DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/19/23 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2004/0008434 A1) in view of Nuculaj (US 9,375,064 B1).
Regarding claim 1 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12 ) a folding travel mirror device comprising:
a first mirror comprised of a rear surface, the rear surface comprised of a first fastener; a second mirror (20; para. 0052);
a hinge (18) attached to a bottom edge of a first mirror and to a top edge of the second mirror (para. 0052);
Yang does not teach a telescopic support member comprised of a locking member.
Nuculaj teaches a telescopic support member comprised of a locking member (col. lines 55-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the are to have modified the travel mirror as taught by Yang with a telescopic frame as taught by Nuculaj for the benefit of greater stability in the standing mode.
Yang as modified by teaches a support arm (50) attached to the telescopic support member via a telescopic member that attaches to a pivot point (para. 0069).
Regarding claim 2 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a folding travel mirror, where the first mirror is comprised of a handle (24; para. 0052).
Regarding claim 3 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a folding travel mirror, where the hinge is comprised of a locking hinge (22; para. 0054).
Regarding claim 4 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a folding travel mirror, where the hinge has a 180-degree range of motion (para. 0055-0056).
Regarding claim 5 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a folding travel mirror, where the locking member is comprised of a locking button or a twisting lock (para. 0054).
Regarding claim 6 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a folding travel mirror further comprised of a second fastener that secures the folding travel mirror device in a folded position (para. 0055).
Regarding claim 7 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a folding travel mirror, where the second fastener is comprised of a hook and loop strap, a snap button strap, or a magnetic strap (para. 0055).
Regarding claim 8 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a folding travel mirror device comprising:
a first mirror comprised of a rear surface, the rear surface comprised of a first fastener; a second mirror (20; para. 0052);
Yang does not teach a telescopic support member comprised of a locking member.
Nuculaj teaches a telescopic support member comprised of a locking member (col. lines 55-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the are to have modified the travel mirror as taught by Yang with a telescopic frame as taught by Nuculaj for the benefit of greater stability in the standing mode.
Yang as modified by teaches a support arm (50) attached to the telescopic support member via a telescopic member that attaches to a pivot point
Regarding claim 9 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a folding travel mirror device, where the first fastener attaches to the rear surface via a second pivot point (para. 0054).
Regarding claim 10 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a folding travel mirror device, ecept where the first fastener is comprised of a first clip and a second clip (90; ).
Nuculaj teaches where the first fastener is comprised of a first clip and a second clip (col.4, lines 18-26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the are to have modified the travel mirror as taught by Yang with a telescopic frame as taught by Nuculaji for the benefit of greater stability in the standing mode.
Regarding claim 11 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a folding travel mirror device, except where the telescoping support member is comprised of an opening.
Nuculaj teaches where the telescoping support member is comprised of an opening (92; col.4, lines 18-26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the are to have modified the travel mirror as taught by Yang with a telescopic frame as taught by Nuculaj for the benefit of greater stability in the standing mode.
Regarding claim 12 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a folding travel mirror device, except where the opening receives the first clip.
Nuculaj teaches where the opening receives the first clip (col. 4, lines 18-26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the are to have modified the travel mirror as taught by Yang with a telescopic frame as taught by Nuculaj for the benefit of greater stability in the standing mode.
Regarding claim 13 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a folding travel mirror device, where the first pivot point is comprised of a hinge or a locking dial (22; para. 0054).
Regarding claim 14 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a folding travel mirror device, where the first mirror is comprised of a first handle (24; para. 0052).
Regarding claim 15 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a folding travel mirror device, where the second mirror is comprised of a second handle.
Regarding claim 16 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a folding travel mirror device further comprised of a second fastener (para. 0055).
Regarding claim17 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a folding travel mirror device, where the second fastener is comprised of a hook and loop strap, a snap button strap, or a magnetic strap (para. 0055).
Regarding claim 18 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a folding travel mirror device, where the hinge has a 180-degree range of motion (para. 0055-0056).
Regarding claim 19 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a method of using a folding travel mirror device, the method comprising the following steps:
providing a folding travel mirror device comprised of a first mirror comprised of a fastener, the first mirror attached to a second mirror via a hinge (20; para. 0052),
Yang does not teach a support member comprised of a locking mechanism and a support arm; unfolding the first mirror and the second mirror;
expanding the support member to a desired height and locking the support member at said height via the locking mechanism
Nuculaj teaches a support member comprised of a locking mechanism and a support arm; unfolding the first mirror and the second mirror; expanding the support member to a desired height and locking the support member at said height via the locking mechanism (col. lines 55-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the are to have modified the travel mirror as taught by Yang with a telescopic frame as taught by for the benefit of greater stability in the standing mode.
Yang as modified by Nuculaj teaches attaching the fastener to a first end of the support member; and positioning a lip of the support arm underneath a bottom edge of the second mirror by moving the support arm about a pivot point (para. 0069).
Regarding claim 20 Yang teaches (figs.1, 3, 5, and 7-12) a method of using a folding travel mirror, where the hinge is comprised of a locking hinge (para. 0054).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further foldable mirror systems related to the current application include Nottage (US 8651676 B2), Miller (US 2,124,146), Isler (US 7,347,573 B1), McKelvey et. al. (US 2020/0093242 A1) and McDonald (US 12,004,632,B1).
/Robert E. Tallman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872