Detail Action
On 7/19/2023, the application 18/354,908 is filed with claims 1-21.
That is a Non-Final Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea/mathematical algorithm without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites the step of:
aggregating a plurality of event messages to form an input prompt, the plurality of event messages associated with at least one event occurring in at least one computer system;
This step can reasonably be performed in the human mind, through observation, judgement and opinion, with the aid of pen and paper, and therefore recite a mental process.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim only recites mere instructions to apply an exception (the computer-implemented method), with additional elements comprising only insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 1 recites the additional element of:
inputting the input prompt into a generative language model to generate a notification message based on the plurality of event messages; and
transmitting the notification message to a user device.
amount to insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data outputting, and are additionally well-understood, routine or conventional activities for storing data. Further, these additional elements merely recite using computing components in their ordinary capacity to store data that is a result of the recited mental process, and thus can be considered mere instructions to apply an exception. These additional elements of insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, thus the claim is not eligible.
Claim 2 is dependent on claim 1, and therefore inherits the same judicial exception recited in claim 1.
The judicial exceptions recited in claims 2 and 1 are not integrated into a practical application because the recited additional elements comprise only mere instructions to apply an exception (the method) and insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 2 recites the additional element of:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the at least one event comprises a plurality of related events.
amount to insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data outputting, and are additionally well-understood, routine or conventional activities for storing data. Additionally, these additional elements merely recite using computing components in their ordinary capacity to store data that is a result of the recited mental process, and thus can be considered mere instructions to apply an exception. These additional elements of insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply recited in claim 2 are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Even when considered in combination with the additional elements of claim 1, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, thus the claim is not eligible.
Claim 3 is dependent on claims 1 and 2, and therefore inherits the same judicial exception recited in claims 1 and 2.
The judicial exceptions recited in claims 3, 2 and 1 are not integrated into a practical application because the recited additional elements comprise only mere instructions to apply an exception (the method) and insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 3 recites the additional element of:
wherein the plurality of related events comprises a root event and a dependent event having a dependency relationship with the root event, and wherein the plurality of event messages comprises an event message associated with the root event and an event message associated with the dependent event.
amount to insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data outputting, and are additionally well-understood, routine or conventional activities for storing data. Additionally, these additional elements merely recite using computing components in their ordinary capacity to store data that is a result of the recited mental process, and thus can be considered mere instructions to apply an exception. These additional elements of insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply recited in claim 3 are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Even when considered in combination with the additional elements of claims 1 and 2, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, thus the claim is not eligible.
Claim 4 is dependent on claim 1, and therefore inherits the same judicial exception recited in claim 1.
The judicial exceptions recited in claims 4 and 1 are not integrated into a practical application because the recited additional elements comprise only mere instructions to apply an exception (the method) and insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 4 recites the additional element of:
aggregating the plurality of event messages as the input prompt in response to an aggregation trigger.
amount to insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data outputting, and are additionally well-understood, routine or conventional activities for storing data. Additionally, these additional elements merely recite using computing components in their ordinary capacity to store data that is a result of the recited mental process, and thus can be considered mere instructions to apply an exception. These additional elements of insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply recited in claim 4 are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Even when considered in combination with the additional elements of claims 1, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, thus the claim is not eligible.
Claim 5 is dependent on claims 4 and 1, and therefore inherits the same judicial exception recited in claims 4 and 1.
The judicial exceptions recited in claims 5, 4 and 1 are not integrated into a practical application because the recited additional elements comprise only mere instructions to apply an exception (the method) and insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 5 recites the additional element of:
a duration of time having elapsed.
amount to insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data outputting, and are additionally well-understood, routine or conventional activities for storing data. Additionally, these additional elements merely recite using computing components in their ordinary capacity to store data that is a result of the recited mental process, and thus can be considered mere instructions to apply an exception. These additional elements of insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply recited in claim 5 are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Even when considered in combination with the additional elements of claims 1 and 4, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, thus the claim is not eligible.
Claim 6 is dependent on claims 4 and 1, and therefore inherits the same judicial exception recited in claims 4 and 1.
The judicial exceptions recited in claims 6, 4 and 1 are not integrated into a practical application because the recited additional elements comprise only mere instructions to apply an exception (the method) and insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 6 recites the additional element of:
a duration of time having elapsed since an earlier event message of the plurality of event messages.
amount to insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data outputting, and are additionally well-understood, routine or conventional activities for storing data. Additionally, these additional elements merely recite using computing components in their ordinary capacity to store data that is a result of the recited mental process, and thus can be considered mere instructions to apply an exception. These additional elements of insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply recited in claim 6 are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Even when considered in combination with the additional elements of claims 1 and 4, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, thus the claim is not eligible.
Claim 7 is dependent on claims 6, 4 and 1, and therefore inherits the same judicial exception recited in claims 6, 4 and 1.
The judicial exceptions recited in claims 7, 6, 4 and 1 are not integrated into a practical application because the recited additional elements comprise only mere instructions to apply an exception (the method) and insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 7 recites the additional element of:
the duration of time is based on an event associated with the earlier event message.
amount to insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data outputting, and are additionally well-understood, routine or conventional activities for storing data. Additionally, these additional elements merely recite using computing components in their ordinary capacity to store data that is a result of the recited mental process, and thus can be considered mere instructions to apply an exception. These additional elements of insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply recited in claim 7 are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Even when considered in combination with the additional elements of claims 1, 4 and 6, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, thus the claim is not eligible.
Claim 8 is dependent on claims 6, 4 and 1, and therefore inherits the same judicial exception recited in claims 6, 4 and 1.
The judicial exceptions recited in claims 8, 6, 4 and 1 are not integrated into a practical application because the recited additional elements comprise only mere instructions to apply an exception (the method) and insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 8 recites the additional element of:
receiving a further event message after the earlier event message during the duration of time; and adding the further event message to the input prompt.
amount to insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data outputting, and are additionally well-understood, routine or conventional activities for storing data. Additionally, these additional elements merely recite using computing components in their ordinary capacity to store data that is a result of the recited mental process, and thus can be considered mere instructions to apply an exception. These additional elements of insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply recited in claim 8 are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Even when considered in combination with the additional elements of claims 1, 4 and 6, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, thus the claim is not eligible.
Claim 9 is dependent on claims 4 and 1, and therefore inherits the same judicial exception recited in claims 4 and 1.
The judicial exceptions recited in claims 9, 4 and 1 are not integrated into a practical application because the recited additional elements comprise only mere instructions to apply an exception (the method) and insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 9 recites the additional element of:
wherein the aggregation trigger is based on at least one of a relative priority between the plurality of event messages or a priority of an earlier event message of the plurality of event messages.
amount to insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data outputting, and are additionally well-understood, routine or conventional activities for storing data. Additionally, these additional elements merely recite using computing components in their ordinary capacity to store data that is a result of the recited mental process, and thus can be considered mere instructions to apply an exception. These additional elements of insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply recited in claim 9 are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Even when considered in combination with the additional elements of claims 1 and 4, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, thus the claim is not eligible.
Claim 10 is dependent on claim 1, and therefore inherits the same judicial exception recited in claim 1.
The judicial exceptions recited in claims 10 and 1 are not integrated into a practical application because the recited additional elements comprise only mere instructions to apply an exception (the method) and insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 10 recites the additional element of:
a pre-trained generative language model that was fine-tuned by: creating a training set based on at least training input prompts and training notification messages; and fine-tune training the pre-trained generative language model using the training set.
amount to insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data outputting, and are additionally well-understood, routine or conventional activities for storing data. Additionally, these additional elements merely recite using computing components in their ordinary capacity to store data that is a result of the recited mental process, and thus can be considered mere instructions to apply an exception. These additional elements of insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply recited in claim 10 are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Even when considered in combination with the additional elements of claims 1, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, thus the claim is not eligible.
Claim 11 is dependent on claims 1 and 10, and therefore inherits the same judicial exception recited in claims 1 and 10.
The judicial exceptions recited in claims 11, 10 and 1 are not integrated into a practical application because the recited additional elements comprise only mere instructions to apply an exception (the method) and insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 11 recites the additional element of:
an aggregation of training event messages; and generating a plurality of the training pairs, wherein the plurality of the training pairs form the training set.
amount to insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data outputting, and are additionally well-understood, routine or conventional activities for storing data. Additionally, these additional elements merely recite using computing components in their ordinary capacity to store data that is a result of the recited mental process, and thus can be considered mere instructions to apply an exception. These additional elements of insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply recited in claim 11 are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Even when considered in combination with the additional elements of claims 1 and 10, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, thus the claim is not eligible.
Claim 12 is dependent on claims 1 and 10, and therefore inherits the same judicial exception recited in claims 1 and 10.
The judicial exceptions recited in claims 12, 10 and 1 are not integrated into a practical application because the recited additional elements comprise only mere instructions to apply an exception (the method) and insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 12 recites the additional element of:
generating a training plurality of notification messages based on a particular training input prompt; associating each of the training plurality of notification messages with a corresponding rank as a training pair; and creating a plurality of the training pairs, wherein the plurality of the training pairs form the training set.
amount to insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data outputting, and are additionally well-understood, routine or conventional activities for storing data. Additionally, these additional elements merely recite using computing components in their ordinary capacity to store data that is a result of the recited mental process, and thus can be considered mere instructions to apply an exception. These additional elements of insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply recited in claim 12 are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Even when considered in combination with the additional elements of claims 1 and 10, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, thus the claim is not eligible.
Claim 13 is dependent on claim 1, and therefore inherits the same judicial exception recited in claim 1.
The judicial exceptions recited in claims 13 and 1 are not integrated into a practical application because the recited additional elements comprise only mere instructions to apply an exception (the method) and insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 13 recites the additional element of:
a relative priority between the plurality of event messages, an event message associated with a high priority event, an event message associated with a root event, features of a desired notification message, one or more examples of the desired notification message, or any prior notification messages transmitted to the user device.
amount to insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data outputting, and are additionally well-understood, routine or conventional activities for storing data. Additionally, these additional elements merely recite using computing components in their ordinary capacity to store data that is a result of the recited mental process, and thus can be considered mere instructions to apply an exception. These additional elements of insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply recited in claim 13 are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Even when considered in combination with the additional elements of claims 1, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, thus the claim is not eligible.
Claim 14 is dependent on claim 1, and therefore inherits the same judicial exception recited in claim 1.
The judicial exceptions recited in claims 14 and 1 are not integrated into a practical application because the recited additional elements comprise only mere instructions to apply an exception (the method) and insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 14 recites the additional element of:
the notification message includes text representing at least one action to respond to the at least one event.
amount to insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data outputting, and are additionally well-understood, routine or conventional activities for storing data. Additionally, these additional elements merely recite using computing components in their ordinary capacity to store data that is a result of the recited mental process, and thus can be considered mere instructions to apply an exception. These additional elements of insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply recited in claim 14 are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Even when considered in combination with the additional elements of claims 1, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, thus the claim is not eligible.
Claim 15 is dependent on claim 1, and therefore inherits the same judicial exception recited in claim 1.
The judicial exceptions recited in claims 15 and 1 are not integrated into a practical application because the recited additional elements comprise only mere instructions to apply an exception (the method) and insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 15 recites the additional element of:
the notification message includes text identifying at least one of a priority event of the at least one event or a root event of the at least one event.
amount to insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data outputting, and are additionally well-understood, routine or conventional activities for storing data. Additionally, these additional elements merely recite using computing components in their ordinary capacity to store data that is a result of the recited mental process, and thus can be considered mere instructions to apply an exception. These additional elements of insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply recited in claim 15 are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Even when considered in combination with the additional elements of claims 1, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, thus the claim is not eligible.
Claims 16-20 are directed to a system comprise the steps which the at least one processing platform of the method of claims 1, 4, 10, and 13-14 are configured to perform. Claims 16-20 recite the same limitations as claims 1, 4, 10, and 13-14, respectively; therefore, claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of a system without significantly more for the same reasons presented with respect to claims 1, 4, 10, and 13-14. See above.
Claim 21 is directed to a medium comprise the steps which the at least one processing platform of the method of claim 1 is configured to perform. Claim 21 recites the same limitations as claim 1, respectively; therefore, claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of a medium without significantly more for the same reasons presented with respect to claim 1. See above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-12, 14, 16-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang US Publication 2023/0245651.
18/354,908
Wang 2023/0245651
Claim 1
A computer-implemented method comprising:
aggregating a plurality of event messages to form an input prompt, the plurality of event messages associated with at least one event occurring in at least one computer system;
Wang Fig. 16, p0362-p0377;
inputting the input prompt into a generative language model to generate a notification message based on the plurality of event messages; and
Wang Fig. 16, p0362-p0377;
Wang’s categorized data based on plurality event messages. (see Fig. 12 and Fig.13)
Wang teaches training Language Models with Language and text. (see Wang p0439-p0455)
transmitting the notification message to a user device.
Wang teaches push personalization notification and feedback. See Wang p0226, p0276-p0289
Claim 2
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the at least one event comprises a plurality of related events.
Wang’s categorized data based on plurality event messages. (see Fig. 12 and Fig.13)
Claim 3
The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of related events comprises a root event and a dependent event having a dependency relationship with the root event, and wherein the plurality of event messages comprises an event message associated with the root event and an event message associated with the dependent event.
Wang teaches determine the root cause/event of the feed and adjust its response accordingly. See Wang p0481;
Claim 4
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: aggregating the plurality of event messages as the input prompt in response to an aggregation trigger.
Wang Fig. 16, p0362-p0377;
Wang’s categorized data based on plurality event messages. (see Fig. 12 and Fig.13)
Wang teaches training Language Models with Language and text. (see Wang p0439-p0455)
Claim 5
The computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the aggregation trigger comprises a duration of time having elapsed.
Wang Fig .14 p0340-p0343.
Claim 6
The computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the aggregation trigger comprises a duration of time having elapsed since an earlier event message of the plurality of event messages.
Wang Fig .14 p0340-p0343.
Wang teaches previous analysis based on previous interactions, dialogue history. (see Wang p0052, p0212; p244; p0343)
Claim 7
The computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the duration of time is based on an event associated with the earlier event message.
Wang Fig .14 p0340-p0343.
Wang teaches previous analysis based on previous interactions, dialogue history. (see Wang p0052, p0212; p244; p0343)
Claim 8
The computer-implemented method of claim 6, further comprising: receiving a further event message after the earlier event message during the duration of time; and adding the further event message to the input prompt.
Wang Fig .14 p0340-p0343.
Wang teaches previous analysis based on previous interactions, dialogue history. (see Wang p0052, p0212; p244; p0343)
Claim 10
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the generative language model comprises a pre-trained generative language model that was fine-tuned by:
creating a training set based on at least training input prompts and training notification messages; and fine-tune training the pre-trained generative language model using the training set.
Wang teaches a training process; p0079-p0131;
Wang teaches input-output pairs and storage in a dataset; p0081;
Claim 11
The computer-implemented method of claim 10, wherein creating the training set comprises:
associating a training input prompt with a training notification message as a training pair, the training input prompt comprising an aggregation of training event messages; and generating a plurality of the training pairs, wherein the plurality of the training pairs form the training set.
Wang p0079-p0131;
Claim 12
The computer-implemented method of claim 10, wherein creating the training set comprises:
generating a training plurality of notification messages based on a particular training input prompt; associating each of the training plurality of notification messages with a corresponding rank as a training pair; and creating a plurality of the training pairs, wherein the plurality of the training pairs form the training set.
Wang p0079-p0131;
Claim 14
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the notification message includes text representing at least one action to respond to the at least one event.
Wang teaches push personalization notification and feedback. See Wang p0226, p0276-p0289
As per claims 16 and 21, they are rejected under the same rationale as claim 1. See rejection above.
As per claims 17, 18, and 20, they are rejected under the same rationales as claims 4, 10, and 14. See rejection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 13, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US Publication 2023/0245651 in view of Breen US Publication 2023/0222379.
18/354,908
Wang US Publication 2023/0245651in view of Breen US Publication 2023/0222379
Claim 9
The computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the aggregation trigger is based on at least one of a relative priority between the plurality of event messages or a priority of an earlier event message of the plurality of event messages.
Wang teaches AI system may prioritize notification; p0287; and updated related event p0279
Breen teaches priority score for each predicative input entity; p0025 and processing related subset of high priority score input; p0191
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention for a person ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) to include Breen’s teaching with method of Wang in order to allow the system prioritize the events and task numerically.
Claim 13
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the input prompt further includes text representing input prompt context associated with one or more of the plurality of event messages, wherein the input prompt context comprises an indication of at least one of: a relative priority between the plurality of event messages, an event message associated with a high priority event, an event message associated with a root event, features of a desired notification message, one or more examples of the desired notification message, or any prior notification messages transmitted to the user device.
Wang teaches AI system may prioritize notification; p0287; and updated related event p0279; and finding root cause of the feedback; p0481.
Breen teaches priority score for each predicative input entity; p0025 and processing related subset of high priority score input; p0191
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention for a person ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) to include Breen’s teaching with method of Wang in order to allow the system prioritize the events and task numerically.
Claim 15
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the notification message includes text identifying at least one of a priority event of the at least one event or a root event of the at least one event.
Wang teaches AI system may prioritize notification; p0287; and updated related event p0279; and finding root cause of the feedback; p0481.
Breen teaches priority score for each predicative input entity; p0025 and processing related subset of high priority score input; p0191
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention for a person ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) to include Breen’s teaching with method of Wang in order to allow the system prioritize the events and task numerically.
As per claims 19, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 13. See rejection above.
Conclusion
Here is a list of references relates to AI system:
Eck et al: US Publication 2019/0065992: Machine Learning for Time Series Using Semantic and Time Series Data.
Lora et al. US Publication 2019/0251759: Vehicle Data Aggregation and Analysis Platform Providing Dealership Service Provider Dashboard.
Nadig US Publication 2023/0120966: Sensitive Data Control.
Contact Information
PENG KE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2194
/PENG KE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194