample, generating a payload based on a benign sample, inserting the generated payload at the determined code cave, and changing a labeling of the adversarial training sample to benign, such that the adversarial training sample comprises the malicious sample with the inserted payload labelled as benign, and training the model using the adversarial training sample.
Smith discloses the one or more machine learning models are iteratively trained using, at least, generated adversarial training samples (Smith: Col. 3 lines 24-37 “The optimization calculations continue recursively until operational malware prone to misclassifications and any associated synthesized operational malware, variants, and/or its family members are identified or substantially identified in the sample. The calculations are thereafter repeated automatically, continuously and/or periodically so that the entire synthesized malware sample set is screened and an update of the malware and/or its attributes is written to a memory 804 to ensure that the machine learning algorithms 820 can train on these forms and/or precisely track and/or identify the operational malware instances, variants, its family members, and/or etc. that are likely to be misclassified when traditional malware detection systems are exposed to them” the machine learning models constantly trained on newly generated synthesized adversarial training samples),
wherein, during each iteration: the adversarial training sample for such iteration is generated by: determining a code cave in a malicious sample (Smith: col. 10 lines 18-30 “FIG. 6 is a block diagram restructuring code by code caving. This alteration engine's technique of injecting code avoids malware detection by dynamically introducing unused blocks of code 604 into the original malware executables 602. The placement of code within blocks preserves the malware's functionality while exploiting traditional malware detector's vulnerability to misclassify the modified code as benign. While an exemplary code placement shown in italics and underlined is inserted in an intermediate portion or mid-section of original malware code, in other applications optimization techniques place code and/or data in other positions of the original malware code.” Code cave is identified in Fig. 6, within malicious sections of code to inject benign samples, such that the malware is still functional, but would be misclassified as benign.),
generating a payload based on a benign sample (Smith: Fig. 6 col. 9 lines 4-7 “In FIG. 3, the malicious code is obfuscated by appending a large benign section of code and/or random and/or predetermined data to the malicious code.” col. 10 lines 18-30 “FIG. 6 is a block diagram restructuring code by code caving….This alteration engine's technique of injecting code avoids malware detection by dynamically introducing unused blocks of code 604 into the original malware executables 602.” A payload is generated that is known to be benign, or predetermined benign data, that is to be appended or injected into the code cave.),
inserting the generated payload at the determined code cave (Smith: Fig. 6 col. 9 lines 4-7 “In FIG. 3, the malicious code is obfuscated by appending a large benign section of code and/or random and/or predetermined data to the malicious code.” col. 10 lines 18-30 “This alteration engine's technique of injecting code avoids malware detection by dynamically introducing unused blocks of code 604 into the original malware executables 602.” The benign code or predetermined benign code is injected into the code cave.), and
training the model using the adversarial training sample (Smith: col. 6 lines 39-45 “When the synthesized malware candidates 828 and/or variant candidates are classified as benign and confirmed as operational, a target classifier engine 110 generates a vulnerability report 112, the malware profiles 818 are made available and the operational synthesized malware 822 are made available for training or used to generate malware training data.” Col. 10 lines 47-54 “While traditional machine learning models do not provide a strong defense against an attack intentionally designed to cause misclassifications, training machine learning algorithms 820 on synthesized malware samples and/or variants and/or comparing input sampled attributed to information stored in malware profiles 818 minimize and/or prevent malware misclassifications.” The machine learning models are then trained on the synthesized malware samples).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Abusnaina with Smith in order to incorporate the one or more machine learning models are iteratively trained using, at least, generated adversarial training samples, wherein, during each iteration: the adversarial training sample for such iteration is generated by: determining a code cave in a malicious sample, generating a payload based on a benign sample, inserting the generated payload at the determined code cave, and training the model using the adversarial training sample.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improving the training and accuracy of malware detection (Smith: col. 4 lines 13-50).
However Abusnaina-Smith does not explicitly disclose to determine a binary classifier; and changing a labeling of the adversarial training sample to benign, such that the adversarial training sample comprises the malicious sample with the inserted payload labelled as benign.
Chat discloses changing a labeling of the adversarial training sample to benign, such that the adversarial training sample comprises the malicious sample with the inserted payload labelled as benign (Chat: para.0005 “The embodiments may let the adversarial process determine whether each data sample (e.g., observed label) in the untrusted dataset may include a true label or may be reassigned with an estimated true label determined based on the trusted labels in the trusted dataset, the features of the data, and the observed label. … In some embodiments, the updated dataset with one or more reassigned labels for untrusted dataset and/or trusted dataset in the trusted dataset may be used to train the machine learning model” para.0075 “At step 506, the bias correction computing device 102 may update observed labels in the untrusted dataset based at least in part on trusted labels in the trusted dataset and injecting noise in the untrusted dataset. For example, adversarial algorithm 310 may inject noise in the untrusted dataset 308 based on trusted labels in the trusted dataset 306 to generate updated training data 316. Adversarial algorithm 310 may inject noise into the untrusted dataset 308 to reassign labels to the data samples in the untrusted dataset.” Noise may be introduced to untrusted dataset, i.e. adversarial training sample, based on a trusted set, to reassign the label to be trusted, i.e. benign. Therefore the adversarial training sample comprises the untrusted sample and the trusted sample, but labeled as trusted.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Abusaina-Smith with that of Chat in order to incorporate changing a labeling of the adversarial training sample to benign, such that the he adversarial training sample comprises the malicious sample with the inserted payload labelled as benign. Chat shows the process of adding data to untrusted samples in order to flip a label of the sample, similar to that of Smith that injects bits into code caves until a sample flips from adversarial to benign, and it would be obvious to apply this process of Chat such that the new samples that used to be adversarial are then labeled as benign.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved accuracy of the machine learning model (Chat: para.0005).
However Abusaina-Smith-Chat does not explicitly disclose to determine a binary classifier
Radinsky discloses determine a binary classifier (Radinsky: para.0096 “FIG. 7 illustrates a computer-implemented engine selection method in accordance with the disclosed architecture. At 700, file properties of an unknown file are inspected. At 702, one or more candidate anti-malware classification engines are selected from a set of classification engines based on the file properties. At 704, the unknown file is processed using the one or more candidate anti-malware classification engines to output classification information for each of the candidate anti-malware classification engines. At 706, the unknown file is classified based on a single output or multiple outputs of the one or more of the candidate anti-malware classification engines.” Based on properties of the file to be inspected for malware, one or more classifiers are selected for classifying the file.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Abusnaina-Smith-Chat with Radinsky in order to incorporate determine a binary classifier.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved accuracy of malware detection by using the most accurate models based on file type (Radinsky: para.0001-0003).
Regarding Claim 9-10, they do not teach nor further define over the limitations of claims 2-3, therefore the supporting rationale for the rejection to claims 2-3 apply equally as well to that of claims 9-10.
Claim(s) 5, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abusnaina et al. (hereinafter Abusnaina, US 2023/0289441 A1) in view of Smith et al. (hereinafter Smith, US 12,019,746 B1) in view of Chatterjee et al. (hereinafter Chat, US 2022/0179840 A1) in view of Radinsky et al. (hereinafter Radinsky, US 2012/0084859 A1) further in view of Cazan et al. (hereinafter Cazan, US 2020/0005082 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Abusnaina-Smith-Chat-Radinsky discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
However Abusnaina-Smith-Chat-Radinsky does not explicitly disclose receiving a further input executable sample and, where the input executable sample was determined to be adversarial, comparing one or more adversarial characteristics of the input executable sample to those of the further input executable sample to determine if the further input executable sample is adversarial.
Cazan discloses receiving a further input executable sample and, where the input executable sample was determined to be adversarial, comparing one or more adversarial characteristics of the input executable sample to those of the further input executable sample to determine if the further input executable sample is adversarial (Cazan: para.0021 “A secure fuzzy hashing algorithm is used to enable comparison between two or more binary datasets (e.g., binary files, binary data currently being downloaded, network traffic, etc.). FIG. 3 illustrates select components of an example system 300 configured to compare a received binary file to a known malware file, in order to classify the received file as malware or clean. The example system 300 includes a byte n-gram embedding model system 302, a network 304, and a binary data source 306. Byte n-gram embedding model system 302 includes one or more processors 308, a network interface 310, and memory 312. Binary data to be processed 314, feature extractor 112, trained neural network 102, a hash generator 316, a classifier 318, and a hash library 320 are maintained in the memory 312. Memory 312 may also store a generated hash 322.” System takes a known malware file, the first input executable sample determined to be adversarial, and compares it to a newly received binary file to determine if the new binary file is malware, adversarial, therefore these are adversarial characteristics).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Abusnaina-Smith-Chat-Radinsky with Cazan in order to incorporate receiving a further input executable sample and, where the input executable sample was determining to the adversarial, comparing one or more adversarial characteristics of the input executable sample to those of the further input executable sample to determine if the further input executable sample is adversarial.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved malware detection using similar files (Cazan: para.0021, para.0003).
Regarding Claim 11, Abusnaina-Smith-Chat-Radinsky discloses claim 8 as set forth above.
However Abusnaina-Smith-Chat-Radinsky does not explicitly disclose wherein the input module receives a further input executable sample and, where the input executable sample was determined to be adversarial, the adversarial prevention module compares one or more adversarial characteristics of the input executable sample to those of the further input executable sample to determine if the further input executable sample is adversarial.
Cazan discloses wherein the input module receives a further input executable sample and, where the input executable sample was determined to be adversarial, the adversarial prevention module compares one or more adversarial characteristics of the input executable sample to those of the further input executable sample to determine if the further input executable sample is adversarial (Cazan: para.0021 “A secure fuzzy hashing algorithm is used to enable comparison between two or more binary datasets (e.g., binary files, binary data currently being downloaded, network traffic, etc.). FIG. 3 illustrates select components of an example system 300 configured to compare a received binary file to a known malware file, in order to classify the received file as malware or clean. The example system 300 includes a byte n-gram embedding model system 302, a network 304, and a binary data source 306. Byte n-gram embedding model system 302 includes one or more processors 308, a network interface 310, and memory 312. Binary data to be processed 314, feature extractor 112, trained neural network 102, a hash generator 316, a classifier 318, and a hash library 320 are maintained in the memory 312. Memory 312 may also store a generated hash 322.” System takes a known malware file, the first input executable sample determined to be adversarial, and compares it to a newly received binary file to determine if the new binary file is malware, adversarial, therefore these are adversarial characteristics. The software of the system receives the input sample, and the software of the system performs the comparison, the input module and adversarial prevention module respectively.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Abusnaina-Smith-Chat-Radinsky with Cazan in order to incorporate wherein the input module receives a further input executable sample and, where the input executable sample was determining to the adversarial, the adversarial prevention module compares one or more adversarial characteristics of the input executable sample to those of the further input executable sample to determine if the further input executable sample is adversarial.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved malware detection using similar files (Cazan: para.0021, para.0003).
Claim(s) 6-7, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abusnaina et al. (hereinafter Abusnaina, US 2023/0289441 A1) in view of Smith et al. (hereinafter Smith, US 12,019,746 B1) in view of Chatterjee et al. (hereinafter Chat, US 2022/0179840 A1) in view of Radinsky et al. (hereinafter Radinsky, US 2012/0084859 A1) further in view of Gray et al. (hereinafter Gray, US 2024/0070276 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Abusnaina-Smith-Chat-Radinsky discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
However Abusnaina-Smith-Chat-Radinsky does not explicitly disclose wherein determining the one or more components of the features comprises scoring features and determining a most prominent feature, and using the one or more components of the most prominent feature.
Gray discloses scoring features and determining a most prominent feature (Gray: para.0033-0036 “Based on the value of the combined risk score, priority calculator 108 may determine a scan priority for file 122. For example, when the value of the combined risk score is within a first range (e.g., between 10 and 15), the scan priority may be a first scan priority. The first scan priority may represent high risk of malware exposure. For example, file 122 may have a high risk of malware exposure when file 122 has not been scanned yet and is being launched as a process. As another example, file 122 may have a high risk when file 122 is not scanned yet and is being loaded by another process for which section sync is created. As another example, file 122 may have a high risk when file 122 has been modified by a process that is flagged as suspicious or malicious.” Using the risk score of the file, the scan priority is determined for each file to be tested for malware, each range indicating a high medium or low risk of malware exposure.), and
using the most prominent feature (Gray: para.0038 “Malware scan queue 110 may store a list of files for malware scans by malware scanner 112. The list may be sorted by scan priority. When a file is to be scanned by malware scanner 112, such as file 122, the file may be removed from malware scan queue 110 to be scanned by malware scanner 112.” Para.0053 “Method 200 may further include determining a scan priority, at step 206. For example, priority calculator 108 may determine the scan priority based on the combined risk score. Method 200 may further include performing a malware scan based on the scan priority, at step 208. For example, malware scanner 112 may perform a malware scan on file 122 based on the scan priority.” The files, i.e. features, are tested in order of score.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Abusnaina-Smith-Chat-Radinsky and Gray in order to incorporate scoring features and determining a most prominent feature and using the most prominent feature, and apply this idea to wherein determining the one or more components of the features, and the use of the components of the features as established in Abusnaina-Smith-Chat-Radinsky.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of reducing the impact of malware on the system (Gray: para.0008).
Regarding Claim 7, Abusnaina-Smith-Chat-Radinsky discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
However Abusnaina-Smith-Chat-Radinsky does not explicitly disclose wherein determining the one or more components of the features comprises performing principal component analysis.
Gray discloses performing principal file analysis (Gray: para.0033-0036 “Based on the value of the combined risk score, priority calculator 108 may determine a scan priority for file 122. For example, when the value of the combined risk score is within a first range (e.g., between 10 and 15), the scan priority may be a first scan priority. The first scan priority may represent high risk of malware exposure. For example, file 122 may have a high risk of malware exposure when file 122 has not been scanned yet and is being launched as a process. As another example, file 122 may have a high risk when file 122 is not scanned yet and is being loaded by another process for which section sync is created. As another example, file 122 may have a high risk when file 122 has been modified by a process that is flagged as suspicious or malicious.” Using the risk score of the file, the scan priority is determined for each file to be tested for malware, each range indicating a high medium or low risk of malware exposure.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Abusnaina-Smith-Chat-Radinsky and Gray in order to incorporate performing principal file analysis, and apply this idea to determining the one or more components of the features, and measure the importance of components.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of reducing the impact of malware on the system (Gray: para.0008).
Regarding Claim 12-13, they do not teach nor further define over the limitations of claims 6-7, therefore the supporting rationale for the rejection to claims 6-7 apply equally as well to that of claims 12-13.
Claim(s) 14-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuste et al. (hereinafter Yuste, “Optimization of Code Caves in malware binaries to evade machine learning detectors”, NPL FEB 2022 attached.) in view of Smith et al. (hereinafter Smith, US 12/019,746 B1) in view of Chatterjee et al. (hereinafter Chat, US 2022/0179840 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Yuste discloses A computer-executed method for adversarial sample generation, the method comprising (Yuste: pg. 2 left column “The main contribution of this paper is the proposal of a new method to derive AEs from existing malware binaries that were previously detected by a DL model. Furthermore, our method produces fully functional AEs in a reasonable amount of time. To evaluate the performance of our proposal, we tested the samples produced by our method against a state-of-the-art malware detector based on DL ( MalConv ) that was recently proposed ( Raff et al., 2018 ).” Method for generating a set of Adversarial example samples):
Iteratively performing (Yuste: pg. 3 “The aforementioned method is summarized in Fig. 1 . First, we introduce a predefined unused space before each section in the PE file (step 1). Then, we test if the sample is detected by the target DL model (step 2). If not, the algorithm stops (step 7). Otherwise, we proceed to optimize the content of the introduced spaces (step 3). If the modified sample is not detected by the target DL after the optimization phase (step 4), and the size of the unused space is not larger than a predefined threshold which will be described in the following sections (step 5), we increase the size of the unused space (step 6) and we start a new iteration of the algorithm. This procedure is repeated until an AE is crafted (i.e., it evades the DL model) or the total size of the introduced space is larger than the predefined threshold.” The system iteratively generates the segments, determines code caves, generates the payloads, i.e. optimize the content step 3, and inserts them into the pe file, as seen in steps 10-11 in Fig. 4. Seen in Table 10 in Fig. 10, it is seen that a plurality of samples are generated, therefore this process iterates for each sample as well.):
receiving an executable malicious sample (Yuste: pg. 3 3.1 Modification of samples “This procedure starts with a sample consisting in a functional malicious PE file. Each PE file can be divided in two parts: headers and sections. Headers contain the information necessary for the operating system to load the PE file in the memory of the computer. On the other hand, sections contain the code and data necessary for the correct execution of the PE file.” Pg. 4 left column “Fig. 2 a shows an example of an original PE file structure on disk and the associated memory mapping. As shown in the figure, sections of the PE file are loaded in memory in the same order as they are stored on disk.” See Fig. 4 step 1 wherein a new malicious PE file is obtained.);
generating executable segments from the executable malicious sample (Yuste: pg. 4 right column “1. Parse the header of the PE file. 2. Extract the starting address of each section on disk. 3. Choose a target section t. Let A t be its starting address on disk.” Sections are generated from the original PE file.);
determining one or more code caves as sparse spaces in the executable segments (Yuste: pg. 4 right column “4. Determine the size S t of the code cave to introduce before section t. 5. For every section i in the PE binary starting at a position A i such that A i ≥ A t , modify the starting address in the header of the PE file (i.e., modify the corresponding entry in the sections table ) such that the new starting address is A i= A i + S t. 6. Shift the content at disk of each section whose header has been modified in step 5 to its new starting address.” Code caves are determined between the segments.);
inserting the generated payloads into at least one of the code caves of the executable malicious sample (Yuste: pg. 6 left column “When a solution needs to be evaluated, it is necessary to write the bytes which are currently in the solution, back into their corresponding unused blocks of the PE file. Then, the new PE file is provided as an input to the DL model to evaluate the solution (step 4). The quality of the solution is measured by the output of the DL model. Note that this is a value ranging from 0 to 1, where values close to 1 indicate malicious, while values close to 0 indicate benign.” The solution, i.e. the payload, is inserted back into the malicious PE file, the sample,),
wherein the payloads are inserted in different code caves than those that received payloads in a previous iteration (Yuste: pg. 3 “The aforementioned method is summarized in Fig. 1 . First, we introduce a predefined unused space before each section in the PE file (step 1). Then, we test if the sample is detected by the target DL model (step 2). If not, the algorithm stops (step 7). Otherwise, we proceed to optimize the content of the introduced spaces (step 3). If the modified sample is not detected by the target DL after the optimization phase (step 4), and the size of the unused space is not larger than a predefined threshold which will be described in the following sections (step 5), we increase the size of the unused space (step 6) and we start a new iteration of the algorithm. This procedure is repeated until an AE is crafted (i.e., it evades the DL model) or the total size of the introduced space is larger than the predefined threshold.” The system iteratively generates the segments, determines code caves, generates the payloads, i.e. optimize the content step 3, and inserts them into the pe file, as seen in steps 10-11 in Fig. 4. Seen in Table 10 in Fig. 10, it is seen that a plurality of samples are generated, therefore this process iterates for each sample as well. Each payload is inserted into a different malicious PE file, therefore they are always inserted into a different code cave than a previous iteration. Additionally, pg. 4 left column “to the best of our knowledge, it has not yet been fully exploited to generate AEs for malware detection. The introduction of unused space has been only explored between the headers and the first section. In particular, we extend the current proposals by creating code caves in between sections. Furthermore, we propose a dynamic widening of the existing available space, depending on the binary explored, with the aim of constructing a successful AE”, and right column shows, varying the size of the unused space and location for each PE file.);
outputting the executable sample with the inserted payloads (Yuste: pg. 6 left column “The optimization process starts by building an initial population of solutions (step 3). Each solution of the population is built by introducing a random byte in each position of an empty array with a length equal to the total unused space in bytes. The actual size of this population is an experimental parameter and it might vary among different algorithmic designs. Moreover, it is important to remark that the representation of a solution in this context is only valid for the tackled optimization problem. When a solution needs to be evaluated, it is necessary to write the bytes which are currently in the solution, back into their corresponding unused blocks of the PE file. Then, the new PE file is provided as an input to the DL model to evaluate the solution (step 4). The quality of the solution is measured by the output of the DL model. Note that this is a value ranging from 0 to 1, where values close to 1 indicate malicious, while values close to 0 indicate benign. Therefore, the lower the output, the better the solution. As it was described in the introduction of the GAs, once the population is conformed, it evolves into a new generation by applying the selection (step 6), crossover (step 7), and mutation (step 8) operators, until the stopping criterion (evaluated in step 5) is met. This stopping criterion is usually related to the execution time, to the number of generations, or to the quality of the obtained solutions in the population. We detail the stopping criterion used in Section 4 .” the samples are output in step 11 of Fig. 4).
However Yuste does not explicitly disclose generating payloads based on patterns in the executable segments, the generated payloads are based on benign samples; and changing a labeling of the executable sample to benign, such that the executable sample comprises the malicious sample with the inserted payloads labelled as benign.
Smith discloses generating payloads based on patterns in the executable segments (Smith: col. 7 lines 30-35 “The saliency vector expresses the weights the surrogate model assigns to each byte in the binary or stripped binary during the system's malware classification process. The greater the weight, the more influence the byte has on the malware classification score. By this system, individual bytes are altered to reduce the malware classification score. The objective of the targeting engine is to minimize the amount of alterations that the alteration engine performs to achieve the greatest shift in the malware classification score that is at or below the predetermined detection threshold. Once the malware classification score drops to or falls below the predetermined detection threshold, the surrogate model classifies the file or file-less instances as not malicious despite its malicious functionality.” the system first determines which bytes in the pattern of bytes of the executable segments, i.e. the malicious binary, can be altered in order to minimize the amount of changes, i.e. injected benign code in Fig. 6 col. 9 lines 4-7 and Fig. 3 and fig. 6. Therefore the payload is generated based on patterns in the executable segments.),
the generated payloads are based on benign samples (Smith: Fig. 6 col. 9 lines 4-7 “In FIG. 3, the malicious code is obfuscated by appending a large benign section of code and/or random and/or predetermined data to the malicious code.” col. 10 lines 18-30 “FIG. 6 is a block diagram restructuring code by code caving….This alteration engine's technique of injecting code avoids malware detection by dynamically introducing unused blocks of code 604 into the original malware executables 602.” A payload is generated that is known to be benign, or predetermined benign data, that is to be appended or injected into the code cave.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Yuste with Smith in order to incorporate generating payloads based on patterns in the executable segments, the generated payloads are based on benign samples.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improving the training and accuracy of malware detection (Smith: col. 4 lines 13-50).
However Yuste-Smith does not explicitly disclose and changing a labeling of the executable sample to benign.
Chat discloses changing a labeling of the executable sample to benign, such that the executable sample comprises the malicious sample with the inserted payloads labelled as benign (Chat: para.0005 “The embodiments may let the adversarial process determine whether each data sample (e.g., observed label) in the untrusted dataset may include a true label or may be reassigned with an estimated true label determined based on the trusted labels in the trusted dataset, the features of the data, and the observed label. … In some embodiments, the updated dataset with one or more reassigned labels for untrusted dataset and/or trusted dataset in the trusted dataset may be used to train the machine learning model” para.0075 “At step 506, the bias correction computing device 102 may update observed labels in the untrusted dataset based at least in part on trusted labels in the trusted dataset and injecting noise in the untrusted dataset. For example, adversarial algorithm 310 may inject noise in the untrusted dataset 308 based on trusted labels in the trusted dataset 306 to generate updated training data 316. Adversarial algorithm 310 may inject noise into the untrusted dataset 308 to reassign labels to the data samples in the untrusted dataset.” Noise may be introduced to untrusted dataset, i.e. adversarial training sample, based on a trusted set, to reassign the label to be trusted, i.e. benign. Therefore the adversarial training sample comprises the untrusted sample and the trusted sample, but labeled as trusted.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yuste-Smith with that of Chat in order to incorporate changing a labeling of the executable sample to benign, such that the executable sample comprises the malicious sample with the inserted payloads labelled as benign. Chat shows the process of adding data to untrusted samples in order to flip a label of the sample, similar to that of Yuste-Smith that injects bits into code caves until a sample flip from adversarial to benign, and it would be obvious to apply this process of Chat such that the new samples that used to be adversarial are then labeled as benign.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved accuracy of the machine learning model (Chat: para.0005).
Regarding Claim 15, Yuste-Smith-Chat disclose claim 14 as set forth above.
Yuste further discloses wherein generating the executable segments comprises performing a chunking function (Yuste: pg. 4 right column “1. Parse the header of the PE file. 2. Extract the starting address of each section on disk. 3. Choose a target section t. Let A t be its starting address on disk.” Sections are generated from the original PE file via a chunking function. Examiner notes that in para.0069, a chunking function is only described to result in segments from an initial file “block 304, the sample generator module 120 performs a chunking function to generate executable segments”).
Regarding Claim 20, Yuste-Smith-Chat disclose claim 14 as set forth above.
Yuste further discloses wherein determining the one or more code caves comprises sparse spaces that are greater than a predetermined size (Yuste: col.3 2.3 “We note that this approach to build AEs based on code caves refines previous work by handling together three related but separate tasks: (1) determining dynamically the smallest size needed to introduce one or more code caves for evading a ML detector (steps 1 and 6 in Fig. 1 );” the process determines the smallest possible size of a code cave for the final set of AEs, therefore determining code caves that are greater than this smallest size, predetermined size, for the finals AEs.).
Claim(s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuste et al. (hereinafter Yuste, “Optimization of Code Caves in malware binaries to evade machine learning detectors”, NPL FEB 2022 attached.) in view of Smith et al. (hereinafter Smith, US 12/019,746 B1) in view of Chatterjee et al. (hereinafter Chat, US 2022/0179840 A1) in view of Chen (US 2019/0080089 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Yuste-Smith-Chat discloses claim 14 as set forth above.
However Yuste-Smith-Chat does not explicitly disclose wherein the executable segments are in bytecode.
Chen discloses wherein the executable segments are in bytecode (Chen: para.0024 “FIG. 2 illustrates a block diagram 200 showing malware evasion attack prevention in accordance with some embodiments. The block diagram 200 includes a preprocessing block 202 to receive input, such as binaries, function calls, files, malware, etc. In an example, the inputs at the preprocessing block 202 may include malware data, such as binaries, bytecode, executables, application packages (e.g., an Android package kit (APK)), to which n-gram may be applied to extract features. The preprocessing block 202 may separate labeled data from unlabeled data to generate a training data set and a testing data set.” The malware data that is to be preprocessed into training data includes bytecode.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yuste-Smith-Chat with Chen in order to perform the simple substitution of the unspecified language type of the segments in Yuste with bytecode in Chen.
The simple substation of the unspecified language type of the segments in Yuste to wherein the executable segments are in bytecode of Chen would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because the substitution would have yield predictable results, namely the generation of training datasets (Yuste: pg. 2 left column, Chen: para.0024).
Regarding Claim 17, Yuste-Smith-Chat -Chen discloses claim 16 as set forth above.
Yuste further discloses wherein generating the payloads comprises inputting the executable segments into a generative machine learning model (Yuste: Fig. 4 pg. 6 left column “The optimization process starts by building an initial population of solutions (step 3). Each solution of the population is built by introducing a random byte in each position of an empty array with a length equal to the total unused space in bytes. The actual size of this population is an experimental parameter and it might vary among different algorithmic designs. Moreover, it is important to remark that the representation of a solution in this context is only valid for the tackled optimization problem. When a solution needs to be evaluated, it is necessary to write the bytes which are currently in the solution, back into their corresponding unused blocks of the PE file. Then, the new PE file is provided as an input to the DL model to evaluate the solution (step 4). The quality of the solution is measured by the output of the DL model. Note that this is a value ranging from 0 to 1, where values close to 1 indicate malicious, while values close to 0 indicate benign. Therefore, the lower the output, the better the solution. As it was described in the introduction of the GAs, once the population is conformed, it evolves into a new generation by applying the selection (step 6), crossover (step 7), and mutation (step 8) operators, until the stopping criterion (evaluated in step 5) is met. This stopping criterion is usually related to the execution time, to the number of generations, or to the quality of the obtained solutions in the population. We detail
the stopping criterion used in Section 4 .” the payloads are tested by inputting into the Deep learning model),
the generative machine learning model trained using segments of malicious and benign samples (Yuste: pg. 12 4.4, “In each case, we indicated to the network if the sample was benign or malicious… Then, we have tested the retrained network by performing three different experiments. First, we have evaluated the detection rate of the AEs not used for training purposes. Notice that none of those AEs are classified as malware when using the original network. However, when using the retrained network, 95 out of 99 files are detected as malicious. In our second experiment, we have applied our proposal to generate AEs from the original samples in the preliminary dataset, but targeting the retrained MalConv model instead of the original one. With the original network, our method was able to craft an AE from 99.00 % of the samples. However, when using the retrained MalConv network, the method was able to craft a new AE only from 21.00 % of the samples. Furthermore, the size needed to craft a successful AE was larger when targeting the retrained model (i.e., an average size of 5.80 % of the original sample in the case of the original network, versus 16.76 % in the case of the retrained one). Finally, the average running time increased from 685.25 s to 12,486.62 s.” the model is then retrained using the newly generated set of AEs).
However Yuste-Smith-Chat does not explicitly disclose bytecode segments of malicious and benign samples.
Chen discloses bytecode segments of malicious and benign samples (Chen: para.0024 “FIG. 2 illustrates a block diagram 200 showing malware evasion attack prevention in accordance with some embodiments. The block diagram 200 includes a preprocessing block 202 to receive input, such as binaries, function calls, files, malware, etc. In an example, the inputs at the preprocessing block 202 may include malware data, such as binaries, bytecode, executables, application packages (e.g., an Android package kit (APK)), to which n-gram may be applied to extract features. The preprocessing block 202 may separate labeled data from unlabeled data to generate a training data set and a testing data set.” The malware data that is to be preprocessed into training data includes bytecode.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yuste-Smith-Chat with Chen in order to perform the simple substitution of the unspecified language type of the segments in Yuste with bytecode in Chen.
The simple substation of the unspecified language type of the segments in Yuste to wherein the executable segments are in bytecode of Chen would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because the substitution would have yield predictable results, namely the generation of training datasets (Yuste: pg. 2 left column, Chen: para.0024).
Claim(s) 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuste et al. (hereinafter Yuste, “Optimization of Code Caves in malware binaries to evade machine learning detectors”, NPL FEB 2022 attached.) in view of Smith et al. (hereinafter Smith, US 12/019,746 B1) in view of Chatterjee et al. (hereinafter Chat, US 2022/0179840 A1) in view of Chen (US 2019/0080089 A1) in view of Barker (“Malware Detection in Executables using Neural Networks” NPL 2017 attached).
Regarding Claim 18, Yuste-Smith-Chat-Chen discloses claim 17 as set forth above.
However Yuste-Smith-Chat-Chen do not explicitly disclose wherein the executable segments substantially comprise ‘.data’ segments.
Barker discloses wherein the executable segments comprise ‘.data’ segments (Barker: pg. 8 “Analysis of the sparse-CAM for 224 randomly selected binaries by an expert malware analyst revealed that our model had 39-42% of it’s most important features located outside of the file header. In particular we saw indications of both executable code and data containing discriminative features…. .data …Malicious…669…Benign…423” The system of Barker tests using .data type executable segments.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yuste-Smith-Chat-Chen with Barker in order to incorporate wherein the executable segments comprise ‘.data’ segments.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved malicious data detection by checking different parts of the file than just the header (Barker: pg. 8)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Raugas et al. US 2015/0128263 A1 see para.0006, para.0022, Fig. 2, malware detection using a plurality of models with an aggregate score.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EUI H KIM/ EXAMINER, ART UNIT 2453
/KAMAL B DIVECHA/ SUPERVISORY PATENT EXAMINER, ART UNIT 2453