DETAILED ACTION
The action is in response to claims dated 12/8/2023.
Claims pending in the case: 1-14
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a state encoding unit for…”, “a quantum circuit unit for…”, “a measurement unit for …” in claims 1-6.
Each of the units as per specification paragraph [32 and 38] are one or more hardware components controlled by software to perform the functions claimed and described in specification.
All claims dependent on the claims identified above are also interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) due to the virtue of their respective direct and indirect dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 3-7 and 10-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 3 and 10 in the relevant part read: “updates the parameters of the base layer using an angle-pole optimization technique”. Based on the claim language, it is unclear what is being referred to by “angle-pole optimization technique”. It appears that this is a new term that the applicant has used and is not a well-known concept in the art. Since the specification does not provide a clear definition, the limitation has been found to be indefinite. As such, a person of reasonable skill in the art would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the invention.
All claims dependent on this/these claim(s) are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) due to the virtue of their respective direct and indirect dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (Variational Quantum Circuits for Deep Reinforcement Learning – refer to attached) in view of Baughman (US 20230123240).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen teaches, A quantum multi-agent meta reinforcement learning apparatus, which receives at least one observation value from different … environments (Chen: Fig. 5, Pg. 2 section II: reinforcement learning receiving observation states; Pg. 4 col 2 section A-B: RL for frozen lake problem and radio mapping problem), the apparatus comprising:
a state encoding unit for calculating an angle along each axis by encoding the at least one observation value, and converting the angle along each axis into a quantum state (Chen: Pg. 6 Fig. 5 description: qubit gates represent rotation along axis to get quantum state; Pg. 6 col 1: encode the state (map to quantum states) – angle encoding is one of the encoding techniques);
a quantum circuit unit for learning the angle along each axis, mapping the angle to a base layer, and overlapping the learned base layer using a controlled X (CX) gate (Chen: Pg. 6 Fig. 5 description: CNOT gates to entangled quantum state; learnable parameters); and
a measurement unit for learning the overlapped base layer and measuring an axis parameter (Chen: Pg. 6 Fig. 5 description: measuring and optimizing parameters);
Although, Chen does not specifically teach, observations from different single-hop offloading environments, The examiner finds that teachings in Chen reads on all the claimed functions and it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the teachings for single-hop offloading environments. Thus the limitations are obvious over the teachings in Chen;
Chen also does not specifically recite, angle encoding. However this technique is well known in the art and would have been an obvious approach by one skilled in the art.
Nonetheless, Baughman teaches, angle encoding (Baughman: [37, 40]: encoding data may use angle encoding to use rotation information);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Baughman because the combination would enable angle encoding using the rotation information. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because the combination enables using a commonly known encoding technique of angle encoding in the quantum computing system.
Regarding claim 2, Chen and Baughman teach the invention as claimed in claim 1 above and, wherein the quantum circuit unit updates parameters of the base layer through angle learning based on the angle along each axis converted into a quantum state, and the measurement unit updates the axis parameter through local axis learning based on the updated parameters of the base layer (Chen: Pg. 6 Fig. 5 description: use angle information for measuring and optimizing parameters) (Baughman: [37, 40]: encoding to use rotation information), and further performs continuous learning of initializing the axis parameter whenever the single-hop offloading environment changes and updating the axis parameter through the local axis learning for the changed single-hop offloading environment (Chen: Pg. 7, Algorithm 1: begin with initialize step).
Regarding Claim(s) 8-9, this/these claim(s) is/are similar in scope as claim(s) 1-2. Therefore, this/these claim(s) is/are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections using prior art
For claims 4-7 and 11-14, no prior art was found to teach or make obvious all the limitations with specifics of angle-pole optimization as claimed. The closest prior arts have been cited in the attached 892. Since the prior arts fail to disclose, suggest or teach all the claimed limitations, prior art rejection has not been presented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in attached 892.
/Mandrita Brahmachari/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144