DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 recites “the air distribution cavity” which lacks antecedent basis. The term “air distribution cavity” is introduced only in claim 7, which claim 11 does not depend.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 10-11, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (CN 203851002 U).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches of:
An air duct structure applicable to an electric cabinet for guiding airflow to an air inlet side of a fan (Fig. 1, see air flowing into the electric cabinet denoted by arrows leading to the inlet side of the fan 3), comprising:
an air inlet port configured to introduce external airflow into the air duct structure (Figs. 1-2, 8);
a flow-guiding cavity provided between the air inlet port and the air inlet side of the fan to guide the airflow from the air inlet port to the fan (Figs. 1-2, the area within the cabinet between the inlet of the fan 3 and the inlet port 8 is the flow-guiding cavity); and
an air distribution assembly arranged in the flow-guiding cavity (Fig. 2, 9)
wherein the air distribution assembly comprises an air distribution cover located at the air inlet side of the fan (Fig. 2, 9-2 is the air distribution cover) and an air distribution plate located between the air inlet port and the air distribution cover along the airflow (Fig. 2, 9-1 is an air distribution plate that is between the cover and the inlet port 8).
Regarding claim 7, Yang teaches of the air duct structure according to claim 1, and Yang further teaches of:
wherein the flow-guiding cavity comprises an air distribution cavity located between the air distribution cover and the air distribution plate along the airflow (Fig. 3, the space with the flow path from 8 to 9-1 over the edge of 9-2 denoted by curved arrows is the air distribution cavity within the flow-guiding cavity which is the entire space upstream from fan 3)
Regarding claim 8, Yang teaches of the air duct structure according to claim 7, and Yang further teaches of:
wherein the flow-guiding cavity is provided with a first flow-guiding passage located at a positioned adjacent to the air inlet port along the airflow for guiding the airflow from the air inlet port to an air inlet side of the air distribution plate (Fig. 3, space between 9-3 and 8 is the first flow guiding passage that guides air from the inlet port 8 to the inlet side of 9-1)
Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches of the air duct structure according to claim 1, and Yang further teaches of:
Further comprising a splash-proof plate located as a position corresponding to the air inlet port, in the flow guiding cavity (Fig. 2, 9-3 is a splash proof plate at an inlet 8)
Regarding claim 11, Yang teaches of the air duct structure according to claim 10, and Yang further teaches of:
Further comprising a fan cover configured to introduce the airflow from the flow-guiding cavity into the fan and arranged at the air inlet side of the fan (Figs. 1-3, the walls surround fan 3 that are downstream from 9 form the fan cover); and
wherein a flow-guiding passage is defined by the splash-proof plate and an outer wall of the fan cover, and the flow-guiding passage is configured to guide the airflow from the position corresponding to the air inlet port, in the flow-guiding cavity to the air distribution cavity (Figs. 1-3, the flow-guiding passage is defined by 9-3 and the walls surrounding fan 3, the flow guiding passage guides airflow from 8 into the flow-guiding cavity and to an air distribution cavity between 9-3 and 9-2)
Regarding claim 14, Yang teaches of the air duct structure according to claim 1, and Yang further teaches of:
Wherein the flow-guiding cavity comprises a high-speed airflow area and a low-speed airflow area (Fig. 3, the high speed area is the space within 9 and the low speed area is the space on the downstream side of 9-2 leading to the inlet of the fan as the high speed area has a narrower cross-section which would result in higher air speeds at a constant air volume);
the flow- guiding cavity is provided with a flow-guiding plate which is arranged at a position- corresponding to the air inlet port configured to guide the airflow in the high-speed airflow area into the low-speed airflow area (Fig. 3, 9-3 is a flow guiding plate arranged at 8 and guides airflow from the high speed area to the lower speed area)
Regarding claim 17, Yang teaches of the air duct structure according to claim 1, and Yang further teaches of:
An electric cabinet, comprising a housing, and a fan and an air duct structure inside the housing, wherein the air duct structure is the air duct structure according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1, the system is an electric cabinet with a housing and a fan 3 and an air duct structure as mapped above)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 203851002 U) as presented in claims 1 and 8 in view of Warnaka (WO 9505542 A1)
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches of the air duct structure according to claim 1, however, Yang fails to explicitly teach:
Wherein the air distribution cover is provided with a plurality of flow-introducing passages for introducing the airflow from the air distribution plate to the air inlet side of the fan
Warnaka teaches of:
Wherein the air distribution cover is provided with a plurality of flow-introducing passages for introducing the airflow from the air distribution plate to the air inlet side of the fan (Figs. 7-8, 112-114 and 119-124 are all flow-introducing passages for introducing from the distribution cover 116 to an inlet side of a fan)
The primary reference can be modified to meet this/these limitation(s) as follows:
Replace 9-2 with the apparatus of Figs. 7-8 of Warnaka so that 116 is attached to 9-1 and air flow from 8 through flow-introducing passages 112-114/119-124 and into the inlet of fan 3
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) because:
It would decrease drag and improve efficiency of the fan (Warnaka, Pg. 9, lines 27-33, In the depicted embodiments, the radial spokes 81 or the partitions 116 and 117 are configured so as to minimize drag on air flow through the duct. EXAMPLES The external duct system of the present invention was installed on a centrifugal fan having a capacity of 180,000 cubic feet of air per minute and a 60 inch diameter inlet. The external duct was located approximately two feet ahead of the rotor of the fan, and was divided into 6 internal compartments having a circular sector shape. Flow and power measurement were measured before and after the external duct of the present invention was installed. It was surprisingly discovered that there was a significant improvement in flow as measured by the pressure drop in front of the fan as per the following)
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach of the air duct structure according to claim 2, and the combined teachings further teach:
wherein the air distribution cover comprises a fixed portion and a plurality of air tubes which are spaced apart and provided on the fixed portion, and wherein each of the plurality of air tubes is provided with a through cavity to constitute on of the plurality of flow-introducing passages (Warnaka, Figs. 7-8, each of the air tubes 112-114/119-124 is provided on a fixed portion 116 and have through cavities allowing air to pass therethrough)
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach of the air duct structure according to claim 3, and the combined teachings further teach:
wherein the plurality of air tubes are uniformly arranged with one height starting from the fixed portion; or
the plurality of air tubes are arranged in a manner that heights of the air tubes are staggered along a preset direction; or,
the plurality of air tubes are arranged with heights being decreased from a middle of the fixed portion towards two opposite sides thereof (Warnaka, Figs. 7-8, the tubes decrease from a central tube 113 towards the sides of the fixed portion 116)
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach of the air duct structure according to claim 2, and the combined teachings further teach:
wherein the air distribution cover comprises a plurality of partition plates, the partition plates are arranged in a cross manner to define a plurality of partition passages, and the plurality of partition passages constitute the plurality of flow-introducing passages respectively (Warnaka, Figs. 7-8, the walls of 112-124 form partition plates arranged in a cross manner and are offset from one another)
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach of the air duct structure according to claim 8, however, the combined teachings fail to explicitly teach:
Wherein the air distribution cover comprises a fixed portion and a plurality of air tubes which are spaced apart and provided on the fixed portion, and the flow-guiding cavity is further provided with a second flow-guiding passage for guiding the airflow to gaps between the plurality of tubes
Warnaka teaches of:
Wherein the air distribution cover comprises a fixed portion and a plurality of air tubes which are spaced apart and provided on the fixed portion (Figs. 7-8, 112-114 and 119-124 are all flow-introducing passages for introducing from the fixed portion 116 to an inlet side of a fan), and the flow-guiding cavity is further provided with a second flow-guiding passage for guiding the airflow to gaps between the plurality of tubes (see combination made below)
The primary reference can be modified to meet this/these limitation(s) as follows:
Replace 9-2 with the apparatus of Figs. 7-8 of Warnaka so that 116 is attached to 9-1 and air flow from 8 through tubes 112-114/119-124 and into the inlet of fan 3 and further so that air can flow through the gaps between each of the tubes, creating a second flow-guiding passage within the flow-guiding cavity
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) because:
It would decrease drag and improve efficiency of the fan (Warnaka, Pg. 9, lines 27-33, In the depicted embodiments, the radial spokes 81 or the partitions 116 and 117 are configured so as to minimize drag on air flow through the duct. EXAMPLES The external duct system of the present invention was installed on a centrifugal fan having a capacity of 180,000 cubic feet of air per minute and a 60 inch diameter inlet. The external duct was located approximately two feet ahead of the rotor of the fan, and was divided into 6 internal compartments having a circular sector shape. Flow and power measurement were measured before and after the external duct of the present invention was installed. It was surprisingly discovered that there was a significant improvement in flow as measured by the pressure drop in front of the fan as per the following)
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach:
An electric cabinet, comprising a housing, and a fan and an air duct structure inside the housing, wherein the air duct structure is the air duct structure according to claim 2 (the primary reference Yang teaches of a housing and a fan and is modified to have the duct structure according to claim 2)
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 203851002 U) in view of Warnaka (WO 9505542 A1) as presented in claim 11, and in further view of Li (US 20140069735 A1)
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach of the air duct structure according to claim 11, however, the combined teaching fails to explicitly teach:
wherein a surface of the outer wall of the fan cover and/or a surface of the splash-proof plate for forming the flow-guiding passage is provided with an absorption structure for reducing a wind speed.
Li teaches of:
lining the inner surface of an air duct with an absorption material (¶ [0046], the lining of acoustic material may also be a lining formed of a porous sound-absorbing material, including, for example, such foams as polyurethane foam and melamine foam, as well as such fibers as polyester fibers and centrifugal glass-wools)
The combined teachings can be modified to meet this/these limitation(s) as follows:
line all the interior surfaces of 9 of Yang with a soft acoustic material
It would reduce noise through the system where air travels (¶ [0046], In this embodiment, in order to enhance the noise-reducing capabilities of the ventilating module, it is also possible to provide a noise-reducing component in the air duct. For instance, it is possible to provide an active noise-reducing component in the air duct or provide a lining of acoustic material on the inner wall of the air duct, so as to absorb the noise coming into the air duct via the active noise-reducing component or the acoustic material.)
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 203851002 U) as presented in claim 1, and in view of Degner (US 20140362576 A1)
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach of the air duct structure according to claim 1, however, the combined teachings fail to explicitly teach:
wherein the number of the air inlet port is four, and the four air inlet ports are arranged on four side surfaces of the electric cabinet, respectively.
Degner teaches of:
positioning inlet ports circumferentially around the entire housing (Fig. 1, 104)
The primary reference can be modified to meet this/these limitation(s) as follows:
position two additional inlet ports on the two sides of the housing not visible in Yang so that air can be drawn through them and into the fan 3
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) because:
it would allow for adequate air to be drawn into the system even if the system is positioned against a vertical surface such as a wall (Degner, ¶ [0052], The first opening can provide for a full perimeter air inlet, e.g. through circumferential openings in the base unit, and the circular design can allow for full functionality and adequate air intake even in those situations where the compact computing system is located in a corner or against a wall.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL JAMES GIORDANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/STEVEN B MCALLISTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762