DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 02/05/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims in the submission dated 03/12/2026 in response to the office action mailed 12/12/2025 are acknowledged and accepted. Examiner submits that the amended claims do not contain new matter. Claims 1, 2, 8-10, 14 and 18-20 are amended. Claim 7 is cancelled. Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In paragraphs 5-8 on page 7 of 14 of Applicant’s Remarks, the applicant submits that the Iwase fails to teach or suggest the amended claim 1, specifically “the magnetically permeable component 8 is configured to attract the magnetic body 10.” No specific arguments are made in this section.
In paragraph 1 on page 8 of 14 through annotated Fig. 3 on page 9 of 14 of the Applicant’s Remarks, the applicant argues that “Iwase fails to disclose a magnetically permeable component that simultaneously attracts both the first and second magnetic bodies respectively disposed on the first and second holders.” The applicant further argues that Iwase fails to teach a single magnetically permeable component that simultaneously attracts the first magnetic body and the second magnetic body. Specifically, the magnetic member 73 only attracts the second magnet 121 and the magnetic member 84 only attracts the first 111. This argument is not persuasive because it relies on the premise that the magnetic members would have no attractive forces on both the magnetic bodies.
Further, the structure of the claimed system, as identified above and in the original action, is the same as that claimed, it must inherently perform the same function. Specifically, Iwase teaches the second support portion 60 comprises the magnetic members 73 which has an attraction force that acts on the second magnet 121 (Iwase, Fig. 14, paragraphs [0123] and [0130]). The arrangement of the first magnet 111 and the magnetic member 73 also results in magnetic lines of force between the magnetic member and the first magnet and thus also have an attractive force (as evidenced by US 2022/0132003 A1 paragraph [0050]). See MPEP §2114(I)) “If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art structure inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432. See also Bettcher Industries, Inc. v. Bunzl USA, Inc., 661 F.3d 629, 639-40,100 USPQ2d 1433, 1440 (Fed. Cir. 2011).”
The examiner would like to further note prior art reference Hu et al., US 2020/0249421 A1, which teaches a magnetic permeable element 3801 that is disposed in the base and magnetically attracts a first magnetic element 3411 and a second magnetic element 3421 (Hu, Fig. 66, paragraph [0314]).
In paragraph 1 on page 9 of 14 through annotated Fig. 4 on page 10 of 14 of Applicant’s Remarks, the applicant argues that “Iwase fails to disclose non-contact magnetic retention.” In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., non-contact magnetic retention) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In paragraphs 1-3 on page 11 of 14 of the Applicant’s Remarks, the applicant argues that “Iwase fails to disclose the streamlined, compact, easy-to-assemble structure.” In response to applicant's argument that Iwase fails to disclose the assembly method, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In paragraph 4 on page 11 of 14 through paragraph 4 on page 12 of 14 of Applicant’s Remarks, the applicant submits a summary that Iwase suffers from the technical problems such as inefficient helding system, mechanical fatigue, contact failure, and fixation failure due to complex assembly. No specific arguments are made in this section.
In paragraph 5 on page 12 of 14 through paragraph 4 on page 13 of 14 of Applicant’s Remarks, the applicant argues that dependent claims 2-6 and 8-19, and independent claim 20 are allowable for the same reasons argued above. These arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons provided above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwase et al., US 2022/0317469 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Iwase).
As to claim 1, Iwase teaches a prismatic motor (Iwase, Fig. 2, 1, paragraph [0036], “optical unit 1”) for driving a prism (Iwase, Fig. 2, 10, paragraph [0043], “the optical element 10 includes a prism”) comprising:
a holding component for holding the prism (Iwase, Fig. 3, 2, paragraph [0039], “the movable body 2 has the optical element 10. The moveable body 2 has the holder 20 and the first support portion 30”), wherein the holding component comprises a first holder (Iwase, Fig. 4, 20, paragraph [0039], “the holder 20 holds the optical element 10”), a second holder (Iwase, Fig. 4, 30, paragraph [0039], “the first support portion 30 supports the holder 20 and the optical element 10”), a cylinder disposed between the first holder and the second holder (Iwase, Fig. 4, 45, paragraph [0067], “the axial concave portion 22b accommodates at least a part of the axial convex portion 45 of the first preload portion 40”), and a magnetic body (Iwase, Fig. 4, 111, 121, paragraph [0130], a first magnet 111 and second magnet 121) comprising a first magnetic body disposed on the first holder (Iwase, Fig. 4, 111, paragraph [0131], “the first swing mechanism 110 swings the holder 20… the first swing mechanism 110 includes the first magnet 111,” paragraph [0132], “the first magnet 111 is arranged on the holder 20”) and a second magnetic body disposed on the second holder (Iwase, Fig. 4, 121, paragraph [0136], “the second swing mechanism 120 includes the second magnet 121… the second magnet 121 is arranged on the first support portion 30”);
a rolling body (Iwase, Fig. 3, 71, 72, paragraph [0113], “the first convex portion 71 is a sphere,” paragraph [0115], “the second convex portion 72 is a sphere”) contacting the holding component (Iwase, Fig. 12, 31f, 31g, paragraph [0113], “the friction between the first convex portion 71 and the first concave portion 31f becomes rolling friction,” paragraph [0115], “the friction between the second convex portion 72 and the second concave portion 31g of the first support portion 30 becomes rolling friction,” thus the rolling body is in contact with the holding component via the concave portions 31f and 31g in the first support portion 30); and
a base comprising (Iwase, Fig. 3, 60, paragraph [0039], “the second support portion 60 of the support body 3”) a magnetically permeable component which is configured to attract the magnetic body to increase force of the holding component interacting with the base (Iwase, Fig. 14, 73, 84, paragraph [0123], “Since a force attracting each other (hereinafter, also referred to as an attraction force) acts on the second magnet 121 and the magnetic member 73, the movable body 2 can be suppressed from displacing in the first direction X with respect to the support body 3,” paragraph [0130], “an attraction force occurs between the second magnet 121 and the magnetic member 84”), wherein the rolling body is between the holding component and the base and contacts the base (Iwase, Figs. 5C, 5D and 15, 61b, 61c, paragraph [0113], the convex portion 71 is between the first concave portion 31f and the first accommodation concave portion 61b, paragraph [0115], the convex portion 72 is between the second concave portion 31g and the second accommodation concave portion 61c, thus the rolling body 71, 72 are between the holding component 30 and the base 60 and contacts the base via the accommodation concave portions 61b and 61c).
The prior art and the instant claim differ by the shape of the cylinder located between the first clamping part and the second clamping part. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the axial convex portion 45 of Iwase from spherical to cylindrical, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination, In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), MPEP §2144.04(IV)(B). In the instant case, the change in shape does not appear to be significant to the function because the axial convex portion 45 is located between the first clamping part and the second clamping part and radially separates the first holder from the second holder, and the first holder rotates along the circumference direction A1 of the axial convex portion 45.
The prior art does not explicitly teach the limitation a base comprising a magnetically permeable component which is configured to attract the magnetic body. Specifically, that the magnetically permeable component attracts both the first magnetic body and the second magnetic body. However, because the structure of the claimed system, as identified above and in the original action, is the same as that claimed, it must inherently perform the same function. Specifically, Iwase teaches the second support portion 60 comprises the magnetic members 73 which has an attraction force that acts on the second magnet 121 (Iwase, Fig. 14, paragraphs [0123] and [0130]). The arrangement of the first magnet 111 and the magnetic member 73 also results in magnetic lines of force between the magnetic member and the first magnet and thus also have an attractive force (as evidenced by US 2022/0132003 A1 paragraph [0050]). See MPEP §2114(I)) “If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art structure inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432. See also Bettcher Industries, Inc. v. Bunzl USA, Inc., 661 F.3d 629, 639-40,100 USPQ2d 1433, 1440 (Fed. Cir. 2011).”
As to claim 2, Iwase teaches the prismatic motor according to claim 1, wherein:
the first holder comprises a first clamping part (Iwase, Fig. 4, 22a, 22b, paragraph [0067], “the holder 20 includes a pair of opposing side surfaces 22a and the axial concave portion 22b”);
the second holder (Iwase, Fig. 4, 30, paragraph [0039], “the first support portion 30 supports the holder 20 and the optical element 10”) comprises a second clamping part which is correspondingly disposed with the first clamping part (Iwase, Fig. 4, 40, paragraph [0042], “the first support portion 30 supports the holder 20 in the third direction Z via the first preload portion 40“); and
the cylinder is located between the first clamping part and the second clamping part and radially separates the first holder from the second holder (Iwase, Fig. 4, 45, paragraph [0067], “the axial concave portion 22b accommodates at least a part of the axial convex portion 45 of the first preload portion 40”), wherein, the first holder is configured to rotate along a circumference direction of the cylinder (Iwase, Fig. 5B, A1, paragraph [0039], “the first support portion 30 supports the holder 20 and the optical element 10 swingably about a first swing axis A1,” paragraph [0042], “the first support portion 30 supports the holder 20 in the third direction Z via the first preload portion 40,” thus the first holder is configured to rotate along a circumference direction of the cylinder 45).
The prior art and the instant claim differ by the shape of the cylinder located between the first clamping part and the second clamping part.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the axial convex portion 45 of Iwase from spherical to cylindrical, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination, In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), MPEP §2144.04(IV)(B). In the instant case, the change in shape does not appear to be significant to the function because the axial convex portion 45 is located between the first clamping part and the second clamping part and radially separates the first holder from the second holder, and the first holder rotates along the circumference direction A1 of the axial convex portion 45.
As to claim 10, Iwase teaches the prismatic motor according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first circuit board connected to the base (Iwase, Fig. 13, 80, paragraph [0127], “a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 80 is arranged so as to cover the outside of the pair of side surface portions 62 and the outside of the back surface portion 63”) and comprising a first coil (Iwase, Fig. 13, 115, paragraph [0127], “the FPC 80 supplies electric power to the first coil 115”) which is corresponding disposed with the first magnetic body (Iwase, Fig. 5A, 111, 115, paragraph [0131], “the first swing mechanism 110 includes the first magnet 111 and the first coil 115. The first coil 115 opposes the first magnet 111 in the second direction Y”) and which is configured to generate first magnetic force interacting with the first magnetic body after the first coil is charged with electricity in order to push the first holder to rotate along a circumference direction of the cylinder (Iwase, Fig. 5B, A1, paragraphs [0131]-[0132], “the first swing mechanism 110 swings the holder 20 with respect to the first support portion 30 about the first swing axis A1… a force acts on the first magnet 111 due to a magnetic field occurring when a current flows through the first coil 115”).
As to claim 14, Iwase teaches the prismatic motor according to claim 1, wherein the second holder further comprises a first accommodation part (Iwase, Fig. 12, 31g, paragraph [0092], “the first support portion 30 has a support main body 31,” paragraph [0100], the support main body 31 has a second concave portion 31g), the base further comprises a second accommodation part (Iwase, Fig. 14, 61c, paragraph [0108], “the second support portion 60 includes… second accommodation concave portions 61c”), the first accommodation part is correspondingly with the second accommodation part (Iwase, Figs. 12-14, 31g, 61c, paragraph [0115], the second concave portion 31g corresponds to the second accommodation concave portion 61c in the X direction via the second convex portion 72), the first accommodation part and the second accommodation part defines a rolling space (Iwase, Figs. 12-14, 31g, 61c, paragraph [0115], “the second convex portion 72 can rotate in the second accommodation concave portion 61c. Therefore, the friction between the second convex portion 72 and the second concave portion 31g of the first support portion 30 becomes rolling friction,” thus, defining a rolling space), the rolling body is in the rolling space and is configured to roll in the rolling space (Iwase, Figs. 12-14, 72, paragraph [0115], “the second convex portion 72 is a sphere… the second convex portion 72 can rotate in the second accommodation concave portion 61c. Therefore, the friction between the second convex portion 72 and the second concave portion 31g of the first support portion 30 becomes rolling friction”), the rolling body contacts the first accommodation part and the second accommodation part (Iwase, Figs. 12-14, 72, paragraph [0103], “the second concave portion 31g comes into contact with the second convex portion 72. Specifically, the sliding surface 31h of the second concave portion 31g comes into contact with the second convex portion 72,” paragraph [0110], the second accommodation concave portion 61c accommodates a part of the second convex portion 72), and the second holder is configured to rotate along the rolling space (Iwase, Fig. 15, A2, paragraph [0110], “the plurality of second convex portions 72 are arranged on the same circumference C about the second swing axis A2,” thus the moveable body rotates along the rolling space about the second swing axis A2).
As to claim 15, Iwase teaches the prismatic motor according to claim 14, wherein a number of the first accommodation parts and a number of the second accommodation parts are respectively two (Iwase, Fig. 12, 31g, paragraph [0102], “two second concave portions 31g are provided,” Fig. 14, 61c, paragraph [0108], “at least two second accommodation concave portions 61c”), a number of the rolling spaces is two (Iwase, Figs. 12-14, 31g, 61c, as described in claim 14 above the rolling space is defined as the space between the second concave portion 31g and the second accommodation concave portion 61c, thus there are two rolling spaces), the two rolling spaces comprises at least one directional channel (Iwase, Fig. 12, 31i, paragraph [0102], the second concave portions 31g have an inner side surface 31i that define the a shape that is considered the directional channel), the rolling body is configured to roll in the directional channel (Iwase, Figs. 12-14, 72, paragraph [0115], “the second convex portion 72 is a sphere… the second convex portion 72 can rotate in the second accommodation concave portion 61c. Therefore, the friction between the second convex portion 72 and the second concave portion 31g of the first support portion 30 becomes rolling friction”), and the second holder is configured to rotate along the directional channel (Iwase, Fig. 15, A2, paragraph [0110], “the plurality of second convex portions 72 are arranged on the same circumference C about the second swing axis A2,” thus the moveable body rotates along the directional channel about the second swing axis A2).
As to claim 16, Iwase teaches the prismatic motor according to claim 14, further comprising:
a second circuit board connected to the base (Iwase, Fig. 13, 80, 82, paragraph [0127], a side of the flexible print circuit (FPC) 80 that covers the outside of the pair of side surface portions 62 of the base 60 is considered the second circuit board) and comprising a second coil which is correspondingly disposed with the second magnetic body (Iwase, Fig. 13, 125, paragraph [0136], “the second magnet 121 and the second coil 125 opposing the second magnet 121”) and which is configured to generate second magnetic force interacting with the second magnetic body after the second coil is charged with electricity in order to push the second holder to rotate along the rolling space (Iwase, Figs. 10 and 13, 125, paragraph [0139], “when the second coil 125 is energized, a magnetic field occurs around the second coil 125. Then, a force caused by the magnetic field acts on the second magnet 121. As a result, the first support portion 30, the holder 20, and the optical element 10 swing about the second swing axis A2 with respect to the second support portion 60.”).
Claims 3-6, 8, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwase et al., US 2022/0317469 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Iwase), and further in view of Hu et al., US 2021/0255369 A1 (hereinafter referred to Hu).
As to claim 3, Iwase teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2. Iwase does not teach the prismatic motor according to claim 2, wherein the first holder further comprises a boss which protrudes outwards and which the first clamping part is located on, and the first holder is for holding the prism on a direction opposite to a protruding direction of the boss.
However, in the same field of endeavor Hu teaches a prismatic motor (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1200, paragraph [0186], “reflecting unit 1-B1200”) wherein the first holder (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1220, paragraph [0186], “optical member holder 1-B1220”) further comprises a boss which protrudes outwards (Hu, Fig. 8, 1-B1220, as shown in figure 8 the first holder 1-B1220 comprises a boss which protrudes outwards) and which the first clamping part is located on (Hu, Fig. 8, 1-B1221, paragraph [0176], “a fixing structure 1-B1221 is formed on the optical member holder 1-B1220”), and the first holder is for holding the prism on a direction opposite to a protruding direction of the boss (Hu, Fig. 9, 1-B1210, 1-B1220, paragraph [0179], the optical member holder 1-B1220 holds the optical member 1-B1210 in the direction of the axis 1-R1 which is opposite the protruding direction of the boss).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prismatic motor of Iwase wherein the first holder further comprises a boss which protrudes outwards and which the first clamping part is located on, and the first holder is for holding the prism on a direction opposite to a protruding direction of the boss of Hu, because it is convenient to join the optical member holder 1-B12220 to the first hinge and prevent the optical member holder from falling from the first hinge (Hu, paragraph [0176]).
As to claim 4, Iwase in view of Hu teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 3, and Iwase further teaches the second clamping part is vertically located above the second holder (Iwase, Fig. 10, 40, 30, paragraph [0098], the second clamping part 40 is attached to the second holder 30 via the connection portion 32d in the third direction Z, thus the second clamping part vertically located above the second holder).
Iwase does not teach the prismatic motor according to claim 3, wherein a number of the bosses is two and the two bosses are disposed horizontally and outwards, the first holder is for holding the prism between the two bosses, a number of the first clamping parts corresponds to the number of the bosses, the first clamping part is vertically located below the boss.
However, in the same field of endeavor Hu teaches the prismatic motor according to claim 3, wherein a number of the bosses is two and the two bosses are disposed horizontally and outwards (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1220, as shown in the circled areas of the annotated figure 6 below there are two bosses that are disposed horizontally and outwards), the first holder is for holding the prism between the two bosses (Hu, Fig. 9, 1-B1210, 1-B1220, paragraph [0172], “the optical member 1-B1210 is disposed on the optical member holder 1-B1220,” as shown in figure 9 the prism is located between the two bosses), a number of the first clamping parts corresponds to the number of the bosses (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1221, there are two first clamping parts corresponding to the number of bosses as shown in the annotated figure 6 below), the first clamping part is vertically located below the boss (Hu, Fig. 8, 1-B1221, as seen in figure 8 the first clamping part 1-B1221 is vertically located below the boss).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prismatic motor of Iwase wherein the number of the bosses is two and the two bosses are disposed horizontally and outwards, the first holder is for holding the prism between the two bosses, a number of the first clamping parts corresponds to the number of the bosses, the first clamping part is vertically located below the boss of Hu, because it is convenient to join the optical member holder 1-B12220 to the first hinge and prevent the optical member holder from falling from the first hinge (Hu, paragraph [0176]).
As to claim 5, Iwase in view of Hu teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 3, and Iwase further teaches the prismatic motor according to claim 3, wherein the second holder comprises an arm which the second clamping part is located on (Iwase, Fig. 10, 32, paragraph [0092], “the first support portion 30 has… a pair of side surface portions 32,” paragraph [0098], the second clamping part 40 is attached to the arm 32 via the connection portion 32d).
Iwase does not the prismatic motor, wherein the second holder comprises an arm which is correspondingly disposed with the boss.
However, in the same field of endeavor Hu teaches the prismatic motor, wherein the second holder (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1230, paragraph [0179], “the frame 1-B1230”) comprises an arm which is correspondingly disposed with the boss (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1230, paragraph [0171], the arrows in the annotated figure 6 below show the arms of the prismatic motor frame 1-B1230, the arms are correspondingly disposed with the boss of the optical member holder 1-B1220 via the hinge 1-B1250).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prismatic motor of Iwase wherein the second holder comprises an arm which is correspondingly disposed with the boss of Hu, because the optical member holder can be pivotally connected to the frame (Hu, paragraph [0172]).
As to claim 6, Iwase in view of Hu teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 5, and Iwase further teaches the prismatic motor according to claim 5, wherein a number of the arms is two and corresponds to a number of the second clamping parts (Iwase, Fig. 10, 32, paragraph [0092], “the first support portion 30 has… a pair of side surface portions 32,” paragraph [0098], the second clamping parts 40 are attached to the arms 32 via the connection portions 32d), and the two arms are disposed horizontally (Iwase, Fig. 10, 32, paragraph [0093], “the pare of side surface portions 32 are arranged at both ends of the support main body 31 in the third direction Z”).
As to claim 8, Iwase teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Iwase further teaches the prismatic motor according to claim 1, wherein there is an accommodation groove disposed on the first holder (Iwase, Fig. 5B, 20a, 22, paragraph [0133], as shown in the circled area of the annotated figure 5B below an accommodation groove is disposed in the surface portions 22 of the holder 20), and the first magnetic body is disposed on the accommodation groove (Iwase, Fig. 5B, 111, paragraph [0133], “the first magnet 111 is arranged at an end portion 20a of the holder 20”).
Iwase does not teach the prismatic motor wherein there is an accommodation groove disposed on a bottom of the first holder.
However, in the same field of endeavor Hu teaches the prismatic motor wherein there is an accommodation groove disposed on a bottom of the first holder (Hu, Fig. 4, 1-B1220, 1-B1262, paragraphs [0178]-[0179], the magnet 1-B1262 is disposed on the optical member holder 1-B1220, and as shown in figure 4 the accommodation groove for the magnet is disposed on the bottom of the first holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prismatic motor of Iwase wherein there is an accommodation groove disposed on a bottom of the first holder of Hu, because the optical member holder and the optical member can be driven to rotate relative to the frame around a first rotation axis 1-R1 (Hu, paragraph [0179]).
As to claim 17, Iwase teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2, and Iwase further teaches the prismatic motor according to claim 2, the first holder is for holding the prism (Iwase, Fig. 4, 20, paragraph [0039], “the holder 20 holds the optical element 10”); the second holder further comprises two arms located on two sides (Iwase, Fig. 10, 32, paragraph [0092], “the first support portion 30 has… a pair of side surface portions 32,” the pair of side surface portions 32 are considered the two arms located on two sides), there is an avoidance space formed between the two arms (Iwase, Fig. 10, 31, 32, paragraph [0092], “the first support portion 30 has a support main body and a pair of the side surface portions 32,” the space above the main body 31 and between the side surface portions 32 is considered the avoidance space), the first holder is disposed in the avoidance space (Iwase, Fig. 10, 30, paragraph [0039], “the first support portion 30 supports the holder 20 and the optical element 10”).
Iwase does not teach the prismatic motor wherein the first holder further comprises two bosses disposed horizontally and outwards, the first holder is for holding the prism between the two bosses; the second holder further comprises a backboard and two arms located on two sides of the backboard, there is an avoidance space formed between the backboard and the two arms, and the two arms are correspondingly disposed with the two bosses.
However, in the same field of endeavor Hu teaches a prismatic motor (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1200, paragraph [0186], “reflecting unit 1-B1200”) wherein the first holder (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1220, paragraph [0186], “optical member holder 1-B1220”) further comprises two bosses disposed horizontally and outwards (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1220, as shown in the circled areas of the annotated figure 6 there are two bosses that are disposed horizontally and outwards), the first holder is for holding the prism between the two bosses (Hu, Fig. 9, 1-B1210, 1-B1220, paragraph [0172], “the optical member 1-B1210 is disposed on the optical member holder 1-B1220,” as shown in figure 9 the prism is located between the two bosses); the second holder (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1230, paragraph [0179], “the frame 1-B1230”) further comprises a backboard (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1230, as indicated by the dotted arrow in the annotated figure 6 below the frame 1-B1230 comprises a backboard) and two arms located on two sides of the backboard (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1230, as indicated by the solid arrows in the annotated figure 6 below the frame 1-B1230 comprises a two arms located on two sides of the backboard), there is an avoidance space formed between the backboard and the two arms (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1230, the area between the backboard and arms is the avoidance space), and the two arms are correspondingly disposed with the two bosses (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1230, paragraph [0171], the arrows in the annotated figure 6 below show the arms of the prismatic motor frame 1-B1230, the arms are correspondingly disposed with the boss of the optical member holder 1-B1220 via the hinge 1-B1250).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prismatic motor of Iwase wherein the first holder further comprises two bosses disposed horizontally and outwards, the first holder is for holding the prism between the two bosses; the second holder further comprises a backboard and two arms located on two sides of the backboard, there is an avoidance space formed between the backboard and the two arms, and the two arms are correspondingly disposed with the two bosses of Hu, because the optical member holder can be affixed to the hinge and the optical member holder can be pivotally connected to the frame, since the optical member is disposed on the optical member holder when the optical member holder rotates relative to the frame the optical member also rotates relative to the frame (Hu, paragraph [0172]).
As to claim 18, Iwase in view of Hu teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 17, and Iwase further teaches the prismatic motor according to claim 17, further comprising:
a first circuit board disposed on the base (Iwase, Fig. 13, 80, paragraph [0127], “a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 80 is arranged so as to cover the outside of the pair of side surface portions 62 and the outside of the back surface portion 63”) and comprising a first coil (Iwase, Fig. 13, 115, paragraph [0127], “the FPC 80 supplies electric power to the first coil 115”) which is correspondingly disposed with the first magnetic body (Iwase, Fig. 5A, 111, 115, paragraph [0131], “the first swing mechanism 110 includes the first magnet 111 and the first coil 115. The first coil 115 opposes the first magnet 111 in the second direction Y”), wherein the first magnetic body is disposed on a platform of the first holder (Iwase, Fig. 5A, 2b, paragraph [0133], “the first magnet 111 is arranged on the back surface 21b of the holder 20”), the platform approaches the first circuit board by the avoidance space (Iwase, Fig. 5A, 21b, the back surface 21b approaches the first circuit board in the Y2 direction as shown in the figure 5A), the first magnetic body is close to the first coil (Iwase, Fig. 5A, 110, paragraph [0131], “the first swing mechanism 110 includes the first magnet 111 and the first coil 115,” as shown in figure 5A the first magnetic body 111 is close to the first coil 115), and there is a gap between the first magnetic body and the first coil (Iwase, Fig. 5A, 111, 115, paragraph [0131], “the first swing mechanism 110 includes the first magnet 111 and the first coil 115,” as shown in figure 5A there is a gap between the first magnetic body 111 and the first coil 115 in the Y direction).
Iwase does not teach that the platform is on a bottom of the first holder.
However, in the same field of endeavor Hu teaches the prismatic motor further comprising:
a first magnetic body disposed on a platform of a bottom of the first holder (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1260, paragraphs [0178]-[0179], as shown in figure 6 the first magnetic body 1-B1260 is located on a platform of a bottom of the first holder in the Z direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prismatic motor of Iwase with the platform is on a bottom of the first holder of Hu, because the optical member can be driven to rotate so as to adjust the position of the external light on the image sensor (Hu, paragraph [0179]).
As to claim 19, Iwase in view of Hu teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 18, and Iwase further teaches the prismatic motor according to claim 18, further comprising:
a second circuit board (Iwase, Fig. 13, 80, 82, paragraph [0127], a side of the flexible print circuit (FPC) 80 that covers the outside of the pair of side surface portions 62 of the base 60 is considered the second circuit board) comprising a second coil (Iwase, Fig. 13, 125, paragraph [0136], “the second coil 125”);
a second magnetic body disposed on the second holder (Iwase, Fig. 4, 121, paragraph [0136], “the second swing mechanism 120 includes the second magnet 121… the second magnet 121 is arranged on the first support portion 30”) and corresponding to the second coil (Iwase, Fig. 13, 125, paragraph [0136], “the second magnet 121 and the second coil 125 opposing the second magnet 121”), wherein the second magnetic body is close to the second coil (Iwase, Fig. 5B, 120, paragraph [0136], “the second swing mechanism 120 includes the second magnet 121 and the second coil 125 opposing the second magnet 121,” as shown in the figure 5B the second magnetic body 121 is close to the second coil 125), and there is a gap between the second magnetic body and the second coil (Iwase, Fig. 5B, 121, 125, as shown in the figure 5B there is a gap between the second magnetic body 121 and the second coil 125).
Iwase does not teach the backboard of the second holder.
However, in the same field of endeavor Hu teaches a prismatic motor further comprising:
a backboard on the second holder (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1230, as indicated by the dotted arrow in the annotated figure 6 above the frame 1-B1230 comprises a backboard).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prismatic motor of Iwase with a backboard on the second holder of Hu, because the optical member holder can be affixed to the hinge and the optical member holder can be pivotally connected to the frame, since the optical member is disposed on the optical member holder when the optical member holder rotates relative to the frame the optical member also rotates relative to the frame (Hu, paragraph [0172]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwase et al., US 2022/0317469 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Iwase), and further in view of Lee et al., US 2024/0302625 A1 (hereinafter referred to Lee).
As to claim 9, Iwase teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Iwase does not teach the prismatic motor according to claim 1, wherein a number of the first magnetic bodies is two, and magnetic poles of bottom surfaces the two first magnetic bodies are reverse (Iwase, Fig. 5A, 111a, 111b, paragraph [0133], “the first magnet 111 has an n pole portion 111a including an n pole and an s pole portion 111b including an s pole”).
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee teaches a prismatic motor (Lee, Fig. 7, 1000, paragraph [0176], “the reflective member driving device 1000”), wherein a number of the first magnetic bodies is two (Lee, Fig. 16C, 1411, paragraph [0204], “the first driving magnet 1411,” Fig. 16F, 1411-1, 1411-2, paragraph [0293], “a first segment magnet 1411-1 and a second segment magnet 1411-2,” thus the first magnetic body includes two magnets), and magnetic poles of bottom surfaces the two first magnetic bodies are reverse (Lee, Fig. 26, 1411, as shown in figure 26 the magnetic poles of the bottom surfaces of the two first magnetic bodies are reverse).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prismatic motor of Iwase wherein a number of the first magnetic bodies is two, and magnetic poles of bottom surfaces the two first magnetic bodies are reverse of Lee, because it is possible to minimize magnetic field interference through the magnetic polarity arrangement of the first driving magnet 1411 and the second magnet 1120 (Lee, paragraph [0273]).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwase et al., US 2022/0317469 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Iwase), and further in view of Wang et al., US 2019/0230262 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Wang).
As to claim 11, Iwase teaches the prismatic motor according to claim 10, wherein the first coil is disposed on one surface of the first circuit board close to the first magnetic body (Iwase, Fig. 13, 80, 115, paragraph [0127], “a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 80 is arranged so as to cover the outside of the pair of side surface portions 62 and the outside of the back surface portion 63… the FPC 80 supplies electric power to the first coil 115”).
Iwase does not teach the prismatic motor wherein the magnetically permeable component is disposed on one surface of the first circuit board far from the first magnetic body.
However, in the same field endeavor Wang teaches a prismatic motor (Wang, Fig. 29, paragraph [0403], “reflecting unit 2-2000”) wherein the magnetically permeable component is disposed on one surface of the first circuit board far from the first magnetic body (Wang, Fig. 30, 2-2225, paragraphs [0411] and [0416], the toughened component 2-2225 is disposed on the first circuit board 2-2224 and far from the first magnetic body 2-2231 and 2-2232).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prismatic motor of Iwase wherein the magnetically permeable component is disposed on one surface of the first circuit board far from the first magnetic body of Wang, because it protects the circuit board from impacting by other members (Wang, paragraph [0414]).
As to claim 12, Iwase teaches the prismatic motor according to claim 10, further comprising:
a second circuit board (Iwase, Fig. 13, 80, 82, paragraph [0127], a side of the flexible print circuit (FPC) 80 that covers the outside of the pair of side surface portions 62 of the base 60 is considered the second circuit board) comprising a second coil which is correspondingly disposed with the second magnetic body (Iwase, Fig. 13, 125, paragraph [0136], “the second magnet 121 and the second coil 125 opposing the second magnet 121”) and which is configured to generate second magnetic force interacting with the second magnetic body after the second coil is charged with electricity in order to push the second holder to rotate (Iwase, Figs. 10 and 13, 125, paragraph [0139], “when the second coil 125 is energized, a magnetic field occurs around the second coil 125. Then, a force caused by the magnetic field acts on the second magnet 121. As a result, the first support portion 30, the holder 20, and the optical element 10 swing about the second swing axis A2 with respect to the second support portion 60.”).
Iwase does not teach the prismatic motor wherein the magnetically permeable component comprises a main body, a first extension part and a second extension part, the main body is correspondingly disposed with the first magnetic body, the first extension part and the second extension part are respectively on relative two sides of the main body, and the first extension part and the second extension part extend along relative two sides of the second magnetic body.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wang teaches a prismatic motor wherein the magnetically permeable component comprises a main body (Wang, Fig. 30, 2-2225, the dotted arrow in the annotated figure 30 below shows the main body of the magnetically permeable component 2-2225), a first extension part and a second extension part (Wang, Fig. 30, 2-2225, the solid arrows in the annotated figure 30 below show the main body of the magnetically permeable component 2-2225), the main body is correspondingly disposed with the first magnetic body (Wang, Fig. 30, 2-2230, as shown in figure 30 the main body 2-2225 is disposed with the first magnetic body 2-2230), the first extension part and the second extension part are respectively on relative two sides of the main body (Wang, Fig. 30, 2-2225, as shown in figure 30 the first extension and the second extension are respectively on relative two sides of the main body in the Y direction), and the first extension part and the second extension part extend along relative two sides of the second magnetic body (Wang, Fig. 30, 2-2230, as shown in figure 30 the first extension and the second extension are disposed with the first magnetic body 2-2230).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prismatic motor of Iwase wherein the magnetically permeable component comprises a main body, a first extension part and a second extension part, the main body is correspondingly disposed with the first magnetic body, the first extension part and the second extension part are respectively on relative two sides of the main body, and the first extension part and the second extension part extend along relative two sides of the second magnetic body of Wang, because it protects the circuit board from impacting by other members (Wang, paragraph [0414]).
As to claim 13, Iwase in view of Wang teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 12, and Iwase further teaches the prismatic motor according to claim 12, wherein there are contact points disposed on one side of the first circuit board (Iwase, Fig. 13, 82, paragraph [0129], “the connection terminal 82 is arranged on the substrate 81”).
Iwase does not the prismatic motor according to claim 12, wherein there are contact points disposed on one side of the first circuit board and arranged along a predetermined direction, and the magnetically permeable component further comprises a support part located on one side of the first extension part far from the main body and being correspondingly disposed with the contact points.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wang teaches the prismatic motor wherein there are contact points disposed on one side of the first circuit board and arranged along a predetermined direction (Wang, Fig. 30, 2-2224, the circled area in the annotated figure 30 below shows the contact points disposed on one side of the circuit board 2-2224 and arranged along the X direction), and the magnetically permeable component further comprises a support part located on one side of the first extension part far from the main body and being correspondingly disposed with the contact points (Wang, Fig. 30, 2-2225, the solid arrow in the annotated figure 30 below indicates the support part of the magnetically permeable component on the first extension part that is correspondingly disposed with the contact points).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prismatic motor of Iwase wherein there are contact points disposed on one side of the first circuit board and arranged along a predetermined direction, and the magnetically permeable component further comprises a support part located on one side of the first extension part far from the main body and being correspondingly disposed with the contact points of Wang, because it protects the circuit board from impacting by other members (Wang, paragraph [0414]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al., US 2021/0255369 A1 (hereinafter referred to Hu), and further in view of Iwase et al., US 2022/0317469 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Iwase).
As to claim 20, Hu teaches a prismatic motor (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1200, paragraph [0186], “reflecting unit 1-B1200”) for driving a prism (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1210, paragraph [0172], “the optical member 1-B1210 can be a prism”) comprising:
a first holder (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1220, paragraph [0186], “optical member holder 1-B1220”) comprising two bosses (Hu, Fig. 8, 1-B1220, as shown in figure 8 the first holder 1-B1220 comprises a boss which protrudes outwards, Fig. 6, 1-B1220, as shown in the circled areas of the annotated figure 6 above there are two bosses) and two first clamping parts (Hu, Fig. 8, 1-B1221, paragraph [0176], “a fixing structure 1-B1221 is formed on the optical member holder 1-B1220,” Fig. 6, 1-B1221, there are two first clamping parts as shown in the annotated figure 6 above), wherein the two bosses are disposed horizontally (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1220, as shown in the circled areas of the annotated figure 6 above there are two bosses that are disposed horizontally), the first holder is for holding the prism between the two bosses (Hu, Fig. 9, 1-B1210, 1-B1220, paragraph [0172], “the optical member 1-B1210 is disposed on the optical member holder 1-B1220,” as shown in figure 9 the prism is located between the two bosses), and the two first clamping parts are respectively located on the two bosses (Hu, Fig. 8, 1-B1221, as seen in figure 8 the first clamping part 1-B1221 is located on the boss, Fig. 6, 1-B1221, there are two first clamping parts respectively located on the two bosses as shown in the annotated figure 6 above);
a second holder (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1230, paragraph [0179], “the frame 1-B1230”) comprising a backboard (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1230, as indicated by the dotted arrow in the annotated figure 6 above the frame 1-B1230 comprises a backboard), two arms located on two sides of the backboard (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1230, as indicated by the solid arrows in the annotated figure 6 below the frame 1-B1230 comprises a two arms located on two sides of the backboard), wherein there is an avoidance space formed between the backboard and the two arms (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1230, the area between the backboard and arms is the avoidance space), the first holder is disposed in the avoidance space (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1220, paragraph [0172], “the optical member holder 1-B1220 can be pivotally connected to the frame 1-B1230 via the first hinge 1-B1250”), the two arms are correspondingly disposed with the two bosses (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1230, paragraph [0171], the arrows in the annotated figure 6 above show the arms of the prismatic motor frame 1-B1230, the arms are correspondingly disposed with the boss of the optical member holder 1-B1220 via the hinge 1-B1250);
a cylinder, disposed between the first holder and the second holder (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1250, paragraph [0172], “the optical member holder 1-B1220 can be pivotally connected to the frame 1-B1230 via the first hinge 1-B1250”);
a magnetic body, comprising a first magnetic body disposed on the first holder and a second magnetic body disposed on the second holder (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1262, paragraph [0178], “the first driving module 1-B1260 can comprise a first electromagnetic driving assembly 1-B1261 and a second electromagnetic driving assembly 1-B1262, respectively disposed on the frame 1-B1230 and the optical member holder 1-B1220”); and
a rolling body (Hu, Fig. 6, 1-B1240, paragraph [0172], “bearing member 1-B1240”).
Hu does not teach the prismatic motor comprising two second clamping parts located on the two arms, the second clamping part is rotatably connected to the first clamping part, and the first holder is configured to rotate relative to the second holder by the first clamping part and the second clamping part; and
a base comprising a magnetically permeable component which is configured to attract the magnetic body to increase force of the holding component interacting with the base, wherein the rolling body is between the holding component and the base and contacts the base.
However, in the same field of endeavor Iwase teaches a prismatic motor (Iwase, Fig. 2, 1, paragraph [0036], “optical unit 1”) for driving a prism (Iwase, Fig. 2, 10, paragraph [0043], “the optical element 10 includes a prism”) comprising:
a first holder (Iwase, Fig. 4, 20, paragraph [0039], “the holder 20 holds the optical element 10”), wherein the first holder comprises two first clamping parts (Iwase, Fig. 4, 22a, 22b, paragraph [0067], “the holder 20 includes a pair of opposing side surfaces 22a and the axial concave portion 22b”); and
a second holder (Iwase, Fig. 4, 30, paragraph [0039], “the first support portion 30 supports the holder 20 and the optical element 10”) comprising two arms located on two sides (Iwase, Fig. 10, 32, paragraph [0093], “the pare of side surface portions 32 are arranged at both ends of the support main body 31 in the third direction Z)
two second clamping parts located on the two arms (Iwase, Fig. 10, 32, paragraph [0092], “the first support portion 30 has… a pair of side surface portions 32,” paragraph [0098], the second clamping parts 40 are attached to the arms 32 via the connection portions 32d), the second clamping part is rotatably connected to the first clamping part (Iwase, Fig. 5B, 22b, 45, paragraph [0067], “the axial concave portion 22b accommodates at least part of an axial convex portion 45 of the first preload portion,” the connection of the axial concave portion 22b and the axial convex portion 45 rotates about the first swing axis A1), and the first holder is configured to rotate relative to the second holder by the first clamping part and the second clamping part (Iwase, Fig. 5B, 22b, 45, paragraph [0080], “The holder 20 is supported by the first preloading portion 40 from both sides in the axial direction of the first swinging axis A1 at two contact points in contact with the axial convex portion 45. Therefore, the holder 20 can swing about the first swing axis A1 passing through the two contact points.”).
a base comprising (Iwase, Fig. 3, 60, paragraph [0039], “the second support portion 60 of the support body 3”) a magnetically permeable component which is configured to attract the magnetic body to increase force of the holding component interacting with the base (Iwase, Fig. 14, 73, 84, paragraph [0123], “Since a force attracting each other (hereinafter, also referred to as an attraction force) acts on the second magnet 121 and the magnetic member 73, the movable body 2 can be suppressed from displacing in the first direction X with respect to the support body 3,” paragraph [0130], “an attraction force occurs between the second magnet 121 and the magnetic member 84”), wherein the rolling body is between the holding component and the base and contacts the base (Iwase, Figs. 5C, 5D and 15, 61b, 61c, paragraph [0113], the convex portion 71 is between the first concave portion 31f and the first accommodation concave portion 61b, paragraph [0115], the convex portion 72 is between the second concave portion 31g and the second accommodation concave portion 61c, thus the rolling body 71, 72 are between the holding component 30 and the base 60 and contacts the base via the accommodation concave portions 61b and 61c).
The prior art does not explicitly teach the limitation a base comprising a magnetically permeable component which is configured to attract the magnetic body. Specifically, that the magnetically permeable component attracts both the first magnetic body and the second magnetic body. However, because the structure of the claimed system, as identified above and in the original action, is the same as that claimed, it must inherently perform the same function. Specifically, Iwase teaches the second support portion 60 comprises the magnetic members 73 which has an attraction force that acts on the second magnet 121 (Iwase, Fig. 14, paragraphs [0123] and [0130]). The arrangement of the first magnet 111 and the magnetic member 73 also results in magnetic lines of force between the magnetic member and the first magnet and thus also have an attractive force (as evidenced by US 2022/0132003 A1 paragraph [0050]). See MPEP §2114(I)) “If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art structure inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432. See also Bettcher Industries, Inc. v. Bunzl USA, Inc., 661 F.3d 629, 639-40,100 USPQ2d 1433, 1440 (Fed. Cir. 2011).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prismatic motor of Hu with the prismatic motor comprising two second clamping parts located on the two arms, the second clamping part is rotatably connected to the first clamping part, and the first holder is configured to rotate relative to the second holder by the first clamping part and the second clamping part; and a base comprising a magnetically permeable component which is configured to attract the magnetic body to increase force of the holding component interacting with the base, wherein the rolling body is between the holding component and the base and contacts the base of Iwase, because the holder can be supported more stably (Iwase, paragraph [0080]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang et al., US 2022/0132003 A1, Optical Mechanism and Optical System, relevant to claims 1-20.
Hu et al., US 2020/0249421 A1, Control Method of Driving Mechanism, relevant to claims 1-20.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JENNIFER A JONES
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/JENNIFER A JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872